Over 200 bookings received for Proton X70 on Shopee

Proton has announced that more than 200 bookings have been received for the X70 on Shopee since the start of the e-commerce platform’s 12.12 Birthday Sale period. The online campaign – which runs till the end of the month – is offering customers the chance to book an X70 1.8 TGDI Premium 2WD with a booking fee of just RM99 instead of the usual RM1,000.

Customers who successfully register their X70 purchase before December 31, 2019 will also receive RM2,000 of Shopee vouchers and enjoy additional ongoing promotions for the month from the automaker. It said its partnership with Shopee is one of the steps being taken to explore new avenues of connecting with customers.

“Commerce today has changed drastically from what it was even as recently as just five to 10 years ago. Proton has to keep up with these changes to remain relevant and while we are pursuing our strategy to increase customer touch points via the growth of 3S/4S outlets, we must also utilise technology to drive mobility for the business,” said Proton CEO Li Chunrong.

This isn’t the first time the national carmaker is using the Internet for vehicle bookings. A similar campaign was also utilised for other Proton models in 2019, and prior to its launch last year, the X70 could be booked online from September, which helped to push the pre-launch order book to over 10,000 units. The success of these campaigns is highlighting the growing importance of the medium.

“We started to enable online bookings of our cars since late 2018, and over the next few years we could expand the use of this as a sales platform. With improved online security and transaction platforms becoming widely accepted, there could be a time when financing could be applied for and approved online, so Proton aims to be at the forefront of adopting these new technologies,” Li said.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• turboman on Dec 16, 2019 at 10:31 am

(Like) Proton X70
    (Dislike) Honda CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • distress owner on Dec 16, 2019 at 12:26 pm

No worries, will upgrade to X70 because of bad service from Honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
      • Nasi lemak on Dec 16, 2019 at 2:26 pm

Sales going down must be the reason why Proton decided to sell their X70 online. Taking the 12.12 advantage to clear stock just to make their sales go up. Game changing Perodua on the other hand does not give any discounts but sales is still 2X more than of that Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
        • Frozen on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:14 pm

Everybody is taking advantage of 12.12 sales. You want to be in the game or game over like Perodua? The world has spoken, billions of dollars got sold during 12.12 sales and this is not for clearing stocks. Proton is in the game to engage with young savvy internet online shoppers but Perodua is game over for still selling in a physical shop. They will soon go the way of Carrefour in Malaysia. You know what happened to Carrefour here?

• Billions of pipu shopped during 12.12. Nobody buys just because of old stocks. Do we bilip billions of pipu or do we bilip only just u?

• Mario kembali lagi on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:04 pm

Honda’s service is good. They never tell me “Ini Honda, bukan Mercedes, what do you expect”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
        • Celup King on Dec 17, 2019 at 10:28 am

No, they say “Ini Honda, lu mau lagi baik lu beli Merss”.

• Msia driver on Dec 16, 2019 at 10:40 am

Front look is update, pls replace the it with boyue pro..

• Meh. Boyue Pro will come in the facelift. Don’t worry

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:08 pm

After tested the GLC facelift , many marhaen made the right choice and get Proton X70. Hidup Proton Baru !!

• msia driver on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:11 pm

need wait another 5 years
        that time China already out PRO2

• History Bender on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Not really. China model change is average 3 years so Boyue Pro is considered new model change. China moves at a faster pace than Japan.

• Amran on Dec 16, 2019 at 10:49 am

X70 is so popular it even gets sold by Shoppee. How many Aruz is sold online? Yelek? kah kah kah kah kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 16, 2019 at 11:53 am

China already doing this, buying cars online. This will be one other option for buying cars in the not so distant future.

You’re already buying & paying online with Lazada, Shopee, GrabPay, T&G, Boost, internet banking etc.