G20 BMW 320i Sport launched in Malaysia – RM244k

BMW Malaysia has finally introduced the 320i Sport to the G20 3 Series line-up, and the locally-assembled sedan is priced at RM243,800. Included in the sticker price is a five-year unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service, 24-month run-flat tyre warranty, BMW Roadside Assistance, BMW White Card, and BMW Service Online.

Let’s first get to the juicy bits, the powertrain. Underneath the bonnet is the company’s tried and tested B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with BMW TwinPower Turbo, producing 184 hp at 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 300 Nm at 1,350 to 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to the rear wheels through an eight-speed ZF automatic gearbox, sending the sedan from 0-100 km/h in 7.1 seconds. Top speed is 235 km/h, while the combined fuel consumption is 6.3 litres per 100 km.

In comparison, the same engine powering the 330i M Sport is tuned to produce 258 hp at 5,000 rpm and 400 Nm at 1,550 rpm. That’s enough to send it from standstill to 100 km/h in 5.8 seconds, and onwards to a top speed of 250 km/h. Its combined fuel consumption is rated at 6.4 litres per 100 km, so the difference is diminutive. But remember, the 330i M Sport costs a full RM45k more.

On the outside, the 320i Sport gets the same mid-range adaptive LED headlights as the 330i, but the lower front and rear bumpers are less aggressive, though the former still features horizontal LED fog lamps with integrated air curtains. The lower intake loses the M Sport’s honeycomb mesh design, and settles with three horizontal bars instead.

Round the side, it sits on dual-tone 18-inch V-spoke style 780 alloys, shod with 225/45 profile run-flat tyres on all corners (the 330i M Sport gets wider 255/40 rears). Exterior colour options include Mediterranean Blue, Black Sapphire, Alpine White, Mineral Grey, and Sunset Orange.

For the cabin, the seats are wrapped in black Vernasca leather as standard, and the trims get an aluminium ‘mesh effect’ design that’s finished in pearl chrome. There’s also a new three-spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel with shift paddles, but arguably the biggest omission here is the 12.3-inch digital instrument panel from the BMW Live Cockpit Professional package.

Instead, the 320i Sport gets BMW Live Cockpit Plus, comprising a traditional set of analogue gauges with an integrated 5.7-inch digital display along the bottom of the panel. There are further differences as well – the centre touchscreen display (with Bluetooth connectivity) now measures 8.8-inch diagonally, which shrunk from the fancier 10.25-inch unit from the BMW Live Cockpit Professional. That means thicker bezels, too.

Unfortunately, BMW’s latest Operating System 7.0 isn’t available here. The smaller head unit only comes with Operating System 6.0, and it’s hooked up to a 100-watt, six-speaker setup. For kit, there’s a Qi wireless charging tray, three-zone automatic climate control, powered driver seat with memory function, 11-colour ambient lighting system, and contactless boot opening.

For safety, there’s the usual three-lettered acronyms, six airbags, and Isofix child seat mounts on the two outer rear seats. As with most BMWs in Malaysia, the 320i Sport doesn’t get much in the way of driver assistance systems. There’s only Attentiveness Assistant, passive cruise control with braking function, parking assistant with reversing assist, and rear view camera.

Lastly, the car comes with BMW ConnectedDrive services with Intelligent Emergency Call, Teleservices, BMW Digital Key, and welcome lights. Again, the BMW 320i Sport retails at RM243,800, and can be purchased via the Balloon Financing Plan (offered by BMW Group Financial Services Malaysia) from RM2,788 monthly (figure is based on 80% loan on a five-year tenure). So, what do you think?

GALLERY: 2020 G20 BMW 320i Sport in Mediterranean Blue

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• msia driver on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:22 pm

meanwhile Camry and Accord price at rm200k
    top up 50k can get BMW , really lolzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 10
    • Truckers on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:45 pm

Japanese bosses are too taken in by their paid praises from their salestroopers, they became arrogant and increase prices steeply, expecting their ahpeks and ah bengs to continue buying them. Just top up a lil more and a better conti car is yours to own. No problem, their waterfalling sales are going to hit them hard like a Volvo truck at full speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:52 pm

All those who bought the 330i at over RM300k now cry like newborn baby

Kasihan kasihan kasihan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
        • Jahidin on Jan 09, 2020 at 7:11 pm

Agreed. 330i ekcelli drive and handling like the new Camry reviewed by car youtubers

• Frozen on Jan 09, 2020 at 4:06 pm

in Langkawi, this BMW 320i Sport priced RM114k only. should sell in Semenanjung priced RM444K , taxed the rich. And subsidized better public transportations in northern,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
        • Lexis on Feb 01, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Do you even know what are you talking about? 320i sport cost like RM210k in langkawi and what do you mean by taxed the rich huh? Rich people won’t even buy this car they’ll buy Mercedes or lexus this is just a cheap entry level car

• Dugung X on Sep 18, 2022 at 12:52 am

Rich ppl buy Mercedes or Porsche. Sochai water fish buy Lexus

• (Like) G20 3 Series and S60
      (Dislike) C Class

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 23
      • Dunkin donute on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:29 pm

Volvo is same category as VW abang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
        • Damon Lee on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:27 pm

But VW abang is Audi and Volvo does compete for the luxury segment with Audi. So what is wrong with that

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:55 pm

I agree with you on this. Our Accord and Camry overpriced because they need to feed the lazy DRB and UMW overbloated staff.

UMW and DRB need only 40% of their staff to run efficiently. But because they are GLC, they are told to give local grads free jobs.

So this is why our Accord and Camry are so expensive, they need the money to pay their overbloated staff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
      • Mohd Paudzi on Jan 09, 2020 at 10:27 pm

Silap – main cause is Forex, Yen/ Baht appreciated against RM since 2016 1MDB scandal, while Euro depreciated from 5++ to 4.5++. Most Japanese parts are CKD from Japan, and Thai and BMW from Germany.

• Fordist on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:48 am

No correlation. RM was on the upward trend in 2018 when PH tookover it nosedives. During last of BN rule RM was at RM2.90 to 1USD, now it becomes RM 4.10 to 1USD. The only factor I see is PJ mismanagement of our economy. Quite a sad fate for Malaysia and many like us, as I got to source parts direct from Thailand to work around the spiraling xchange rates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Lol what on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:05 pm

In BN’s last rule, the dollar was 3.90 rm. It was never 2.90, unless we are talking about the early 2010’s or late 2000’s

• MYR TO USD
            BN 2.9>3.9, PH 3.9>4.14.

• Damon Lee on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:31 pm

But then BMW is under Sime Darby which is also GLC so when pitting GLC vs GLC, it don’t make sense to raise prices against each other. The only fair reason is the principal, which is Honda and Toyota, the ones raising prices to feed their lazy and overbloated staff (in your own words).

• apaNi? on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:40 am

Sime Darby or Auto Bavaria is just another dealer like Ingress and Quill for BMW Malaysia lah.

• Unknown on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:42 pm

Same lah! UMW is a Bursa listed company. What idiotic logic say UMW is a GLC.

• OP totally missed the mark. All cars are overpriced in Malaysia.

• Mario 2nd account on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:45 pm

You’re spending 200k for Japanese quality which cannot be found on germans, Camry got better resell value and also will still be running after 10 years. BMW after warranty will start kong here and there this is why bmws always spoil by the roadside waiting for tow while camry just drives by like a boss!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Accord and Camry are D segment sized cars vs the 3 series which is a luxurious C segment car. Goes back to what the buyer wants in their car but at that MYR200 range, I would go with a Mazda6 over any other D segment car in that price range. I would even go as far as saying the top end Mazda6 is better spec-ed than the G20.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
      • F P Tan on Jan 11, 2020 at 6:37 pm

mazda is just a wannabe car, we luxury car owner see it as just another subaru where camry is definitely higher class. but overall, we see japanese car as just economy car by middle low income. 320i is a no buy, the entry car for my wife should be MINI or 330i class vehicle. where I should always drive 530i or E350 for normal route and S class just sitting there to complement my property design or use as vehicle to attend event. Supercar like ferrari cant just be bought frm any AP place for under 400K and sit only in my car porch driving 1 round per month or just to impress my friend. Camry? Mazda? maybe the boot is big for IKea thing or when I wanna go McD supper doesn’t wanna attract attention and scratch resistant because I dont give a damn even if it is scratched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • mazda is just a wannabe car, we luxury car owner see it as just another subaru where camry is definitely higher class. but overall, we see japanese car as just economy car by middle low income. 320i is a no buy, the entry car for my wife should be MINI or 330i class vehicle. where I should always drive 530i or E350 for normal route and S class just sitting there to complement my property design or use as vehicle to attend event. Supercar like ferrari cant just be bought frm any AP place for under 400K and sit only in my car porch driving 1 round per month or just to impress my friend. Camry? Mazda? maybe the boot is big for IKea thing or when I wanna go McD supper doesn’t wanna attract attention and scratch resistant because I dont give a damn even if it is scratched.

• Still kosong in safety spec. It is 2020 and still Passive Cruise Control no autonomous breaking and collision warning in the RM200k bracket?
    I think C-Class will still be leading in this segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 140
    • BeemerFreak on Jan 09, 2020 at 5:32 pm

This the best 3er ever riding on 5Series platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • 10 ppl buy luxury brand, only 3 ppl appreciate the mechanical of the car while the rest only want the badge and whats latest fancy gadget inside..

The real enthusiast only can afford used Beemer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • paparadzi on Jan 09, 2020 at 10:15 pm

Autonomous breaking? You want the car to break down by itself?

• Bayern Munich Wotowerks on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:36 pm

Stop playing phone and bit focus and bevv alert while driving la damn sohai punya uncle. Kaki mata ada pun harapkan autonomous brake kah

• Carfan on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:50 pm

That’s why better buy Bezza. Safety? Bezza got AEB. Reliability? Bezza wins by miles. Rear leg room? Bezza got more room. Handling? Spend some money for ultra racing then can tapao ferrari already. Power? Ecu remapping plus turbo 1.5 bar enough to tapao 3 series even the m3 lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • #LoveBMWupgradesafetyfeatures on Jan 10, 2020 at 3:16 am

Totally aggreed, how come dont have all that, even new Corolla Altis have them now, Perodua also got ASA, pitty G20

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Game over on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:57 pm

There is a lot of downgrade
    1.instrument panel BMW live cockpit professional one generation back from 10.25 inch to 8.8 inch
    2.Infotainment system from 7.0 to 6.0

And still no AEB, ACC and ect… Driving aid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 67
    • Veyron Owner on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:09 pm

BMWs are more towards driver involvement hence they are keeping it purer for drivers enjoyment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 36
      • Do you why 1series change from RWD to FWD? Major of buyers don’t even know or care the mechanical bits.. all the want in this segment are the badge and latest gadgets/ fancy features.. minority are the real enthusiast who wants driving dynamic..

• Jeremy on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:49 am

That was a commercial decision. Purist will tell you get 3 Series onwards if you want a proper BMW.

• Without the driving aids, BMW is hoping on its car’s driving experience to lure customers. Hope it works, just love looking at this 3 series on arod.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • JOACHIM on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:24 pm

It worked before, while Merc is arguably the ones with superior ride, NVH, and comfort, BMW have always spurned all drivers aids for the fun of driving. Don’t get me wrong though, this isn’t the same like a Perodua kosong spec version. That car doesn’t anything fun which to speak off, it is just cheap for the sake of being cheap.

• From your words, Straight away You are not owning either Beemer nor Merc. My 2018 530i is anyday better quality nvh comfort and ride than my air suspension 2017 S400. my 2012 528i is so much better and cushy, quieter, and handles than my 2014 E250, and my F30 330e can FK my C250amg. I kept such fact from my friends and always buy another new merc to keep in my house because, well, I always wanna have both and since I have both I wont wanna damage either image. But honestly, those who can’t afford both, Bmw is the right choice. My first merc is E200 1995, then e280 first generation round eye, my first bmw is 520i bangle butt. so I can say I drive bmw and merc my whole life. Audi I happen to own the first A4 with led DRL just because it is the first to have it. then the very cheap 288k audi A6H. sole both and not buying again because their rear suspension always problematic. Interior passanger compartment always loose. and after 3 years, headache. Euromobil is a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • passion on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:03 pm

super hard ride on the 330i. from JB to KL whole body ache. must be the run flats i guess!
    i wonder if this 320i will be the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • Jacob on Jan 09, 2020 at 5:44 pm

How come when I ride my sports car from Singapore to KL got no back problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • Datuk Maslan on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:39 pm

might as well topup abit for a fill-to-the-brim S60 T8

400hp 640nm of goodness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
    • Tun Your Head on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:45 pm

Shall get Passat and not Volvo where goyang like boat at hiway

• danielthw on Jan 09, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Despite the lack of features and safety kit, the silver lining are the more legible conventional instrument clusters, standard suspension and smaller wheels for greater comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Yesir on Jan 09, 2020 at 9:25 pm

BMW Malaysia never failed to provide surprises with the specs ; c/w reversing assistance eventhough most of time the car is forward moving but without simple AEB…

• Yesir on Jan 09, 2020 at 10:37 pm

BMW Malaysia never failed to providede surprises with the specs ; c/w reversing assistance eventhough most of time the car is forward moving but without simple AEB…

• vivizurianti on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:13 pm

Meanwhile……the beemer nose-grill gotten even bigger….

• Mr Visionary on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:39 pm

Better buy the game changing Bezza. Safety? Bezza got AEB while 3 series doesn’t which shows perodua cares more for our safety compared to bmw. Rear leg room? Bezza wins by miles. Power? Just add turbo 1.5bar plus ECU remapping sure Bezza can tapao 3 series even the M3. Handling? Spend some money add ultra racing bar can even tapao Lamborghini!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Jeremy on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:53 am

I saw Perodua fanboyism overflowing out from the many Bezza threads but until your delusions contaminate this thread? You peeps need serious help for that chronic mental issue to come and compare your cheap car with this luxury brand.

• Visionary on Jan 10, 2020 at 4:51 pm

Stop being brand whores

• This is prime example when Perodua fanboys went off the bend and straight into delirious insanity. All for a cheap, unremarkable car. I should feel sorry but I think pity is more apt as this breakdown are self-inflicted.

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 10, 2020 at 8:31 am

The new G20 320i selling at RM244k is seriously not bad when come to think of the F30 320i was selling RM239k back to 2012. As usual for Conti car when the model launched 2 years it will start to offer pre-own or pre-reg and easily get RM20-30k discount. So for those who afford Camry and new Accord (likely priced at RM190k) will then afford G20.

Oh ya, don’t forget this G20 is come with 5 years free services so it will then cheaper than both Camry and Accord if buying pre-reg.

• msia driver on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:55 am

that why nowadays very rare to see new camry and accord on the road..frankly specking i only see 1-2 biji new camry on the road until now…lolzz

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 28, 2020 at 10:17 am

There are some argue Camry has a lot active safety features than many Conti cars. But again Camry is using old engine and transmission but yet selling at high price. Paying 20 or 30k more get a pre reg 320i the driving is more fun and more prestigious plus free 5 years services, only down sides are smaller cabin space and lose out some safety features. To me I will choose 320i over Camry any time coz I sit at driver seat most of the time.

• Is there a 3 series 320i sport vs A class saloon progresive line? Which would be a better buy? It seems 3 series feels more manly to drive than a A class which feels more feminine?

• Disappointed on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:51 pm

Luckily steering wheel included with that price