Think ‘flying cars’ are a silly idea? Drive around in ‘bamboo’ cars then, minister chides Malaysians

There has been no shortage of commentary from the public following the reveal of a flying vehicle in scale model form at the Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace 2019 (LIMA 19) exhibition. Many Malaysians have been making fun of the so-called ‘flying car’ project on social media, with many expressing scepticism over the whole thing, while some have cheekily asked if the model was made from KDK fans.

Now, entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Redzuan Yusof has taken a dig at those poking fun of the project, saying that if they don’t want progress, they can stay behind the times and ride around in ‘bamboo’ cars, The Star reports.

“Well, they can choose whether they are going to stay behind. People call this a state of denial, whereby they can choose to stay behind. It’s okay to stay under bamboos. (If they) want to ride ‘bamboo cars’, that’s okay too,” he told reporters at parliament today.

Mohd Redzuan said that the government’s endorsement of the privately-funded air mobility project was aimed at developing human capital in the country. “It’s more towards giving knowledge education to these people. We don’t want this group to be left behind. Actually, these Malaysian youths (behind the project) are already far ahead, and they are in the same ranks as those who invented and did research (on this project) at an international level,” he stated.

Earlier, in the Dewan Rakyat, Mohd Redzuan had explained that the ‘flying car’ term was used to describe an air mobility platform. He said that the format had plenty of future promise, not least in reducing travel times.

“With air travel from location A to B, and without the impediment of any traffic jams and roads, we have carried out research that suggests as much of 75% of travel time can be shortened,” he told MPs at the lower house.

“With an air mobility platform, you can begin your journey from the doorstep and get to your intended destination (with ease). This will allow you to travel from your home to work or to a shopping centre, or from your house to the airport. It is not intended to replace long-distance flying,” he said.

Meanwhile, Aerodyne Group CEO Kamarul Muhamed clarified that what was shown at LIMA was a 1:10 scale model of the Vector, a drone-based point-to-point air mobility solution, and was not the Malaysian “flying car” that has been the source of jokes over the past month.

He said he was aware of the chatter on social media regarding the whole matter, but said it was part of the process to educate the public unfamiliar with the technology, The Star reports.

Kamarul said that eight aerospace and mechanical engineers from the company were working on the prototype, which is expected to ready by the end of the year. The Vector, he explained, will cost somewhere in the region of RM500,000, but development will be funded by the company and not involve external funds.

He explained that the Vector – which will weigh 600 kg and have a 200 kg payload – will be able to perform a multitude of roles, from handling cargo duties to ferrying passengers, among others.

Aerodyne is a global player in the drone services industry, and is ranked seventh internationally by Drone Industry Insights. The company started in 2014 with three people, and now employs about 280 staff in 24 countries globally.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:34 pm

This is typical jaguh kampung. We don’t even have EV or Hybrid cars.

Next evolution is autonomous cars. We still don’t have that

So, we miss, Hybrid, PHEV, EV, Autonomous – then we suddenly jump to flying cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 6
    • Datuk john 2019 on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:54 pm

I wonder where is the Game Changing Proton Iriz EV that was showcased in 2015???

“https://paultan.org/2015/09/10/proton-iriz-ev-300-km-electric-car-on-display-at-igem/”

4 years later still no sign of it. Probably Game Over already before even mass producing it? Cannot trust this kind of company. 30 years of making cars now Game Over already… That’s is why I am proud of Perodua that can create Game Changing cars for all Malaysian!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 18
      • Roti john Sdn Bhd! on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:02 am

I was thingking the same. Did the Iriz EV Game Over already? Been waiting for years without any news about it anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Your lies are Game Over when Matthew has debunked your fake news that X70 on the Hangzhou roadtrip had a lot of broken parts and engine problems. I rather believe the statement of PaulTan writers than a person that repeatedly lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Stan Ong on Mar 29, 2019 at 9:11 am

Only fake news here with 50 dupes is john. Pls keep PT clean yea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Khalid on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:45 pm

agree, keep Paultan clean. i hate fake news from john. pls berambus john

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • Troll Hunter on Mar 29, 2019 at 1:00 pm

I agree with you khalid. Roti John and all the other dupes, pls berambus from here.

• Doc Brown on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:06 am

Locals never proud and buy local products. They rather rent and drive Conti cars or Jepunese velfire alphard when goin back to hometown. How they bashings of proton everyday. They really mudah lupa, forgotten their roots…where they came from. In pursuit of materialism and separatism.

Even one smart oppo politician have the intelligence to question the car exhaust is made from buluh. Bamboo? bamboo?? This aint funny. Bodo bamboo tu simpan sikit bg cucucicit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Kadir Jaslan on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:06 am

Malaysians waiting for Iriz EV already for 5 years. Give this first before you talk about flying cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Let us Learn from Singapore on Mar 29, 2019 at 9:13 am

We must learn to work hard like the Singaporeans. See how Singapore has overtaken Malaysia. Currency already 3X, GDP already 6X of Malaysia and now Dyson also open in Singapore to do EV cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Resident troll is very good, evertime time asked about P1 EV, where is P1 ev? Where is P1 ev? Now asked pipu dun use EV pulak when TNB want to charge KW rate for EV charging. Very topkek.

• EDITOR on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:42 am

Ready for mass production when the market is ready. And?

• EDITOR on Mar 29, 2019 at 9:04 am

Hello, we wait for so long already, they still never say anything. By the time Proton start to release Iriz EV, it will be outdated.

Better just buy the rival cars. All more superior and advanced

• EDITOR on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:58 pm

Define being outdated by rival, since Perodua doesn’t even have an EV nor even hybrid car. The only way for Proton’s EV car to be outdated is if the industry has moved on to something else like nuclear power. So I am quite interested to hear your reply.

• EDITOR on Mar 29, 2019 at 1:18 pm

Perodua never said they will make an EV car. Proton did, and they even got show concept EV car before. So, we rakyat expect Proton to release their EV car

• EDITOR on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:39 pm

They intended to make the EV car and the EV Iriz is ready for production. So?

• It will be possible, but is a Geely EV or PHEV… Event fly car company also bought by Geely… I think proton Geely is good enough… No need this so call 3rd national car… Just buy rebadge Geedly as proton good enough at affordable price…

• Kadir Jaslan on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:03 am

Our abang abang in Gomen fantasize a lot. This is why Singapore always does better than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Teo Shee Foo on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:25 am

In the 90s, South Korea was way behind Malaysia. But they were serious and they focused in their work. They never talk silly things

Today, South Korea is First World. Even their cars, Hyundai sells 8 million globally. Samsung is No 1 brand. LG is top brand.

I hope we learn from the South Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Don’t forget about the Proton-Ricardo 1.5 Turbo engine that churn out higher 180BHP than the soon to come Proton X50 which is co-developed with Volvo.

• Unknown on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:09 pm

YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:56 pm
        EV won’t work in Malaysia because TNB rates is one of the highest in the world.

In other countries, their electricity is cheap. In Malaysia, electricity is very expensive. All the more when houses have changed to the Digital meter which runs 2X fast.

So, no point double whammy rakyat with high EV road tax becaus ewe are paying exorbitant TNB rates.

Last time TNB raised prices saying Oil went to US100. But when oil went down in price, TNB “Forgot” to reduce electricity rates to the rakyat.

Sounds familiar?

• redpilled on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:57 pm

youre right. what kind of minister is this? conform fake degree.

• Have u been to Indonesia? Do you think they got highways like ours?
      How come they got helicopters doing (service like grab) how in the world did they do that huh?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:36 pm

This is the syiok sendiri kampung mentality. This is similar to few years ago when few ministers said our Proton was better than BMW and Volvo

Then few years ago, our Ministers said our local Universities are better and even higher standard and quality than Oxford University of the UK.

Now, we have flying cars….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • Avenger on Mar 29, 2019 at 1:25 am

Same syiok sendiri kampung mentality that said Perodua cars are using Japan engines.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:38 pm

Just only 2 years ago, all our cars started getting VSC.

VSC was compulsory in Europe 14 years ago. Even now, many cars still don’t have VSC

Basic VSC safety also we don’t have…..now we want to do flying cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • copypasta on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:35 am

See who is talking bollock here:

“Electronic stability programme (ESP) is now compulsory in all newly registered passenger cars and light commercial vehicles in Europe, as announced by the European Union (EU). The move is effective onwards from November 1 2014, with the ruling set to be enacted on other classes of vehicles a year later”

• Let us Learn from Singapore on Mar 29, 2019 at 9:15 am

Lets learn how to work hard from Singapore and China

• Wilson Khoo on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:51 pm

Crazy to have flying cars. Better to buy a good 7 seater SUV like Nissan X Trail. This is top quality car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • 3rd row seats are for midgtes

• Akira on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:52 am

Sorry to say, X Trail is a rubbish car as well.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:58 am

Mitsubishi Outlander better. Ok, people keep questioning about the omission of rear air-con vent, but the air-con unit in the Mitsubishi is cool (even sometimes too cold for kids at the back).

• Datuk john on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:02 pm

Silly idea? This is an absolutely stunning idea! The Game Changing innovation that will change the way we live and also bury Proton under the soil…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Serigar on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:37 pm

You are right, Datuk Seri Redzuan. Our people are still stuck with inferiority complex and sandiwara p.ramlee culture although we the majority here. Stuck in the good olde days of spending whole day, lepak in kedai kopi, bikin hasut and badmouthing other people. They can choose whether they are going to stay behind. But no one can deny when mintak projek, kontrak, tender, surat sokongan …We the very best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • concernedconsumer on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:57 am

Agak2 kena bayar tol jugak ke nanti?

• Avenger on Mar 29, 2019 at 1:22 am

To Mr Redzuan Yusof. I don’t mind using bamboo cars as long I don’t have to pay RM 20million just for it. BTW calling you a YB would just insults me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • maslan on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Im from johor, he from melaka. we jirann bang

• Hah! At least you got 3.85 CGPA from a recognised uni. This joke minister got degree kah?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Mar 29, 2019 at 1:44 am

This minister is like saying kalau tak sukak boleh kelu……

• Fikanin on Mar 29, 2019 at 4:59 am

Ahmad maslan no. 2

• sharwiin on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:36 am

what if we crash landed into a house , will the still owner believe that you are not a thief that’s breaking in…?

• Normal Guy on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:41 am

If you are a developed nation and got pretty much nothing to do because welfare is good and things are cheap, then these projects make sense. We don’t need this now, we need fundamental things. Entrepreneur development should focus on looking for solutions on agriculture, manufacturing and service/IT industry. Use these areas to attract talent and make us a hub of R&D. Not a hub of jokes…..

Good lord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • redpilled on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:48 pm

Absolutely. He should look into these two words first- food security.

• John doe on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:45 am

We have i_Dot ministers…That the problem, wastage of tax payers money is same as corruption and abuse of power to allocate such fund is same , it should be used to reality like agro base invention, farming etc to benefit the country in long run and industries creation…This aerodyne USA address is a cleaning store , just google maps the address and figure it out

• Idea is there, but the design … cannot lah

• The elephant in the room is the lack of safety, or rather the poor sense of safety consciousness. Flying cars will become a reality regardless of ridicule. Question is what regulations are being formulated. I cringe every time a minister supports and then government doles out cash that vanishes. Remember the scam of Brown’s gas or HHO cars? More to rant, but I’m losing my will here…

• chang yoo on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:22 am

minister you are not fit to hold this position. please resign

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kopi o kao kao on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:26 am

Lots of keyboard warrior here just whack people for the sack of whacking, what else are you good at? In Japan, crazy idea like this can turn silicon into a sex doll and sell money. On contrary, I comment their courage even if it does not look promising for a start, it’s a prototype after all, it will be improved and evolve from the mistake learn. Even if it’s a drone, it will be a huge success if they can get such a huge drone fly with loads, the commercial value is high, these things may not be safe for human for a start, but it will be useful for industrial, e.g. in seaport where you can just fly small parcel onto the ships instead of waiting for them docking and loading and unloading, in industrial park that send parts from buildings to buildings etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Bayerische Fan on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:47 am

oh this guy brings back memories of yesteryears when numbnuts used to reply to the public with typical arrogance and one-level-below-God mentality… you sir shall be remembered particularly during next election to be driven off with the sharper point of (bamboo) stick!

• Wahab Ali on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:49 am

Redzuan, what is your top 5 ministerail mission to justify your gaji? Let me tell u if no one is pointing it out to u & PH govt 1) use our time & $ to retrainthe 300K over unemployed grads 2) if u r ignorant what to train them in, open yr eyes, walk the streets, meet FMM, SME inst, other pte employment assos n opportunities in food production n services. Coord with HRD. For goodness sake after 9 mths u talked abt bamboo plantation n flying cars! PM is talking abt 3rd national cars – dont u see opportunities for MOE or Dusun Tua type vokesyional sch r in order n coord with Proton fir franchise service centress/vendors!
    Where is such biz modelling one going north, one going south n another lost in …..

PH plse wake up. This is not umno era

• Micheal Durai on Mar 30, 2019 at 8:54 pm

Well said bro. Retrain and Re-skilling the 300K over unemployed grads to realign our economy and human resources. Private sector SMEs and GLCs could take lead here ….

In 2017, its no coincidence the rising youth unemployment rate was mainly due to skills mismatch. Constituting 50.5% of total unemployment, which the previous Govt direly ignored. Rising GDP, job creation remains concentrated in the low and mid-skilled jobs.

• Now I get it. No wonder Taresa Kok wants farmers to plant bamboo trees…In fact the Govt was asked to establish Lembaga Buluh Negara, or LEMBU so that we can focus on the project. When the bamboo is harvested, we can use it to make the structures of a big Kite ala the Wau, and add 4 fans to make our very own flying car. Preferably we should use Pensonic fans since it is a local company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Akira on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:55 am

Can’t imagine how the air traffic will looks like. We are probably will be living in post-apocalypse.

Where condo/house ought to be hit by flying cars, fire here and there…
    thieves go into people houses compound easier than ever.

• Chris on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:57 am

Another arrogant minister that cannot take the truth.

We RAKYAT MALAYSIA TAK NAK Flying car, ProTiga

TAK NAK!

Next GE bye bye PH if this kind of arrogant and idiotic minister still in power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • How bout removing illegal stalls set up on kerbs, road side, pathways, everywhere and anywhere on the country?

Solve that first before embarking on grandiose ideas!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 29, 2019 at 9:59 am

u can build a bamboo car then only say

• Where do I get meself a bamboo car?

• How are you going to control air traffic for all these so call flying cars, what are the traffic laws and regulations, under JPJ or a new department, need to pay road tax? Or a new sky tax? You need flying traffic police also….. So many thing need to be considered before you launch your flying cars.

• Jeffrey Chew on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:39 am

This minister should go to take a PR course.. Aerodyne Group is quite a promising company in drone business but their image has tarnished by this minister..

• Aniki Tan on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:49 am

This is a good concept using drone concept but need more sensor to avoid collision in the air, this prototype is so simple that i don’t dare to sit in or go out of the house when i saw one flying over the sky… Must consider contigency plan if one or two motors failed and still able to fly like what most airplane got nowadays…

• mr1031 on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:08 am

more problem with 4 rotor blades..just use 1 big fan easier to maintain..oh wait, we have HELICOPTER for that!

• hondaman on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:13 am

Still wondering why the gomen park this flying vehicle propose guidelines under NAP because this is not an automative product but an aviation product.

• I don’t know y the big fuss about this. Most ppl here have no clue about it before they post their 2 cents here. I see it As just an ambition and putting some basic infrastructure in place if and when these line of thoughts take place. This is only a scale model and nothing else. If a small sum of money is needed to invest in some
    R & d and etc let it be. People need to know how challenging it is to create a new industry without regulatory and governmental support in highly regulated markets. So this approach may be a right direction for us. However I hope the government puts in some intellectual people to speak about these kind of initiatives.

As for Those questioning on y not ev and etc….that will come eventually but will have to be through private ventures. Don’t know if current government’s so called 3rd national car will cover that segment and to what extent…..let’s see.

As for those questioning P1 or holding P1 as the solution, do note P1 no longer exists. They only exist on paper. It’s very evident that moving forward P1 is just a assembly and distributing arm of Geely with PT writers here the marketing arm I guess.

Once the current P1 models are phased out we will only get Geely rebadged models roled out here with slight change in bumpers and badges. So no need high end value chain creation. Just need more foreign workers to work in factories. Geely’s priorities is to use Malaysia as a stepping stone to push to Asian markets before they go big in the western world. That’s it. We will not have home grown cars anymore. No higher end investment will happen from Geely higher up the value chain in relation to r&d and etc for ev and etc. All will be done in China and now in Pakistan where big populations exist while we here syiok when we actually get nothing out of this.

So a bit of push from the current jokers in power may be what we need to may be start something new.

Alright….jaguh kampungs lets have it..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Dear MP, seriously who would want to travel in a Bamboo car with -1000trillion NCAP safety? R u high when u made that kinda statement.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:00 pm

This Redzuan is making Maslan look smart & intelligent.

Maslan has CGPA 3.85 ok. Redzuan only has Flying Car-pet.

• bieight on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:16 pm

this is Malaysia answer to the Boeing 737 max8

• Nasi Campur on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:20 pm

This is drone, not CAR.
    I still remember that proton has introduce the REEV exora. Where is it now?

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:21 pm

Caption that photo above

” Pergggh, Magic “

• Your Nippon Sensei on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Guessing 600kg drone 75% weigh consist of 450kg battery packs? Body structure made from titanium or Kevlar or bamboo? Canopy made from lexan glass? Electronics and wiring harness weighed how much? Those 4 electric motor how many kilos?

• Zulkarim on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:32 pm

Come on minister, do you think that on the air there is no traffic? The why do you need air traffic control at the air port? Just imagine if there is hundreds of cars flying around can you imagine the traffics control nightmares? There is no ample parking space in KL alone and have you consider where the landing spots for the flying cars? Give what the Rakyat needs not what you fantasize in you wet dreams. Or shall we change the goverment again? Remember your place.

• Mr Bushido Fail on Mar 30, 2019 at 12:08 am

It’s not wet dreams. The fantasy were sometimes seen in lucid dreams in my case when I’d off stoning for a long time. I guess it was the same in that dumbass case XD.

• ping chee choy on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:01 pm

This flying car concept is workable.Never mind the naysayer and those talking about EV or Hybrid car.Leave that to the 3rd national car project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Dear Mr minister
    Don’t get me wrong. I would like very much to support you on the flying cars project , but it just that there are so many other urgent and pertinent issues that need to be addressed . Just like what you guys promised during the last election campaign. They seem to be forgotten all together. No mention at all. And suddenly you guys talk about other things that seem to be surreal.
    What about the 1.50 per liter, what about the toll that you promised, what about the promise that once GST is abolished the price of goods will go down , what about the minimum pay, what about PTPTN that you mention is Hak rakyat to get free education…..and so so much more.

• Aladdin on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Wow. NASA needs to hire this guy

• Dong gor on Mar 29, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Talk only loud la… Pure jaguh kampung gene!

• 8 aerospace and mechanical engineers working on a prototype of a human carrying flying drone… I mean man… These engineers would need to be working at Nikola Tesla level to succeed. I mean… All the instrumentation, software programming, aerodynamics, propulsion, fuel/electric storage system, safety etc etc surely requires more than 8 engineers right?

It might be normal for people to assume this is normal given that consultancy firm usually have no more than 8 engineers here. But having worked at offshore vessel design house before, I was only one of the whopping 800 design engineers the house employs, this is excluding production engineers mind you. A single project alone easily swallow up to 50-100 engineers at one time. And we worked within the framework set by feed design study, which mean we have a framework to begin with.

Sorry for being sceptical but as an engineer myself, i would see how this could ever work, unless like I mentioned earlier, unless those 8 are working at Nikola Tesla level.

Besides, being listed as one of the most promiaing company actually means not much by how the world perceive hyoe these days. Need some awakening? Have some read on Theranos.

• Newme on Mar 30, 2019 at 9:44 am

Challenging the rakyat? Those who challenging the rakyat will always be at the losing end. Just like how proton asking how much the people know about car which the rakyat gave them hell till they submit.

• LOL Malaysia on Mar 30, 2019 at 11:20 am

what a joke.

• Childish statement. Also, many can’t even drive properly on the road. Let alone flying. Next is we will get hit by flying cars falling from the skies from accidents

• torque on Mar 31, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Agak2 la kalau buat statement tu…buat projek kereta atas jalan pun dah lingkup, nak back up kereta terbang. Even Tesla are in the red despite their cars are actually heading the technology direction i.e electric most giant company is heading. Flying car…seeing too much of Doctor Emmett Brown’s movie ka?!

• hkteck on Apr 02, 2019 at 2:08 pm

Wondering the fan supplied will be our local Pensonic or Khind?

• Stupid director of BFTT..kerja nak politik kat ong je

• Michael Khor on Oct 22, 2019 at 10:19 am

Until engineers can get the power source and energy system to lift this human size machine that is not helicopter or hovercraft, it is still sci-fiction to have flying car. The reason is power to weight ratio do not scale linearly with size increase. For example a small 5kg cat 25cm height can leap 2m up easily. Scale the height 4x to 100cm tiger size, it weight is not 4x heavier at 20kg, but at least 100kg…and no tiger can jump 8m up however much muscle it has.
    So medium size drones can fly, but human size electric drone has yet insufficient power to lift off the ground, only can roll around like EV cars. We have to wait until inventors can give us anti-gravity motor…also to avoid the huge noise created when we move large volume of air like those by helicopter and hovercraft.

• Michael Khor on Oct 22, 2019 at 10:22 am

Until engineers can get the power source and energy system to lift this human size machine that is not helicopter or hovercraft, it is still sci-fiction to have flying car. The reason is power to weight ratio do not scale linearly with size increase. For example a small 5kg cat 25cm height can leap 2m up easily. Scale the height 4x to 100cm tiger size, it weight is not 4x heavier at 20kg, but at least 100kg…and no tiger can jump 8m up however much muscle it has.
    So medium size drones can fly, but human size electric drone has yet insufficient power to lift off the ground, only can roll around like EV cars. We have to wait until inventors can give us anti-gravity motor…also to avoid the huge noise created when we move large volume of air like those created by helicopter and hovercraft, and drones – who wants that?

• Drive bamboo cars ? Better still, certain Malaysian politicians should go “fly kite” instead.