The ministry of transport (MoT) is considering a merit system that will reward prudent drivers through discounted vehicle insurance, according to The Edge Markets. Transport minister Anthony Loke said that the ministry will start discussions with the General Insurance Association of Malaysia (PIAM) on this idea.
“The discussion with PIAM will be initiated immediately, and in fact the idea came from PIAM when we had a dialogue with them. We do not want to be seen as just penalising people; we want to make it clear that the main aim is to educate people on their driving behaviours,” Loke said. “Other than imposing a penalty, we want to have a rewarding system to incentivise peoeple to drive prudently,” he added.
Following the government’s taking over of the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) camera operation on September 1, 1,298 summonses were issued in the first two days of the month. Of these, 1,121 summonses were for speed limit offences, while 147 summonses were for non-compliance with traffic light signals.
The government currently operates 45 automated cameras nationwide, of which 29 are speed cameras, with the remaining 16 being red-light cameras. “Our aim is to foster prudent driving behaviour, not to earn revenue, we do not look at it from that perspective. If possible, we hope for revenue from this segment to be zero. We can increase government revenue in many ways, and the tendering of number plates is one of them.”
For speed cameras, there will be three signboards from each camera indicating its presence at 3 km, 2 km and 1 km distances respectively. Traffic light cameras, meanwhile, will have signboards installed between 50 m and 1 km away from the camera. “I want to stress that the main reason for the installation and enforcement of AWAS cameras is to educate and protect drivers, especially when they drive in the operational zones,” Loke said.
The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will be enforcing the laws policed by the AES/AWAS systems without discounts or exceptions, the department said. A traffic light offence carries the penalty of four demerit points for private passenger vehicles and motorcycles, and six demerit points for buses and goods delivery vehicles.
Offences for exceeding the posted speed limit by between one km/h to 25 km/h carry two points and four points respectively, while speeding offences of 25 km/h to 40 km/h above the posted limit will carry a penalty of three points and five points respectively. Finally, offences more than 40 km/h above the posted limit carry four points and six points respectively.
Upon issuance of the summons to the offender, they will have 60 days to pay the RM300 fine or they will need to be present in court. Failure to comply will see the offender blacklisted and incur further KEJARA demerit points.
“There will not be any discount to the compound rate, at least during my tenure as Transport Minister, and no exception will be given to any vehicle,” Loke said. He did, however, add that official vehicles for Malaysian royalty, the prime minister and deputy prime minister are exempt from the system.
“Other vehicles, driven by even the members of the royal family, have to comply with the law. For ministers’ vehicles, when they are issued a summons, (they) have to pay as well, and drivers for those vehicles will face the demerit points,” he said.
In cases were the driver is not the owner of the vehicle, the owner can write back to the ministry to identify the driver of the vehicle at the time of offence, and a new summons will be issued to that driver. “This is because many bus service companies told us about this problem, where their drivers were the offenders, but the company has to be responsible at the end,” he added.
Why need merit system when AES saman is waived every once in a while?
Lets see IF U can get away with AES after 31/8(merdeka day)
Singapore started merit system like 30 years ago. Same with Australia. Now, the whole world practice this system.
This shows, Singapore’s think 10 steps forward because they have a no dedak enforcement system.
Until we get rid of our duit kopi system, this demerit system cannot be effective in Malaysia
How about meriting good driver’s with rebate for road tax and insurance? Instead of just focusing on “bad” driver’s. Reverse psychology.
You just rephrase the article except for road tax
That is being practised now, it is known as NCD/NCB. Careful drivers with no claims are given reward in terms of discount or bonus from his/her policy renewal.
motorbike knock into you. he injure. he claim ur insurance. ur ncb screwed up. is this fair?
Why MoT want punish insurance company?
this is good initiative.. with merit points accumulated and with that i can have lower insurance premium.. good move!
Bugatti Chiron OTR can save a lot
how about someone bring the whole motor insurance industry to task. biggest scam of all. flood, cannot claim. tree tumbang, cannot claim. building bakar car pun terbakar cannot claim. macam ini apa yang boleh claim?
Demerit point for Motorcycle should be more than car
Saman ekor macam mana?
Macam mana dgn KASE – Kempen Anti Saman Ekor?
Masa jadi pembangkang, semua kata semua ni membebankan rakyat.
Bila dah jadi kerajaan, semua ni utk mendidik rakyat…. Konon….
W. T. H.
Kalau takut beban, jangan buat salah
Takpe. Lepas beberapa tahun, saman akan dihapuskan.
Hell gomen.
it is good to have this merit system but one thing need to change is the traffic light. they shd install the digital count down timer to let us know when we shd pass the traffic light or not. as every traffic light yellow light count down is diff (some blink 3 times, some more than 5 times only jump to red).
so for eg when we are 300 meter away with speed of 60 km/h, shd i pass or not.
but if got digital countdown display then from far we can agak the timing already.
If Prudent drivers are given discounts on car insurance, I believe this is one of the best initiative/ides from Loki. Saya Sokong/Setuju 100%.
Why bother? As long u pledge allegiance to their team, all misdeeds will be vetoed free of punishment.
They should also deduct points from drivers who are hogging the middle and the right lanes.
Look at any highways/roads and you’ll see lots of people loves to be on the middle or right lanes, even though they are driving slowly and with no congestion what so ever on the left.
I applaud the proposed merit system in conjunction with PIAM. However, in the immediate terms, PIAM should provide discount for cars with good anti theft system. This is widely practise in UK and Europe. In the UK if your car is fitted with factory or retrofitted with Thatcham class (from 1-4) the discount will be according to the class. better class gets bigger discount. Also automotive technology is moving such semi autonomous driver system, driver assist system, lane changing etc should also be factored in the discount premium. These are making driving safer and enjoyable for majority of people.
#mot #jkjr #MAI #PDRM
Exactly!!!. What the insurance need now is a Group Rating SYstem that adjust our premium based on Car repairbility among other factors like our age, work, area of stay etc
Our new Transport Minister Mr. Anthony Loke has been working hard non-stop since he took office. He has probably done more in the past 3 months than what his predecessor did in the past 3 years.
Some of the things which come to my mind; he has tightened regulations for ride sharing companies, forced Takata airbag replacement, proposed quick scrapping for abandoned cars, openly rejected ‘gift culture’ in the media, plans to bar foreign registered cars with summons from leaving Malaysia, and adopted a no-nonsense attitude for current AES offenders… Bear in mind, he is also in charge of airline regulations, maritime etc. transport, not just cars.
And now, he is proposing driver profile-based insurance. It is about time driver profiling became legalised in Malaysia. The current ‘flat rate’ system is too lenient on errant motorists, and doesn’t incentivise courteous driving.
Anthony Loke knows what he’s doing. Give him the space, time and resources to put his many plans into action. He is a no-nonsense-no-excuses hard-working man with a vision. I’m always looking forward to what he will do next.
Also, I want to highlight this fact ;
Driving is a privilege, not a right.
Aero, a very good post, thank you.
I particularly liked your closing line, which has been part of my driving mantra for many years…..”Driving is a privilege, not a right.”
The quicker everyone who uses the roads thinks that way, the better our road culture will become.
This country has a very long way to go in changing its driving culture but it’s imperative that it does start to make a change.
Nobody wants to lose a loved one to a road fatality.
Make the change today!
Bila langgar undang undang – potong point
Point potong habis – ambil lesen baru
Bila ikut undang undang – tambah point
Point meningkat sampai satu tahap – harga road tax dipotong
Kaki tangan MoT & Polis potong point 2x
Please intall lot of this in Bandar Baru Bangi as the transport are increasing year by year.
Almost hit cars & motorcycles several times because they don’t have patient waiting the red light to disappear. Sometime even the buses & lorry too. Aigoo ~