Dr Li Chunrong works 72 hours a week to revitalise Proton, but is happy because things are on track

Proton CEO, or more accurately the CEO of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PONSB), Dr Li Chunrong, has been working 12 hours a day, six days a week for the past 17 months to revive the persistent loss-making company, The Star reports.

The long hours may seem gruelling to most, but for the 56-year-old Chinese national who was appointed to lead Proton, the long hours are necessary to revitalise Malaysia’s national car. “In Proton, I work 12 hours a day, six days per week. But I have been doing so since I started working,” Dr Li told Sunday Star.

In fact, there’s little choice for Dr Li but to lead the charge at Proton. Since his appointment as CEO, expectations on him to turn Proton into a viable and professionally-run company are high. His mission to revive Proton is part of a 10-year plan, and he’s tasked to restore Proton’s image to the respected brand it once was.

President of the China Entrepreneurs Association in Malaysia, Datuk Keith Li Zhongping said: “This mission is not just his own personal commitment, but also the dream of China.” The report adds that Proton is confident of generating profits in 2019 or 2020, and many are excited over the prospects.

Investment consultant for businesses from China, Ian Yoong said: “Inviting Geely to take a strategic stake in Proton is the best move our government has ever made. And appointing Li to be the Proton CEO is wise. We are witnessing the rebirth of Proton.”

Dr Li’s credentials are impressive, to say the least. Academically, he graduated from Huazhong University of Science and Technology with a Bachelor of Electrical Automation, followed by a Master in Industrial Engineering and Management. He pursued a second master’s degree in business at the world-famous Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the US. After that, he returned to Huazhong University to earn a PhD in Management Engineering.

Dr Li then began his career with Dongfeng Motor Corporation in 1987, where he was involved in Dongfeng’s joint ventures with Peugeot, Honda, Nissan, Kia and Cummins. In 2007, he set up Dongfeng Passenger Vehicle Company, and his efforts in establishing the company’s design, branding and production system led to its success.

While serving as executive vice president of Dongfeng Honda Engine Company, Dr Li was handpicked by Geely to spearhead Proton’s transformation. On September 29, 2017, Dr Li officially took over the role of Proton CEO from Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali, and the new CEO pledged: “My job is not to look at the past. I will work day and night to make sure Proton is strongly successful.”

The Proton X70 has received over 20,000 orders, and is said to boost revenue for Proton this year

Proton, established in 1983 when Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was the prime minister for the first time, had gone through a number of “rescue exercises” totalling over RM15 billion. Despite that, Proton continued to bleed, and debts piled on. In an effort to end that once and for all, a strategic partnership was formed with Geely, which saw the auto giant acquire a 49.9% stake in Proton from DRB-Hicom, and a 51% majority stake in Lotus Cars.

So what is it like for Dr Li? Well, he seems optimistic about Proton’s future, backed by months of planning, revamp, problem-solving and practicing leadership by example. However, success did not come easy for him, who knew little about Malaysia’s complex multi-racial society.

Last year, when Dr Li instituted reforms to upgrade Proton sales centres nationwide, his new management faced sharp criticism of harbouring discrimination against bumiputras. But that curveball has become history after the new Proton 3S and 4S centres began enjoying more businesses and higher profitability.

As a result of optimism, analysts expect financial improvement in DRB-Hicom (Proton’s parent company). Public Investment Bank recently maintained an “outperform” call on DRB-Hicom with a target price of RM2.10.

Inundated with good news, Dr Li wore a wide smile throughout his interview with Sunday Star. He said: “I am happy now. Things are on track. Starting from 60,000 units, my next target for Proton is 100,000 units, followed by 150,000 and 200,000. I now have the support of everybody. Malaysia is wonderful, the climate and air is good and the food is wonderful.” What do you think of this, folks?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• tokmoh. on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:16 am

I’ve thrown my full support since the day he was appointed. There were many skeptics, but my faith in him was right.

Today we see what I saw a year and a half ago : a great future for Proton. There will be more to come, it is Proton’s destiny, it cannot be stopped. Bravo, Dr Li!

Volvo, Polestar, Lotus, Lynk & Co, London Taxi, Volvo Trucks, Mercedes, Terrafugia, Proton, Geely > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
    • Kowtow to Geely Chinas. Dread it, run from it, destiny still comes. Geely China’s might cannot be matched!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • kugan on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:27 am

Does he have a brother? If yes, please get him to run MAS!! It’s about time Malaysians wake up and realize that we need the right people to manage our ailing GLCc…almost everything has been mismanaged due to racist policies, corruption at the highest level, lack of proper business acumen and lack of accountability. THIS HAS TO STOP in order in order for us to make MALAYSIA a great successful nation. Why can’t Tony Fernandez be appointed as MD of MAS and give him an ultimatum of 2 years to change things around….why can’t we??? Look at AirAsia….think Malaysians!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 11
    • Truckers on Mar 13, 2019 at 2:07 pm

I look at AirAsia and I think; substandard services, everything also need to pay once topup to full fledged services it becomes more expensive than a full fledged airline, really crampy seats which helps to promote DVT perhaps TF has a medical partnership specialising in treating DVT, totally unsafe planes, and selective routes only to popular locations. When you pay cheap, it screams CHEAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • Teh Tarik 8 Kali on Mar 13, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Fair comment. But please have more constructive inputs & less nuisance to society.

Proton new management initially also faced sharp criticism of discrimination against bumiputras. But that curveball has become history after Proton 3S and 4s began enjoying more business and high profitability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Slirh on Mar 13, 2019 at 4:44 pm

What all companies especially GLC needed is a professional manager to run the company. Also the govt (especially the politicians and ministers) should step away from making a mess of everything. To address the point of MAS Turnaround, the first turnaround was already making its progress but someone in the govt decided to allow Air Asia (MAS competitor) to become its strategic partner in the board room. Anybody who has some ideas running a company knows that it’s a very damaging decision ( both short and long term). MAS lost its key landing rights and its heavy load sector all messed up. Somebody should really stand up and answer why AA was the one getting all the benefits that MAS lost.
      Now on Proton revival. While DS Syed Zainal tenure, there were glimpses of success on the horizons. Car quality was up from previous standards. Proton Inspira and Iriz looked set for a strong comeback. . PSA and Volkswagen Auto Group we’re showing interests especially on the Tg Malim Plant and Lotus Car. But what happened is very similar to MAS, the CEO was removed and suddenly Proton was searching for a strategic partner.
      Last but not least. Whomever the decision makers, please trust our own professional Malaysian. They are qualified and very good in what they do. Let them do their job professionally and handle them with the objectives and expectations given to them. Others in the world are reaching and pinching our guys (case in point TS Hasan Marican, Director in Temasek and Chairman, Pavillion Energy Pte for a start and many more). Don’t let go of our own key strategic resources to develop other countries. Malaysia needs them and fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Do u know proton will not be able to pay salary to staff and even service the bank loan if the deal don’t strike, by the way stop or bullshit on inspira and iriz both sales are very bad and at some point nobody want that stupid iriz

• My personal recent experience buying a Proton, managed by local SA & Sales Marketing Managers as well as Customer Management Staff, was horrible! While I sense serious attempts to improve the Proton vehicles, the Sales Division of 4S Puncak Merak Semenyih FAILED miserably! And adding insult to injury, the Proton Care Unit established to handle customer /BUYER complaints, was below par! They simply pass on complaints to the 4S Center concerned without genuine interest to resolve customer grievances. Customer Complaint Managemenr System FAILED.

While the PROTON products seem to.improve with Geely’s inception, the local Management remains at the old mark! Certainly there was no corresponding improvements in this local 4S CENTER. And they seem.clueless on how to improve further!

At this rate, Geely-PROTON JV partnership will surely see an imminent collapse..sooner than later!

• Dhanur on Mar 14, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Tony did approach MAS however he was not given the opportunity. As long there is bias, business will be continue narrow.

• Digidigi on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:28 am

proton is really a good example, we can still hold the majority stake, but the management should give to someone who is capable, coming china visit tun m should talk China to take over MAS, kampung people should admit we need to learn from them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
  • George Badul on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:40 am

Dr Li Chunrong, the Special One for Proton.
    Not unlike Manchester Utd’s very own marveles Ole Solksjaer. After damn many imbeciled, goon DRB managers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • typical malaysian on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:41 am

inb4 those who said proton people goyang kaki unlike p2, toyota and nissan people. LOL.

• casual rider on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:50 am

very impressive cv! this guy seem to have all the right ingredients to be a very successful person, attitude and academic. all the best to you sir

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Sick & Tired on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:51 am

Worksmart, not work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • If you are really smart, you will know that you need to work smart and work hard. History is full of smart people who failed.

• carlos on Mar 13, 2019 at 5:33 pm

This guy work hard and smart at the same time

• Good, LCR. Bring more competitive vehicle to Malaysia.

• Raja Celup on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:28 pm

John the macai also working 12 hours a day defending Baoteng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Dr. Ros Li on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Still, many things aren’t going right. Like example as per reported in FB of X70 group where many new owners reported tyres pressures too high and bouncy ride. Proton supposed to do Pre delivery inspection and correct the tyre pressure (factory pumped in high to prevent tyre flat spots over lengthy period of parking).

Then the protective plastic cover sticked on bonnet and roof. Some owners said (with photos) that the adhesive residue was not removed on the roof top.

Some customers had voiced about seat making noise to the SC. One of the mechanic had mentioned.. Normal, this car from china before other mechanics went to have a look and sorted it out.

After sales is what need a total overhaul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
    • I think that is more of the individual dealer’s shortcomings than Proton as a whole. Some dealers are better, some are worse. Proton can provide the correct PDIs to follow, but some dealers still act nonchalantly like in the past. Owners can bring the matter up to Proton HQ. With Li Chunrong at the helm, I am sure the wayward dealers will hear an earful from the top management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • dong gor on Mar 13, 2019 at 1:21 pm

All new cars’ tyres are inflated more from factory la. this is to ensure they are not under inflated until delivered to customers. First time buy new car is it?? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • I agree with this, after sales service still need to improve, I.e. come back pickup car as stipulated time still not done and can’t tell when it will be done because lunch hours and bla-bla . Whole day wasted because of this type of uncertainty.

• Eh, don’t be so quick to reveal the china car’s faults lah. I am enjoying seeing the fanboys celebrate yet another tiger logo false dawn. Because history has been very consistent, most of us can probably guess what is going to happen after a year or two.

• SAMSINARALIA SAHAR on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:29 pm

I think..lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama.

credit should be given to DS Najib for inviting Geely to be Proton strategic partner. If we allowed Mahathir’s way of thinking, Proton is still bleeding to death by now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 24
    • Anana on Mar 13, 2019 at 1:44 pm

Although this is true, you should also consider that when Proton was first implemented by Mahathir back in the 80s, they were good as evidenced by the many old Saga, Wira and to certain extent Waja on the road right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Daddykasi on Mar 13, 2019 at 2:51 pm

That time perodua sale mini car.. Kancil kelisa. Imagine if perodua sale myvi vs old saga..

• Anana on Mar 13, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Even when Perodua had Myvi back in 2005, they only beat Proton coz they were in general more reliable compared to Proton although both
          brands had similarly equipped in terms of safety and engine/transmissions options.

• Anana on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:37 pm

I sincerely hope his turnaround plan works. If not, Malaysians would be paying thru the nose again.

• Haslina Haslina on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Working 12 hours is one thing but knowing what to do and doing it without any interference from politician is utmost important. Dr.Li knows what he is doing. Keep up the goodwork.

• duone on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:54 pm

get the right person..no cronysm..then everything’s will be alright!!

• Gabriel on Mar 13, 2019 at 1:11 pm

Thank you Najib for your vision when dealing and finally appointing Geely to be Proton partner. You were getting stick from many especially the opposition back then who were trying to gain political mileage. But, you persevered and we are now seeing the reward.
    Kudos to you and your previous government.

And now, good luck to all of us on the 3rd (flying) national car project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • Comparing him to previous CEO is an insult….that guy was an ok guy but he is not a CEO quality person

Proton is lucky to have him…highly educated in automotive and management

Kick all useless crony out and underperform staff and supplier and Proton will grow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Ricky Lee on Mar 13, 2019 at 1:49 pm

Mas need a partner like this to be profitable

• pengayuhbasikal on Mar 13, 2019 at 2:12 pm

we expect expart. or foreign professionals to work extra hours than locals… 72 hours a week is normal for Malaysian …

• One thing that najib did right and Dr. Li definitely did a good job saving proton

• John L. on Mar 13, 2019 at 2:35 pm

This put all Malaysian company’s CEO into shame (especially GLC)

• Chandra on Mar 13, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Inikalilah Proton!

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 13, 2019 at 3:12 pm

hopefully not going to be a repeat of what happened with Mitsubishi Motors where the collaborations was suddenly dropped.

• MeToo on Mar 13, 2019 at 4:01 pm

Yep. hopefully not going to be a repeat of what happened with Christoph Mueller and Peter Bellew where the CEO suddenly cabutted.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 13, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Put the right man in the right job. Geely did Proton a favour by picking Dr Li.

It helped that he was not politically interfered by meddling politicians who know nothing about running a business.

Kudos Dr Lu. You have shown what can be achieved.

• to be honest, it’s not the ceo, but the car they brought in. Do you think they can sell X70 well if the car was totally junk? Look at the new Persona, do you agree that the car will look much better with bigger wheels?

• Mat take rempit on Mar 13, 2019 at 9:04 pm

All boring models. Where is the 250hp turbo Satria? Where is the 150k Lotus?

• Same L0rr on Mar 13, 2019 at 10:23 pm

If no croniesm, then no bailout, and starts make profit.. Tq Najib, your vision is to stop cronism in Proton.. Go go Li chunrong.. Make proton great..

• the driver on Mar 14, 2019 at 9:20 am

No one person can turn around a company – at the end of the day it’s team work. What the CEO can do is set in place the rules the team abide by and instil a sense of passion to produce results above the expected. I really salute the entire Proton workforce for raising their game. Salute to all the staff at Proton

• survival on Mar 14, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Most msian have to work more than 12 hours a day just to survive….full time work 9 to 6pm, then part time work up to 10/11pm just to survive….what so great abt him working 12hours a week…pi lerrr