New fuel price mechanism to be revealed tomorrow

The government has apparently decided on the mechanism for fuel prices and this will be announced tomorrow, January 4, The Star reports. According to domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, the announcement which will be made through the official government channel.

“The cabinet met yesterday (January 2) to discuss the matter, and it reached a decision. It will be announced tomorrow,” he said. He was tight-lipped on the form of mechanism that had been decided on by the cabinet, but revealed that the decision has taken into account the interests of all stakeholders.

Last month, finance minister Lim Guan Eng had stated that fuel prices, including for RON 95 petrol, were set to be floated and determined on a weekly basis from January 1, 2019. It was then announced that it had been put on hold following opposition from the Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM), and as such retail prices of fuel remaining unchanged for the first week of January.

Yesterday, petrol dealers had met with prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to voice their concerns over the weekly float system. A proposal was also presented for consideration to ensure they would not suffer losses when the new system comes into effect.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• No Cancer No Freak Weather for future generations. on Jan 03, 2019 at 9:52 pm

We want clean fuel at least EURO 5 across the range.
    We don’t want gov subsidized cheap but dirty EURO 2M RON 95 fuel.
    The rest of the world already pumping EURO 5 even on lowest RON 90 fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Maslanisme on Jan 03, 2019 at 10:42 pm

Since PDAM didnt complain since 2015, wise to use back KPDNKK fuel price mechanism.

Fuel subsidy cuts will stop petrol smuggling, use the savings to abolish road tax, improve roads/public transportations and subsidized 1st car purchases.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:15 am

PDAM always like to complain because they are used to being pampered. I suggest open petrol station license to everybody in Malaysia and not just given to a selected group. I am sure many in Malaysia are more competent to run the stations more efficiently.

It is time we open the Petrol Station license to everybody in Malaysia. Also please open AP permits to everybody in Malaysia also and not just a selected group

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • Moderate meleis on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:24 am

Rakyat should take charge of our own national assets. KWSP, Petronas and Khazanah take over all petrol stations. Use profits and dividends to provide free tol, health and education regardless status.

This is Malaysia

• YB Kunta Kote on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:31 am

PDAM used to complains before but with the previous gov, petrol still were set to be floated, and the rakyat get the benefit.

but now PDAM complains sikit je the gov already scared and make a u turn… I believe everybody know why ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 0
          • haqiem azri on Jan 04, 2019 at 11:38 am

Shut them up PDAM! Shutdown PDAM!!
            Power to the Pipel!!! Poodah bangsatwan

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:41 pm

In Bolehland…everything seems to hang on “BANTUAN’.
      Crybaby petrol dealers shed tons of croc tears..now U Turn Gomen Pakatan ..kesian them…keluar tongkat…kasi bantuan. In the end,they can have time to play golf and get cun cun amoi urut.Gomen gives them bantuan…from taxdollars.
      I thot EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN came to a halt with new gomen.But the fact is PERLINDUNGAN DIBERIKAN SELAMA LAMA NYA.jUST DISAPPOINTED with the new regime.It is going rogue very soon,if things continue like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:18 am

To much of Bantuan given. The PDAM are a pampered lot. When petrol prices go up everytime, each of the PDAM members make untung millions

And we all know, petrol prices went up more times than it went down. I think petrol prices went up about 40X but gone down only 10 times

But the few times petrol prices go down, the PDAM members ask the Government to bayar ganti rugi.

Where got logic? Like that, when you untung lebih, you should bayar ganti rugi also to the Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Mahmood on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:39 am

Government give everything free but too lazy to work hard. Give contracts also, sell the contract to other people

• lut you on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:33 pm

We want fresh air, all Malaysian need Protiga EV

• Azlisham on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:47 pm

EV already.

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

• xoxox on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:53 pm

Euro 2m is 20 years old standard..Malaysia politicians’ minds also stay in 20 years ago…. lol

• transformer on Jan 03, 2019 at 9:53 pm

its RAKYAT rights vs PDAM profits!!!! who will win???

• Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Jan 03, 2019 at 10:21 pm

RM1:50 per litre petrol please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 03, 2019 at 10:29 pm

New mechanism? If it’s not Rm1.50 as promised, then it’s just another capati in a long, long list of capati promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Rahim on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:18 pm

PH must stand firm on all its pledges. The rakyat is watching you very closely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • borneo darul seram on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:20 pm

RM1.50 a litre RON92 petrol only if USD1 equals to RM3…

• The titlw should be “New U turn mechanism to be revealed tomorrow” lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • lilytan on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:53 am

WTF is this? How many time wanna review? How many times wanna discuss? How many times just beating around the bush? Fuel price remains high. Tolls still there. Food becomes pricier despite much hyped SST. WTF is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Manual Swift Sporter on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:04 am

I think Karipap business profits also very low. When business good they only make 20 sen profit per piece, when economy not good everyone eat kuih bahulu instead. I demand Tun review Karipap pricing to make sure sellers confirm profit. Karipap sellers outnumber petrol fat cats 100 to 1, 95% bumi and 100% halal. Their rights must be protected.

Just don’t tell nasi lemak sellers. Later we get Bersih 5.0.

• Amran on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:52 am

I smell Petron here & there.. Cronism continue..

• Daddykasi on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:53 am

Tolak kerejaan uturn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:27 pm

Cronism is still strong, in PH Govt