2020 Perodua Bezza facelift: watch the launch live here

You’ve seen the spyshots, teasers and even went through the specs and prices. The only thing left is the official launch, and that’s happening tomorrow morning (January 8), 10am. We are of course referring to the 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift, which was confirmed and opened for booking last Friday.

We thought that Perodua was fast off the blocks last year with the Aruz – order books for the SUV opened on January 3, ahead of the launch on January 15 – but they’ve outdid themselves this year.

Fronted by Malaysian footballers Safee Sali and Zaquan Adha (yup, we verified that it was not his twin brother Aidil Zafuan), the Bezza facelift comes three and a half years after it first hit the market. The Bezza was Perodua’s first model with a boot (it still is), and it rivals the Proton Saga in Malaysia’s entry level sedan market.

The facelift brings with it a more assertive face, thanks to a combination of an aggressive new bumper with sharp faux vent cutouts holding the fog lamps, new shape LED headlamps and a revised grille. At the rear, the chrome strip bridging the tail lamps is now in two-tone – chrome over gloss black. The side skirts, which are standard across the board, are also in two-tone, black and body colour.

While the dashboard architecture hasn’t changed, P2 revised the full width trim’s design for an obvious new look without having to redesign the whole thing. Previously just a plain black bar in the AV, there’s now a silver upturned cradle for the head unit, which is a 2-DIN touchscreen unit for the AV (with reverse camera). The new trim also sees some surfacing around the side air con vents.

In the kit department, the big news is the boost in safety equipment. The top-spec AV gets Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite of driver assist systems, which includes Pedestrian Detection (up to 50 km/h), Pre-Collision Warning (up to 100 km/h), Pre-Collision Braking (up to 80 km/h), Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control.

First seen on the current Myvi and then the Aruz (in 2.0 form), ASA was most recently included in the Axia facelift, so it’s no surprise that it makes an appearance here. ASA aside, ABS/EBD is standard across the board while VSC is standard on 1.3L models.

Safety goodies aside, the Bezza will get LED headlamps as standard across the board. Other highlights from the released flyer include a white illuminated meter panel (the design is also new) and keyless entry with push start (1.3L only).

Elsewhere, the 1.3L gets gloss black and chrome trim on the front grille (gloss black and silver on 1.0L) and 15-inch alloys (14-inch on the 1.0L). Rear parking sensors are standard for all, but front corner sensors are for the 1.3L only. Apart from ASA 2.0, AV-exclusive items include retractable electric side mirrors with turn signals (power-adjustable mirrors now standard across the range) and a reverse camera.

We’re expecting the powertrains – a 67 hp/91 Nm 1.0L three-cylinder and a 94 hp/121 Nm 1.3L four-pot – to remain unaltered for the facelift. The 1.0L VVT-i can be had either with a five-speed manual or four-speed auto, while the Dual VVT-i 1.3L is auto-only. One main selling point is the good fuel efficiency, which is up to a claimed 22 km/l thanks to Eco Idle, which is auto start-stop.

As for colours, there will be two new options called Garnet Red (1.3L only) and Granite Grey to join four other colours. The Bezza is now priced from RM34,580 for the 1.0L G Manual and RM36,580 for the 1.0L G Auto. The 1.3L models are auto-only – the 1.3L X is yours for RM43,980 while the AV sells for RM49,980, all OTR without insurance. It’s a slight increase over the pre-facelift, but kit count has increased.

By the way, the pre-facelift range consists of the 1.0L GXtra MT at RM34,490, the 1.0L GXtra AT at RM36,290, the 1.3L Premium X MT at RM40,090, the 1.3L Premium X AT at RM41,890 and the AV at RM47,790. That means that the new line-up has one less variant – four vs five – and the 1.3L MT has been dropped.

Remember to join us for our exclusive livestream of the 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift launch, which will be hosted by Hafriz Shah and paultan.org/BM‘s Hazril Hafiz. Once again, it’s 10am tomorrow morning, so bring your earphones to work.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3L AV, pre-facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 07, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Lol! Teasing then now livestream debut. All for an uninspiring & lousy car.

• Asam laksa on Jan 07, 2020 at 5:26 pm

Everyone is waiting impatiently for the new Game-Changing Bezza FL. I am sute that the launch event will be crowded with many people and the event will be very spectacular!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • yawnz on Jan 08, 2020 at 1:26 am

Yawnzz. Bezza only got 35k views. Meanwhile Saga already got 133k views. Saga got 4X more interest than Bezza. I guess we know which the rakyat was waiting impatiently and wanting to know all about… undeniably it is the Proton Saga.

• yawnz on Jan 08, 2020 at 4:36 pm

Bezza can be sold in Singapore, Proton forced to leave in 2018. how come perodua can have euro 6 engine ah? what about proton?

• Bezza sold in Singapore? When? Perodua left Singapore market as soon as they switched to using Euro5 while Proton still has engines compliant to that regulation and still sold car in Australia until they switched to Euro6. Where is Perodua in Australia?

• English Teacher on Jan 08, 2020 at 7:47 pm

Keyword: “can”, which meant it was never sold and never will be sold in Singapore.

• Darren on Jan 07, 2020 at 5:47 pm

I hope Perodua fanboys don’t come here and syiok sendiri proud of their game over Bezza. It is shameful that Perodua fanboys are so proud of a rebadged car only meant for India market (Etios) and yet sales figures showed Malaysians are still going for Saga and Persona. You syiok sendiri here no use, all your comment don’t translate to sales figures and the numbers showing Bezza is yet another big failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • ETIOS was based on Bezza. Not the other way around.

• Sambal udang on Jan 08, 2020 at 8:19 am

Bezza is based on Game-Changing Axia/Ayla platform, no relation with Etios. Learn before you bash ya, hahaha!

• Nope. 1st gen Etios (which Bez rebadged) came first in 2010
        https://paultan.org/2010/12/03/toyota-etios-sedan-unveiled-for-the-indian-market/

While Bez came in 2016
        https://paultan.org/2016/07/21/perodua-bezza-officially-launched/

• Shbdn on Jan 07, 2020 at 6:24 pm

(Like) 2019 Proton Saga facelift.
    (Dislike) 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift

• 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift is truly a Game Changer while Proton 2019 Proton Saga facelift have proven to be a Game Over sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • yawnz on Jan 08, 2020 at 1:28 am

Yawnnzz. Sales figures says everything and up to date Saga sales number still outsold Bezza. So we know which one is Game Over… better stop Bezza launch now or it will suffer another big humiliation.

• Mr Visionary on Jan 08, 2020 at 1:15 am

Luckily havent pre ordered the new saga, now on my money on Bezza! With this new game changing ASA it will keep my family safe when balik kampung, building cars people first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Nice try Perodua salesman, but you make it too obvious.

• I do hope u don’t crash, the body frame is so fragile for a 50k car. Have u seen the latest Bezza fatal crash? The light pole that hammered the A pillar and B pillar so deeply in from the passenger side and it killed the driver. My condolences to his family. I think people should think twice when buying a Bezza, it is a good car for the city but it is not when it is on highway and kampung roads.

• Safety First on Jan 08, 2020 at 10:52 am

Emm it is not a good car period because you can never tell when an accident can happen. If a Bezza can be skewered by a lamppost on the highway, it can very well be skewered just as easily in the heart of KL/ Penang/ Ipoh/ JB. So it is not safe even on urban roads.

• You people are nuts. Its just a facelift.

• MeiLi on Jan 08, 2020 at 6:37 am

The face of the footballer on the Youtube preview image of the video is kinda “derp”. LOL.

• azrai on Jan 08, 2020 at 9:01 am

The clear winner is RM50k minus RM40k. Those who richer by RM10k is the loser? Those who poorer RM10k is the winner? Aiyoo…math failed lorr…