Malaysia Gojek push by minister Syed Saddiq?

Malaysian minister of Youth and Sport, Syed Saddiq, has come out on Twitter saying he wants a motorcycle taxi service like Gojek to be implemented. As reported by Bernama, Saddiq sought the views from the nation’s youth on his Twitter account as to whether such a service should be made available in Malaysia.

This is with the intention of enabling young Malaysians to participate in small business models such as a motorcycle taxi service. “Malaysian youth, I need your voice to help the mat motor, are you agreeable with the gojek (sic) economy?” twitted Saddiq.

Citing Thailand and Indonesia as examples, Saddiq said thousands of job opportunities were created with Gojek in less than a year. Netizens weighing in on Saddiq’s Tweet were in favour of the proposal, with 90% agreeing to the launching of such a ride service.

However, both the previous transport minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai and the current minister, Anthony Loke, have not endorsed such a service. Liow said a motorcycle taxi service would come with a higher risk of accidents while Loke stated there are no plans to implement such a transport service.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Damon Lee on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Motor have highest accident rate in MY and this minister want to bring it here. Bet ya it won’t be him taking a Go Jek ride ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Daniel Kang on Aug 20, 2019 at 10:50 am

Go Jek ride baguih if within KL city limits, congested slow traffic. Its ok from KLCC to KL Sentral or DBKL to Sogo. not KL to Putrajaya or KLIA.

• #caripasal on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:38 pm

Ride at ur own risk. Either u hit the back of a car or u getting hit by a car. Btw pls prepare how to handle another mass protest by taxi drivers.

• I care about the safety of our people. on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:42 pm

You can still provide the same small business opportunities for parcel / food and errands runner instead of a higher risk of accidents to the public.

• eugene on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:42 pm

i personally think this is good for many people, its fast convenient, cheap, and creates job opportunity to the poor. datuk seri liow once said this is not suitable for malaysia as this look cheap, and paria, not suitable for malaysia. if u travel often u knowing that malaysia economy is way behind vietnam, thai, indon, so theres no point for looking atas while economy is bad, weak ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Aura89 on Aug 20, 2019 at 2:12 pm

No amount of money saved by going bawah is worth risking lives. Maybe your life is not as precious but many don’t share the same believe.

• skodamalaysia on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Yes to Harley Davidson go-jek

• Norlia on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:53 pm

I preferred clean aircond smell good car, money is no isu. Dusty sweaty armpit moto ride not glam,

• newme on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:56 pm

if i got outrider pushing away road users to give way to me, i would have no problem pushing go-jek too. Koran semua dah kena-jek.

• I hope the minister knows what he is talking about. Putting Malaysia backwards. There are other means to bring the economy to mat motor. Once this idea materialised how we going to control it. More death on the road? Look at how Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia and Indonesia. The road full of motorcycles and they just too much until the road and the city polluted with their sounds and honking and etc. It is not a practical way to create an economy for mat motor or mat rempit and also it is not the best way to portray Malaysia being one of the best in SEA.

• Robert De Grandis on Aug 19, 2019 at 6:38 pm

Actually his proposal is very good. This is because there are too many Mat Rempits around causing trouble. By giving them jobs as Go Jek riders, at least they will stay out of trouble.

Too many of them in Bandar. Come from the Kampungs into Bandar and cannot get job, they rempit and do nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • newme on Aug 20, 2019 at 11:26 am

Yeah, before this mat rempit endangering themselves and other road users. With this, mat rempit endangering themselves, road users and their passenger too.

• BOYRACER on Aug 19, 2019 at 7:11 pm

I think it’s a good idea.Simply because it will create more jobs for the rakyat but whether there are people who wants to ride gojek..If there are then by all means go ahead with the idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • https://paultan.org/2017/01/16/kuala-lumpur-to-ban-kapchais-from-entering-city/

How much would u pay to use Go-jek? 50% of Grab Taxi?
    Instead of RM20 Grab ride, u pay RM10 for GoJek?
    Go Jek rider will hardly earn anything for thier living.

Customer who willing to use GoJek most likely able to afford thier own motorcycle too.

• Saya Sokong on Aug 20, 2019 at 6:35 pm

FYI, an average 5 to 6 km ride on go-jek in Jakarta will cost you 9,000 rupiah, that’s equivalent to RM 2.70

In contrast with a 5 km ride on Grab Car in Malaysia, it will set you back around RM 7.00

Generally, ppl take go-jek to beat the traffic congestion, not to say he or she cant afford a RM 7 ride. FYI, I can confidently say that in Jakarta, more than 80% of the go-jek penumpangs are in fact females, while almost 100% go-jeks are male. however, “undesired incidents” are very very rare because the ojeks value their job and income more than anything else.

I feel Go-jek will be very successful especially in KL city, penang island and JB City. Actually, dego ride was already successful in the city last time but previous Menteri “mata merah” and banned it due to reasons only God knew. That Menteri klentong said “dangerous” and “low standard” for Malaysia.

Welcome to Bolehland Go-jek and Dego Ride Reborned!

• Saladin on Aug 19, 2019 at 8:54 pm

Little boy who dont know what he should do and dont. Embarassing.

• Ria Arman on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:09 pm

Wonder if he’s getting side cash for this. He could have suggested grab to create motor sharing option for mesia instead

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:18 pm

Again, these riders shall be subjected go the same law as Grab drivers by going through the system like permits and insurance coverage for their passenger as the risk of an accident is a lot higher when riding one of these 2 wheelers. Other than that I don’t see any issues with implementing it.

• What a good idea BUT insurance companies will not offer the appropriate insurance for such a business. My suggestion is to get a 3 wheeler electric scooter that is already in production. Malaysia has the battery technology for this vehicle. The innovation requires depleted batteries to be interchangeable at various locations in the city say for up to 7 miles as an initial trial. Seating up to 4 passengers and ability to carry baggage at the rear. Already, made in Holland and in India – hence can be purchased. The real benefit these tuk tuk e scooter taxis involved short journeys where taxis and others are not cost effective because of the costing business model. Yeap, any persons with the will to invest and take a risk. Pls contact me. Thanks

• Gojeeck on Aug 20, 2019 at 12:00 am

Malaysia is kinda funny when it comes to implementation….its not ok for someone whom paid another person for a ride to get into an accident but its ok for someone to involve in am accident sending food for another person.

Come on…time to grow up. Lets face the fact that u guys (gomen) is either too comfortable up there or dont bother to do anything significant in improving the people from lower income bracket. Rich is getting richer, middle income earner just dont care abt the rest, poor is getting poorer. This is one way to assist the people without forking out the people’s money.

• the driver on Aug 20, 2019 at 7:50 am

Despite the risks, this is the only solution for rapid/immediate intra city mobility for the near future. No amount of planning can alleviate city congestion – it will only get worse and much hotter. And much more expensive from point A to point B if not using slow and scheduled buses.
    Additionally, the reduction of city pollution is dramatically reduced ie try moving 10 persons in a city using motorcycles as against using 10 cars or a lumbering bus(es)

• kilaram on Aug 20, 2019 at 8:07 am

uh oh, umno 2.0 version incoming. make current Grab food riders obey red light traffic laws first. make current motocycle riders not weave in and out of lanes, all traffic laws 101. ni sibuk nak buat bisnes, youth menteri….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • panjang on Aug 20, 2019 at 10:47 am

This goes both ways….car drivers and bike riders. Both bikes and cars jumped red light. Its the mentallity of peson at the steering or handle.

Weaving in and out?
      Thats what some drivers do too when there is slower car in the right lane and there is space on the slower lane. If the bike is faster, why cant car drivers give way?

At least the condition is slowly improving in my place with enforcement being upped. Then i encounter car driver and bigger bike rider.making space for me when i am filtering (thank you).

We just need to ‘work together’ on the road.

• lilytan on Aug 20, 2019 at 9:58 am

We used to have the locally born Dego ride that could have been as successful as indons Go-Jek if not for our shortsighted ministers. Now u wanna bring in Go-Jek? This kind of flip flop is why Msian business is going down hill now. Btw, this not ur portfolio. Finish ur work already is it?

• Poor dego gonna be hijack by gojack n endorsed by serial jacker

• Anonymous on Aug 20, 2019 at 10:11 am

THIS IS HYPOCRACY…! A local company had invested and started this service before and was SHUT DOWN by Transport Ministry under PH Govt…!!! Now they want to give opportunity to foreign company to do the exact same service..?? PH Govt is full of BULLSHIT…!

Albeit this SyedSedut idiot goes off giving support to this idea WITHOUT refering to Transport Ministry nor JPJ nor MIROS for that matter. Always speaking out withou research and due diligence… a U-Turn usually follows soon after this.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 20, 2019 at 10:29 am

How if the GoJek rider play “bumper ride” with female pillion rider??

Anyway, the crazy weather in Mesia is another hurdle for this GoJek, not to mention the high risk of traffic accident….

• Apa Ini on Aug 20, 2019 at 10:52 am

After we talked so so much abt becoming a developed nation, our leader is encouraging our future hope to go for this type of profession…. Seriously… Its the government duty to guide the nation toward sustainable high income professions, especially for our Youth. Of course its not easy, that why v need these YB Ministerssss, whom always act as they are Smart. Please focus and do things that are really good for the country future. I mean, what is the future prospect of a rider like this? How much can the rider earn ?? Where is our Malaysia heading to ?? High income nation.

• hondaman on Aug 20, 2019 at 10:56 am

if you want to let gojek operate in Malaysia, then legalize Dego ride.

• alyy8128 on Aug 20, 2019 at 11:07 am

haha…. job opportunity for mat-rempit.

so, they will less races and focus on business.

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 20, 2019 at 1:00 pm

Many here do not realise that a large number of so called ‘mat rempits’ are having a better life than them. Riding bikes doesn’t mean you’re poor. Yes there are many accidents but that is simply because there are so many motorcycles on the roads.

Don’t forget, most accidents involving motorcycles and cars are often caused by the drivers of the cars.

I support this idea of motorcycle taxis but strict enrolment requirements must be set in place to ensure public safety.

• Imran on Aug 21, 2019 at 12:05 pm

Job opportunity for riders. More money and profit for tauke motosikal. Win win situation

• Farid on Aug 25, 2019 at 9:08 am

Minister shd consider to revive local Dego bike-app first, then only to allow Go-Jek to come in.