mifold child booster seat range expands in Malaysia with Sport and hifold models – from RM199 to RM699

mifold child booster seat range expands in Malaysia with Sport and hifold  models – from RM199 to RM699

The use of child safety seats will be mandatory from January 1, 2020, and the introduction of the new ruling means that more child restraint system (CRS) offerings are expected in the market.

These include belt-positioning booster seats. Restraints are required for children above four years old and under 1.35 metres in height who have outgrown forward-facing car seats, but are still unable to fit correctly in shoulder or lap seat belts, and that’s where a booster seat comes in.

Those looking at a booster seat can check out the mifold range, which has been expanded with the introduction of two new products. SNS Products, which handles the brand locally, officially introduced the mifold Sport booster and hifold highback booster last weekend. The duo join the original mifold booster seat, which has been selling in the country since 2017.

The mifold works like a regular booster seat, but instead of lifting the child up as a normal booster seat does, it holds the seatbelt down. Adjustable belt guides on both sides of the child’s hips hold the lap belt section correctly against the bones and off of the stomach. A third clip on a strap pulls the seatbelt chest strap down correctly onto the shoulder, ensuring a properly fitted seatbelt.

Despite its small, portable size, the Group 2/3 Universal child restraint system device meets or exceeds the requirements of universally accepted global car booster seat regulations, including ECE R44/04 (Europe), FMVSS 213 (US) and RSSR (Canada). The mifold Sport has all the features and convenience of the mifold but with a more premium outlook, a leather-style cushion seat offering added comfort.

The hifold, meanwhile, is a highback booster seat offering good portability and fitment. The seat provides separate adjustment in four areas – seat width, body width, head width and height, with a number of settings for each. In terms of adjustability, its maker says that the hifold can be adjusted to 243 individual settings.

Like the mifold, the hifold meets or exceeds FMVSS 213 and ECE R44/04 regulations. It features six impact protection zones and four layers of protection, using advanced materials such as impact absorbing EPE foam and a polypropylene shell. It weighs 4.6 kg and can be quickly folded down to a compact and convenient size.

SNS Products’ executive director May Hwong said the mifold Family product range will offer an ideal solution to those looking for portability in a CRS.

“With its light, compact design, the mifold can be brought along on vacations or on the go, such as when traveling in taxis and ride-sharing vehicles. It’s also suitable for everyday use when children utilise private transport to school,” she said.

The mifold is priced at RM199, while the mifold Sport is available at an introductory price of RM299. The hifold, meanwhile, goes for RM699. They can be purchased through SNS Products’ website or via the Lazada e-commerce platform, as well as selected retailers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Damon Lee on Dec 18, 2019 at 11:00 am

I don’t see how a child would be comfy sitting on thin mats backed by thick plastic. Expect them to cry soon enuff

• 4bini on Dec 18, 2019 at 1:07 pm

Mandatory and enforecemnt is 2 different things. Here, the abang2 PDRM and JPJ enforcement officers all makan duit kopi, 9 out of 10 times, they let the offender off after getting ang pau

Same like back seat belts. So, I suggest we clean up our forces first before we implement this good measure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Safety First on Dec 18, 2019 at 1:58 pm

This is nothing to do with mandatory and enforcement a child boosters are not regulated by law. I suggest you clean up your head and think straight before you copy paste another stupid comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • dimitriy on Dec 19, 2019 at 8:53 am

cite your source of “9 out of 10 officers makan ang pau from PDRM JPJ”. im confident its just a pure BS and maybe, maybe, out of 10 encounters u have with JPJ PDRM, 9 of it u offered them ang pau indirectly BUT they rejected indirectly too. shame on u.

• Zaman Khan on Dec 19, 2019 at 9:33 am

I agree, corruption is too much of a problem in Malaysia. People want easy life and easy way to get money

• john is otak batu on Dec 18, 2019 at 11:05 am

OVERPRICED cushion!

• azhar on Dec 18, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Yaa they should sell it for rm1 coz thats the value of your child…sigh

• YES!!!

• I am all for the law. However, the government should monitor the pricing of these child seats and boosters as it has been a norm in Malaysia for the bloodsucking traders to hike the price when people are in desperation e.g. when there is water shortage, prices of water containers will skyrocket. When there is haze, prices of masks will go up preposterously.

• Kuachi on Dec 18, 2019 at 9:00 pm

No brand one is just rm60-90 each…

• vivizurianti on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:01 am

Abam abam still say it is expensive, still dont have enuf money to buy booster seats for their kids……while smoking away their ciggy day-in, day- out