Kia Rio 1.4 EX now with six-speed auto – RM78,888

When the latest Kia Rio was launched in Malaysia last year, it was saddled with a carryover four-speed automatic transmission, but even before that, the South Korean carmaker said that it was working on a gearbox with more ratios. That has come to fruition today, as local distributor Naza Kia has announced the availability of the fourth-generation YB model with a six-speeder.

The new transmission is paired to the same 1.4 litre naturally-aspirated Kappa MPI four-cylinder engine as before, producing 100 PS at 6,000 rpm and 133 Nm at 4,000 rpm, and it retails at the same RM78,888 on-the-road inclusive of the sales and service tax (SST) and without insurance. Included in the list price is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Naza Kia also took the opportunity to revise the specs of the B-segment hatchback – it now comes with cruise control, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror and a Blind Spot Detection System (BDS) that the company says is the first in the segment. To fit all these items at the same price, something had to give, so the stylish 17-inch alloy wheels on the outgoing model have been replaced by 16-inch units, and there’s also no sunroof.

Otherwise, standard equipment is identical and includes projector halogen headlights with LED daytime running lights, front and rear fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, auto lights and wipers, automatic climate control with cluster ioniser, black fabric upholstery, six speakers, a rear-view camera, six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

GALLERY: 2017 Kia Rio 1.4 EX in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Norwich on Oct 31, 2018 at 2:49 pm

in euro, the Rio bested 2 of the most respected cars in its class, VW Polo & Mazda2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Richard Foo on Dec 23, 2018 at 5:42 pm

I am choosing either tha Rio or Mazda 2 mid spec. Have driven the M2 the handling is superb. Have yet to test the Rio

• Juika on Oct 31, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Please reduce price by 50%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
  • Amran on Oct 31, 2018 at 3:13 pm

The real game changer! Habislah Honda Jazz & Myvi! KIA will be great again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Ahmadjr on Oct 31, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Look like european, price like european but sadly it’s… Korean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Ouch to those current owner

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 31, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Kia’s on a roll. Now waiting for Hyundai to catch up.

• Buy iriz better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Sohai (not ori) on Oct 31, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Why early buyers always get the worse deals

• Still under power..

• DT hotak lu on Oct 31, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Want power get stinger la

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 31, 2018 at 6:34 pm

True, but that applies to everything in the segment. at least now with more gear ratios, it would be less apparent. And probably get better mileage to boot.

• Naresh on Oct 31, 2018 at 5:34 pm

When I spoke to the salesman previously, he said the new Kia Rio will use the exact same infotainment as Picanto which supports Android Auto & Apple carplay. Is it true?

• Elaine on Oct 31, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Strong body but with a small output engine .

Still using old 1.4 Kappa engine ( No engine advancement by Korean for almost 10 year now) — really under power engine and perhaps heavy on fuel consumption too.

Same old recipe By Kimchi just that extra dosage of Kimchi added only

• TakNakP1 on Oct 31, 2018 at 7:09 pm

give a manual transmission should be a fun car. unfortunately no such option.

• Why no 7 inch touchscreen with AA\AP?

• Ben Yap on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:37 pm

No supercharged or turbo engine like VW or honda civic. so don’t want to buy. at least la, put in LED headlights.

• they told me on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:50 am

they told me there will be larger infotainment screen, why it’s still the same?

• alexloh on Mar 01, 2019 at 2:17 pm

My 3days old Kia Rio 2018 FULLY IMPORTED engine defect, flapping sound (they dont know due to what) and key chain sound (due to using RON95, they said the car is designed for RON97) from the engine or gearbox. Reported the case since 8/1/19 until now, no solution nor how they wanna fix this. Im aware KIA Motors Corp already got my case file.

KIA MALAYSIA Careline staff, Puan Labilah told me “currently our principle is busy with system upgrading, your car still can drive rite? If you wanna bring it to consumer affairs, thats your rights.” Ok, i will do that, Thanks.

So, if ur car still can drive, then u r not priority and ur case will be sitting on shelf somewhere. Manufacturing defect due to QC issue in Korea, not priority. If defects due to wear and tear, next year, I assume.

If u wanna buy Kia Rion 2018 6 speed and u wanna pump RON95, buy other cars unless u wanna enjoy key chain sound while driving. IT IS DESIGNED this way!

Kia Motors Worldwide Quality Control in seriously in question. A brand new imported car with engine defects, along come with other sounds.

• alexloh on May 02, 2022 at 12:22 am

Sorry for the delay.

Kia replaced my engine after 8months, with the help from MPV Batu cave. They shipped the engine from Korea. Now I’m happy. The knocking sound due to pumping RON95, after engine replacement, same issue still occurs, but after SC reset my system and I recalibrate base on driving style, with the continue pumping of Petronas RON95, I can say hardly hear the knocking sound now! I’m a happy Kia Rio 6speed owner now!

• comel on Jul 08, 2019 at 10:46 am

Has alexloh problem (he commented Mar 01, 2019 at 2:17 pm) been resolved?

• alexloh on May 02, 2022 at 12:19 am

Sorry for the delay.

Kia replaced my engine after 8months, with the help from MPV Batu cave. They shipped the engine from Korea. Now I’m happy. The knocking sound due to pumping RON95, after engine replacement, same issue still occurs, but after SC reset my system and I recalibrate base on driving style, with the continue pumping of Petronas RON95, I can say hardly hear the knocking sound now! I’m a happy Kia Rio 6speed owner now!

• Zhahirin Mohamad on Aug 04, 2019 at 5:39 pm

Kia made a mistakes when they launched the car with 1.4 underpowered mated to a 4AT, small HU screen, no padding on door arm rest, with that price point, people have various other model to choose from, hence Kia should be more precise and careful when making desicion what to put in their cars in our market (nobody really make decision on buying a car on a Sunroof alone, and just who really use it anyway?), not to mention their reputation and rv in our country, especially in a very competitive b segment hatchback market.

Not much of interest shown since new Rio has been in the market despite getting a lot of media attention. Two years after launch they upgraded to 6AT along with new HU i guess, however damage is done, most potential buyer have gone to competitors.

I guess lesson this a to be learn by Kia Malaysia, in fact, they should have learn from UMW Toyota case as before, (they can’t even get their position back even after much effort to fix the damage they had done), and the damage are worse to Kia since their sales numbers are low to even begin with.

Anyway, now, with 6AT alone, it is a much better car to drive now, hope you regain your customers’ trust back, cheers.

• alexloh on May 02, 2022 at 12:21 am

Sorry for the delay.