The government says it will not reintroduce the sale of RON 92 petrol, despite many requests for it to do so, Bernama reports. This is because of the non-environmentally friendly levels of sulphur in the fuel, domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said.
He said while there had been many requests for its reintroduction to help ease the rakyat’s financial burden, the government is continuing to offer RON 95 and RON 97 petrol because of their lower sulphur levels.
“The lower the sulphur content, the higher the cost of the fuel. RON 92 is cheaper because of the higher sulphur content. However, as a nation bound by the international protocol (pertaining to the environment), we are required to comply with the schedule to move towards the use of fuel containing less sulphur. For now, our policy is to retain RON 95 and RON 97,” he told the Dewan Rakyat.
He added that reverting to RON 92 would also go against progress from an automotive viewpoint, with modern engines being designed to operate on higher quality fuel. Last year, some consumer associations called for the return of RON 92 petrol – which was discontinued in 2009 and replaced by the current RON 95 as the default petrol grade – to offset the rising cost of living.
the fuel price already drop, why need to introduced ron 92. just reduced the price
OMG you all need to petition this minister to get proper education on fuel octane aka RON.
He has given statement that the higher the price for higher RON (octane) auto means lesser sulphur content!
Sulphur content inside fuel is measured using ie. EURO(index) system, EURO2M has the highest sulphur toxin meanwhile EURO5 has the least sulphur and toxin. The cleanest is EURO6 now.
They will tell u, they need 6 months to engage a consultants to study with them on the differences of RON and EURO ratings for fuels and EURO rating for emission. Then later they will need 6 months to come out with repot on what they learned.
MY pipu no like bantuan, dedak and subsidi
Oil price now under $50. RON 95 should now drop under RM 2.00.
Dont talk about Ron 92. Until today, even Euro 5 Ron 95 also don’t have. All our cars still using poison Euro 2M Ron 95
And our 90% of all Diesel cars are still using the poisonous and carcinogenic Euro 2M Diesel
Euro 2 was banned in Europe in 1994, that is 24 years ago. It was banned because it was said to be equivalent to poison.
But in Malaysia, 24 yrs later, we are still using it. Hope the current Government can give us what the previous dirty Government could not give us….clean fuel and clean air to breathe
what a load of crap…
tell me who ask for it? for 92?
Dont twist the story as you care about enviroment.
How come then Euro 4 is delayed??
your ruler phased out RON92 decades ago due to its technological limitation since RON92 is leaded fuel at that time.
it has nothing to do with environment or fuel content sulphur.
Many modern car engine of that day can’t run on leaded fuel.
do you think minister of that bygone years even care for the environment?
I was still able to pump ron92, unleaded, back in 2008. WTF are you babling non factual stuff around here for?
Malaysia first started the fuel quality
improvement by reducing the lead
content in gasoline fuel through the introduction of the Environmental
Quality (Control of Lead Concentration in Motor Gasoline) Regulations
1985 (1st Stage Reduction) – Reduction of lead content from the initial
0.84g/l to 0.5g/l.
1990 (2nd Stage Reduction) – Further reduction from 0.5 g/l to 0.15g/l.
1991 – Almost all of the oil companies started to voluntarily introduce
unleaded gasoline (ULG)
1997 – Unleaded gasoline accounted for about 82% of nationwide gasolie
sales
August 1998 – Governement announces complete ban of leaded gasoline
Agreed. Where is Euro 4 RON95??
Why the new G is totally silent on this milestone that was planned since at least 3 years ago.
If not mistaken, this should be implemented by end of October 2018. Almost 2 months have passed. Now almost 2019 already…
New minister was not informed about this kah?
Minister really care about environment or not?
Even Singapore and Australia sell much cleaner and less sulphur RON92 and RON91 respectively than our filthy EURO2M. What say you?
utter bull crap! sulphur content has nothing to do with octane rating. bodoh piang punya meneteri, nak tunujk pandai konon. we can have euro 4 RON 92 fuel.
Nk wat acaner tu jer calon menteri yg ada. Yg len sume dh kena cantas/lompat parti/masuk mahkamah tggu kena jel..
can people tell me why people keep complaining? did people who purchased cars not realised that the cost of running a car is more than just the monthly instalments?
WTF??
people complaining about dumb minister with dumb advisor making dumb statement
(RON) Reseach Octane Number = knock resistance of gasoline
European emision standard (EURO 2/3/4/5/6) = exhaust emissions standards
last time our RON97 fuel (pre 2008) was a EURO 3 emission standard …kek!
euro grade determines the sulfur content, not ron
I tot using Euro standard? RON is just Octane rating rite?. why not use RON92 with Euro 5 standard?
No, because janji was Euro5 RON95 at RM1.50, not reintroducing RON92. Where is the cheap fuel like they promised?
RM1:50 is not part of PH manifesto.
We rakyat malaysia are sick of your fake news John
U only involve me in ur stupidity cuz u cannot answer the question. I say again, dun involve me in ur stupidity just cuz ur Gov is useless and incapable to honour ur promises made just to win at all cost.
Since u wanna bring me in, then I ask u; the promised Rm 1.50 EURO5 RON97 petrol mana?
In Malaysia still use RON ♂️.
FOR realistic quality is use euro. We are still using the lousy outdated euro 2
Unless you want to fork out more money for euro4. While our diesel is euro 2 and 5
RON rating = sulphur content?! What kind of bullcrap is this bloody minister talking about. How come some other countries can even have cleaner RON 91/92 fuel than our RON 95/97.
my 1.5t vtec engine need at least ron95. so i don’t need ron 92.
RON92 is no. Its residue, Sulfur Dioxide mix with vapor forms sulfuric acid which short life the engine parts (piston and its ring) and exhaust system.
Bodoh Mini-Star. RON (rating) has NOTHING to do with sulphur content.
This new gomen sadly still pick dumb coconuts like him to be Mini-Star. Another village hero idiot.
Halo, pergi study betul betul lah. Malu lah kalau you ni kena quoted by overseas press.
Euro 5 and 6 pls. Our Malaysian lives is not cheap. Look at those diesel car, once 1st gear accelerate… Boom! black smoke. Petrol car are those with carburetor engine. Same issue, 1st gear and boom… Hey G, our lives is shorten due to petrol with more sulfur. Pls banned all euro 4 and below. Intro Euro 5 and above. Our Malaysian lives is more important than Subsidy.
Excuse me I don;t understand why people are complaining when RON95 is already at RM1.50 as per the election manifesto??
LMAO
Agreed with most comments above, sulphur content in fuel doesn’t relate to RON (Research Octane Number). We can still produce RON 92 with Euro 5 standard, no problem. But the problem is the modifications that need to be done at the refinery plant which cost dearly. That’s why we have been delaying Euro 5 for petrol.
I don’t see why not. We had been on track to introducing RON95 Euro5 early next year. What happened to that?
where is your promise ” harga petrol akan turun – PH)?
https://paultan.org/2018/11/30/ron-97-turun-31-sen-untuk-dis-2018-rm2-50/
pakatan harapan minister treat Malaysian as ignorant kampung folks ?
First of all Sulfur contain are not determined by octane rating, but Euro standard.
Second, Ron 97 is the standard fuel back then until it been replaced by Ron 95, whereas Ron 92 back then is considered as Minyak Lama which actually replace Leaded Fuel that been discontinued in year 2000 due to environment issue.
Stop treating like we were born yesterday.
Saya pakai kereta 1.6L sudah 5 tahun. Saya sanggup bayar lebih untuk kerajaan tanpa subsidi. Saya hanya harap harga barang tidak naik tahun depan. Itu sahaja rayuan saya.
Shall we suggest wooden wheels next? The reason for high cost of living and low pay is because each family having too many children. Population growth rate higher than economy and food production: Salary go down because there is no more supply of man power. Food more expensive because there is more demand now than supply / production of food. Government is not to blame but rakyat itself.
In America, they still use RON 91, RON 89 and even RON 87 ! Even worse still, their petrol may contain up to 10% ethanol (to lower petrol costs and support local farmers). America is the world’s second largest car market, if there were any issues with using RON 87 fuel in 2018, we would know about it.
Most modern Japanese cars will run just fine with around RON 90 fuel. Cars these days have ECUs and other on-board electronics which can adapt to a wide range of RON grades. Only certain sports models or cars with direct injected high compression engines (like the ones with Mazda’s SkyActiv family) will require higher RON fuel.
If you drive an older or high mileage car, you might benefit from higher RON fuel to counter the gradual build-up of hard carbon deposits over the years. The carbon deposits actually increase the compression ratio because they take up space in the cylinders. Bear in mind that some fuel additives can remove these deposits.
Other than that, I can’t think of any other reason why you would need higher RON fuel. For most cars, RON 95 is completely fine. If you pay extra for RON 97 or RON 100, you’re wasting your money. RON 100 fuel may have more additives, but you can always buy these additives separately in bottle form.
The RON grade does not determined how clean your fuel is, only how resistant it is to pre-detonation (which causes knocking). The Euro emissions system on the other hand does. Like many of the comments mentioned above, we should be demanding Euro 4 or 5 petrol. Reintroducing RON 92 fuel is besides the point.
CORRECTION : In the first paragraph, I mentioned that America uses RON 87, 89 and 91. This is incorrect. America uses a different fuel system called AKI.
The rough conversions are as follows ;
87 AKI = RON 91
89 AKI = RON 93
91 AKI = RON 95
There is also 93 AKI ( = RON 97 ) fuel, but it’s rare, like RON 100 in Malaysia.
In any case, the average RON of American fuel is still lower than what we have here. My apologies for the mix up.
PH or BN, our minister still having kampung cert, confused octane rating vs sulphur content. Might as well say it contains too much unsaturated fat.
I won’t be surprised if one day the minister said Euro4 is expensive because using Euro currency.
after read all the comments, i realize too many scientists here. ok fine. but after read minister’s statement what i understand is, gov can’t reintroduced ron 92 because high sulphur content, but you guys condemn him saying it’s not about ron, it’s about euro rating. ok fine. so tell me now, if ron95/97 we still can’t get above euro 2m and you saying it dangerous, how could it possible we can get ron 92 with higher euro rating?? we can not. so saying ron 92 euro2m is not environmental friendly than ron 95/97 euro2m is a correct statement. what’s wrong with you guys? ok let me translate for you. kalau ron 95/97 pun tak dapat lagi euro4,5,6,seterusnya apa logik kau nak kata ron 92 dengan euro4,5,6,seterusnya? lain la klu ron 95/97 sekarang dah euro tinggi, barulah kita suggest kt ron lagi rendah. adoi.
Do u understand or know what is RON n Euro Emission Standard?. U should know RON is not bout sulphur content but fuel compression. Euro Emission Standard is include sulphur, PM, NOx etc content.