Flying vehicle ‘prototype’ model emerges at LIMA 2019

Social media was abuzz today over photos shared by the ministry of entrepeneur development (MED) on its Facebook page, in which prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was being shown a scale model of a flying vehicle prototype at the Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace 2019 (LIMA 19) exhibition.

The appearance of the Vector, as it’s called, at the show has led many to ask if this is the flying car that has been mentioned by entrepeneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof. Last month, he had announced that the country will be unveiling its first flying car prototype sometime this year.

As it turns out, this is not the case, as Bernama reports. The company behind the Vector, Aerodyne Group, refuted the idea that the company was developing a flying car. According to Aerodyne’s business development and consulting senior director Imtyaz Mohd Azzat, the Vector is essentially a drone-based, point-to-point air mobility solution.

He said the Vector has been designed to cover a variety of applications – aside from being able to carry a passenger load of two, it is also able to be used for cargo delivery and carry out flight-based surveillance duties.

“The Vector is powered by four motors and a lithium-ion battery that enables the vehicle to fly. The vehicle can also carry approximately 150 to 200 kg of load and fly about 50 metres above ground level at 60 km/h, and has from 30 up to 90 minutes of flight time,” he told the national news agency.

He said that the Vector prototype was slated to be ready to fly as early as June this year, but added that the market price had yet to be determined. Imtyaz said Aerodyne was grateful that the MED has been supportive of the project and very open to the idea of its development.

So, it turns out that the so-called ‘flying car’ isn’t quite a car, but a flying transportation system. Of course, don’t expect the flying vehicle to go away just yet in the automotive scheme of things – yesterday, Rembau MP Khairy Jamaluddin tweeted a couple of photos of the revised National Automotive Policy (NAP), a draft of which was made available to MPs in parliament. In one photo, mention is made of establishing standards for flying vehicles.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Amran on Mar 27, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Rm1 million cost..

• The All New john on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:24 am

It would be unbelieveble if this Game Changing innovation starts mass producing. Will bury the Game Over Proton under the soil

• Laugh die me on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:03 pm

737 & A320 uses 2 turbines to fly almost 300 people. This one gets 4 turbines for 2 people. What a machine!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:46 pm

Pakatan better start with something more practical and cost efficient like mesin rumput…it can be in turbo for maximum cutting…we the rakyat wont mind as long you don’t kencing again…

• hondaman on Mar 27, 2019 at 9:34 pm

So, it is a manned drone. Which means, it is under CAAM aka DCA regulation… not under NAP. This PH government is really a confused lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • No power windows, so no problem ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • W. A. Nazaruddin on Mar 27, 2019 at 9:45 pm

Looks like the flying car we are talking about is a leisure flying car. Not for daily use like go to work, shopping, fetch kids from school, etc. So, can they sell it? Or, is it worth buying it? Really dissapointed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Flying Sampan on Mar 27, 2019 at 9:51 pm

Why use radio control quadcopter modelling toy showcase as prototype flying vehicle?
    There are supposed to showcase a 1:1 scale prototype!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Sohai on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:00 pm

Prototype? Joke of the prototype year? The green dismantled from which China brand fan to assembly there, sure cannot fly. Better go Kuala Perlis (near Langkawi), many prototype which guaranteed can fly & below rm100. Road side have better prototype than LIMA? Malu betui…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Universitas Thebes on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:02 pm

It can only fly less than 90km with constant max velocity of 60km/h. How long does the battery charge to full capacity before next flight again? Can it fly on bad weather or when raining?

• Jougan on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:56 am

“The Vector is powered by four motors and a lithium-ion battery that enables the vehicle to fly. The vehicle can also carry approximately 150 to 200 kg of load and fly about 50 metres above ground level at 60 km/h, and has from 30 up to 90 minutes of flight time,” he told the national news agency. :- Where does it say the contraption can fly less than 90km?

• “60 km/h” = 60 km in 60 mins = 1 min can go 1 km
        “up to 90 minutes of flight time” = 90 mins can go 90 km

• Sohai on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:08 pm

Prototype? The director rm20k/month not even capable explain how Physics Aerodynamics this prototype. Prototype of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • GGMalaysia on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:46 pm

The way he answered exactly like me when I’m answering my supervisor’s questions regarding to my Fyp which I just managed to motivate myself to read the title yesterday.

• SK, Lim on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Dear Pakatan. You really have disappoint me. You promised us a flying car but comes out a toy drone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • mesinrumput on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:15 pm

what? this aviation topic also got covered in paultan?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:19 pm

Just curious whether the flying car will replace MAS as the national carrier…tun m plans to sell mas anyway

• Jimmy on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:22 pm

Clowns + toy = number one stupidity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:41 pm

Aiyoooo there is a big difference between calling it a flying car and a drone lah. The minister in question should be sacked for labelling it as a flying car. Anyhow this makes more sense. A security drone to patrol the borders more quickly than compared to a helicopter and it has a smaller footprint too. If the scout drone encounters any issues they can radio for a helicopter with troops to be deployed ASAP.

• Anonymous on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:47 pm

Fans ordered online via Lazada…? What utter crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • karsh on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:58 pm

please comments nicely… LOL

• drMpower on Mar 27, 2019 at 11:08 pm

This guy know what he is saying?
    Lithium ion batteries? Really?
    200kg of load?

Let’s do a quick calculation here:
    power = work/time
    work = force x distance
    So power = force x distance/time or equivalently,
    power = force x speed of lifting (rate)

We are calculating for 100kg of load (assuming the battery itself has no weight which is impossible but lets just have fun):

Force needed to hold 100 kg against gravity = 100*9.8, rounding it up to 1000N.
    Let’s say the machine lifts it up at a rate of 1 meter per second.
    So power needed would be 1000 x 1 = 1kW.
    But this is the power needed without frictional and other losses. Fairly assuming that the motor and pulley assembly is 80% efficient, actual power the motor pumps in from the source would be 1000/0.8 = 1.25kW.

So with 80% efficiency, and thrust rate at 1 metre per second, and 200kg load, we are looking at storage of 2.5kW. Lets just say 3 kW. Mind you this is just to LIFT the load, not the travelling.

Lithium ions for 3kW weight about…136kg (Powercube) !!!!

Are these guys for real? And that minister, please. Keep your mouth shut on this flying car thing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
    • Grt_jojo on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:51 am

Tesla manage put Battery pack 85 kWh battery pack 540 kg into production model. with banefit of light weight material and high watt brushless motor as driver a short distance and lift shouldn’t a strain. (plz neglect the home fan design as turbine)

• kapitan ah mei rica on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:29 am

Probably it won’t take obese passenger(s) and the buzzer will sound just like an overloaded elevator LMAO

• fraz006 on Mar 28, 2019 at 12:46 pm

1. this is not ‘the flying car project’
      2. that is why you dont work at Aerodyne

• UTurn M on Mar 28, 2019 at 2:48 pm

To the para rakyat Malaysia. This is what you voted for. Hahahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • GGMalaysia on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Legit explanation. We’ll see the real prototype, maybe they able to harvest any energy which yet to be discovered in the sky. I’m so proud of Malaysia.

• Korean Fan on Mar 28, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Too complicated to understand.

What I know is that if they use lithium ion battery, with my new Galaxy S10+, I can reverse charge my flying car in the air.

• “He said the Vector has been designed to cover a variety of applications – aside from being able to carry a passenger load of two”

So it is a flying car. Why is this guy beating around the bush?

• Ultimate Rugal on Mar 27, 2019 at 11:15 pm

Not sure a flying vehicle prototype or just a RM100 drone.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 27, 2019 at 11:36 pm

This is the biggest joke ever. We don’t even have EV or hybrid cars, yet we want to lompat and do flying cars.

These are just lazy dreamers who are just used to wasting money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Pakulupapito on Mar 28, 2019 at 1:03 am

That is literally just a normal drone with human figure on it…..

• the WTF face on TDM is priceless.

joking aside, the powers that be thinks the MRT2 / LRT3 is too expensive, the take away money from that project to invest in this …

let that sink in ..

• sugarhill on Mar 28, 2019 at 7:45 am

hahahahahahahgahahhahahaha

• common sensor on Mar 28, 2019 at 7:47 am

itu toys lar bongok; prototaip kepala hangguk hang!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Have you ever thought to that how to control the air traffic? You can not even control road traffic. Can you really make a flying car? You can not even make a national car that is accepted by Malaysia. You only sell them under protection. Can you really learn technology from flying car? You unable to learn anything to come out a true national even after 30 years.

• MOMOchacha on Mar 28, 2019 at 8:21 am

just let me cool down at a corner…

• protableFan on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:02 am

why do i think the prototype rotor coming from USB portable fan?

• John Doe on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:19 am

HAHAHAHAHA!!! They must be really Panas got 4 KDK fans!!!!

• newme on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:24 am

Why you all are so jumpy about this flying car? It’s not that we are not used to dumb product announcement. We had water powered car that went disappear after the announcement. We had political party smartphone and 1Malaysia tablet that went missing too. Rileklah.

• klguy on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:24 am

come on la,,,its a freaking drone

• fraz006 on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:36 am

ini takda kaitan dengan flying car project. why all people say it is ‘the car’.. aduii. i know the director. Aerodyne is big name in drone. definitely not the flying car ,guys

• fraz006 on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:09 pm

before dislike, go to Aerodyne fb page, and you ll know that i am not lying.

The minister is trying to take credit when this project not related to his at all. Too obvious. This porject is not funded by rakyat money,not even a cent. Aerodyne victim of politic,but its free marketing for them lor.

• hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Sparcov on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:55 am

Before the R/C drone technology that we can easily bought it from Pasar Road from less than RM 100,
    15 years back, most of the university student already presented this prototype concept.

Now, with this size, i can always buy it from Toy shop for less than RM 100 and it can flies well. No prototype require.

• lut you on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:35 am

Great!!!
    Can I ride it with B2 CDL?

• Too early for April fool XD

• cheated on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:44 am

we were cheated by the media, again. this is not the flying car mentioned. different project la wei. why media nowaday also didnt seek clarification before posting. aiyooooo.

• Sorry, I am not a FAN of this.

• panjang on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:29 am

An even funnier thing is the Tata Yodha pickup ad i saw at the bottom of this article. It mentioned ’85hp-Powerful performance’

• Tata Yoda: “Size matters not. Look at me. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmm? Hmm. And well you should not.”

• John Wayne on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:30 am

I don’t know, should I laugh or should I cry…

• fraz006 on Mar 28, 2019 at 11:37 am

this one not the flying car. nothing related to the gov project car lah. this one project developed by Aerodyne is called air mobilit unit, for flying small urgent cargo, e.g. from shore to ship. Aerodyne is big name in drone industry.

not sure why journalists keep implying it as ‘the flying car’. banyak dosa tuuu woi nak dapatkan clicks and likes semata mata.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 28, 2019 at 4:35 pm

According to the minister, they are one and the same ;)

• fraz006 on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:04 pm

The minister is trying to take credit when this project not related to his at all. Too obvious. This porject is not funded by rakyat money, even a cent. Aerodyne victim of politic,but its free marketing for them

• Lets See on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:44 pm

If this project is not funded by rakyat money, then where is the Rm20million earmarked for this project? Hmmm…

• AFMGT on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:08 am

That should be a different story

• Hafiz Hisham on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:08 pm

@AFMGT
            “Looks like me, sounds like me, but it is not me.”
            Sounds familiar right?

• Engineer on Mar 28, 2019 at 6:18 pm

PT writers should do a team discussion and commentary on this… this joke of the century. What are you guys thoughts onto this?

• Is this some kind of joke? 4 table fans taped to a urinal?

• Mr. Octopus on Mar 28, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Who else is here just for the comments?…

• Not a prototype. Just a plastic model.

• Useless idea..

• alldisc on Mar 28, 2019 at 1:49 pm

only 5 parties allowed to use this device

1. police
    2. grabfood/pandafood/pizza delivery etc
    3. despatch/postmen
    4. highway patrol
    5. courier services

• Matchy on Mar 28, 2019 at 1:49 pm

China already did it first… Google ehang 184.

• fadzili Rahman on Mar 28, 2019 at 2:13 pm

this is a joke. A toy shape model that does not even work. directors who pretend to be Elon Musk. people laugh at you all around the world. funny is that recently I heard from a friend who told me there is a lawyer going around town and parades that he has EV license from Gov!!!! and trying to fool people to pay him money. is this true? if true then WTH MITI????. a lawyer? so anyone can go and get a license to make EVs now? need to investigate who this lawyer guy is.

• Dong gor on Mar 28, 2019 at 2:51 pm

You all can twist better than M Shyamalan… Go Hollywood make movie pls. Talent wasted here

• Comment nicely here please.. Kesian Tun M

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Oh how I miss Maslan. At least he CGPA 3.85.

This Flying Car-pet Mini-Star is bumbling around, doesn’t have a clue at all.

If it’s just a drone, ask DJI lah. Ini kroni company macam 2×5 sama saja zaman Bee-End.

• thats the problem with our Bolehland…. really lack of innovation..
    lost of words how poorly the prototype is being designed

• P Ramlee’s flying mat still the better option in 2019

• Ohh my,using li-ion as source?? They must be joking.. Over optimistic about payloads n flight time & altitude, but nothing ever mentioned about the motors nor the rotors its self.. just mentioned under the design & engineering phase.. the biggest joke though is the actual prototype will be ready by this year end.. common ready for what, first maiden flight?!! very high torque, high rpm, high current motors with excellent watts of shaft power vs weight vs volume, dream on… the chinese would have done it if its ever possible..

• A: Wei. Dah siap ke prototype?2 hari lagi nak showcase. Tun nak tengok nanti
    B: belum bos , nanti siap ( nak lepak dulu , jalan2 langkawi dulu. Malam last la buat)

Hari showcase

A: mana dia prototype?
    B: dah siap bos. Ini dia.

Hahahaha

• It is a drone, china made only sell rm399.

• Dasuki on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:15 pm

What about resale value?

• wow…like dat also can

come out with toy miniature model and so proud of it

looks like they rip some table fans and stick to it ^^