2019 Mazda CX-5 estimated pricing revealed – from RM135k; top-spec 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD from RM177k

It has been a few days since full specifications of the new 2019 Mazda CX-5 were revealed, and we now have estimated pricing for the updated SUV. Buyers will get to choose from five locally-assembled (CKD) variants – 2.0 GL 2WD, 2.0 GLS 2WD, 2.5 GLS 2WD, 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD and 2.2D GLS 2WD – all of which are detailed here.

Before proceeding further, it’s important to list out the available exterior body finishes, as they do have an impact on pricing. There will be eight offerings here – Arctic White, Jet Black, Meteor Grey, Sonic Silver, Deep Crystal Blue, Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey and Snowflake White Pearl – with the last three deemed as premium metallic colours.

The line-up starts with the 2.0 GL 2WD, which is expected to retail at RM134,721 if the Arctic White solid body colour is chosen, or RM138,500.20 for the other colours, with the exception of the premium options, which costs an additional RM3,000 (applicable for all variants). Included in the pricing is a five-year/100,000 km factory warranty and free maintenance package.

Next up, the 2.0 GLS 2WD goes for RM154,753.20, while the 2.5 GLS 2WD is priced at RM166,470.40. Meanwhile, the sole diesel option, which is the 2.2D 2WD GLS, is set at RM170,294.80. The range-topper in the new CX-5 line-up is the 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD, which has an estimated price tag of RM176,899.40.

A range of optional accessories is also offered here, including Skytint safety tint film for RM1,900, illuminated sill plates for RM310, navigation function for RM1,270, and leather seats (applicable for the base variant only) for RM2,900.

The closest competitor to the CX-5 is undoubtedly the Honda CR-V, which comes in four variants (the limited-edition Mugen version notwithstanding), priced from RM138,308 to RM163,191. There’s also the venerable Proton X70 that starts from RM99,800 and peaks at RM123,800. If you were in the market for a C-segment SUV, which of the three would you pick? Or is there something else on your mind?

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda CX-5 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• MeToo on Sep 18, 2019 at 10:33 am

2.5L Turbo model is only RM176k, thats 10k more then the top spec CRV, I would say its a very good buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 56
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:21 pm

RM10k more for a 2.5T engine that generates almost the same amount of power from a Toyota 2.0T engine? Must well go for a CRV and save that RM13k plus RM739.20 on yearly road tax.

• Jibano on Sep 18, 2019 at 1:53 pm

RM176k. rather buy RM123k premium X70 + RM54k Persona… mazda 2.5 roadtax mahal wey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • 2nd Thought on Sep 18, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Only if you see the extra power and 4WD is worth the money. For the most, the CRV wins in term of space and look and has enough power plus lower road tax to seal the deal. The extra 10k just doesnt worth the money when the MRCC was ignored while even the CRV has it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Mazda and Bros on Sep 18, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Last time bash game changing Honda, then bash Toyota, Perodua, Nissan, Hyundai and today bash Mazda… Next year then bash every carmakers except Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Dilbert on Sep 18, 2019 at 10:47 pm

Honda- lousy quality, Toyota- unsafe airbags, Nissan- outdated specs, Hyundai- overpriced, Perodua- all the above. why bash Proton when their cars are superior in all aspects above?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • If Proton made in Malaysia I will buy but made in China a big fat NO!

• 1. AEB:
    CX-5 full spec – Smart City Brake Support [Forward] Perform like Myvi ASA 1.0 Autonomous E. Brake
    The system works at speeds of approximately 4 – 30 km/h.

Cannot even match Malaysian’s Car Perodua ASA 2.0 which perform up to 80km/h.

2. Adaptive Cruise Control – even Full spec CX-5 dont have.
    How to match Chinese based Proton X70 (30-150km/h) and Jepunis based Toyota Corrolla 2019 (0-180km/h) with Stop & Go.

Full spec still missing 2 major features.
    AEB only up to 30km/h.

Malaysia car tax too high or Mazda is greedy?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 23
    • haha…
      nobody stop you from buying. BMF yeo….

• Lolzzz on Sep 18, 2019 at 2:03 pm

That’s where you’re wrong. It is upgraded to a bigger range of up to 80kmh also.

Adaptive cruise? Lol .. like you even need it. The way our roads are with the Haze , jam and all, how fast can you drive? Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • hayenadeblue on Sep 18, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Agree with u. Do we get the SBS?
      “Using a millimeter-wave radar Smart Brake Support (SBS) is capable of detecting vehicles and obstacles as far as 200 m ahead. When a risk of collision is detected, the system slows the car via a two-stage brake operation.

SBS aims to help the driver avoid or reduce the severity of collisions, particularly when driving at mid- to high speeds (between 15 km/h and 145 km/h), by automatically applying the brake if there is a danger of collision.”

Berangan lah kito Malaysian! Mazda CX-5 is soo under-specced.

• Only lousy drivers need AEB n ACC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • I think u r under P1 and P2 category buyer, don’t malukan sendiri…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • SkyTint is optional now? Not forced? Good.

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:03 am

Mazda service is bad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 67
  • I will choose this rather than 2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High Spec!
    Mazda 3 is damn expensive if compare to this 2.5 Turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Loppy on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:19 am

Wow with that start rm134k base spec…habislah x70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • At that prices? X70 has nothing to worry about.

• Siam kap on Sep 18, 2019 at 6:45 pm

Habislah X70! Now more people will flock to it, looking at the shocking sky high prices of CX-5. The wait will be even longer for many buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • panjang on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:30 am

Smart people will go for X70 as its cheaper.

Educated people will go for CRV as they have been ‘educated’ abt the prowess of japs car.

Smart, educated, and intelligent people will go for diesel variant of CX5.

Petrol engine mated to an SUV is a no-no. Unless that SUV in question is the AMG G-wagon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • pendek on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:02 pm

actually the bargain of the year was the outgoing CX-5 2.2L Diesel selling at just 155k after discounts as SAs wanted to clear stock before these new batches come in.

15k cheaper than this facelift, with little to miss out on

• No x70 for me. Don’t trust the reliability of chinese cars until proven in hot climate market for a few years. The Japanese cars have gone through the trials and tribulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • yawnz on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:37 pm

Japanese cars now facing many quality tribulations, and the final trial is whether you will survive the airbag or not. X70 is still miles better.

• Tun F on Sep 18, 2019 at 1:18 pm

Crv?? Dude.. Go to crv G5 club site and you will read lots of complaints about crv…

• Top specs close to RM180K without Mazda Radar Cruise Control? Next please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Hahaha. You can’t even appreciate normal cruise control, and now you asking for radar cruise control.

Master the matchstick before you even try mastering the flamethrower please.

• Not affordable cakap je, excuses banyak…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:17 pm

With that kind of price no wonder Mazda isn’t making money globally.

• Uncle Lat on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:47 pm

Bagus Lagi kalau Angkat 2.4 Turbo Diesel Toyota Fortuner. Dmax 2.5 Turbo Diesel pun murah. Not rugged enough. No MRCC. AEB sebagus Perodua ASA 1.0 2017 saja pun.

Ini Front Mcpherson Rear multilink macam old school bmw3.

Fortuner lagi bagus. Front double wishbone. Rear multilink. Sama BMW 330iM, Everest baru. C segment kecil ni.. belum puas.

• zamri on Sep 18, 2019 at 1:27 pm

crv is the cabin king, if passenger complain tight space, driver will not enjoy the drive

• Mazda is late in turbocharged, and 2.5 turbo doesn’t really make sense in local market..
    it was designed for American consumption where people there are crazy about capacity and horsepower..

• MR CC on Sep 18, 2019 at 2:47 pm

I still think Mazda could have added the MRCC Adaptive Cruise Control and full AEB for the highest variant if it cost maybe another RM5-10k more. If customer can pay RM177k, what is up to RM10k more..

• WongTack on Sep 18, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Bermaz’s CEO think that there is no internet in Malaysia; Malaysian doesn’t aware that their CX-5 is so under-specced. Malaysian is soo ignorant abt the active safety features in cars, thats what Bermaz CEO think.

• The 2.5 Turbo’s ABS pump is Stop & Go (MRCC) ready. We only miss the radar module that cost around RM4k. RM177k + RM4k = RM181k. I don’t mind!! Just take my money!

• MRCC should be an option here instead of all those unnecessary optional accessories. All those optional accessories by Mazda is not cheap too.Why can’t Mazda include MRCC? Bad decision by Mazda Malaysia

• Cabin materials and design in CX-5 still pales in comparison to Mazda 3. It still feels like 1 generation behind even though this generation of CX-5 is only 2 years old.

• mengembek on Sep 18, 2019 at 8:10 pm

Good buy for suv cost rm180k. Turbo 230hp 420nm AWD, GVC+ ( Torque vectoring), nice design. Also can tapau crv, x70, xv, forestor, glc, q5, harrier, nx, rx, x3 everyday anytime anywhere.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Sep 18, 2019 at 8:52 pm

I’ll go for Mitsubishi Outlander. Cheaper, got extra seats, 4WD & reliable. Hot at the back rows due to no rear aircond vents? That’s a myth. Kids kept complaining it was too cold. Actually it has rear blower under the driver & front passenger seat, but seldom use it.

• Power is not the only thing when we buy a car.

• None in your list. I will pick the new subaru forester

• Top spec CRV, Top Spec X70 are all in 2wd. This top spec X5 is AWD, this makes it special. Now only choice better is BMXx3, or Volvo XC40, but these cars are from 90 k to 120 k more expensive.

• If Proton made in Malaysia I will buy but made in China a big fat NO!