Shell Malaysia engages local enforcement agencies to combat the sale of counterfeit lubricants in the country

Using counterfeit lubricants in your car can be highly detrimental to its longevity, which is why Shell Malaysia is working closely with local enforcement agencies to combat the sale of lubricants that are being passed off as genuine Shell products. By doing so, the company is aiming to protect unsuspecting customers and workshops from counterfeits, as well as its brand integrity.

In 2018, Shell Malaysia conducted laboratory tests on a random sample of products sold online and in hypermarkets that were claimed to be genuine Shell products. Based on their testing, the results revealed that four out of 12 bottles sold were counterfeits.

Recently, the company conducted a special training workshop for nearly 100 officers from the Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs (KPDNDHEP) and Royal Malaysian Customs with the aim to providing them the knowledge to differentiate genuine Shell lubricants from counterfeit products when conducting raids.

“We would like to commend the authorities for their efforts in combating counterfeit lubricant production and distribution activities that affect major brands including Shell. As the brand owner, we are deeply concerned with the number of consumers who might have inadvertently purchased fake lubricants through unauthorised channels,” said May Tan, Shell Lubricants Marketing general manager.

“That is why we always advise consumers to only buy official genuine Shell lubricants with ‘Untuk Pasaran Malaysia’ labels complete with QR codes that can be authenticated via the SHARE website and from authorised outlets to avoid potential irreversible damage to their vehicles,” she added.

Should you believe you have unintentionally purchased counterfeit Shell lubricants, you can contact Shell Customer Service at 1300-88-1808 or via email.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dun they have tamper proof and ori hologram stickers? Why still got problems?

• sohai on Sep 13, 2019 at 11:19 am

If you aren’t so greedy and sell your lubricants at lower prices, then this wouldn’t happen. I service my car in the OEM service centre using OEM engine oil and it cost only RM135 for the fully synthetic grade compared to your RM229 for 4L of fully synthetic grade

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 13, 2019 at 3:08 pm

First price is from shell.

Second, the importer will mark up.

Third is distributor. They also want profit.

Fourth.. is the dealer la..

That’s why everything in Malaysia so expensive. So many ppl eat in the middle.

• potato on Sep 14, 2019 at 4:11 pm

even if Shell sells their oil at rm135, counterfeit will sell them for rm80, then you complain again.

• willie on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:56 pm

If those that bring in the so-called original oil from Hong Kong and YET can sell cheaper here and SEAL, the price difference is huge between local and overseas,unless Shell claim these are counterfeit ? go Lazada/Shopee, plenty selling, so far use a few tong, so far good. even if at Shell station, if the profit are so lucrative, am sure some shell station will be contemplating to see these that brought in from overseas(as per shell is likely counterfeit?) which need ot be check at random or maybe with some local sticker to identified its a local Shell Malaysia.

• potato on Sep 14, 2019 at 4:11 pm

better buy from giant or tesco when got sale. lazada/shopee, you never know if it’s original because those places full of fake products.

• Tracks on Sep 13, 2019 at 1:33 pm

“In 2018, Shell Malaysia conducted laboratory tests on a random sample of products sold online and in hypermarkets that were claimed to be genuine oil. Based on their testing, the results revealed that four out of 12 bottles sold were counterfeits.”
    What was not mentioned is whether the oil sold at supermarkets were genuine or not. But clearly it is genuine as not action had been taken against the hypermarkets.
    The question that Shell Malaysia can’t answer was why genuine Shell Oil imported from Europe and in 5liters packed can be sold at a much cheaper price.

• dong gor on Sep 13, 2019 at 1:34 pm

Go for less popular brand of lube to reduce your risk.
    Any good brand is better than counterfeit product.

• alldisc on Sep 13, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Why Mazda dealers not using Shell oil from Malaysia? The packed bottles and box packaging says it’s Shell Hong Kong. Somebody care to share why?

• potato on Sep 14, 2019 at 4:13 pm

coz it’s cheaper especially when buying bulk.

at least they don’t do cheap shots like relabel shell oil as Mazda and sell for 200% price.

• toyotafan on Sep 13, 2019 at 7:53 pm

Everything in M’sia is higher prices.

Made in M’sia and sold in foreign countries for way less than the RRP in M’sia. What is wrong with these companies?

Moreover,

Mobil 1 fully syn. 1 quart worldwide RRP is USD9.99 per bottle. That is a given. And its cheaper is you buy 4 in a box!

Explain my Mobil 1 fully syn. in M’sia is RM250++ for 4 litres.

Even LEGOs in M’sia costs 25% more than in Australia for the same models, when the LEGOs are all made and imported from CHINA.

• IGP mom on Sep 14, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Ahaha, what a joke. 2 years ago, I contacted Shell to ask about the Shell Helix sold at Giant, and they were not bothered to answer me. Just said Shell Malaysia not responsible for any oil sold apart from Shell Station. Today, now that all these oils are rampantly sold everywhere and threaten Shell Malaysia income, now you start talking.

• Ben Yap on Sep 15, 2019 at 1:11 am

If Giant and Tesco sells fake lubricants, they will be caught long time ago. since they are still selling openly and no action has been taken, it is most likely original lubricant from Shell. You can get a bottle of 4L for fully syn as low as RM99. why bother to pay RM238 at petrol stations?

• BigDaddy on Sep 19, 2019 at 8:54 pm

Joker.
    Next they would say European oil is bad in tropical weather and will damage your engine in the long run!