PLUS announces it will begin offering toll collection via RFID on 10 open-toll highways from January 1

Highway concessionaire PLUS has announced it will begin offering toll transactions to be made via radio frequency identification (RFID) technology at 10 open system toll plazas from January 1, 2020. It said via a press statement that the Touch ‘n Go RFID toll payment system will be offered to Class 1 private vehicles at these designated toll plazas on PLUS-operated highways:

• Jitra (North-South Expressway)
  • Lunas (Butterworth-Kulim Expressway)
  • Kubang Semang (Butterworth-Kulim Expressway)
  • Penang Bridge
  • Mambau (Seremban-Port Dickson Highway)
  • Lukut (Seremban-Port Dickson Highway)
  • Kempas (North-South Expressway)
  • Perling (Linkedua highway)
  • Lima Kedai (Linkedua highway)
  • Tanjung Kupang (Linkedua highway)

Class 1 denotes light vehicles with two axles and three or four-wheels, except taxis, Meanwhile, the toll fare in an open system toll is a fixed rate, based on the vehicle class. According to PLUS COO Zakaria Ahmad Zabidi, the introduction of RFID at its open system toll plazas will offer motorists another avenue to pay for toll.

“In addition, more payment options are being developed via debit and credit cards as well as other eWallets. Soon highway customers will have the option to switch to more payment modes when these features become available in the very near future. However, the existing toll payment modes via Touch ‘n Go card or SmartTAG are still available on PLUS highways,” he said.

Zakaria added that toll transactions using Touch ‘n Go RFID technology on PLUS’ 83 closed highway system toll plazas will be implemented on April 1, 2020. The toll rates on a closed system highway are based on the vehicle class and travel distance made from entering and exiting the highway.

Last week, the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) announced that toll collection using RFID technology will be implemented across all 62 toll plazas on highways using the open-toll system as of January 1.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Habislah… more gostan traffic at the RFID/SmartTag lanes.

2020 – the year the regular TouchNGo lane becomes the fastest lane to clear.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 30, 2019 at 2:26 pm

Normally… simpan RM20 aje in TouchNGo kad.

Unless, gaji dh masok. topup Rm50 blk kampung

• Gabriel on Dec 30, 2019 at 2:49 pm

What happen to PH government’s promise of abolishing tolls? We should not be bothering about RFID/Touch N Go and what not if they keep their promise.
      Ini semua tipu ke?

• Engineer on Dec 30, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Habislah! Change to new system but still same mentality, still blur to ensure eWallet is sufficiently reloaded. Idiots continue to jam the lanes just like they do with Smart Tag and TnG before. Give whatever high tech system, but still will have these idiots to cause delays.

• About dem time! Tenkiu bang Bossku for gips us RFID after so many decades of outdated smarttag.

• PLUS under Khazanah & KWSP must abolished tol

• Nabil Dev on Dec 30, 2019 at 1:16 pm

How about for North South highway
    Seremban – Sg Besi

• infinity on Dec 30, 2019 at 1:26 pm

I am just wondering, if the toll booth have both SmartTag and RFID, and I have both SmartTag and RFID installed, will it be double charged?

• No, I tried using both at once at Penang Bridge, RFID will get detected first before SmartTag. SmartTag will long beep 3 times (instead of the usual short beep 2 times) and won’t charge your money.

• No..as installed now, RFID and SmartTag are installed at different lane so U can chose either one to pass thru…

• Anonymous on Dec 30, 2019 at 6:47 pm

No. RFID is given priority. In any circumstances, fees will be deducted from RFID. If your e-wallet not sufficient cash / RFID tag cannot be detected, then your SmartTAG will be charged instead. But if your SmartTag TnG is already linked to e-wallet, it doesnt matter how it is charged (RFID/SmartTag), the fare will be deducted from your e-wallet ultimately

• hengsy on Dec 30, 2019 at 1:37 pm

RFID , Fixed at the front lamp not a good place. Y ? cos wear n tear. Then can be sabotaged by naughty, or tear off.

• Nabil Dev on Dec 30, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Well when installed RFID for my car I asked to same question to the installer but he told me that once the RFID sticker sticked to the vehicle we cannot take it off , If we forced to take it and stick in other vehicle its not useable because once we force to pull the sticker the RFID code will be effected
      Not sure whether its true or not.

• Toll abolished mana? on Dec 30, 2019 at 1:49 pm

As above

• will Touch n Go Paydirect be implemented for closed toll highways in April 2020 too?

• anonymous on Dec 30, 2019 at 10:55 pm

PLUS toll in KV when? Isn’t KV area has the most cars??