MIROS launches guidelines for child restraint systems – usage to be mandatory starting January 1, 2020

In line with the official launch of Vehicle Safety Week 2019 at the MIROS PC3 crash testing centre in Melaka, deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail launched the Buku Garis Panduan Kerusi Keselamatan Kanak-kanak di Malaysia (guidelines for child restraint systems in Malaysia) today.

The child seat guide book is a strategic document developed by the Malaysian Institute for Raod Safety Research (MIROS) under the ministry of transport for the streamlining of ministries, departments and government agencies, as well as industry participants and the general public towards implementing the government’s policy for mandating the use of child seats in Malaysia from January 1, 2020.

The guide book outlines objectives and strategies for the certification compliance, procedures and enforcement of laws for child seat usage on road, and sales in both business premises and online, said MIROS. The child seat guide book was produced by MIROS under the transport ministry, with the cooperation of the domestic trade and consumer affairs ministry (KPDNHEP), Royal Malaysian Customs (JKDM), the Road Transport Department (JPJ) and the road safety department (JKJR).

Sample and description of the QR code.

The guide book for child seats also introduced the use of QR code labels for the purpose of recording information for child seats on the Malaysian market, as well as offering more detailed guides and references for consumers and enforcement agencies.

This QR code sticker measures 50 mm tall by 40 mm wide, and uses a white background. This will contain the seat’s certification details according to UN R44 or UN R129, instructions for installation and recommendations according to the weight and height of the child.

The decision to make the use of child seats compulsory in Malaysia is in line with United Nations (UN) regulations, said transport minster Anthony Loke Siew Fook. “This is a manifestation of the government’s efforts towards realising the Road Safety Plan 2014-2020 which aims to reduce the numbers of deaths and serious injuries in Malaysia by 50% by 2020,” he said.

Given that adding child seats into the vehicles of families will add cost and effort, what happens when parents and drivers are found to be not complying with the forthcoming regulations? This is about educating the public about the importance of child safety when travelling in vehicles, Loke stressed, and referred to the guide book for specific details; the document can be downloaded from the MIROS website, here.

“The government is very concerned with the matter of road accidents which cause deaths and injuries to children, because they will be assets to the nation by being the next wave for future development. We are all responsible for the creation of a safe and conducive environment for the development of people in this country,” said Wan Azizah, who is also minister of women, family and community development.

The move towards mandatory child seat use follows the statistics of 1,559 recorded deaths of children aged under 10 from 2007 to 2017, the deputy prime minister said. “One life is lost every 84 minutes to road accidents, and children are at great risk of injury when subjected to these situations, she added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Angry Voters on Oct 24, 2019 at 12:13 am

Terbaek kak Wan! Keepidap YB Anthony Loke !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Angry Voters on Oct 24, 2019 at 2:15 pm

To Loke: You want to make it mandatory, then pls make it cheaplah! Bodoh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:24 pm

u talk cock asking cheaper things but cant resist buy iphone 11. dei, u save rm1 a day. in a year u can buy rm360 convertible car seat la. dont go searching for graco or chicco. the best car seat is the one that is used always and used correctly every time.

• Lets See on Oct 25, 2019 at 9:53 am

You talk as if everyone buys iphones on a yearly basis. Another cocktalker like our Minister of Taxis. Go look at how much taxes are levied on these “best car seats” you are talking about. All he needs to make it happen, just exempt that tax.

• Safety First on Oct 24, 2019 at 12:53 am

Laugh me die! You can’t even enforce the law to mandate using rear seatbelts, fat chance you will get anywhere with child seats. Later on you will be Uturning just like every other policies you made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:45 am

What have you done to ensure safety first?
      Give constructive criticism and do your part.
      We are all needed to ensure all of these are being done.
      Don’t just talk cock and wishing it will all magically appear. A collective action from you, me and everyone around us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Real LLort on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:56 am

Umm.. debatable.. they can’t enforce or we can’t follow? lalala

• Dredd on Oct 24, 2019 at 2:02 pm

Look at Singapore, enforcement or free will to follow rules? Look at their citizen when crossed to Malaysia. 40 years and still the same attitude. Enforcement is the key.

• Dakinaik on Oct 24, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Maaf ler encik.. kejar mase td, lupe amek childseat. kasik chan ye… janji x ulang lagik

• Real LLort on Oct 24, 2019 at 6:00 pm

but here the same person who enforce today is the one who go against the enforcement the next day. so sombong they thought they’re the enforcer so no need to exactly follow. thats the kind of role model we’re looking at. so its back to; are we following the law or not? the law is there doesnt mean we will follow. The enforcer being the role model also doesn’t mean we will follow. so? its someone elses problem because we didn’t follow? how about this, let everybody else follow they own free will and if we want to change, we start with ourselves first (Man in the mirror song playing in the background) .. pffttt

• Stevenson.K on Oct 24, 2019 at 12:08 pm

Spot on bruder… but educated ppl and awareness culture anytime better than enforcement.

Saya cadangkan bile setiap kali KPDNHEP, JKDM, JPJ, MPKB BRI and the JKJR pegawai… Dapat “tangkap” any passenger and kids in the car with rear seatbelt and child seats on. They be rewarded Rm50 instant tunai in Tabung SSPN dan PTPTN. Safety start with kids education…
      Lets study this first k.

• Look south on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:06 am

Please make absolutely sure it is enforced. Not Mere talk – NATO.

• safety 1st on Oct 24, 2019 at 8:44 am

syabas.

• alldisc on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:24 am

Even rear seatbelt enforcement also zero. How?

• fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:52 am

Do you enforce it on your family and friends instead of hoping for the enforcer to do their job?
      People always talk like they are the boss. You should be doing your damn job and ensure good safety around your family first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Real LLort on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:59 am

No enforcement means when you get caught with not wearing rear seatbelt, will you not be summon? lalala..

• FireAce on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:58 am

Great move, fully support.

Understood that we do have some “el-cheapo” child seat that are merely gimmick that do not really provide any additional safety, but please do not outlawed child seat that we already have just because the seat do not have that fancy “stickers” of yours.

• Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 10:06 am

Back seat belts was compulsory more than 5 years ago. But in Malaysia, money talks.

Give dedak and all selesai.

• fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:43 am

Have you done your part by ensuring your family and friends wear seat belt at the rear seat? Don’t talk cock complain here and there while you don’t do nothing beneficial towards seat belt usage. It’s about collective action. You, me and everyone around us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Troll Hunter on Oct 24, 2019 at 2:14 pm

You often talk nonsense but this time you talk sense.

• Darren on Oct 24, 2019 at 6:04 pm

https://paultan.org/2015/07/13/child-car-seats-no-mandatory-use-by-2016-says-liow/

• History Bender on Oct 25, 2019 at 9:56 am

Pilih satu:
          A. Time traveller got lost in 2016 then come 2019
          B. Just came out of cave from 2015
          C. Math so bad, cannot count 2016 vs 2019
          D. History so bad, dunno 2016 era or 2019 era.

• History Bender on Oct 25, 2019 at 9:56 am

Pilih satu :
          A. Time traveller got lost in 2016 then come 2019
          B. Just came out of cave from 2015
          C. Math so bad, cannot count 2016 vs 2019
          D. History so bad, dunno 2016 era or 2019 era.

• azrai on Oct 24, 2019 at 10:59 am

Car makers should give a free child seat instead of rebates. Maybe they can bundle it with the HP agreement.

• Realist on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:19 am

I fully agree with your proposal, sir! Those without kids can choose the rebates in other forms such as accessories etc. so it doesn’t make it look unfair.
      Next move: Maybe the govt can even make Child car seats tax deductible??

• fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:49 am

For those who would like to experience crashing at 10 km/h, go visit iCity, Petronas StreetSmart are having demonstration whereby you experience what does it like to hit a wall at slow speed when using seat belt.

Plus, there is also live demo on car seat crash test at Miros/JPJ Melaka this Saturday and watch how child car seat works during impact.

• they should make it mandatory for newborn only for the 1st stage. coz older infant will refuse to sit on it coz not trained earlier. only make it compulsory after 2 or 3 years for all kids ages.

• fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:21 pm

so, during the gap whereby u propose shouldnt use carseat, the child immortal meh? u can predict when accident happen meh? adult already but brain functioning like baby. dont let ur kids be the king and control u la. do they know what is safe and what is not?

• 1) Car seat prices will increase with the added bureaucracy 2) …but enforcement will be taxing on users.
    3) Hyundai Starex with 2 poin seat belt that gomen approved cannot sell.

• fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:26 pm

US based car seat can use lap belt but the price is on the expensive side. but then again, please check the car manual whether it allow installation or not.

• azhar on Oct 24, 2019 at 3:42 pm

Good move..if kena saman dont complaint..its your own fault..want to become developed country but mentality still 3rd world

• fast lane on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:31 pm

to parents,
    please ensure your children strapped in carseat correctly.
    they will cry and cry but would u rather they cry or u cry when accident happen and they are not strapped in carseat?

• Pelawat on Oct 25, 2019 at 5:08 pm

How about grab driver? Can pick up passenger with children height less than 135cm if no car seat?

• Good Driver on Nov 08, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Grab driver is a issue. And how about school bus/van? Are they going to install 40 carseat in their bus?