SPYSHOTS: Toyota Yaris in Malaysia – CKD soon?

Here’s something we’re not supposed to see, because the car being transported was covered up. But sometimes it’s difficult to hold everything together in a storm, and wind can cause unintended exposure. Unfortunately for our subject here, photographer Sherman Sim was just behind as he was travelling to paultan.org PACE over the weekend.

My regular motor show teammate is no stranger to ASEAN cars, and immediately realised that it was the Toyota Yaris under the hiked up cover. The long rear lamps that wrapround deep into the side profile is a giveaway, confirmed by the Yaris badge seen clearly in one of the shots.

Currently sold in Thailand and Indonesia, this is the Yaris facelift that was launched in the Land of Smiles in September 2017. There, the Yaris and its sedan sister – the Yaris Ativ – are Thai eco cars with 1.2 litre engines. No such restriction for Indonesia, so the Yaris debut there in February this year with a 1.5 litre engine, the same 2NR unit used by the Perodua Myvi. The Indonesian-spec Yaris slots above the Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) twins, which max out at 1.2L.

This unit has rather unusual red coloured panels around the lower bumper, which doesn’t go very well with the Citrus Mica Metallic paint. It could well be a TRD Sportivo version of the five-door hatch. Toyota Thailand’s entry level car does not have a TRD Sportivo trim level, but there’s one in Indonesia, which rides on the same 16-inch two-tone rims you see here.

However, the Indo-spec Yaris TRD Sportivo has a different rear bumper, both in design and colour – it’s mainly body-coloured, with a black inside section and a red pinstripe. Ditto the side skirts, which are mainly black here, with red accents. The more subtle Indo-spec TRD Sportivo gets a slim strip of black, with a red tip. A unique “extra sporty” flavour for Malaysia perhaps?

The pre-heavy facelift Yaris made its way into Malaysia in 2014, but only a handful found homes due to its high price of above RM100k. This new one would need to be significantly more competitive, as the current Perodua Myvi has shifted the goalposts in terms of safety and equipment.

Local assembly might help its cause. Back in May 2016, Toyota confirmed plans to build a new factory in Malaysia. The new plant is located in Bukit Raja Industrial Estate, Klang, and will have an initial annual production capacity of 50,000 units a year.

The 670,000 sqm factory is part of Toyota’s plans to reorganise its production system in Malaysia. The current Assembly Services Sdn Bhd (ASSB) factory will be left to focus on the production of commercial vehicles, while the new plant takes on production of passenger cars, including Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs).

Then, Toyota said that it expected production at Bukit Raja to start in early 2019, the time when the ASSB plant will cease to roll out passenger vehicles. Coincidentally, the Yaris-ferrying truck you see here was on the NKVE heading towards Klang. What do you think of the Yaris vs the Myvi and Honda Jazz?

GALLERY: Indonesia-spec Toyota Yaris

GALLERY: Thai-spec Toyota Yaris

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 05, 2018 at 4:24 pm

If this is true, no wonder john and Mario are hiding today. Toyota sales are doing so well globally. And they do it on their own accord. Proton sales kaput and they need Geely and China to save Proton.

This Yaris will sell well. Just like the Camry also. Just few days preview already got thousands of interested parties.

• Again no front defrost system???

• Again no front defrost on it??? is that actually cost you a lot till need to take it down?.. actually is a must for every car to have it.

• Bzzzz on Nov 05, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Habis la jazz… and some say myvee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Again no front defrost on it??? is that actually cost you a lot till need to take it down?.. actually is a must for every car to have it.

• Sam “Hailat” Loo on Nov 05, 2018 at 4:51 pm

MyVi…? Let me guess – 4-speeder again…? So Toyolta…!!! I’ll pass…!!!

• matt farrel on Nov 05, 2018 at 5:20 pm

not too surprised actually, i got a text message from a toyota sales person informing that the yaris alongside the camry, rush and vios was open for booking several weeks ago.

• Design wise, just stick to the one without the bodykit. The TRD kit for both markets in here and everywhere else that has this version of the Yaris is just disgusting IMO.

• Not Toyota Salesman on Nov 05, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Is fortunate the front looks utterly ugly

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 05, 2018 at 5:41 pm

I didn’t know that the Yaris was avialable in 2014.

• MyVi with a Toyota badge?

• azrai on Nov 05, 2018 at 6:34 pm

New upcoming perodua with ah beng in mind maybe.

• Lousy john UMW on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:11 pm

Why bring this fugly Yaris UMW?! Bring the handsome European Yaris!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Ibnu bakrin on Nov 05, 2018 at 8:23 pm

I’ve knew this 2 weeks ago when i went to Toyota dealer asking about Vios. He said, current vios no more, will be replaces by Yaris Ativ (same with Singapore version). Later will come Yaris, RAV4 (America version), and corolla hatchback. Just wait.

• Same L0rr on Nov 05, 2018 at 8:28 pm

The game changer! Can eat Jazz easily! Good RV too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Roti Jon on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:40 pm

No need buy Yaris, just get new myvi and TRD sticker on it.

• ah beng on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:52 pm

The most powerful car incoming!!!!!!

• price is the determined factor!

• Frish on Nov 06, 2018 at 8:44 am

Omg cant wait for this!!

• Finally a worthy competitor for the Jazz!

• Just realised that my Myvi just cannot match the comfort and refinement of a Toyota despite it being a sister car. A bit harsh, loud and slightly on the bumpier side. The Yaris seems like good news

• beemah on Nov 07, 2018 at 9:51 pm

It is wobbling at high speed , toyota is not comfortable at all

• Finally the Yaris is back!!

• Tanyy on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:52 am

The spec list looks good based on whats in Thailand. Impressive for UMW to bring it here really

• BENZS on Nov 06, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Pls do not come to Malaysia. The most ridiculous looks ever. I was shock and unable to eat for few days after sawing such a look. Pls dislike me for this comment because its truly ugly. I appreciate people dislike me and thanks you in advance first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Stranger on Nov 07, 2018 at 8:18 am

Whoa Jazz salesman can’t even eat hearing this news..habislaaa

• benzs on Nov 07, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Sorry bro. Not my line in selling car, I’m just a reviewer in Paul Tan. Thanks for seeing me as salesman. Mayb I should apply with UMW. You might be my first customer. Thank you in advance, I will surrender all my commission for your car and give you as many freebies while full tank petrol. If you do not like T brand and like H brand. Nvm, I will apply another job with H. Good customer and kind enough to be my first customer. Tq in advance again.

• littlelove on Nov 07, 2018 at 9:05 am

thailand 60k est..indonesia 67k est..mostly cars in indonesia is 10 to 20k cheaper in malaysia..mybe in malaysia around 75-90k..based on specs..

• Ben Yap on Nov 07, 2018 at 9:42 am

red bodykit? that’s a weird colour.

• The red means it is as fast as ferarri and can smoke civic turbo anytime anyday

• Can't believe it.. on Nov 08, 2018 at 2:34 am

What no front defrost again? How come taiwan have it? Is that so expensive, till you need to remove it.. even P1 n p2 still hv it, that is a vr comment n is a must as a car. I am curious who the man behind the idea by removing it?.. You already earn so must on it, still not enough? still want to cut on it, no wonder lot of ppl. switch to H.city o others brands.. aren’t u feel the shame TOYOTA, u are killing ur own brand..

• Maria on Nov 08, 2018 at 10:19 am

Since the myvi had all those ASA and better equipment.. I think Toyo version will have more or same equipment like myvi. Perhaps Toyo Safety Sense for MY market. Just don’t like the front joker face though