RM20 million R&D fund not just for NNCP – Redzuan

Yesterday, news surfaced about funding being approved for the new national car prototype, but entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof has since clarified that only part of the RM20 million allocation of funds will go to the development of the prototype, and that the figure is the existing allocation for the ministry’s research and development, Bernama reports.

“The ministry is estimated to have RM20 million in R&D funds, and we are not using all of this fund to produce the prototype as we admit the cost to develop the prototype is much lower than that,” Redzuan said in response to criticism of the use of government funds for the new national car project (NNCP).

Critics of the third national car project did not understand the implicit benefits behind the idea, Redzuan said, noting that the development programme could be the catalyst to many automotive entrepreneurs as well as those involved in the Internet of Things (IoT), robotics, software and aerospace, which would also enjoy the economic opportunities.

“When talking about the automobile industry, it will involve a lot of other engineering activities, because car manufacturing needs a lot of expertise and that’s why we must create a model or prototype which of course needs funding,” he said.

The NNCP will need the participation of the private sector as the government will not inject funds into the project, though it can benefit from R&D funds allocation from the government. The new national car has been slated for release in 2020, while while an early prototype is expected to surface sometime this year.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:23 am

Sudah kena tiaw online, baru pusing sini, pusing sana, macam² explaination.

Sudah lah. You politicians broke your promise. Simple as that. Whatever happened to No Funds From Gomen? No using public money for this 3rd Nation Car project?

You politicians are making me regret voting for you buggers. Watch out, next election I may not be so forgiving.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • Vincent on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:29 pm

Not need to regret lar, if we do not change, there will be no GE15! Since this new G banyak bohong, we wait and see.. GE15, we can change again!

• Since this gohmen manyak bohong, how certain we will have GE15 if they ady knew the rakyat will throw them out then?

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:07 pm

It is a dedak culture. Very ingrained already in lazy people who don’t want to work hard.

So they try to get contracts to make money

• Well said… Brave and proud national academicians, intellectuals, farmers, teachers and civil servants, used to made up the bulk of grassroots members, were displaced and replaced by an alien breed of businessmen. People who seemed to be interested as a means to furthering their business interests.

So our leader who has feudal power can direct contracts and projects to own friends and supporters in return for loyalty. This is now a vehicle for people to get rich instead of a platform for ideas to nation building. Sekian

• Mutalib on Jan 10, 2019 at 7:43 am

Lucky we live with a Government that is kind and honest. Now, everybody can protest and voice their views.

If follow the previous corrupted Government style, by now, all of us would have been arrested under sosma for criticising NNCP

• u think u can change the gov as easy as that?

Mahathir is a very smart guy… the 1st think mahathir did after won the election is change the SPRM chief commissioner, which also one of his crony. so if u think u can bring down mahathir regime easily, then u are totally wrong.

• sabahan on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:18 pm

Fully agreed!Better bring back RM55B 1Mdb.
          20m way too little bah,1Msia Drive Bersama!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Tun Pirate King on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:18 pm

You asked to bring back RM55B 1Mdb but instead you brought back RM500B Pirate King.

• Geely Kantoi Kelentong Sales Figures on Jan 10, 2019 at 7:38 am

At least our Government is honest now. Not like Geely can kena kantoi for cheating on sales figures

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:04 pm

too many lazy people running the country. We need more people from Mainland to come into Malaysia to bring some honesty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Geely Kantoi Kelentong Sales Figures on Jan 10, 2019 at 7:40 am

Hope Malaysian Government investigate falsifying estimates and sales figures

• Z.Maher on Jan 10, 2019 at 8:09 am

lazy and less smart, plus mudah lupa and tuang kerja is no good habits. We gotta change

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Politicians may change but it is still the same lazy fellows running the show.

Come on, Cabinet sahaja tukar. That is all. Those working below it are still the same lazy people constantly looking for an easy way of doing things, goyang kaki and relax.

Has the 1.6 million Civil Service the changed? It is still the same tongkat people

So I dont know why everyone is shocked about this news here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
      • Darren on Jan 09, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Really? Blaming others again? Who makes these decisions? Certainly not those 1.6 million civil servants who you accuse. This is a car site, so stick to the topic. We have enough of your insinuations against them. This is 100% a PH issue here. Pakatan Hanching!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • Ha? Gov servant now are working with national car factory? Ya.. shocking news.

• Arshad on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:17 pm

The truth hurts but we have many incomeptent politicians and those in Government offices.

• S.Ibrahim on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:21 pm

Truth kepala hotak! Pegawai kerajaan manade boleh buat keputusan sebegitu? Nak tipu orang kenelah berotak, bukannye berhotak!!!

• M eat m.isa on Jan 12, 2019 at 11:51 pm

Siannn Lth felda Ltat. tak tipooo manajemen ok ye

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Remember Li Chunrong? In 6 months, he could identify what was going wrong in Proton. Our local CEOs of PRoton, could not do it in 20 years

Li identified that all the kroni vendors and suppliers were super overcharging Proton and bankrupting Proton.

This is why we need fresh blood into the country to run our Government departments and also Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 09, 2019 at 5:33 pm

“we need fresh blood”
        Then why did you & mates tell us to vote for Atuk and his band of merry bandits.

• Arshad on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:16 pm

This will be another Proton or like another GLC….bailout after bailout because of incompetent people trying to do business

• Geely Kantoi Kelentong Sales Figures on Jan 10, 2019 at 7:42 am

We do not need another failure like Proton which raised all our car prices the past 30 years to exorbitant levels

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Too many lazy people in Malaysia looking for contracts and easy way to make money. I wish everybody would work hard

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:46 pm

Gomen no money for certain cholesterol,hypertension medicine.
      Gomen no money for UTAR/TARUC
      Gomen no money…so tax payers kena kau kau with threatening LHDN letters
      Gomen no money to abolish tolls
      Gomen no money to help the needy except dishing out BRIM
      Eh,suddenly got tons of cash for PROTIGA.!!!!
      Just 7 months after winning GE 14.,it became PAKATAN HALANGAN!!!!! CASH IS STILL KING,TUN….HOW ABOUT THAT?

• UTurn M on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:28 am

Aik. Lagi pusing, lagi UTurn. Alahai! Belit-belit macam ular sawa. Last-last rakyat bodoh yang kena baham.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Remember Li Chunrong? In 6 months, he could identify what was going wrong in Proton. Our local CEOs of PRoton, could not do it in 20 years

Li identified that all the kroni vendors and suppliers were super overcharging Proton and bankrupting Proton.

This is why we need fresh blood into the country to run our Government departments and also Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • guan yin ma on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:37 am

So cheap. Less than 4MIL USD can create a car prototype. You sure is car not bike right….

• Bicycle…. Bmx

• Arshad on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Sometimes, lack of education. Universities pass you simply. So, maybe this guy English not good. Maybe he talking about Motor

• Chavez on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Take a good look at the logo and the picture in the background. Does that look like a motorcycle? It seems like these PH ministers aren’t the only ones lacking in education.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:41 am

“.. the cost to develop the prototype is much lower than that..”
    Lolwhut? Is he thinking this is 20million USD ka? or Pound Sterling? It took Tesla ~$50 million in USD to develop Model 3 which is what NNCP is trying to achieve from what i gathered in their statements. I really want to know what kind of “grass” these Pakatan ministers are smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Ah meng on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:45 am

Wahh.. Banyak duit kerajaan. Dpt beri rm20b untuk R&D NNCP

• Daddykasi on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:48 am

Yeay.. Kroni happy..

• newme on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:48 am

RM20 mil only for R&D? Sure or not? Proton claimed RM1.1 bil R&D grant to design junks.
    What can RM20mil do? To design the rim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • fadzili Rahman on Jan 10, 2019 at 12:26 pm

I am sure this money will go to cronies to but BMW, Mercedes Limo cars for “RND research purposes” but the cars will be used by their families and parked in their bungalows not to be used by RND staff.

• Patut BR1M dah xda. Duit semua allocate R&D.. Kroni diutamakan, rakyat disampahkan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Halim on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:52 am

Lol, nnti kata 20 milion tak cukup bla bla bla, n minta lagi dari kerajaan

Actually need to be CLEAR how much is the budget for third national car project how much for the ministry, come on lah this year is 9102, no more lack of transparency already. Ni duit rakyat kot, not yours ok

Anyway, will not expect any good outcomes from the government regarding the third national car project. Let us see how this project will go on yeah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Arshad on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:14 pm

That is Proton style. Up till today already taken RM20 billion in bailouts and on top of that, still losing RM4 mil per day until today also

• PH is filled with Raja Lawaks, all jokers and cannot be trusted. No wonder their basher sapoter here is oso lawak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • John Smith on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:03 pm

BN is no better with corruption and stealing the rakyat’s duit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • SK, Lim on Jan 09, 2019 at 5:43 pm

While I agree, at least BN stole and still give some back to the rakyat. This PH, steals everything and gave this unwanted thing! We don’t want this! At least BN programs are people oriented, this NNCP is straight up crony oriented.

And worse is, they are effectively telling us Government money does not belong to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • Sick & Tired on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:59 pm

Ya ya ya, I also get the feeling this is what PH is trying to tell us.
          Our money belongs to them.
          Their money belongs to themselves.

WTH!!!!

• Brian on Jan 09, 2019 at 12:04 pm

Another U Turn! Is PH still trustable? Based on what I see of late, the answer is NO!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Abg beng on Jan 09, 2019 at 12:05 pm

Better use that money to repair all the potholes and paint the road divider in malaysia.. malaysian roads are getting worse by the day.. remember we vote for you.. agree = press like..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Crony on Jan 09, 2019 at 12:13 pm

He he he he he he he he……..

• lilytan on Jan 09, 2019 at 12:15 pm

No gov money should into this pet project. Not even 1 cent. We hold LGE accountable for his words. Unless he is not trustworthy like most politician.

• Khairul Izam on Jan 09, 2019 at 12:37 pm

Nii haa! Mau tipu tu biar berotak. Ini menteri ingat nak buat kereta baharu Rm20 juta cukup ke? Macam alasan utuk tipu rakyat je. Macam lagi satu menteri tipu kata duit rakyat takan diguna utuk biayai NNCP. Lagi satu menteri tipu harga petrol akan ditetapkan pada Rm1.50 seliter. Lagi satu mentri tipu semua tol akan dibubarkan. Semua parapara menteri penipu & penyanggak..

• Korean Fan on Jan 10, 2019 at 2:36 am

The whole idea is not about prototype. It is how the money can be syphoned. Prototype is just an excuse.

• In my opinion this is just a waste Of money. This market is now so competitive you really have to put in a lot of money to market and also to develop the car. How can you compete with the major players and China as well. Look at what happen to proton. This is a very good life lesson to be learn and yet they still want to do it.

• Greasemonkey on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:07 pm

Not they,old fart pushing for it to enrich his cronies,not happy? Vote those jokers & kaki bodek out.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:38 pm

We had that chance back in GE14. Did we take it? Nope.

Now we will have to regret it for a very long time, if this takes off before GE15.

• Author Mick Chan on Jan 09, 2019 at 1:24 pm

The new national car has been slated for release in 2020, while while an early prototype is expected to surface sometime this year. Leading to the death of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Ei. Tell your bosses, the rakyat anger is boiling with all these U turns and lies contradicting each other. If your side don’t stop this stupid idea now, we ensure you will be making another history… as the One Term Government.

• Anonymous on Jan 09, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Govt now must clarify how much of the RM20mil R&D grant… which is rakyat’s money… will be allocated or given to 3rd National car for prototype and such… and how much from this R&D grant will be left for other entrepreneurs…?

• U Tun on Jan 09, 2019 at 2:02 pm

Nobi said: “No Gov. fund for ‘New National Car Project'”..now.. kencing sambil uturn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • whoistheadvisorofthisminister? on Jan 09, 2019 at 2:02 pm

“The ministry is estimated to have RM20 million in R&D funds, and we are not using all of this fund to produce the prototype as we admit the cost to develop the prototype is much lower than that,” Redzuan said in response to criticism of the use of government funds for the new national car project (NNCP)….Ha ha ha….Cost to develop the prototype lower???ha ha ha….

• Come on. At the end of the day outsource from overseas, or sell to oversea company.

• Lolz! So many hentam PH Gov. Next basher will say all of them r my dupes. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • 10 people criticising Pakatan on PT is nothing compared to million of the rakyat criticising the previous kleptocratic government.

Anyway, let’s stick to the topic shall we, john? This is a car site after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • So many johns in this website. This is a car site, not a keyboard warrior site.

• 10 pipu? It looks like u got a problem with arithmetic. Cannot count past 10 isit? Then better stay in school and learn lor. Stop being a PH trooper talking bollocks here.

Its veli obvious the pipu r enraged at this capati.

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 13, 2019 at 10:38 pm

John (bukan john) is correct. The ‘pipu’ on PT do not represent 30 million of the rakyat

• Frozen on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:48 pm

Then what about you? Your reply to John above isn’t sticking to the topic either. 10 people critcising PH is nothing to do with car, neither is your accusation of previous kleptocratic government. Your entire first paragraph doesn’t even have the word “car” in it.

So why not you stick to the topic and stop trolling with your chilling stories? This is a car site after all.

• waters on Jan 09, 2019 at 2:42 pm

Puny 20m maybe sufficient for bumper design. Compared to eye watering RM5 Bil funding given to Greentech Corp in 2017…

• Red Jacket on Jan 09, 2019 at 2:51 pm

Cuts everywhere, people lose their jobs, financial aids for the poors reduced, suddenly have money for useless car project. Insanity. Get your priorities right please.

• panjang on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Its starting to show and i really hope more educated citizen take advantage of this.

What i mean is that people voice of concern is starting to be heard and responded to. Plus, the gomen took step to explained in a slightly more detailed fashiom compared to just showing whose the boss.

Its one small step to a clean administration which if the admin took the wrong step then in future there will no longer administration to be administer by the admin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Celup King on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:06 pm

One small step to a slippery slope of being kicked out after 1 term. The people didn’t vote for NNCP, they have made clear their objection as can be seen here. And yet, come heck or high waters, they still proceed despite all the misgivings.

• transformer on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:26 pm

one old man fetish about cars has resulted backlash from people who voted them in the first place and will take whole PH Gov responsible for this blunder!

Until today there no offical report from PH Gov on grants/funds given to keep Proton and its cronies alive since 1981! When will PAC starts investigate and report about this matter!!!

• v-tec fan on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:28 pm

apa susah, tutup je project P3. tak ya susah2 nak bagi alasan kah, uturn kah, R&D kah and etc…

• Ah meng on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Tolak kerajaan uturn.. Tun M dah jadi uturn M. Turun harga dah jadi uturn naik harga.

• StingerKia on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:07 pm

Suddenly feel hopeless to this new gov, when they announced this 3rd national car project and axed some of the railway transport project already a big disappointment… Let alone those build race track, more commission to petrol dealers, u-turn craps etc… (facepalm)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • angeleyes on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:12 pm

Here we go again..I told you before. History will repeat itself. Whatever it is, hope the end product will be a success and not failures like what we had soooo many times before..

• Latukbandar on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:51 pm

Well, mahathir did promised a new national car during the many ceramah before ge14, go youtube these videos. If you dont know, then ask youself, why are ph supporters self sensoring news that they do not like to hear? How many of your fb friends stop sharing about tnb hike, gas hike and water hike or ringgit drop? Before ge, share like crazy, all bn fault, now the same thing all keep quiet.

We become stupid when we self sensor, or follow blindly. Mahathir did promised, but not in the manifesto, so, want u turn or not? Or u turn is not acceptable?

• newme on Jan 09, 2019 at 5:27 pm

“Critics of the third national car project did not understand the implicit benefits behind the idea, Redzuan said, ”

Challenge the rakyat at your peril.

• Manharpreet Singh on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:09 pm

Dear paultan crew,
    Please help do something about this nncp.

The nncp will be a failure, every young malaysian knows this. Why so?
    1. We are moving away from the car in the traditional sense and moving into an era of electric and autonomous driving. The next decade will showcase different ways of mobility. Gone will be the traditional way of driving and the traditional car. Building a car company now is not future proofing its backward thinking. We need to move forward.
    2. To build a technological company to be on the epitome of mobility and futurism we need education. Workers hardworking and skilled. A different mentality.
    3. We should first work hard at fixing the current problems plaguing the nation and gov linked companies, reasons why our original car comapny did not do well. Corruption cronyism laziness and tidak apa attitude.. Proton was heavily plaqued by this. Solve it, catch the ppl involved for taking money from proton, billing exorbitantly. Complacency during the period of the proton wira.
    Building a new car is not the way forward. I strongly believe those in the car industry should help educate the leaders who are not thinking but just trying to be yes man.
    Please help malaysia paultan

• Sick & Tired on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:09 pm

How can PaulTan help Malaysia when Malaysians themselves dug them into this gigantic hole during GE14?

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Exact copy of MAI, talk and sound like so knowledgable using words like InternetofThings, autonomous driving, i bet they dont even knw meaning of EEV…back to BN next election..at least they plan to throw away money by Research and Dump…

• Ben Yap on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:42 pm

got criticize and now try to reason out. we, malaysians, will reason out with you at the General Election.

Either scrape it or we’ll see the next results.

• Petoron Sagu on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:53 pm

RnD funding also same….. Still to support the project. Still a part of producing prototype….. Ingat orang bodo ke macam lu….

• Dong gor on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Whatever u wanna call it. Just keep to the words that it won’t touch government money. That is taxpayer money OK. Get Saudi prince or Japan to donate if u like. Full stop

• Pak cik on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:27 pm

He just want the money to pass to cronies of appointed…Same shit as previously

• 3party on Jan 10, 2019 at 9:34 am

Sometimes we need to invest instead of thinking only of quick fix.. Of course 20 mil RM can be used to fix this or that, but investment into the future is necessary. It’s like investing in a child. You can invest 250K in a child’s education with no guarantee or spend 250K in a car for instant gratification.

Electric transportation is currently in early stage and this is a chance for Malaysia to jump in. If successful, it will create many new jobs for Malaysian, but if it fails, 20 mil is just a small gamble. Singapore is also jumping into electric cars with Dyson, Thailand is into batteries, Vietnam also into electric cars… all without guarantee of success either. However, if any of these countries are successful, there will be critics that says our govt cannot see opportunities, doesn’t invest in the future, short sighted, …

Just my 2 sen opinion.

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 10, 2019 at 10:41 am

At this rate tis country will soon hold the record for MOST NATIONAL CAR PROJEK WORLDWIDE (but actually all re-badged)

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 10, 2019 at 10:59 am

This does not make sense at all.

1) “no public money will be used”
    2) 20m for a prototype. Must be a deal of the century or they are RnDing an electric golf cart.
    3) all electrical components for an EV are already available in the market. What do you need to RnD?

Are they researching new batteries? No.
    Are they planning to develop proprietary components? Quite likely no.
    Are they researching new production efficiencies? Probably no as well.

So it begs the question, what RnD is this 20m funding for?

Better spend the money and give to the universities and get THEM to do the RnD. That’s why they are there and it is status quo for universities throughout the world. Unless you say our universities are not capable, then I got nothing to say (but judging from recent design and development studies from universities, I can’t blame you if you think that)

• Less than 20 mil to make a prototype car? Wooden car maybe sufficient.
    This Minister know nuts about car development.

• Car lover on Jan 10, 2019 at 5:08 pm

Stop with developing New National Car. Proton is enough. Developed country has complete Public Transportation for the people. Wake up Malaysia.

• Tipu jgn x tipu, nanti bos ckp x buat kerja…

• Just get Musk here.