GALLERY: Updated 2020 Mazda MX-5 RF – RM260k

In August, Mazda Malaysia launched the updated MX-5 RF, with prices starting from RM259,154 for the manual transmission and RM260,354 for the automatic. That’s nearly RM37k more than the original sticker price, though included is a five-year/100,000 km warranty and a five-year/100,000 km free service package.

Now, the 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine features redesigned pistons, connecting rods, crankshaft, throttle body and intake valves, and now revs 700 rpm higher at 7,500 rpm. The output has been raised to 184 PS at 7,000 rpm (up from 160 PS), while torque gets a slight bump to 205 Nm (up from 200 Nm) at 4,000 rpm.

Mazda claims that torque has been increased across the entire rev range, and top-end torque gets boosted by as much as 15%. The engine sounds better too, thanks to a reworked exhaust system. Other minor tweaks include telescopic steering adjustment (previously omitted due to weight) in addition to the existing tilt adjustment, along with cruise control and a 4.6-inch colour TFT LCD multi-info display. The seven-inch touchscreen also supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

Standard equipment includes adaptive LED headlights with a matrix high beam, LED daytime running lights, 17-inch alloy wheels in a new black finish instead of gunmetal grey, reverse sensors, keyless entry with walk-away lock, push-button start, auto lights and wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, auto air-conditioning, leather upholstery, and a nine-speaker Bose sound system (including headrest speakers).

Safety-wise, there’s four airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist and lane departure warning, but unfortunately we don’t get autonomous emergency braking that was also introduced globally with this model year update, nor the reverse camera.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ahmadjr on Dec 27, 2019 at 10:43 am

softop miata nampak lebih ori …

• Sick & Tired on Dec 27, 2019 at 11:05 am

Even overpriced cars got a massive price increase indicating car prices are going up across the board. Boo to pakatan!

• Abdul Sahih Rahman on Dec 28, 2019 at 10:42 am

I agree. 60 years of corruption and we see our ringgit got no value. Lazy and want easy way of life.

• sutheshkumar87 on Dec 27, 2019 at 11:33 am

IS Mazda removing the option of rear foglamps for their new batch of cars? the CX-30 doesn’t come with it and this MX-5 updated loses it as well.

• Better buy second hand bmw Z4, can get as cheap as rm40k with proper inline 6 six…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Pre-Love BMW Z4 RM40k.
      it’s said -> ppl scared of second hand Beemers.

sakit kepala

• Z4ptui on Dec 28, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Z4 is just a pretentious show pony. Not even a driver’s car.

• Hahah. Then pay RM30K for new top motors, or RM5K for new ECU, or RM2K to change new water pump, RM1K for bushings all around, RM5K to change all the leaking gaskets, then have to live with broken switches, etc etc etc etc

• Typical Malaysian on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:40 pm

More horsepower to go so dont even need to reverse why the camera and going so fast no AEB can save the situation so why bother? Good decision making there so the grey import units continue to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Unacceptable on Dec 27, 2019 at 1:59 pm

260k without a basic REVERSE CAMERA what era do we live in bruhhh

• Anonymous on Dec 27, 2019 at 8:58 pm

Exotic brands like Ferrari and Lamborghini only offer them as overpriced options, and even then they’re not even the best quality. It’s as if they have purposely chosen cheap units and mark them up considerably just so people would think twice on having them. Mind you these cars have HORRIBLE rear visibility.

I mean, come on. It’s narrow (barely wider than a Myvi) and low with a short rear. The distance between the driver and the edge of the rear bumper is greater in the Iriz than it is in the MX-5. Do you really need a reverse camera for a car this small?

• My life depends on it on Dec 28, 2019 at 7:52 am

Yes

• Drivers nowadays can't drive on Dec 28, 2019 at 8:53 pm

You might need more basic driver training. Try learning in a car with manual and with no mod cons like Apple carplay…

• vivizurianti on Dec 27, 2019 at 3:49 pm

I guess we’ll get tired sooner or later with the angry bird look….. Esp when the car is in red.

• Daniel on Dec 27, 2019 at 7:35 pm

Mazda 3 is the next best thing I guess. Pretty much the same under the hood with higher level of kit for 100k less. Sad.

• Mazda2 better. Same Rear Torsion beam like Mazda3.
      save another RM80k.

• Anonymous on Dec 28, 2019 at 5:44 pm

If you are comparing it to a Mazda 3 then you’re not interested in the sports car class altogether, which makes your argument moot. Both are completely different kinds of cars. Just how are both these cars “pretty much the same”? One has much more power than the other and 300 kg lighter! Not to mention proper wishbone/multi-link suspension all-round, quicker steering, REAR WHEEL DRIVE, and 50:50 weight distribution just to name a few that makes it a proper sports car.

For an “economy” hatchback the 3 is excellent and maybe even the best in its class, but it’s no sports car nor does it pretend to be.

• TakNakP1 on Dec 27, 2019 at 10:38 pm

regardless whether it comes with AEB and reverse camera, 260k is hell lot of money one could do a lot with.

• Mr Visionary on Dec 29, 2019 at 6:13 pm

And this car is clearly not meant for cheapskates, it’s for enthusiast who understand the art of driving, stick to your Proton

• Lowry on Jan 25, 2020 at 3:44 am

I love it how people talk like they are enthusiast drivers but in reality they drive like crap.

• Anonymous on Dec 31, 2019 at 11:39 am

That goes for ALL things that are meant to be enjoyable. By your logic, large TVs, gaming consoles and PCs, go-karting, amateur sports car racing, private swimming pools, model planes, all those would be a waste of money that “one can do a lot with”.
      It’s a sports car dude. Buying any sports car is never a “smart” purchase. It’s meant to be a guilty pleasure, not an investment for the future.

• Daddykasi on Dec 29, 2019 at 6:18 pm

No fun.. Coz no turbo