Following the publication of our article on the dangers of unused safety features present in cars, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has said that the usage of beds or similar articles in the rear seats are punishable according to the provision of law for seatbelt usage.
“The usage of beds in the rear of the vehicle for balik kampung journeys as publicised in social media is a prohibited practice, although some have cited comfort as reasons for its use. The trending act is very dangerous and is liable to fines for the non-usage of seatbelts,” said MIROS director-general Dr. Siti Zaharah Ishak as quoted by Utusan Online.
Additionally, human factors are among the causes of road incidents, which includes mobile phone usage while driving. This includes making phone calls without a hands-free device, using social media applications, as well as taking selfies or wefies while driving.
The dangers of unsecured vehicle occupants have been well documented, so please remember to buckle up before setting off on your journey. As always when on the road, stay alert, be considerate, and ensure your vehicle is well serviced and in optimum condition.
Thats how local parents treat their loved ones.
Thats the bad thing to allowed unlimited 100% tinted on rear windows, u said violated seat belt law? But how u can see if rear pasengger wear seat belt or not? U said must can see driver from front screen, but since rear seat belt is compulsory how u wanna see rear passengger?
You knock and ask them to roll down the window.
Before police knock, passenger already fast fast fasten their seat belt. How to catch? Just like front passenger and driver, polis on bike beside ur car see u without seat belt sudah tahan u and saman u.
MIROS, POLIS, JPJ, and Transport Minister don’t seem to be talking the same language. Is this they way to run a government? This can literally kill people!
Any violators, you became road safety stats.
Who cares if the want to die by not putting on seat belt. Saman is not the solution, change of mindset it is.
This is the dumbest thing I have ever heard. Only certain type of people have this rubbish
Inb4 buy car w 10 Airbag & Ncap rating 10-Star
In New Malaysia, anything goes. Like safety goes out the window.
You are so right. Their children, love ones, will literally “goes out the window” and they have no one else to blame but themselves. And the parents should go to jail for this, even there is no accident but merely get caught by police
Putting aside all these “tilam” on the rear seats for balik kampung; I just wonder how many people actually got saman for not wearing seatbelt whilst seated at the rear; saman or no saman, how many people actually put on that rear seatbelt. Suddenly everyone is so concern about the loved ones seated or lying on a bed at the rear :)
I will bang the same drum, yet again.
When will people realise that it is a PRIVILEGE to hold a driver’s licence and not simply a right.
The things I see on our roads on a non stop basis are an absolute disgrace. It is not an exaggeration to say that I see a driving offence every minute I’m on the road……EVERY MINUTE!!
I had a muppet pull up to me at the traffic lights on Tuesday with three young kids in the car. One was standing on his own on the front passenger’s seat and the other two were standing up on the back seats. Even doing 40 klm/hr and to brake suddenly, I shudder at the consequences.
Employ more police, get them out on the roads in unmarked cars and fine the crap out of all offenders.
No more discounts on your fines, pay up or you receive a summons. The cost of extra police will easily be covered by the payment of fines.
It’s time to stop pissing around with idiots. I know it works because I used to be one of those idiots in my younger years!
Come on Mr.Loke, be wise and make a name for yourself by sorting out this FIXABLE problem once and for all.
Small rant over….for now :))
The Minister is the problem. You don’t expect the problem to be the solution
Is it mandatory for rear passengers to buckle up?
I’m aligned with the use of safety belts for rear passenger for safety reasons. So under what context the authority can fine someone for sleeping in the back of the car? I’m no lawyer, but as a Director General you need to speak more facts of the law.
The authority can fine you if you.re not wearing the seatbelt, not because of sleeping.
If you put bed at the back seat, how to wear the seatbelt? This is dangerous.
The authority can saman if the driver or the front passenger not wearing seat belts. If rear passengers are not wearing seat belts, will there be a fine. If not, is putting a bed there against the law. I know it is dangerous, but on what charge are you going to fine the driver? Don’t think not wearing seat belt is going to work. Maybe reckless or dangerous driving?
a bunch of morons
1. All passengers must buckle- up (wear seat belts)…Once this LAW becomes MANDATORY as it applies in most countries ( NOTHING but for safety , irrespective of age,size or ones position …..NO Flexibility ..Implement or not ?? !!
As itis …using Handphones is rampant DAILY…enforcement of the LAW is not strict. ..[ isit not for Safety Reasons = Hands -free],
Be Positive n act …not just because ” Malaysia Baru !!.
My question is, is it really against the law if rear seat passengers do not use seat belt? If there is such a law, is it being enforced? Or it has deferred because Malaysian car makers / assemblers / drivers / passengers are not ready for it? The answer to these questions are necessary because MIROS DG’s reasoning depends on it.
In Malaysia, wearing safety seatbelt is MANDATORY:
Driver: since 1 Apr 1979
Front passenger: since 1 Apr 1979
Rear passenger: since 1 Jan 2009
Source: MIROS
What about the typical, everyday “1 kapchai, 4 riders”? (normally consists of husband, wife and two kiddies on the same bik).
That is not against the law?
or wrong but its ok?
IINM there is no limit to numbers on a bike.
Complaint about rear passengers not secured yet cannot do anything to prevent rear windows to be tinted blackblack.
In my opinion, this happened as our top e-commerce platform such as Lazada and shopee is not closely monitored . As such, more of those craps are illegally sold in Malaysia which give a false education to the unsmart consumer.
Not all consumer are smart. That’s the reason we need government agency helps and filter those junks to lead us in the right way