Perodua Myvi – 22,000 units yet to be delivered as of end-September, efforts to reduce backlog ongoing

Perodua has released an update regarding the delays on deliveries of the Myvi, which had been caused by a disruption of supply at one of its vendors. The national carmaker said that as of end-September, around 22,000 units of its bestselling model have yet to reach customers’ hands, and that it is doubling down on efforts to reduce the waiting time to a “more acceptable timeframe.”

“We have yet to ascertain the full delivery timeframe but our manufacturing arm has begun production and deliveries will be forthcoming soon,” said president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. “Despite the unfortunate delays, we are extremely thankful that the Malaysian public continue to support Perodua. We offer our sincere apologies to the affected customers for the wait.”

The company had already confirmed at the end of August that it would provide cash rebates to the 3,100 customers who, before production was halted, were initially supposed to receive their cars before September 1 – the start date of the new sales and service tax (SST).

As a result of this disruption, Perodua sold “only” 9,500 vehicles in September, despite a record 168,200 vehicles finding homes between January and September this year – an increase of 11% over the 151,600 units sold during the same period last year.

“The sales jump [over the year so far] can be attributed to the positive response for the new Perodua Myvi as well as for our other models – the Axia, Bezza and Alza – which sold some 53,700, 38,100 and 18,400 units respectively this year so far,” said Aminar.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• That is more than VW Msia 3 years combined.. lol

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:33 pm

In 5 months, Perodua sold about 80,000 Myvis. In the same Period, Proton sold 2000 Iriz.

Let me put it in figures. 80,000 VS 2000

Clearly shows, Malaysians have confidence in Perodua.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Vendors are all the lazy type who always expect bantuan and kerajaan help. They don’t know how to deal with the private sector.

Instead of working hard, they sleep and lepak in the office instead of meeting to demands by Perodua

• Celup King on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:57 am

The grapevine is most are cancelling their orders and going for Proton or other makes.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Nobody is going for Proton becaus eProton won’t exist in 3 years time. Proton will be just an authorised reseller of Geely cars.

• Too bad the people don’t share your hatred against Proton. Say what you like, people still buy it and Perodua is losing marketshare.

• “..caused by a disruption of supply at one of its vendors”

I heard myvi dashboard mould broken & they had to build a new one. Is it true?

• Don't ask. on Oct 06, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Yes, indeed. Who told you? Whose in ur circle working as Peroduan?

• PT Singam on Oct 05, 2018 at 12:41 pm

If they switch to Proton theyll be jumping from thr trying pan into the fire!

• PT Singam on Oct 05, 2018 at 12:41 pm

If they switch to Proton theyll be jumping from thr frying pan into the fire!

• Kerinchi dweller on Oct 05, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Déjà vu. Similar to Proton Wira sales backlog during last decade…

• Mohd Jamli bin Zainal Abidin on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:08 pm

My booking for MYVI was in June 2018 but still waiting…Perodua not telling the truth. JPJ Registration no going to obsolete in one month.

• Mohd Jamli bin Zainal Abidin on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:09 pm

My booking for MYVI was in June 2018 but still waiting…Perodua not telling the truth. JPJ Registration no going to obsolete in one month.

• September 2018 Perodua Market Share Drop to 35%

• Same L0rr on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Oh my! What the great Perodua Myvi!

• Michelin on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Just claimed a new gearbox for my 6 months old myvi.. transaxle component failure issue.. sigh! SC said mine was their 2nd case.. I wonder how many cases nationwide..

• newme on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Proton apa lagi? cepat-cepatlah kejar. P2 dah semput ni.

• Perodua sell about 100k Myvi a year while Proton sell around 1200 Iriz per year. Geely Apa you doing la? You shud be ashamed of yourself

• Ben Yap on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:33 pm

just top up a little bit can get a better quality and badge, the honda jazz.

if honda jazz sells at RM60K, myvi will only sell 100 units per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • heyheyman123 on Oct 05, 2018 at 9:12 pm

No. just top up more, can get a better quality and badge, the proton iriz new facelift

if Proton Iriz sells at RM60K, Honda Jazz and Perodua Myvi will only sell 100 units per month.

But next gen Honda Jazz will go back to outdated design for exterior but I dont know about the rest about interior and specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Perodua Super Fanboy Gila John on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:54 pm

P2 > P1

• P2 tak seronok memandu berbanding dgn P1
      Bkn semua model P2 jimat minyak
      Bkn semua model P1 mkn minyak
      Dr segi ciri keselamatan yg dilenkapi, P1 > P2

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Oct 05, 2018 at 6:35 pm

To further reduce order backlog issue, one simple suggestion, re-introduce 1.5-litre manual version, perhaps in SE trim. Also, bring back the temperature meter (doesn’t mean it has to be jarum analog type, a digital figure or bar display together with blue/red warning light will do instead of just blue/red icon)

• Now a day all engine is fuel injection type. So no need temperature meter like in your proton wira with carburetor engine. Now a day modern engine just need blue/red icon. Come on. Move on.

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Oct 06, 2018 at 7:52 am

I’m agree about temperature gauge.. it’s too risky if we dont see the increasing in temperature slowly and yet after we realized.. it’s show red which means too hot already.. BUT for 1.5 manual varian myvi..hahah.. the would be another racer like old myvi kuning extreme.. haha