The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) showed that 51,148 vehicles were sold in August, a gain of 295 units or 0.58% from the 50,853 units sold in July. The July figure is a 19.5% gain from June, which was an upturn from the 30% drop in sales recorded in comparison to May.
August saw an equal split of gains and drops among the top 10, of which the top three Perodua, Proton and Honda made gains over July by 0.7%, 6.3% and 0.6% respectively. Toyota and Nissan rounded up the top five with 5,415 units and 1,707 units sold in August respectively, though these represented drops of 4.3% and 14.8%.
The race for second place in year-to-date sales saw the margin between Proton and Honda grow slightly to 1,864 units, the gap widening slightly from 314 units in the previous interval. Meanwhile, the biggest gainers for August are Mitsubishi (+19.6%), Volkswagen (+50.3%), Hyundai (+43.2%) and Renault with the biggest leap (+229.4%), this upturn following the French brand’s 86.4% decline previously.
Kia hasn’t fared so well for August, charting a 23.1% drop compared to the 13.9% decline in the preceding month. The premium segment sees an overall downward trend from Mercedes (-1.5%), BMW (-23.7%) and Porsche (-42.9%) following the overall gains seen in July, though Lexus (+55.4%) and Volvo (+8.9%) bucked the trend with gains in August.
Click on the table below for a larger version.
First congrats to Perodua strengthen their position in the market, and well done to Proton (Finally see some hope).
I’m doubt Toyota will do well with their new Altis price tag. They must have think Malaysian are so rich.
As usually p2 always and will always be the leader. And always 10k units ahead of lousy p1.
OMG, all brand are much more lousy than P1 then. We must call for press conference to announce this..Maybe get United Nation involvement.
Don’t mind the troll. He is just consoling himself. Proton every month sales increasing more and more while Perodua remain stagnant, no wonder he is starting to sweat.
True true. Protong nextime be more like kereta potong. Number dont lie yep yep. If protong can overtake p2 sales, i will buy all proton models, but too bad it will nvr happen. Muahahaha! Waiting geely cabut then protong potong kedai tutup kedai.
As usually tikus always and will always be the most. And always 10k nos ahead of mighty kucing.
alamakkkk….takut la..p1 is picking up…
but P2 sales still increasing….
omaigoddddd….
sept sales declining despite 20,000 bookings(fishy statement)
The biggest fishy thing is when Axia 2019 can suddenly be fitted with ESC even though P2 CEO vehemently confirmed Axia and Alza platforms cannot be fitted with it. If doing some modifications can fit the ESC, why not done earlier for the safety of Axia owners?
that’s not fishy, dun speak if u dunno the truth…axia and bezza is same platform.esc/vsc definitely feasible.when ceo perodua come out with that statement? can u quote?only alza old platform maybe will phaseout soon.
If u dunno diff between booking and sales, better go back to skool.
Proton is up. This will be the year Proton sales will beat Honda sales.
Kasihan Honda owners always thinking Honda got good RV ( not really) and will beat proton forever ( already losing sales) and good quality( quality like shit nowadays) and reliable ( most cars are reliable if given proper service).
Honda can only beat Toyota but not Proton. The proof is on the pudding now.
Honda fans only Syiok Sendiri Sahaja..
The most fishy statement is your brain cannot figure out time frame for automotive production. No wonder you keep dreaming. Pity you.
61K! Proton 9-month sales oredy higher than full 2018!! Keepidap hidup Proton Baru !!!
Proton 9-months sales cumulative is 70k laa, bro.
My last month post:- predict Malaysia vehicle sales data for August 2019 by brand.
1. Perodua @ Mumm-Ra – 19500 units (actual: 20070)
2. Proton @ Thundercats – 9127 units
3. Honda – 7500 units (actual: 7577)
4. Toyota – 5500 units (actual: 5415)
5. Nissan – 2000 units (actual: 1707)
Predict Malaysia vehicle sales data for September 2019 by brand:
1. Perodua @ Mumm-Ra 15900 units
2. Proton @ Thundercats 8934 units
3. Honda 6200 units
4. Toyota 4900 units
5. Nissan 1800 units
Audi??!!. Can prepare close down & leave Bolehland 4 good
I see lots of new A4 and A5 in Penang.
Syukur, syukur…….Malaysia’s car prices still the lowest in the region…
No wonder new cars are selling like pisang panassss….A reflection of our strong, robust and fast growing economy, right?
surprise surprise sleeping nissan still can hit 1.7k
Nissan/Datsun started with a humble beginning but will have a sad ending nissan keeps selling cheap dinosaur model like Almera , problematic Navara and ugly looking, under engineered SUV like X Trail ( still 136 hp for a 2.0 L petrol engine, hahahaha).
Mwuahahahahaha! P1 rises!
Bro fist!! So is Volvo and Volvo Trucks! Hahahaha!
I foresaw this 2 years ago when many were sceptic, oh no kereta chaiiina, habislah, or Geli don’t care, they’re forced to take P1 cuz they actually want Lotus, etc.
But my faith allowed me to foresaw this future, it was set from the moment we get to know Dr Li Chunrong’s background. GEELY. MEANS. BUSINESS. AND. BUSINESS. IS. BOOMING!!
To all the enemies of Geely Empire, seek not to bar our way, for we shall win through… NO MATTER THE COST!
Geely Empire. Is. INEVITABLE!!
ALL HAIL GEELY EMPIRE!!!
finally p1(Force India) is back on track.are they having technical problem?..however Ferrari perodua already 10 laps ahead…hahahahahahahaha..this is the real comparison…sorry, no safety car at the moment.
Well done perodua