Volvo XC40 EV will feature Android Automotive OS

The slow trickle of information continues for Volvo’s upcoming fully-electric XC40, and after giving us a glimpse of the electric vehicle’s platform and design, the Swedish carmaker is now focusing on the infotainment system that will be used.

Just like what is used on the Polestar 2, Volvo has partnered with Google for the electric XC40’s infotainment system. This is based on the latter’s Android platform, and features full integration of Android Automotive OS, providing users with access to familiar services such as Google Maps, Google Assistant and Google Play Store.

This isn’t to be confused with Android Auto, which requires a phone to be tethered with a separate system like in other vehicles. Instead, the system operates as its own entity, and is more deeply integrated with many of the car’s other functions.

As such, users will be able to do more beyond just setting a destination or playing their favourite music and podcasts on apps like Spotify, as they’ll also be able to call upon the Google Assistant to adjust in-car functions like setting the climate control.

Meanwhile, the electric XC40’s Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) will use data from Google Maps to such as speed limits and curves in the road to improve its capabilities further.

“We are finally giving you the same experience in your car that you’re used to on your phone, but adapted for safe interaction while driving. And by introducing over-the-air updates for everything from maintenance to completely new features, the car can stay as fresh as your other digital products, always with the latest and greatest features,” said Henrik Green, chief technology officer at Volvo Cars.

The Volvo On Call connected service is also part of the system, allowing remote monitoring of the EV’s battery status and charging levels. Core functions such as pre-conditioning, vehicle location identification, remote locking/unlocking and car sharing via a digital key are also present.

The photos provided also give us a good look at the electric XC40’s cabin, which doesn’t differ that heavily from a regular XC40 aside from a new digital instrument cluster display and the aforementioned infotainment system. We’ll know more about the electric XC40 when it makes its official debut on October 16.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Li Peng on Oct 10, 2019 at 4:18 pm

“Just like what is used on the Polestar 2, Volvo has partnered with Google for the electric XC40’s infotainment system.”

And if president Trump want to target another chinese company (after Huawei), Google will cancel this partnership immediately and Volvo owners are left with a non-working Android.

• Really? on Oct 11, 2019 at 1:23 pm

The HU will still work lah. Just no official updates from Google. Have you seen Android phones become suddenly unusable when not updated?