Driver killed after thrown out in crash, fake seat belt clip seen – is the (in)convenience worth your life?

A car crash which occured last Friday saw the driver of the sole vehicle involved lose his life after being thrown from the car he was driving. This would imply that the driver was insufficiently fastened, and if the image above allegedly pertaining to this particular crash is accurate, he did not have his seat belt fastened in the first place.

The image, which has been circulated on the Internet, shows a decoy clip inserted into the seat belt clasp instead of a fastened belt. These clips have been known to be purchased by users who want to drive without the seat belt warning chime blaring at them.

“Based on initial investigations, the accident is believed to have occurred when the Mitsubishi Lancer driven by the victim, who was heading to Port Dickson from Seremban, skidded to the left side of the road and hit the metal road divider. The accident caused the victim to be thrown from his vehicle,” Port Dickson District police chief Supt Zainudin Ahmad said in a statement as reported by Bernama.

These seat belt decoy clips have been known to be available for purchase at accessory shops, although the ramifications of not properly wearing one’s seat belt – as demonstrated by the unfortunate man’s demise – are clear to see. Also, just in case rear-seat passengers think they are exempt from causing harm, watch the video above to see what happens when a rear occupant is unfastened.

There’s probably no need to mention this, but do you really need such an incident to remind you of the importance of fastening your seat belt? It’s the most basic safety item that you can have, and other features like airbags simply won’t save your life if you don’t even take a couple of seconds to buckle up before you set off. Please, make it a habit.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Made of Stone on Sep 25, 2017 at 4:34 pm

What is so difficult about wearing a seatbelt man? I don’t understand it. Do you think you’re made of steel?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Wearing seatbelt is cumbersome for obese guys like us pfffft.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 106
      • hyin21 on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:21 pm

not an excuse

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
        • KgPandan on Sep 26, 2017 at 10:45 am

Yes not an excuse. we seen 15 ppl or more cramped into a Exora in many accidents.

Overcapacity will kill, Polis nvr act.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2017 at 12:03 pm

n u think police can see everything? plus nowadays car are tinted.. how?

• IGP mom on Sep 26, 2017 at 5:40 pm

KGM … defend la … but then you pointed another problem. Aint JPJ has car tint rules? You think the tint is pitch black? So the law enforcers didn’t do their job again? Apa lagi can you say?

• Fitting u guys in a box is cumbersome to more pipu. Pls wear seatbelts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 2
      • So you think being dead or crippled is less troublesome than wearing a seatbelt? Good argument there, dude.

• Eat more you cumbersome fatties. on Sep 25, 2017 at 7:32 pm

It’s either you wear your seatbelt, or you wear a bed strap inside an ambulance, that’s if you could fit into one.

• Obese? Well if an accident doesn’t get your life, a heart attack sure will ;)

• vwfan on Sep 26, 2017 at 1:43 pm

U choose, die by accident or diabetes/high blood pressure/heart attack?

• musangKing-originalz on Sep 26, 2017 at 10:12 am

If there’s one thing we know about our risky world, it’s that seat belts save lives, right? And they do, of course. But reality, as usual, is messier and more complicated than that. John Adams, risk expert and emeritus professor of geography at University College London, was an early skeptic of the seat belt safety mantra. Adams first began to look at the numbers more than 25 years ago. What he found was that contrary to conventional wisdom, mandating the use of seat belts in 18 countries resulted in either no change or actually a net increase in road accident deaths.

How can that be? Adams’ interpretation of the data rests on the notion of risk compensation, the idea that individuals tend to adjust their behavior in response to what they perceive as changes in the level of risk. Imagine, explains Adams, a driver negotiating a curve in the road. Let’s make him a young male. He is going to be influenced by his perceptions of both the risks and rewards of driving a car. The considerations could include getting to work or meeting a friend for dinner on time, impressing a companion with his driving skills, bolstering his image of himself as an accomplished driver. They could also include his concern for his own safety and desire to live to a ripe old age, his feelings of responsibility for a toddler with him in a car seat, the cost of banging up his shiny new car or losing his license. Nor will these possible concerns exist in a vacuum. He will be taking into account the weather and the condition of the road, the amount of traffic and the capabilities of the car he is driving. But crucially, says Adams, this driver will also be adjusting his behavior in response to what he perceives are changes in risks. If he is wearing a seat belt and his car has front and side air bags and anti-skid brakes to boot, he may in turn drive a bit more daringly.

The point, stresses Adams, is that drivers who feel safe may actually increase the risk that they pose to other drivers, bicyclists, pedestrians and their own passengers (while an average of 80% of drivers buckle up, only 68% of their rear-seat passengers do). And risk compensation is hardly confined to the act of driving a car. Think of a trapeze artist, suggests Adams, or a rock climber, motorcyclist or college kid on a hot date. Add some safety equipment to the equation — a net, rope, helmet or a condom respectively — and the person may try maneuvers that he or she would otherwise consider foolish. In the case of seat belts, instead of a simple, straightforward reduction in deaths, the end result is actually a more complicated redistribution of risk and fatalities. For the sake of argument, offers Adams, imagine how it might affect the behavior of drivers if a sharp stake were mounted in the middle of the steering wheel? Or if the bumper were packed with explosives. Perverse, yes, but it certainly provides a vivid example of how a perception of risk could modify behavior.

In everyday life, risk is a moving target, not a set number as statistics might suggest. In addition to external factors, each individual has his or her own internal comfort level with risk-taking. Some are daring while others are cautious by nature. And still others are fatalists who may believe that a higher power devises mortality schedules that fix a predetermined time when our number is up. Consequently, any single measurement assigned to the risk of driving a car is bound to be only the roughest sort of benchmark. Adams cites as an example the statistical fact that a young man is 100 times more likely to be involved in a severe crash than is a middle-aged woman. Similarly, someone driving at 3:00 a.m. Sunday is more than 100 times more likely to die than someone driving at 10:00 a.m. Sunday. Someone with a personality disorder is 10 times more likely to die. And let’s say he’s also drunk. Tally up all these factors and consider them independently, says Adams, and you could arrive at a statistical prediction that a disturbed, drunken young man driving in the middle of the night is 2.7 million times more likely to be involved in a serious accident than would a sober, middle-aged woman driving to church seven hours later.

The bottom line is that risk doesn’t exist in a vacuum and that there are a host of factors that come into play, including the rewards of risk, whether they are financial, physical or emotional. It is this very human context in which risk exists that is key, says Adams, who titled one of his recent blogs: “What kills you matters — not numbers.” Our reactions to risk very much depend on the degree to which it is voluntary (scuba diving), unavoidable (public transit) or imposed (air quality), the degree to which we feel we are in control (driving) or at the mercy of others (plane travel), and the degree to which the source of possible danger is benign (doctor’s orders), indifferent (nature) or malign (murder and terrorism). We make dozens of risk calculations daily, but you can book odds that most of them are so automatic—or visceral—that we barely notice them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • Johnson Amigo on Sep 26, 2017 at 10:19 am

if u think seat belt is important, then you should seriously consider wearing a Proper racing Helmet all the times!!!!!!! Helmet is as important as seat belt and i actually think it’s even more important than a seat belt. Helmet should be mandatory in our country. NO helmet saman kao kao. Peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Turning on the signal lights is already a difficult thing to do for some, what more strapping the seat belt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Ollie on Sep 27, 2017 at 2:15 pm

I’m happy that my dad is quite a crazy driver so putting on seatbelt became a reflex. I’m happy that I’m unable to drive comfortably if I don’t wear a seatbelt. It seems to me more a uncivilised remnant of an uneducated populace. There’s a lot of similarities with Trump’s America and Malaysia’s uneducated, that’s why you see the same things happening.

• Ohwai on Sep 25, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 234
    • Shidi on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Sir, this about our own safety. Why must blame enforcement officers? Step in the car and wear your seat belt. Cheers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 6
    • Elchino on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:10 pm

PDRM so hardworking catch many people don’t wear seat belts around Bukit Bintang pavilion area. Ini…baru lah good job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Stupid cave pipu such as above is to be blamed. The body has evolved thru ages, but the brain of some remained stasis from back then. Let Darwinism handle these pipu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • rosdi on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Always blaming others…. good attitude….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • hyin21 on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:20 pm

not an excuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Dug Ong on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:59 pm

What the actual fufu.. don’t wear seatbelt, blame pdrm? This is a new low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Mr Ohwai, please continue with your routine of not wearing seatbelt when driving and may one day you can ‘fly’ too. Because it is for the benefit of mankind that people like you do not procreate, ever.

• Harry Hart on Sep 25, 2017 at 7:43 pm

“Of course, it’s always somebody else fault” Kingsman Agent

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Sep 26, 2017 at 9:39 am

This ohwai is another dupe for john. John oh john, still saying rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Many Malaysians do not care about safety.

Look around you, the amount of people not wearing seat belts, holding their babies in the arm, kids jumping around in an MPV, not having baby seats in car, etc is plenty…

Typical mentality: Aiya.. I drive safe can liao la! Why bother safety??

Fact: Sometimes it’s not about YOU, it’s about OTHERS. You may be the safest driver on the road but still there are many d-heads out there who drive recklessly.

Side note.. unsafe cars manufacturers like P2 should be banned.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 4
    • Taming sari on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Perggh P2 5star ANCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
      • P2 that have 5stars are full spec… The low spec P2 dont have same safety features with full spec… Other manufacture already put same safety features for low end and high end. Which means no matter you purchase low or full spec, you have same full spec safety features… But not for P2.

• Typical Malaysian on Sep 25, 2017 at 7:50 pm

mati hidup semua adalah takdir tuhan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • If you jump off a cliff, it is not fate. It’s stupidity.
        Don’t blame fate if you don’t put in the effort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Sep 25, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Saw people post this seat belt “clip” in facebook group… surprisingly a lot of people interested in it. Even some people warn about it, yet there are people just ignore them. What kind of mentality is this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • There are a lot more unsafe items being sold online and many people are interested in them.

Some of these include

Dashboard carpet
      Backseat inflatable bed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Yes, this is simply mentality issue. I saw it not just in Malaysia.

• If the person really did it, then he fully realise what he was doing. If he did die, then he oso fully deserves it.

I hope whatever insurances, refuse to pay out his policy and make it known in public why they did so (as shown above). Unless famili members agree to do PSA videos warning other idiots to stop their idiocy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
  • chiakc on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:08 pm

shoukd have ban this item.

Jack ma’s taobao had prohibited selling those decoy clips long ago.

at least china is trying to correct the wrong, whats is our government and enforcement officers doing ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
  • Hilux on Sep 25, 2017 at 5:47 pm

I’m tired of telling my family members to wear seat belt – my parent, brother, their kids seem to genuinely hate the safety device for some reason. They have one of those clip on the car too. It seems typical for Malaysian. Here, i don’t understand so they care so much for their kids but too dumb to understand an emergency break or a crash could take a precious life away.

A well deserved death to whoever that driver was. Hope she/he doesn’t cost others pain while being a dumb ass.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
    • Someone do belive misfortune is not relate to them, some mindset hard to change

• P2 man on Sep 26, 2017 at 7:13 am

I’m agree with you man.

• The irony is, they willing to spend for the clip while they can buckle up for free.

• One of my relatives had the clip too… I sit on his car and throw away the dummy clip that clipped on my seatbelt lock… He keep scolding me while i have my seatbelts on… Months later he caught on accident. Broken rib and stay at hospital for quite some times… He also get rid of dummy clip and strap on real seatbels

• FYI, the guy did die in the accident. In fact, he was cut in half.

• takNakP1 on Sep 25, 2017 at 6:13 pm

never mind the seat belt. stability controls and 7 air bags will safe them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Petrol Man on Sep 25, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Must be using fake Ralliart buckle, izit?……lots of fake accesories in the market. Fake sabelt, fake takata harnesses, fake recaro seats, fake sparco stuff, fake meters, fake samco hoses, fake brake calipers, fake sport rims, etc. just check it all out at [email protected] with endless fake goodies on sale.

I wont be surprised if another incident happened, with a victim thrown out of the car, with himself still strapped to a fake recaro seat or OMP “lasing” seat…

Oh, well…another day in Mesia…..

• Bernard on Sep 25, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Those who read paultan or star online wear seat belts, how about the rest of them who really need this msg to hit home?

• 7airbagsVSCABSetc on Sep 25, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Even cars with European safety standard, developed country highway, still third world mentality and we wonder why car makers downgrade their safety systems for this country.

• Muthusammy Loo on Sep 25, 2017 at 7:14 pm

What i say about Malaysian motorists is, Malaysian motorists generally shouldn’t be allowed to drive on the road (the Malaysian people’s driving license can be burned or thrown into sea since the standard mostly as good as thrash), instead should be thrown inside lockup and detention center all over country and have their vehicles confiscated (for those with multiple outstanding summons) since they are too crazy to handle any vehicle with ‘Dare to Die’ tagline. Already enough with those bloody hell reckless drivers, and not wearing safety belt are already bad enough, but i don’t know what kind of cunning brain those Malaysian drivers have in order to bypass the chime/warning sound so that they can ‘happily’ driving around without using safety belt.

• RIP BROTHER on Sep 25, 2017 at 7:22 pm

May the victim rest in peace..its fated…no need to blast him not doing this and tht…furthermore its all hearsay..only God knows wat happen..so let it be ok..he didnt ask to die like this…it can happen to anyone of us ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • tokmoh. on Sep 26, 2017 at 10:19 am

Hearsay? Stop being in denial.

That photo is evidence he used those fake clip cuz he don’t want to hear seatbelt warning beep.

Based on car damage, it’s very possible for him to survive, as it doesn’t extend into the cabin too severely. But he’d rather be lazy and not wear seatbelt than protect his life, so he reaps what he sow.

Stop justifying his foolishness. We bash cuz we want others to not repeat this dangerous act. Yet you defend him, akin to encourage people that using that stupid device is alright, yet it is the very cause of this person’s death!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • If something crash till the whole car destroyed, its fate… Fool did not wear seatbelts its foolishness… Someone tripped and fall from 10 stories is fated… But he jump willingly is foolishness… 2 totally different thing… Dont blame fate…

• Judging from the intact cabin items (headunit, dashboard, stearing etc), this is a survivable crash. There is almost no damage whatsoever, apart from the deployed airbags. Had the driver wear the seatbelt, he may even be able to stand up and walk away from this crash. What a pity!

• LatukBandar on Sep 25, 2017 at 8:32 pm

I once asked my friend why he dislike buckling up his seat belt, the reason given was – it is not manly.

I never understood what is so sissy about buckling up? For those that refuses to buckle up, please tell us why. We would love to know.

• choha on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:20 pm

speed kills, as simple as that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • I’m seeing a lot of comments from people who don’t want to wear their seat belt even though they know the dangers.

Guys, just let natural selection do its thing.

• Well, it appears in this case, not putting on seat belt is worth more than a man’s life.

But yet, men throughout history were known to have made irrational judgements.

• AutoTechie on Sep 26, 2017 at 8:23 am

I am a technician with a well known German brand, whenever a car comes in the workshop, it sometimes have this decoy clips in the buckle. I really don’t understand, you value your car, but not your own life when driving it. The car may be tough but you can be seriously hurt or could die because of your “inconvenience”. I really hope they’ll wake up and actually fasten their seat belt

• Gary Siow on Sep 26, 2017 at 9:33 am

It don’t like a fake seat belt clip to me, I have doubts about it

• Ben Yap on Sep 26, 2017 at 9:34 am

lancer no autonomous braking to avoid accident. salah kereta, not driver.

• It’s all about the basic. When you drive, wear your seat belt. When wish to overtake or switch lane, use indicator. I repeat again. IT IS ALL ABOUT THE BASIC.
    Maybe gov and SPAD need to make a mandatory to retake driving test every 10 years. It is a big hassle, but I don’t know how to tackle road safety issues anymore.
    When involved in accident, blame the enforcer. When enforcer take action, try to deal under table. Otherwise, take steering lock or viral the blame online. Then what should be done?

• Turn polis become Judge Dredds on roads.
      See no use signal, piang.
      See driving dangerous, piang.
      See them waving steering locks, double piang.
      See them wanna kopi, triple piang.

Problem solve

• Nobody can escape the laws of physics. Newton’s first law of motion – In an inertial frame of reference, an object either remains at rest or continues to move at a constant velocity, unless acted upon by a force. one is very stupid if one tries to go against it. Just fasten your seatbelt. You have nothing to lose, if you don’t you lose your life. Make your choice…,,,,

• karam on Sep 26, 2017 at 5:02 pm

aiyoo.. thank god octoberfest not allowed.. if not more will mati katak… drunk driving plus not wear seatbelt… a faster way to heaven.. (or hell?)

• Tony Takata on Sep 26, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Stupidity has no cure. A stupid person will die eventually, it is just a matter of how soon.

• why suddenly alot of accident in this road? road to port dickson.

• So even with the airbags it didn’t lessen the impact one bit. Thats shocking. I wouldn’t trust using the fake clip even with seat belt on. Fake clip is not tested by car manufacturers. So it’s quite possible that even if you put seat belt on through the fake clip it will come off. I sometimes ride in my friend’s car and I make sure I take off the fake clip first before buckling up. I’ve reminded him the danger but biasala typical msian reply…”it wont happen to me lah!”

• ShortCuts on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:11 am

In my 30 years behind wheels, I have noticed a decorating to people driving behavior and such an alarm state that yearly statistics of the accident incline instead of decline. I bought a car cam (RM180.00) a year ago and watch the recording daily then you ask the question why these people just reluctant to follow procedure and rules. What is their mindset when they are behind the wheels and interest subject for someone in road transport department need to address. Maybe I can sum up that people like to take shortcuts in life at the expense of other people live. Revised teaching methods for driving schools center and JPJ testing driver mental fitness on the road perhaps. Back to the basic.

• Datuk Herkulis on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:26 am

By all mean necessary, please stop wearing seat belt. Please sell this clip on a larger scale. Please. This is one sure way to get rid of the dumbest crop in our community.

Please stop using seat belt and use this clip. Please. The more of you dumb cunt die because of your action, the better it is for the community.