FIRST DRIVE: 2019 G20 BMW 330i M Sport – RM329k

In the world of cars, the BMW 3 Series really needs no introduction. It’s a living legend in its own right, one that’s universally known and desired by many. Now in its seventh generation, the G20 3 Series aims to up the ante, and in just over seven months since its global reveal, the ravishing sedan is finally here in Malaysia in the sole 330i M Sport guise.

Right off the bat, it’s got a love it or hate it appeal. The exterior design will polarise (especially with the ever-growing kidney grille), but things are a tad more palatable in M Sport trim. If you want a more aggressive look, feel free to browse the full M Performance catalogue.

For now, the fully-imported 330i M Sport remains as the only offering for early adopters. The RM328,800 executive sedan is powered by the familiar B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, making 258 hp (up 6 hp) and 400 Nm of torque (up 50 Nm) from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm. The ubiquitous ZF eight-speed automatic transmission is standard, enabling a zero to 100 km/h sprint in 5.8 seconds, and a fuel consumption figure of 5.8 to 6.1 litres per 100 km.

Standard kit includes the range-topping BMW Live Cockpit Professional infotainment system, featuring a 10.25-inch centre screen and a 12.3-inch digital instrumentation, the latest BMW Operating System 7.0, as well as a 10-speaker, 205-watt HiFi Loudspeaker sound system. BMW Digital Key is available too, allowing selected Samsung smartphones to be used as a key via Near Field Communication (NFC).

Also on are M Sport suspension with lift-related dampers, as well as a range of active and passive safety systems. Unfortunately, autonomous emergency braking (AEB) is still not offered, and that is a glaring omission, especially considering the price.

If you’re having sleepless nights deciding wether or not to buy, feel free to indulge in our video review to see what our man Jonathan Lee has to say about the 330i M Sport. We also have an in-depth written review for those who want a complete dissection of the car.

GALLERY: G20 BMW 330i M Sport

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mario and Bros on May 21, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Looks nice and more sleeker.

• S90 or G20 on May 23, 2019 at 2:07 pm

Bmw will take over c class and s90 market

• Kelvin Kong on May 24, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Lol, S90 is mid size sedan and compete with 5 series. S60 is compact size to compete with 3 series, C class and A4.

• Singarajah on May 21, 2019 at 6:15 pm

All over the world, this is known as the cheapest BMW or entry level.

Something must be wrong with the ringgit for the entry level BMW to start at RM329k. Mismanagement of tens of years have resulted in our ringgit depreciating so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • heybadigol (Member) on May 23, 2019 at 11:38 am

The entry level BMW is the 1 Series, which is also around half the price of the 330i. Higher up is the 2 Series, followed by the X1, then X2. After that is the 3 Series.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 23, 2019 at 9:43 pm

Foolish to think mere Mismanagement of past tens of years. Its blatant daylight embezzlement and songlap of the Highest order. MaluApabosskuur ..

• seancorr (Member) on May 21, 2019 at 7:06 pm

This or the C300 with adaptive Airmatic suspension, adaptive LED headlights, Burmester sound system, power boot, AEB, Lane Keeping Assist, surround view cameras and a sunroof.

Maybe the CKD 330i will have a better fighting chance if they can match or out-do the spec list of MBM.

• Shamsual Annuar on May 21, 2019 at 8:08 pm

BMW 330i is RM329k. BMW 530e is RM329k

But in overseas market, the BMW 530e is about 70% more costly than the BMW 330i

So logic will tell you that the 530e is a better buy

• niadruob ynohtna on May 21, 2019 at 11:10 pm

RM328,800 for 3 series sports sedan? Better double check with Mr. Sum Ting Wong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Azam Ali on May 23, 2019 at 1:38 am

That interior looks awful. Everythhing is octagon shaped, from instrument panel to the door trims. Urghh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • thepolygon on May 23, 2019 at 9:02 am

If the pricing keeps going up, cars will go the way of the properties nowadays… bloated with unsold units.

• Lim Kim Lai on May 24, 2019 at 8:21 pm

The transmission tunnel really eats into the drivers legroom space.Looks cramped and pedals are too far to the right.

• Is a lack of AEB really that big an issue?? It’s not something I would even consider when looking for a new cart

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 28, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Yes it definitely is. It’s one of those things you’d think you won’t need, until one day you wish you had.

• I’d have to disagree, it wouldn’t sway me one way or another when making a purchase.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 29, 2019 at 1:17 pm

Like I said, just means you’ve never been in a position to need AEB. Doesn’t mean you never will.

Anyway, agree to disagree.

• James on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Absolutely agree. Never thought I needed it until it saved my arse once. Will never buy a car without AEB in the future! Should become a standard given how cheap electronics are now and how easy it is to accommodate for AEB in this day and age