Vehicle price approvals still delayed, no resolution yet

In recent months, car companies have introduced a number of new vehicles but not all of them are accompanied by official prices, with most carrying tentative figures instead. Early last month, the Malaysian Automotive Association stated the reason for this is due to the delay in price approval from the authorities.

At a briefing session held with the media today, the association touched upon the issue again when asked about it during a Q&A session. “[We] applied first to MITI (ministry of international trade and industry) to ask for the approval on the ILP (Industrial Linkage Programme) and that has taken a long time, in the sense that sometimes the meetings are not held,” said Datuk Aishah Ahmad, president of MAA.

“There is a delay, and it can reach up to five to six to seven months. There are some [MAA] members who are still waiting from May [2018] until today – they haven’t gotten the prices,” she continued. The ILP encompasses incentives and duty exemptions that have to be taken into consideration when OEMs price their vehicles.

Aishah also revealed that the ministry of finance, which previously provided the approvals, does not want to make decisions now. “Everything is channelled to the Automotive Business Development Committee (ABDC),” she stated, adding that committee includes the Royal Malaysian Customs, MITI, finance ministry, Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) and the Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA).

“Even after the committee has decided, it goes back but the papers are not coming out. We have voiced this out, where it is very difficult because we cannot get prices and therefore, we cannot launch our models,” Aishah explained.

“It makes it worse because the fact that the National Audit Department is auditing all those who have obtained this ILP has gone to check that whatever we have indicated in our proposals are correct. They have done the audits, and they are supposed to come back with the feedback by the end of this month.”

“So, government officials are now holding back. They don’t want to make a decision on their own, it has to be a committee decision. It’s not helping the industry,” she continued.

The MAA president also revealed that many MAA members are affected by this issue, and that it has highlighted the matter to the MoF and will seek a meeting with MITI as well. She said, “you know that a lot of models that have not [been] launched. You know [those models] we showed during the motor show where we’re supposed to launch it, but until today we don’t have prices.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration over delays in vehicle price approvals, blaming slow government processes and inefficiency, likening Malaysia’s decision-making to Thailand’s faster system. Many believe government bureaucracy, corruption, and protectionism, especially favoritism toward national car companies, contribute to rising prices and delays. Several comments criticize lengthy meetings, lack of transparency, and undue restrictions that hinder competitiveness. There is widespread dissatisfaction with the perceived mismanagement affecting the automotive industry, leading to increased vehicle costs and investor discontent. Some comments call for less government interference, more transparency, and adopting practices like Singapore’s COE system. Overall, sentiments are negative, with many criticizing the government’s role in prolonging delays and failing to create a conducive environment for efficient vehicle approval and price stabilization.

• Digidigi on Jan 16, 2019 at 5:48 pm

the government just want more in tax, in fact there is no secret that all new model price will increase, on average 10 percent due to new calculation method of tax scheme, and eev and hybrid incentive will be remove, so the new gornemnt do this to support local brand or maybe new p3? Or both, good luck

• Henry on Jan 16, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Yes, new vehicle selling prices need approval from the Gomen. You cannot sell it cheap even if you want to.

Brand owners are laughing all the way to the bank. Thank you very much.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2019 at 5:53 pm

So sometimes it’s not that the automaker is slow in launching but the bloody government is slow. New government same shit. I think next election normal citizens should just become MPs. As the saying goes, if you want things done correctly, do it yourself.

• YB Albert on Jan 16, 2019 at 6:24 pm

IF Donald Trump is PM,his usual screamer is “YOU ARE FIRED”.
    Here in Bolehland,due to the increasing u turns made by Pakatan halangan,some of these dudes r playing musical chair now.
    Perhaps,they are under orders to delay so that the 2 national cars can enjoy brisk sales.
    It is a joke that thousands of more qualified people are still jobless,while these dudes are taking it easy.
    Perhaps LGE is still quarrelling with Wee ka Siong on the matching grant for UTAR…just pathetic,now only 7 months after GE 14….we r only hearing of black school shoes and Protiga.

• New govt is not helping the industry. So sorry, I voted to support them last year . (feel guilty, soob soob)

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2019 at 6:50 pm

Malaysia is the only country in the world where car companies must get approval to sell.

Just allow car companies to sell whatever price they want. Why control them? Until today, still want to protect Proton.

I used to work for ETCM before. ETCM wanted to sell the Nissan Slyphy for RM80k. But Government say NO. They say must be above RM100k

The problem lies with the fact that the Government themselves own all car companies in Malaysia and want to untung lebih at the expense of the rakyat.

UMW is a GLC and they own Toyota. Honda is owned by GLC DRB. PRoton DRB, Ford Sime. BMW Sime, Hyundai Sime

So Government overcharges the rakyat, Government untung lebih. This is ridiculous.

Government should be neutral and always fight for the rakyat to get the cheapest deals always

• ben k on Jan 17, 2019 at 4:37 pm

cheapest deal is proton perodua p and p and p

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:56 pm

BMW is not under sime any more. Auto Bavaria is just a dealer, or super dealer (many branches nationwide).
      BMW Malaysia is a subsidiary or BMW AG, with the top leaders from Germany heading the company.
      Trust me, if AB is still handling with BMW we will only get 3 series, 5er and 7er. Forever.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2019 at 6:54 pm

IT is high time Government allow car companies to sell their cars in Malaysia at whatever competitive price decided by demand and supply.

Malaysians have had enough of this kind of bullying. Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world and yet, our pay packet is one of the lowest.

Honda Accord 2.4 or Toyota Camry 2.5 in the USA is only US$22k. The fresh graduate starts his pay at US$4500

In Malaysia, the Toyota Camry CKD 2.5 is RM180k. The fresh graduate still starts at RM2500.

And who owns UMW? It is the Government.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 17, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Under pakatan what do you expect..before they make anotther u turn they might want to think and think and think for the best solution…too slow…what a joke…this is what we are voting for..sigh

• Why only foreign car delay? on Jan 16, 2019 at 6:58 pm

M hiding hand works behind

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Get ready to pay more for foreign makes, people. That’s what Mahathir wants anyway.

• Dong gor on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:40 pm

Who owns this piece? Pls step up and provide a solution! We don’t need proposals to build castles in the air to show u are capable. Now we have a problem, prove it with a sensible solution duk..

• MoFaz on Jan 16, 2019 at 11:52 pm

KIA and Peugeot car prices definitely can go lower. These car brands also too underated here.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:31 am

This is the flip flop that drove all investors away to Thailand.

In the 80s, Malaysia was the Detroit of Asia and every car company wanted to CKD in Malaysia. But because of such flip flops and relax and lepak attitude in making quick and prompt decisions, all lari to Thailand to make Thailand the Detroit of Asia

Today, Thailand can make decisions fast. No need 9 months. Within 2 days can make decision.

This is because Thai people only need to sit once in a meeting to make decisions on pricing.

In Malaysia we need 20X meetings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • YB Albert minum Teh sekali saja on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:35 am

Datuk Aishah should get association directors to visit gomen office concerned n mogok there ,like some dudes who visit Eric “s office to get him sacked for posting some unkind remarks in social media.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 17, 2019 at 11:43 am

Detroit of Asia? Check ur history.. Detroit of Asia in 80’s is contested between Indonesia n thailand they produced a lot of CKD cars.. In bolehland at the same time, car was mostly produced by p1.

• redpilled on Jan 17, 2019 at 12:58 pm

No no no. This nobita’s fault. Read the article.

“Aishah also revealed that the ministry of finance, which previously provided the approvals, does not want to make decisions now.”

Problem la when finance minister lembab.

• Greasemonkey on Jan 17, 2019 at 3:54 pm

Hahaha meeting sambil makan karipap & minum teh 8 kali sehari.

• We should ban all cars in Malaysia and only sell Proton.
      All Malaysians should support our national car maker Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • The problem is, MY pipu voted for the root cause of the problem, thinking this is the solution to the problem which wasn’t going to be a problem soon under previous gov. Now the problem is going to be worse. So suck it up MYpipu who voted for the root cause of the problem.

Meanwhile P1Geely going up and up, so sumpah tak kesah.

• Haidi on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Inefficient or part of the plan? Haha!

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:36 pm

ermm..expected.since june 2018

• John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:35 am

Too inefficient. Go to Thailand and see how they do things fast. Malaysian Government need to send Rombongan Sambil Belajar to Thailand to see how they do things fast.

MAA, MITI and MAI need to go to Thailand to see how to work fast and make prompt decisions.

Then hopefully, one day, car companies in Thailand may relocate back to Malaysia

• John is otak batu on Jan 17, 2019 at 11:07 am

Y still waste time 4 them 2 visit Thailand . Just abolish them and leave it to Trade Ministry. Tax payers money wasted on these bunch of ppl. BTW, Malaysia is not in good financial health.

• IGP mom on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:06 am

Probably part of the plan in view of the new models roll out from P1 and P2. We see all the news have been only x70, aruz … govt definitely played a part in giving time for them to ramp up.

• Only help Alus. X70 was supposed to be launched right after GE14, but then got hold up cuz New Gov havent confirm the price. Was supposed to be 80+k but now become near 100k, thanks to PH.

• Ollie on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:55 pm

I can’t name a govt programme with a worse strategy and implementation.

Car makers are competing with each other and trying their best to sell one damn car. Competition is so tight. So what damn role must the govt play in setting car prices? No wonder prices are not low enough. They want to keep people buying the death traps from Geely and Plotua. Rubbish cars to send the people to their death.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:36 am

the problem in Malaysia, any meeting is all about eating karipap, kuih lapis and minum teh. Nothing much is discussed.

Before any decisions are made, already majlis bersurai. Then it repeats until 20 meetings are over.

• tokmoh. on Jan 17, 2019 at 9:47 am

Geely makes the world’s safest car, dumbass.

• Lolly on Jan 17, 2019 at 9:48 am

I think you’re misunderstanding the reason for the delay. It sounds like the delay is because the government is taking a long time to approve certain duty exemptions. Not that they want to dictate the price. Now imagine all the auditing that the new government has to do to see if the duty exemptions are valid or not. How many times have you heard of CKD that’s not really CKD?

• newme on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:46 am

Well, not sure about CKD. But damn sure about locally branded CBU.

• John is otak batu on Jan 17, 2019 at 11:11 am

Tell DS Anwar, Rakyat need gone to remove excise tax from all car sales since there is no more national car 4 protectionism.

• i agree on Jan 17, 2019 at 11:41 am

agree..some came with unpainted body already considered as CKD hahahah

• John Baoteng on Jan 16, 2019 at 8:04 pm

Maybe because to protect some endangered species and ensure other cars price mostly above RM123k to eliminate competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Yazid surge on Jan 16, 2019 at 8:14 pm

Rather than giving approval for every launching of new vehicles. Govt should adopt Singapura style COE slapped across all non national cars. Settled

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Petoron Sagu on Jan 16, 2019 at 8:19 pm

U turn cepat…… U turn cepat…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • suap land on Jan 16, 2019 at 8:58 pm

Delete la all these MITI,ABDC,MAA,MAI. self enriching bunch. trickle down policy failed, democracy illusion, all copy and paste bunch of crook. all these directors, ceos sit on all the major auto company just playing games like monopoly. judgment day will come and flood the world again. rats of candu land, go back to planting opium and make malaysia great again

• Ksatria on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:00 pm

Enough of this nonsense!

• The guess the stakeholders are busy computing how much they could earn through this complex structure of pricing. Non transparency and long processes equals to deeper corruptions and more pockets to fill

• Gabriel on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:37 pm

DAP led government is slow and inefficient. Fact.

• jinggo on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:43 pm

U vote for it.. hahahahahaha..hancing!!!

• DonkeyKong on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:51 pm

They’re gonna wait until the 3rd national car has a tentative price. Then, they will revise and approve the prices of new car models to ensure that they can’t compete with the new national car. Same old players, same old tricks.

Pity those people who were gullible enough to choose the same old players but expected a new game….

• Johanian on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:51 pm

Please step up to the challenge. We need speed as much as we need transparency in governance

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:54 pm

MITI. Why am I not surprised. Even other gomen ministries, agencies & departments shake head when mentioned MITI.

If only Kak Pidah was still the Minister. They fear her efficiency, quick thinking & sharp wit (and her legendary sarcasm).

• vezeroth on Jan 16, 2019 at 11:24 pm

The correct question to ask is, why do we need so many approvals on a matter that should be process orientated and smooth.
    Ie: cost of car at port, taxes %, discount for green car, profit margin final price..
    why? back channels, money pedalling, corruption..
    Its a smiple process, transparency should be key, all prices and cost of the car from port to taxes should be disclosed to the public.
    This is something new, this problem shouldve been solved years ago. Transparency accountability is whats needed.
    those involved and their heads of dept should step down as they are incompetent and should be investigated by MACC.
    Why waste tax payers money on gaji besar but incompetant

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 17, 2019 at 12:06 am

If u cannot do the job, pls all resign..u blame me i blame u while investors and buyers all fed up run to Indo Thailand

• new protectionist policy coming back?

• Akira on Jan 17, 2019 at 7:57 am

Simple, to make way for national cars.

• New Malaysia getting worse.

• MoF cannot decide..going in Round About phase…again!

• lilytan on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:31 am

“Aishah also revealed that the ministry of finance, which previously provided the approvals, does not want to make decisions now.”

Mr nobita.. pls stop playing taichi and focus on the real work will u?

• newme on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:43 am

All these happening in the name of PROTECTIONISM of 3rd national car and CBU national car. They are not using public fund but at the expense more duties and taxes on foreign brands. Hello 1990.

• sam123 on Jan 17, 2019 at 8:59 am

“It’s not helping the industry.” hahahahaha

• azrai on Jan 17, 2019 at 9:10 am

To car makers just adapt for the time being. :-) Sell all your outdated model as long as you can, While for the time being submit approval for the next 5-6 years upcoming model. Hahaha…

• Incentives to cronies so delay

• common sensor on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:16 am

The manufacturers must change the mindset to manufacture and sell cars without “incentives” .. THEN NO GOVERNMENT APPROVAL IS REQUIRED! Simple … Most of you are global players, why the need for incentives??

• abdullah on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:44 am

Cars are just like any consumer products.
    Let market forces decide the price. The government should stay out of it.

• newme on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:51 am

We also make swift decision but selective decision. It only took days to start a 3rd national car project despite opposition. But it also took decades to decide on AFTA.

• Ini kali lah on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:56 am

All this after the “ ini kali lah “ on last May 2018

• ezani ahmad on Jan 17, 2019 at 10:58 am

Sudah jadi new malaysia kan?So ada masalah lagI?
    Same Old same Old…

• John Doe on Jan 17, 2019 at 11:31 am

This only happens when the same hands touches the automotive industry… aside from that we can also see the increase in price for all vehicles due to SST.
    It’s getting out of control… someone needs to step down.

• john syok sendiri on Jan 17, 2019 at 11:46 am

now CBU car and CKD car no more difference..same tax…just to protect the proton…watdeffffff….totally nonsense…no point bagi makan to the local companies anymore…please give money to outsiders especially china company…current NAP is OBSOLETE…difficult when dealing with the gomen yang “U-TURNNNN”” ni…

• SuaraRakyat on Jan 17, 2019 at 12:58 pm

The government intention is helping the rakyat, but the rakyat don’t like it, then is proven this government only entitled 1 session only, the rakyat will disqualified them in future. What a joke pending so long until 7 months, is unacceptable with any reasons, Rakyat now live inside the hot wok.