Big Blue Taxi boss threatens protest over Gojek plan

During a recent press conference at Big Blue Taxi Services’ headquarters, company founder Shamsubahrin Ismail voiced his displeasure at the proposed introduction of Gojek in Malaysia, FMT reports.

Rather than bringing in a motorcycle-based ride-hailing service, Shamsubahrin preferred if the government focused on resolving the issues involving e-hailing and taxi drivers in the country, instead of supporting Gojek, a move he deemed a “step backwards.”

“Syed Saddiq is an educated minister but while other ministers are talking about flying cars and third national cars, he is asking young people to become dispatchers. Gojek as a career will not ensure a promising future, our youths deserve better than that.” Shamsubahrin’s statements come after the youth and sports minister expressed his intent to bring Gojek to Malaysia.

He also explained that the situation in Malaysia was “totally different” from Indonesia, saying that “Gojek can be done in Indonesia because their poverty rate is very high, unlike in Malaysia. Also, their culture is very different compared with ours. In Indonesia, their women can hug the rider just like that but how about Malaysia? Do we want to see our women hugging the riders here and there?”

On the matter of job creation, Shamsubahrin stated the government should not encourage youths to provide motorcycle ride-hailing services as a source of income. “Gojek, FoodPanda, GrabFood all offer part-time jobs. Youths should instead be given better job opportunities,” he said.

He also warned that taxi drivers, e-hailing drivers and bus drivers would be affected if the government approved Gojek. Shamsubahrin added that he would not hesitate to organise a protest if the government ignored the company’s standpoint. “I will lead the protest myself, we will go to Putrajaya, and if possible, we will do it in front of Syed Saddiq’s house and Loke’s house,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Lol so Loke got pulled into a fight he wasn’t even part of it. Sohais running amok as usual in my point of view. To me its everyone’s right to choose what kind of job he/she wants to do because we’re all sensible adults who can make educated decisions as to how we want to run our own life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Why Grab Has Gone Up in Prices? on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Grab and Uber was very cheap. Now prices have more than doubled.

Do you know why it has doubled? It is because of this guy and his teksi teksi gang who amok and protested and caused so much of trouble for Grab drivers.

Now Grab drivers got so much of requirement for licencing, many potential new drivers have given up their dream to drive grab.

Less drivers mean demand and supply kicks in. Prices go up.

We must thank the abang abang teksi drivers who protested and caused Grab fares to increase substantially

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
      • 4bini on Aug 21, 2019 at 8:04 pm

I don’t know why the lazy teksi drivers did not just give up their lazy habits and join Grab. Nobody was stopping them.

It is that they were so used to their privileges and had this entitlement mentality that gomen will give them bantuan anytime.

Time to give up this lazy attitude.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
        • fez ak on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:09 am

Gomen approved Gojek, its wrong move to help & sapot poor pipu. ignored us the rich..

• Victor Lee on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:08 am

Government should have courses to teach people to control their nafsu and urges. It is barbaric to get aroused on a motorbike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • Victor Lee on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:19 am

Hope the Government can run courses how to control your willy. Something like kursus perkahwinan.

All Malaysians must attend this course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • What does kursus perkahwinan have anything to do with this blogsite? Mate, your drunk. Go home already, its nearly your bedtime.

• harimau on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:27 pm

PT should cencor this game over botak guy picture, we all are so fed up seing his face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Crony on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:49 pm

https://paultan.org/2018/10/24/proposed-taxi-driver-protest-on-october-24-postponed/
        Thank you abang Muthu, abang Nathan, abang Vellu. Vanikam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Sabri Tahir on Aug 21, 2019 at 10:53 pm

This is the result of everything given free in life, now good way to make money also, just reject.

Abolish NAP and NEP and let us all work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • History Bender on Aug 22, 2019 at 11:34 am

Hahaha. Racist PH fella got so much free time. Cut his salary and we can repay all purported debts, then no no need nonsense like Gojek because everyone then can afford for RM50k flying cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Robert De Grandis on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:43 pm

This guy is a trouble maker. First and foremost, why is he not in jail? 2 years ago, he was convicted by our courts and sentenced to more than 10 years jail.

Why is he running about giving press conferences when he is not serving his sentence?

Time for the new Government to do what is proper.

Ride sharing only benefits the people. He fails to realise that only his people will benefit the most. Most of the Grab Food and Gojek riders are from the lower income

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
    • Crony on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:35 pm

This guy helped Tun return to power. Why is he not in jail? You know I know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
      • Feedlot on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Yep.bcuz his lembu2 dok kondo mewah kak Ijat

• 4bini on Aug 21, 2019 at 8:08 pm

another fake news from a frustrated keyboard warrior. We all know Jib never layan the teksi drivers. So they went crawling to Tun.

• “So they went crawling to Tun.”
          And now we suffer for bringing him back. How does that work?

• Zahrin Mahmood on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:32 am

too mush pampering have resulted in a society that is lazy and always expecting freebies.

• Robert De Grandis on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:48 pm

It is sad to see people obsessed with perverted thoughts. There is nothing wrong with a woman hugging a man riding a bike.

Time for our kuno thinking people to progress. The whole world is progressing and here we are thinking about such dirty thoughts

Sendiri otak kotor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 16
    • 4bini on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:01 pm

When all he thinks is this, this is why he has such thoughts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • pengguna proton kecewa on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:13 pm

there are religions that prohibits that. you have to learn to respect them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
    • 4bini on Aug 21, 2019 at 8:06 pm

Even animals can hold and hug each other without the need to copulate. If animals can control themselves, I don’t see why humans cannot do so

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Sabri Tahir on Aug 21, 2019 at 10:57 pm

I have to agree with botak on this, majority in Malaysia cannot see or touch women, after they syiok and cannot control their kukubird.

This problem especially up north in Semenanjung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • doctor zakir turun on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:03 am

we should concern brother because MAlaysia is Islamic country…lead by example…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Victor Lee on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:10 am

People need training how to deal with the opposite sex.

If I am riding a bike and a girl holds he from behind, I am focused in my job. I cannot get aroused at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Victor Lee on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:17 am

Let us show the world by example that we are mature and can control ourselves when we talk to women and when we interact with them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • NoBrainer on Aug 22, 2019 at 11:02 am

And Indonesia is not an Islamic country? I cannot brain your statement.

• Malaysian mentality on Aug 22, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Malaysian always see a problem as a blocking point instead of finding a solution. Can women ride with men and does not involve touching? Yes…sit with both feet at one side…its done in Indonesia. Whats the different between riding sideway with a gap and riding in a taxi or grab alone? No touching involve. Die2 want to seat as usual, invent a Go-Jeck seperator to add a layer of anti-arousing material between the rider and passenger.

If die2 dont want to naik then the app can be program in a way to allow certain criteria to be met before a ride can be book. Yes people can lie…take action with the law lah.

Malaysian…always talk kock on the problem until the cows comes home and go out again.

• Victor Lee on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:07 am

I don’t know why we humans cannot control our urges. Learn to control your urges, otherwise, don’t call yourself human

• Robert De Grandis on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:50 pm

Actually Syed Saddiq proposal is very good. This is because there are too many Mat Rempits around causing trouble. By giving them jobs as Go Jek riders, at least they will stay out of trouble.

Too many of them in Bandar. Come from the Kampungs into Bandar and cannot get job, they rempit and do nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
    • linsong88 on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:25 pm

bro.. i dont think u dare to ride on a mat rempit gojek….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • 4bini on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:06 pm

There are many UiTM, Mara and UIA grads who are jobless. This will give them a good opportunity to earn an income meanwhile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Commenter on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:01 pm

There are already grabfood bike with income more than grabcar already. No need go-jek bike anymore. Their income already good enough. Gov need to educate people to drive carefully don’t simply bang motorcycle when switching lane without signal & without looking side mirrors , make the road safer then ask single driver to ride bike instead don’t be pondan. Less traffic, less cost to driver.

• So keen to protest just be a protest boss and resign from current role please!

• msia driver on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:56 pm

more competitor is benefit for the passages for avoid high charges fair.

In before I took a grab car and cost rm30, that driver said the price is dirty cheap, he mentioned he earn rm20k per month just drive grab before

WTF are they really know average other ppl’s earning per day in Malaysia ?

I asked him back how much you want RM60…100 ?? were you know u just a driver, and no qualification at all

office job salary for a manager was average RM8-9k and he was dreaming want to be rm20k just for driving, really sick mind for them.

like that send yr children to school for what, just get a driving licence is enough.

• Crony on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Tun crony is displeased that his baby minister is getting greedy.

• basic concept on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Even at secondary school i did learn, list out positive and negative. I bet you, it will be a lot of negative impact compare to positives….basic dude!!!think first before you talk..that’s shows how educated you are….that’s why it’s not easy to find a young leaders…you are too eager to speak

• StingerKia on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:11 pm

This guy feel threaten because he know his big blue taxi services are bad and cannot compete with other company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Shamsubahrin got a good point there where the government shouldn’t be asking young people to become dispatchers. Looking at his point of view, the government should ban Big Blue Taxi too as it is asking the young people to become a taxi driver. We’re talking about flying cars and government should encourage the young people to be innovative rather than ended up being a taxi driver for Big Blue Taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Botak is cool on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Abg botak nk protest?
    Jgn lupa amek permit perhimpunan pastu panggil reporter banyak2 dan sediakan refreshment ye. Takut xde org nak layan plak nanti atau kene tangkap sbb buat perhimpunan haram.

Abg Botak igt semua org ditakdirkan kaya ke? Ni salah satu usaha kerajaan utk tambah income rakyat. Nk income lebih, kerja lebih. Nk sewa teksi abg botak lg lh tak mampu sbb smpai RM800 sebulan…bila Grab msuk boleh pulak abg botak turunkan sewa….botak…botak…
    Cmner kerajaan nk tarik investor yg secara tak lansung menyediakan peluang pekerjaan kalo golongan seumpama Abg Botak sentiasa menhuru-harakan keadaan dan sentiasa nak main monopoli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Alan Holden on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:17 pm

“taxi drivers, e-hailing drivers and bus drivers would be affected if the government approved Gojek”
    He’s not really thought this through has he?
    * If I’m coming home from Tesco shopping, I’m not going to use Gojek
    * If I’m going out with 1, 2 or 3 friends, I’m not going to use Gojek
    * If it’s pouring down with rain, I’m not going to use Gojek
    However, if the coast road at Batu Ferringhi is jammed with cars, I might consider Gojek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • newme on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:18 pm

I support this guy on this part. Any that have been to Jakarta will know how bad the traffic is and this bike hailing is one of the main contributor.

What’s next? Tutu and beca?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Mr. Octopus on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Its not a career you dimwit.. Its an added optional revenue stream for the hard working people of this country!

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:19 pm

This Botak again. Uber, protest. Grab, protest. Now protest again.

Let consumer choose lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • this guy is greedy (and baldy). i think gojek is a good alternative to car-hailing. cheaper and can slip thru traffic. good for short distances.

also, i don’t think there’d be many women willing to hug the sweaty rider, a complete stranger, even if the rider is also female. they can just hold on to the saddle or grab handles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Ajibkor on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Quietly botak sign up to be Go Jerk rider…got amoi hug him WOR…he syiok syiok syiok

• isengard12 on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:50 pm

I for once agree to some of his opinion piece on GoJeck. The situation for GoJek to succeed is really different compared to Indonesia vs Malaysia.

Just look at how GrabFood & FoodPanda mcyclist rides on the street nowadays. They run red lights and zipping in and out faster than you can blink are some examples.

• thepolygon on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:52 pm

One day when we got teleporters like Star Trek.. ini semua jadi irrelevant.. one day… one day… eh? Maaf baru bangun dari tidur.

• Steve on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:52 pm

So, I have seen ladies on Go-jek in Jakarta. They don’t hug the rider as often as you think. Most of them sit side ways, one hand on the rail and another on the top box or the rear handle. So girls with skirts is not an issue either.

Trouble with Malaysia is that our roads are less congested with motorcycles, so it may not be safe to implement. In Jakarta, motorcycles are moving way slower compared to our highways.

Need a good framework for it to work here safely.

• sardin on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:04 pm

alamak gambar dia ni lagi…! now i cannot un-see what i’ve seen. demmit paultan.org! hahaa…tonight i sure nightmare horror dream already.

• Jaguh on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:05 pm

Instead of thinking on how to improve themselves, they wasted their time and energy.

• AllergicToIdiots on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:21 pm

“Gojek, FoodPanda, GrabFood all offer part-time jobs. Youths should instead be given better job opportunities,”

This sentence really shows the welfare mindset that he has. These jobs are too low for our youth? Hire Bangladeshi to become your taxi driver then. Next time this is tanah Bangladeshi not tanah Melayu.

• Pyraxle on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:23 pm

Diam la botak!!!! You do not deserve to talk at all

• Peter on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:26 pm

M’sia is diff from Indon, their culture is very different compared with ours.
    Here you don’t want to see your wives hugging other people (but husbands are allowed to hug other ladies). This is our culture … hear that?

• Habiby Is on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Let see who govt will blame when death accident happen to this Go-Jek… Oh, OK. We forgot to do the research for this. This is Syed Saddiq fault… Hahahaha…

• Kalimaca on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:24 pm

Shit, more motorsikal, more smoke, more noise, more accidents, more lane splitters, more pollution. GG KL

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:39 pm

This botak guy thinks the whole world owes him. Nothing but complaints from him….Surprisingly, there are lots of followers for him.

• KingBob on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:53 pm

I wonder why in press conferences like this, no one is there to point out the stupid stuff he said.

• panjang on Aug 22, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Coz he had to beg people to come and prepare nice food. Still reporter dont bother and end up with one reporter and few press company interns forced to attend where if they dont, point will be deducted from their internship grade.

• haha…

how many protest these idiots said but no show?

• HABIBY on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:41 am

Honestly, first at all govt must settle the high toll of motorist accidents rather than this GO-JEK proposal. And also the infra for motorist in federal highway and other highways. Then during that period, study this proposal. Don’t just creating new problem whereby existing problems not been solved.

• Robert K.P. Waran on Aug 22, 2019 at 10:17 am

No other picture of the fella kah? Hahaha.

• For Malaysia we do Gojek Ladies for Ladies and Gojek Guys for Guys. Easy. Settle.
    We need more jobs for youths.
    Youths can vote now, And youths should be given the opportunity to choose what they think best for themselves full time or part time.
    Gomen give all these youths free deposit houses also no use if they can’t have many jobs to choose from.
    Why protect this sunset blood sucking business that offers inferior services in the expense of the whole country people?
    Gojek , Grab, Foodpanda etc are basically a personal business that have reasonably good return. Why rich cronies thinks every youth should sit in office and pretend to be well off?

• Hey Kojak, nanti jadi Gojek baru tau.

• taxi tawkey that why die hard

• Just like Nokia and Android, Kodak and DSLR. They just disappeared, gone, but this time ‘they’ go faster.