Transport Ministry seeking public opinion on Gojek

The Cabinet recently agreed in principle to the implemention of motorcycle-based ride-hailing service Gojek in Malaysia, and the Transport Ministry is now seeking the public’s opinion on the matter with a survey organised by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS).

You can check out the survey via this link, where you’ll be presented with several multiple-choice questions, with a place for any suggestions at the end. According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the survey serves to determine how accepting the public will be to services like Gojek in relation to various factors.

The survey will be available from today until September 7, 2019, and the findings will be used to outline a mechanism for the implementation of motorcycle taxi services in the country.

The idea for implementing a motorbike ride-hailing service in Malaysia was first mooted following a meeting involving youth and sports minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, Gojek founder Nadiem Makarim and prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

However, not everyone is supportive of the plan, with Big Blue Taxi Services founder Shamsubahrin Ismail voicing his displeasure recently, calling it a “step backwards.” Based on the response in our comments section, there’s also a clear division of opinion on the matter. What are your thoughts on this?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Angry Voters on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:18 pm

WTH! didn’t they already approved for Gojek?! Why the heck are they now asking for our feedback AFTER they made that decision?! Are they going to Uturn on this as well if our anger & fury wasn’t the feedback they had expected?! What is this cartoon government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Take the survey first before making such comment. Comment like this clearly shows you did not even take the survey.

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Sometimes a step backwards is the way to go….

• L1988 on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:22 pm

I dont dare to ride on Mat Rempit bike… helmet sanitize every ride? Halfway rain ? I can agree on GojekCar for not letting Grab to monopoly…

• Ollie on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:25 pm

One pillar of Malaysian society is very poor understanding of personal choice. Everybody has a choice in what they want to consume, whether its a RM15 coffee or RM1.50 nescafe tarik. Same goes for bikes.

The only focus should be on livelihoods. I saw Dego advertising rides for RM2.50. Disregarding the min wage of RM1000 as its been proven to be poverty wage, a person needs to make at least RM80 a day to not live in dire straits. RM120 is the ideal minimum daily wage for 9 working hours, 5 days a week. Lets assume Dego takes 50 sen, and cost of ownership and idle time is RM1.00. So take home for the rider is RM1 per ride. He can do max 3-4 rides an hour, humanly and not death-defying stunts on the road. that’s RM36 in a 9 hour workday. NO its not enough. Are the drivers insured?

The first question i would ask Grab and the other rideshare companies is how many people have died on their platforms?

• They had made a decision. Asking now is just a formality which they won’t listen anyway. Arrogance for believing they still have the complete and blind trust of the people.

• Amran on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Gojek is terbaek for parcel and food delivery. help to send my sons lunch bekal to their school, and bring my Iphone XR to ofis when i left it at home like today. but not for fetching ppl. Just my $2 public opinion for…. happy 31/8

• Ah Chong on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:31 pm

Filling up the survey leads me to realize there’s a lot of potential, like the last mile transportation for LRT stations. Yet at the same time a lot of question, such as am I going to need to lug around a helmet?

• Done my survey. I say please only use Electric Motorcycle to avoid smoke and sound pollution

• Sorry, I prefered Rojak.

• Danny Tay on Aug 29, 2019 at 10:28 pm

in indonesia, vietnam there are no expressways unlike AKLEH, DUKE, SPRINT, PENCHALA LINK, LDP, BESRAYA, and other 12 tolls that im too tired to type in here. basically go-jekking in jakarta and hcmc is like strolling thru slow traffic; imagine doing the same riding bike on LDP highway with sudden high speed braking behind trucks, myvis and other inconsiderate drivers. the stakes are high for you and your family. and not forgetting you need to use that smelly, musty helmet each time you take the ride which has been worn by hundreds of riders before you. urghh

• ThunderCat on Aug 30, 2019 at 8:19 am

100% oppose to the implementation. You ever see a develop country have this services? if we are heading to develop country please do something point us to the direction. Instead we are pointed to the other way.

• Do you see developed countries having 5 kids almost every family?

• We cannot blindly follow developed countries. We need solutions to our current problems. not monkey see monkey do.

• Alson P on Sep 01, 2019 at 12:27 pm

There difference in developed country and advanced countries…

• kl fella on Aug 30, 2019 at 10:20 am

ok submitted my response

• sekiranya perkhidmatan teksi motosikal dilaksanakan malaysian harus lah mempunyai persediaan bahawa angka kematian jalan raya akan meningkat.

• Frozen on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:33 am

All responses will automatically end up in the desktop Recycle Bin.

• Yb sadik sigaraga on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:41 am

Please vote to disagree..it just to give business to the gojek indon which the young minister owing..totally crap ideas..not suit to be in his position.next election sure lost..

• Sick & Tired on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:31 pm

By next election, Malaysians mudah lupa. Look how they voted back our ex-dictator to continue his dictating.

• Amran on Aug 30, 2019 at 3:39 pm

In PH, your only vote that matters is during GE and ByE. Other votes, they tak kesah.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:19 pm

I understand the origin of Gojek.

however, in Malaysia this Gojek is the product of mega failed public transportation planning, design and implementation for decades. The humongous failure cost lost of productivity, time and money. Not to mention stress and hassle.

Lots of stuff going on in Malaysia are done with half-wit, half-brain, half-measure, half-baked, half-hearted, etc…

• malaysiabersihfromwhat on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:19 pm

They always want to contradict with each other. That Saddiq guy already got cabinet’s approval. What is this post-approval public opinion is for? Stop playing politics abd running in circle and hypocrisy. This is a classic example why Malaysia’s economy and prosperity is going sour.

• Ben Yap on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:31 pm

why need the public’s feedback? we already feedback that we don’t need 3rd national car but the project still went ahead. no need to ask us about gojek. you can do what you like and no need to pretend to be a listening government.

• Revise the minibus. Forget the gojet. Else, buy insurance for the passenger plus full armour. Passenger, you ride at your risk!

• They no need public opinion one, they just base on expert said, no need to drama la.

• malaysiabersihfromwhat on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:36 pm

They always want to contradict with each other. That Saddiq guy already got cabinet’s approval. What is this post-approval public opinion is for? Stop playing politics abd running in circle and hypocrisy. This is a classic example why Malaysia’s economy and prosperity is going sour.

• You people that are so against this neither own a motorcycle and are to scared-to-die to take a ride on it. So why is it bothering you, bike sharing exist or not make no difference to you. At least it can provide income for bike owners and allow people who dare sit it to get to places in a hurry..

• Alson P on Sep 01, 2019 at 12:14 pm

No need gojek lah… Better add more modern public transport such as MRT, LRT, KOMUTER and many more modern public transportation.. modern public transport can last longer than any other transport, for example MRT can last 300 or 400 years..

• Alson P on Sep 01, 2019 at 12:16 pm

Prefer modern transportation… No need gojek

• Alson P on Sep 01, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Free fare buses already good enough.. no need gojek

• Alson P on Sep 01, 2019 at 12:29 pm

Says no to gojek