Yes, you want an NCAP five-star-rated vehicle, but…

This article is a translation of a feature on our Bahasa Malaysia site.

Malaysian car buyers are a demanding lot. Not only are high quality and attractive designs high on the list of priorities, safety features are required inclusions as well. With the advent of every new model, particularly in the more affordable segments, features such as electronic stability control, airbag count, autonomous emergency braking and NCAP ratings come under the shoppers’ microscope.

Despite the heightened demands for quality automobiles, Malaysians – for the most part, at least – still appear to have misplaced priorities in their approach towards vehicular safety. It seems that an NCAP five-star rating is a sort of magical protection against all hazards which may be encountered on-road, even if seat belt usage has been neglected.

Did you know that every test result in the New Car Assessment Programme is attained with crash test dummies securely fastened with the aforementioned seat belts? The ‘SRS’ in ‘SRS airbag’ you may have seen on steering wheels and dashboards stands for Supplementary Restraint System – airbags are the supporting act in the scheme of occupant protection in the event of a crash, not the first line of defense.

That lead role goes to the often-ignored seat belt. Sadly, the crucial protection offered by this most basic of safety equipment is sidelined when parents opt to install makeshift beds in the rear passenger compartment – more often promoted on social media as a more comfortable way to balik kampung for the kids in the back seats when prolonged traffic jams are expected.

It really shouldn’t need saying that this approach isn’t the way to go. Children need to be securely belted in the rear seats – like any other occupant, really. And yes, that’s right, adults really should be buckling up at the back, as we keep saying time and time and time again.

Children less than 10 years of age, or those who are still of insufficient height, should ideally use booster or child seats for optimum in-car safety, should any collision or otherwise untoward incident take place. By the way, Isofix child seat anchor points are a prerequisite for attaining five-star status in NCAP ratings, which really counts for nought if not used.

Silences the warning chime, but because of that, a very bad idea in every other respect.

Of course, with the inevitably heavier traffic that is part and parcel of festive seasons, lower speeds would mean lower risk, wouldn’t it? Unfortunately not. Accidents can and do happen without warning, as a family found out two years ago in the hardest way possible. In that incident, the family of five was travelling in a Perodua Viva in the slow lane, minding its own business when another vehicle collided with it, sending the Viva into the drain. A three-month-old baby died as a result.

A child seat was eventually found outside the car in the aftermath, indicating that the seat had not been properly secured within the vehicle. This should offer some idea as to the severity of what can happen if such an incident takes place when the rear seats are used as a bed, occupants laid unsecured.

In addition to passengers, drivers should not forget about their own safety and remember to buckle up for themselves as well. Needless to say – actually, it does need saying, given the lackadaisical attitude towards buckling up – that the dummy clip for inserting into the seat belt clasp in order to disable the seat belt warning chime in most modern cars is a big mistake as it entirely defeats the purpose of seat belts.

In fact, the seat belt warning chime is a major contributor towards a car scoring enough points to be awarded a five-star rating; bypassing the seat belt warning essentially renders the safety rating somewhat meaningless, as a safety package is only relevant when it is used appropriately.

According to data from the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) for 2017, an average of 16 road deaths were recorded daily for the months of Ramadan and Syawal, which makes for concerning reading. Even if passenger car occupants weren’t the sole contributors to that statistic, every viable precaution helps, and making use of seat belts which come installed on all cars today will help.

In any case, everyone can contribute towards reducing road casualties – remember to be considerate, use your indicators (and give way to those who have indicated), refrain from racing each other (granted, more applicable when not caught in a gridlock), vacate the emergency lanes for actual emergencies and last but not least, pull over for a rest when you begin to feel tired behind the wheel.

With these in mind, we wish everyone safe travels, and happy reunions with loved ones this festive season.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ollie on May 27, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Its unbelievable that people have this level of brain capacity. I personally know someone who doesn’t wear seatbelts because they are uncomfortable. Of all the wasteful ways of dying, dying in a car is up there. Its hard to digest, but in Malaysia, a lot of people seem to have a literal death wish. The way motorcyclists and most male drivers drive, they really want to die.

We have among the highest death rates in the world on the road, everyday in Malaysia around 20 motorcyclists and 10 car occupants die in crashes.

Based on the evidence seen driving in KL everyday, I really can see why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Teh tarik on May 27, 2019 at 6:05 pm

But Proton doesn’t have one. So we have no choice but to go for the game changing Perodua cars with 5 stars rated safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 58
      • Safety First on May 27, 2019 at 6:43 pm

“Perodua Viva…. death”. Says a lot about their safety levels.

• BOYRACER on May 27, 2019 at 6:45 pm

5 star or 10 star if don’t wear seatbelt also no use.40kmh is enough to cause injuries if without wearing one..

• Brain left the chat on May 27, 2019 at 8:01 pm

Do u even read the article? Even if its 10 star ncap it doesn’t matter if people make the rear passenger seats into a bed or no seatbelt on duh

• Yeah, safe Perodua cars like the “turtle Myvi” and “axle tercabut Alza”. You should say ‘Perodua cars with 0.5 stars rated safety’.

• Darren on May 27, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Yes yes. Perodua is game changer… for Nirvana. Nirvana’s business shot up with the popularity of Perodua cars. Now they are big and rich thanks to Perodua.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on May 28, 2019 at 9:47 am

Are you from the stone age? Teh tarik already invented during that period?

• Safety First on May 27, 2019 at 6:41 pm

Their choice in choosing a Perodua car already tells you many Malaysians don’t care about safety and their lives.

• Women also same maa.. Last minute change lane without signal… SUDDEN STOP AND REVERSE when take wrong exit… Driving in opposite direction….mens end up die

• Ollie on May 27, 2019 at 6:14 pm

Can get these online for <RM10. Value of a life to some people.

• Safety First on May 27, 2019 at 6:46 pm

The first image look like a very comfy hold, for a final rest.

• Tz1234 on May 27, 2019 at 9:41 pm

We should all be calm when behind the wheel. There’s a said, your inside out will come out when you drive. We may became impatient, reckless, cursing when on the road. Pls think of your love one, your families, and behave especially during this festive season. Drive safe, arrive safely and Selamat Hari Raya.

• Khairil Anwar on May 27, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Most Malaysians do not have the awareness. Road safety must be taught in early school years so that it is embedded in the children’s mind so when they become parents they have the sense of awareness.

• mohd fadzlan failul rahman on May 27, 2019 at 11:00 pm

Good job PT in translating this article into english version. Let’s ramp up the awareness campaign on child car seat!

• transformer on May 27, 2019 at 11:31 pm

GOOD. Every year paultan.org will have safety article to warn reader every festive season. Hope some reader will heed on your advise else turns into the yearly stats.

• FRanger on May 28, 2019 at 8:00 am

It is a question of attitude, safety culture, a duty of care for everyone and having good habits. Having these qualities is an ingredient in making driving safe and the advancement as a nation

• Add A Comment on May 28, 2019 at 8:25 am

Kudos PT. This is only car site in MY that constantly promoting safety on the road.

• Kaherudin on May 28, 2019 at 10:11 am

Don’t be quick to judge. Imagine your car stucked bumper to bumper for more than 10 hours & your kids starting to feel restless, tired & sleepy. Thank God I never had this kind of experience but I totally understand why this product has become popular in our country. Not everyone can afford comfortable car for their whole family. Im not saying safety should be sacrificed, but in a situation like that, any parents will do whatever they can to give some comfort to their loves one.

• Comfort over safety. Interesting parenting method. Some folks are just not meant to be parents.

• Then they deserve to have their child taken away. If you can’t prioritize your child’s need in proper order, then you don’t deserve that child. Safety first. Comfort can never override safety, because what use is comfort when safety has been compromised?

“Unless you’re a parent, you can’t understand…”

I don’t need to be a parent to understand that a dead child as a result of your stupid choices makes you at fault and a bad parent.

• Ben Yap on May 28, 2019 at 10:27 am

reduce malaysian population.

• matt farrel on May 28, 2019 at 1:17 pm

I nearly crashed into an Alza at an intersection, when the driver decided to turn right from the very left lane…as I was driving in the middle lane, i was inches away from crashing

• gerald on May 28, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Guys,
    Fastening seat belt is a MUST.
    However, we should place focus on Active Safety.
    Seat belt is Passive Safety – you need it when in an accident, we should look at avoiding the accident
    How many locally assembled cars have Active Safety?
    Worse still, HOW MANY Lorries & Buses have Active Safety????
    With Active Safety, some level of idiocy can be compensated..
    BTW, let’s be clear – NCAP 5 star is different from Asean 5 Star!!