Traffic offences tripled during AES grace period – Loke

The number of traffic offences has tripled following transport minister Anthony Loke’s decision to write off summonses for the Automated Enforcement System (AES) before September 1, 2018. Talk about breaking the rules…

According to The New Straits Times, Loke said the grace period from August 17 to 31 recorded a total of 15,000 offences compared to the previous average of 5,000. The AES has now been rebranded to Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS).

“We don’t have any intention to punish drivers but we want to ensure drivers are more responsible on the road, besides caring for the safety of other road users,” said Loke. “There are drivers who broke traffic laws by running red lights and breaking the speed limit.”

“We hope that the implementation of the system (AWAS) will reduce the number of traffic lawbreakers on the road,” Loke was quoted as saying by an online news portal. He added that the soaring number of traffic offences show that some drivers went to lengths to break the law on purpose.

Well, effective September 1, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) has fully enforced the legal provision for summonses issued by AES/AWAS without discounts or exceptions. It polices two offences – failure to observe traffic signals (running the red light) and exceeding the posted speed limit. A traffic light offence carries the penalty of four demerit points for private passenger vehicles and motorcycles, and six demerit points for buses and goods delivery vehicles.

A total of 45 AWAS cameras are currently in operation, with 29 units being speed cameras and the remaining 16 cameras are used to record motorists who run the red light. You may read the full breakdown of the demerit system for traffic offenders, here.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Steven Kwong on Sep 06, 2018 at 5:28 pm

This is really bad. Government loses a lot of money waiving this. But worse still, the two companies behind AES started this whole AES very wrongly. Until today, Government has not got 1 sen from AES fines. Everything went to the 2 AES companies who are sdn bhds

Also, 43 cameras, these 2 companies charged Government RM550 million. That means each camera is RM13 million. How can just a normal camera cost this much?

I think we need to start this AES again with more honest companies who will not only deter offenders but also give the Government revenue from the samans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
    • OldTtdi on Sep 06, 2018 at 5:55 pm

Bro, I just count my blessings nowadays.

If its the old Government, AES cameras could be installed around my Taman area : )

• Sohai on Sep 06, 2018 at 6:34 pm

The speed limit 110 should be review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Not just that on Sep 07, 2018 at 6:41 am

They should also be like UK and enforce penalty for middle lane and right lane hoggers too.

As long as as you are holding up traffic behind you with no traffic in front of you, it’s wrong, regardless of what speed you’re going.

As long as the left lanes as empty, you should be there.

• rightwinger on Sep 06, 2018 at 8:15 pm

no doubt somewhat inflated, but what makes you think, as if you know for a fact, its just ‘normal’ cameras? did they just install the cameras only, or did it come with support systems and maintenance cost included?

its like the ERP in S’pore. the contract for installing gantries, the first 32, was SGD 197mil, plus 39mil for mainteneance over 5 years. one way to spin this is to claim S’pore gomen paid 236mil for 32 gantries= 7.4mil/gantry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Bro, no need to reason with Luddite cavemen like him. He never reads and refuses to learn. Let him wallow in his echoing cave.

• Rightwinger on Sep 07, 2018 at 2:42 pm

Problem is, he makes it sound as if he’s God’s gift to mankind and his words are gospel truth.

• Yet another obvious statement from Captain Obvious here. LokLok, a 5 year old kid can do your job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • Gabriel on Sep 06, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Speeding bikes can get away with AES camera

• Rempit Kelas Pertengahan on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:32 am

Ya every time I speed past the AES I put my left hand up real high and give the finger summore

• Purge on Sep 06, 2018 at 5:51 pm

If you watch the movies from The Purge series, you will understand human nature. Sometimes we need to test limits without laws but this can lead to terrible results. Anyway I’m glad the grace period is over and now that we let steam out from our system, Remember to drive safely and obey all laws!

• Does accident increase by triple fold during this period? If not, speed does not kill, only bad drivers/cars are..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Ahmadjr on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:52 pm

Kat germany dah terbukti. Kereta cap ayam dan kemahiran pemandu adalah sebab kemalangan utama. 2 ni yang paling senang dan efektif untuk mengurangkan kemalangan. Nak buat lesen memandu sampai seribu lebih tapi ada kita belajar macam kalau kereta tergelincir, elak lubang atau situasi2 kemalangan. Kat eropah terutama germany dan finland lama buat. Kerja saman tak sudah2 ni kerajaan lama dah buat. Kerajaan baru guna cara baru

• Ollie on Sep 07, 2018 at 1:49 pm

I would suggest joining a standard 3 science class. The difference between braking at 120kmh and 90 kmh, Google the stopping difference. As a man, I don’t know where Malaysian men learnt that they are good drivers. They are the worse drivers in the world. Add to that the unsafe junk we have in the form of myvi vios city with no safety features and that’s why we have the top 5 worse death rate in the world.

• Rasheeq on Sep 06, 2018 at 6:54 pm

some AES placed I think doesn’t serve the purpose like for example at SKVE climbing hill…Like seriously? climbing hill then causing heavy traffic for no reason

• st3wp1d on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:41 pm

they only penalize when u go straight up onto the hill, but not the maniacs driver who cut queue, suddenly change lanes and jump into tiny space front your car without using signals.

• That camera is not for uphill but for those coming downhill

• markgoh on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:15 pm

any chance to increase the speed limit..??
    at least 130KM/H..

• Ben Yap on Sep 07, 2018 at 9:58 am

that’s why i said many times, when Loke made this decision, he hasn’t think through it carefully.

I bet I will be a better transport minister than him.

• Someone above says that even a 5 yo kid can be better trans min than Loki.

• Sohai (not ori) on Sep 07, 2018 at 11:45 am

Some speed limits 80kmh, 90kmh and even 110kmh not really logical and more like a trap, should allow some leniency eg exceeded speed limit by 10-20kmh as many times need to overtake idiots who hog the middle lanes..really risky and dangeroua follwing behind these idiots

• Open an Autobahn. like in germany. Absolutely love the idea..

• Ollie on Sep 07, 2018 at 1:46 pm

I hope Anthony reads this –

All summons issued should go into a pool. The AES cameras should record all drivers who consistently record speeds within the speed limit. For every 300rm summon, 3 safe drivers will be randomly rewarded with rm100 each. This will encourage safe driving. 3 strikes on speeding will cause a one month suspension up driving licences. If this can be applied to motorcycles and commercial vehicles as well, the death rate for accidents will go down by 90% immediately.

Malaysia is in the top 5 worldwide for road deaths. We are among the worst drivers in the world.

Publish stats on gender for bad drivers. That will prove that men are the worse drivers, not women.

• sukor che embi on Sep 24, 2018 at 2:59 pm

JPJ and Polis should have a permanent record on summons and accidents cases for all motorist. When accident happens, those involved in the accident will be refers to their old records. This will give some idea on the mentality and habits of the motorists. From here maybe the JPJ/Police can find the cause of accidents in Malaysia and how to reduce them