UK open to working with Malaysia on new national car

The United Kingdom says it is open to working with Malaysia to help the country realise its carbon emission reduction goal, and a possible avenue would be with the new national car project (NNCP), Bernama reports.

According to the Lord Mayor of the City of London, Alderman Peter Estlin, the UK’s expertise in electric vehicles (EV) manufacturing would be able to help Malaysia fulfil the pledge of lowering carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions by 45% by the year 2030.

“It is an area of possibility (to collaborate with Khazanah) as Malaysia’s focus is on low carbon economy. But we need to understand which part of it we (want to) focus on. If automotive is one of them, and if EV is one of the elements, then there is an opportunity there,” he told the national news agency during his official visit here last week. He added that industry players from the UK and Malaysia could look into collaboration in areas such as battery development or other aspects of EV manufacturing.

In April, entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Mohd Yusof had stated that the NNCP would be an extended-range vehicle. As opposed to full battery electric vehicles, a range extender vehicle is an EV with an auxiliary internal combustion engine, which powers an electric generator to recharge the batteries.

The government has yet to announce the strategic partner for the project, which has gone quiet in recent months. Two automakers were apparently shortlisted in March, and this progressed into the final phase of decision-making in April, but nothing has been heard about it since then. The NNCP, which the government says will be a private sector-driven project, is slated for a 2020 roll out.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jul 15, 2019 at 10:50 am

How is the UK going to work on the new Malaysian car? UK brands all are no longer British owned – Vauxhall is owned by the French, Jaguar/Land Rover owned by the Indians, Aston Martin by the Kuwaitis, Lotus by China etc etc etc.

Heck, even Dyson is planning to build EV cars in Singapore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Asam pedas on Jul 15, 2019 at 2:42 pm

This game changing project have the potential to game Proton over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • lembu jinni on Jul 15, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Yes every uk brand car is cursed to fail and broke until needs foreigners to rescue there company.
      the only exemption is Mclaren maybe there are into exclusive Motorsport and exotic cars business can survive.

• alldisc on Jul 15, 2019 at 4:01 pm

UK does have many engineering companies inlcuding those specific in mechanicals and some in electrics.

Names like cosworth and Ricardo are just to name a few.

• Mustafa Kamal on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:00 am

I cannot understand why we need UK help. 20 years Mitsubishi tried to transfer technology to us and yet, we cannot build a good selling car globally.

Look at Geely, only started in 1997 yet, they can do so well. Proton started in 1984, 13 years before Geely started and yet, we got no global presence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Oh yeah. Mitsubishi were trying to transfer the whip and chain locks technology plus the slave labouring knowhow but you see, Proton workers are too ethical and respectful of fellow human beings to comprehend what these Japs were trying to teach. Once Proton management board found out, they kicked them Japs all the way back to Nippon and disallowed them to come back for 10 years. Eventually they returned back via Tan Chong Motors, another bloodsucker of their employees. I’m glad Proton didn’t follow their culture of slavery.

• One of the reason is volume….there were 1 billion chinese..

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:03 am

No thank you, unless you have the technology for flying cars.

• Jeremy on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:07 am

Yeah right. What British owned cars does UK still have that could be of use and that rakyat can buy? Aston Martin? McLaren? Don’t make me laugh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • There many company in uk that supply electrical drive train of an ev…yes..its true that british doesnt have a mass produced car company…but they still have many company that produce car parts….

• the driver on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:15 am

Now we can see the wisdom of TDM, after all the flak. There are 2 camps, the do something and the do nothing. Or the spend money and hope it goes well camp and the don’t spend money and save for a rainy day camp. Not a supporter of any camp but, the technology is there and we should grab it. It makes perfect sense to me because we send our children to prestigious universities and spend huge amounts of money to acquire knowledge (technology) but success is never guaranteed

• KDK supplier on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:24 am

What ERV (extended-range vehicle) they’re talking about? It’s FC (flying car) meh. No need UK technology we just need KDK fans

• Tapping UK expertise in EV manufacturing.
    Tesla, BYD or Dyson UK open shops here.

• Carolyn Khaw on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:49 am

Come on la, invest on other blue ocean industries, even established carmakers are consolidating. There is no such thing as “national” car, pure bullshit. All car makers are focusing on Battery EV (BEV) and dumped Range Extender EV (REEV). Still syok sendiri. I bet MITI is behind this with such uncertainties that halted delays the National Automotive Policies that affects other players, so obvious they’re favouring Mahathirs new golden baby

• Fadzilli Rahman on Jul 15, 2019 at 11:58 am

I bet that Frazer and Nash company that milked Proton for years on their EV designs will be in again due to their cronies here. I hope gov be smart and stop them.

• How much did frazer and nash cost proton. Even lotus was bleeding money and proton had to prop them up. Poor proton buyers in this country subsidising the rich in UK.

• Susukotak on Jul 15, 2019 at 1:26 pm

everything from UK will go down

• StingerKia on Jul 15, 2019 at 1:37 pm

I hope UK also help to teach gov how to calculate their road tax system.

• Chris on Jul 15, 2019 at 3:14 pm

Tak Nak!
    Tak Payah!

Proton, Perodua is enough!

Cut this crap out!

• Ex VGM staff on Jul 15, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Yes, the European has realised that diesel has a higher emission rate than the equivalent petrol. It’s true on highway drivings, the lower rpm does translate to a better fuel consumption and co2 level but on overall score, a petrol hybrid like Prius will give better FC and lower emission especially Nox.

In 10 years time there will be no more diesel cars on sales in France and later Europe. And companies like Honda and Hyundai had started to copy Toyota’s formula of a full hybrid (series-parallel) with models like ionic and city hybrid (not mild hybrid like insight and jazz hybrid)

• john doe on Jul 15, 2019 at 8:42 pm

ya, LOTUS will come back to Malaysia market…LOL…

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:07 pm

The only thing this London Mat Salleh will “teach” us is How To Implement Congestion Charge & How To Implement Emissions Charge.

No thank you. You just concentrate on your Brexit and leave us alone.

• Maybe Sir Dyson would be open to extending his manufacturing in Malaysia, and use Malaysia as a pilot market.