GALLERY: 2020 G20 BMW 320i Sport – RM243,800

Yesterday’s launch of the G20 BMW 320i Sport made it to the top of the news pile, and since there’s quite a bit of hype surrounding the new CKD sedan, we’re bringing you guys a full gallery to check it out in detail. The entry-level 3 Series is priced at RM243,800, and it comes with the usual BMW five-year unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service, 24-month run-flat tyre warranty, and BMW Roadside Assistance.

The car you see in this set of photo is finished in Mediterranean Blue, which is one of five exterior colours available, the rest being Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Mineral Grey, and Sunset Orange. It gets BMW Individual high-gloss shadow line as standard, complete with adaptive LED headlights with LED DRLs, conjoined kidney grille with chrome surrounds, and a less aggressive lower bumper with T-shaped LED fog lamps and integrated air curtains.

Rolling stock measures 18-inches in size, shod with 225/45 profile Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3 rubbers on all four corners. Do note that the 330i M Sport has wider rear tyres (255/40 R18) to better manage the extra grunt. This being the Sport model, the window surrounds are finished in gloss black, which is the same treatment as that on the 330i M Sport.

Over to the back, the sedan gets full LED tail lights, dual exhaust pipes, and a more subtle bumper with the same T-shaped inserts. Other exterior design bits include keyless entry (with BMW Digital Key), shark fin antenna, and a reverse camera.

Inside, the 320i Sport settles for BMW Live Cockpit Plus instead of the more advanced BMW Live Cockpit Professional, which comprises a traditional set of analogue gauges with an integrated 5.7-inch digital display along the bottom. The centre touchscreen display now measures 8.8-inch diagonally, and looks noticeably smaller than the fancier 10.25-inch unit from the BMW Live Cockpit Professional.

Besides the thicker bezels, the head unit also runs on the older BMW Operating System 6.0. As for the sound system, there are only six speakers here, but at least there’s Qi wireless charging tray, three-zone automatic climate control, and 11-colour ambient lighting system.

Elsewhere, the cabin gets aluminium ‘mesh effect’ trims finished in pearl chrome, black Vernasca leather upholstery, powered driver seat with memory function, a new three-spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel with shift paddles, as well as contactless boot opening.

For engine, it gets the same B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with BMW TwinPower Turbo, albeit tuned down to produce 184 hp at 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 300 Nm at 1,350 to 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to the rear wheels through an eight-speed ZF automatic gearbox, sending the sedan from 0-100 km/h in 7.1 seconds. Top speed is 235 km/h, while the combined fuel consumption is 6.3 litres per 100 km.

In the safety department, it only gets six airbags, Isofix child seat mounts on the two outer rear seats, and the usual active safety systems such as Dynamic Stability Control with Dynamic Traction Control, Cornering Brake Control, and Dynamic Brake Control. As for driver assistance systems, there’s only Attentiveness Assistant, passive cruise control with braking function, and parking assistant with reversing assist.

Finally, the 320i Sport comes with BMW ConnectedDrive services with Intelligent Emergency Call, Teleservices, BMW Digital Key, and welcome lights. Once again, the BMW 320i Sport retails at RM243,800, and can be purchased via the Balloon Financing Plan (offered by BMW Group Financial Services Malaysia) from RM2,788 monthly (figure is based on 80% loan on a five-year tenure).

GALLERY: 2020 G20 BMW 330i M Sport (CKD)

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• (Like) G20 3 Series and S60
    (Dislike) C Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 17
  • Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Jan 10, 2020 at 1:21 pm

Do you know why this BMW is overpriced? Well the answer is Sime Darby. They need to make lots of money to feed their overbloated 30,000 staff. In actual fact, Sime Darby just needs 15,000 workers to run efficiently, but because they have Government directive to take all local grads in despite qualified or not, they have to feed now 30,000 people

This is why BMW prices are expensive.

Our Accord and Camry also same story. Overpriced because they need to feed the lazy DRB and UMW overbloated staff.

UMW and DRB need only 40% of their staff to run efficiently. But because they are GLC, they are told to give local grads free jobs.

So this is why our Accord and Camry are so expensive, they need the money to pay their overbloated staff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 58
    • 25yrsOld on Jan 10, 2020 at 1:56 pm

1. American pay $40k for BMW 330i with Advanced Safety Fea 5.8s to 60mph
      2. American pay $37k for BMW 2 Gran Coupe AWD

Malaysian pay # $60k for BMW 320i 7.1s to 100km/h
      with Kosong Advanced Safety Features. No AEBraking, etc

Even all perodua flagship spec Axia to Aruz and Proton flagship spec X70 have them. only $10k starting price to get Advanced Safety Features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
      • macampondan on Jan 12, 2020 at 8:51 am

pls migrate to America

• macampondan on Jan 12, 2020 at 8:54 am

oh..wait…. qe going to see massive Singaporean migrate to MY just because car is cheaper

• Ahmadjr on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:40 pm

Luckily smart PH ministers stick to Perdana ,

• apaNi? on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:52 pm

Sime Darby or Auto Bavaria is just another dealer like Ingress and Quill for BMW Malaysia lah.

• msia driver on Jan 10, 2020 at 3:17 pm

so close down all car shop and sell it at shopee and lazada, just left the service center is enough.
      at least can cut 40% staff which can save few hundred million per year, that time this car can sell below rm144k…lolzz

• Nasi ayam bonda on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:18 pm

Go to earn more money and get one lar. Instead of complaint this and that. This is why u still can’t afford one of this.

• johnweak on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:19 pm

government provide job opportunity u also complain…dont provide job opportunity u also complain…malaysian are hard to impressed

• Michael Wong on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:35 pm

Well said. We should employ based on skill and merit. But in Malaysia, our GLCs just employ for the fun of it.

For example, Proton has 12,000 workers. It produces 60,000 cars per annum

Mitsubishi in Thailand has 6000 workers. It produces 350,000 cars per annum

12,000 workers making 60,000 cars vs 6000 workers making 350,000 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Err what? What is this wall of nonsense that I am seeing? Did I get the wrong site or did you? I thought this was an automotive blog and this here is a BMW article, but what nonsense I see from you is nothing related to automotive nor BMW.

Look dude. If you want to crap, do in the toilet and not in front the public. It is disgusting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Veyron Owner on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:53 pm

Don’t complain about overprice. It is not, when you see the overall package.

If you cannot afford it, don’t blame other people. Go out and work for it.

When you are poor and jealous why other people can afford but not you, it is because you don’t work hard enough.

Don’t be envious of other people’s wealth. They can afford it but you can’t because you don’t work hard for it.

So stop trolling, stop being lazy, stop being a keyboard warrior and get out to work hard.

When you work hard like everyone else, you can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:58 pm

Get the govt to reduce city and vios prices down to persona and myvi level (45-55k) first, which will allow corolla and civic to come down to 80-90k level like 25 years ago.

Following suit is Camry and according from 160-180k down to 120-130k. Then the 3 series will be selling at around 170-180k.

This can be done, as apparent in prices in other world markets and also evident in the amount of excise duty, GST and other races.

The rest is all greediness.

• Abe Lajak on Jan 10, 2020 at 6:39 pm

brainless comment with no brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • And you know this how ?

• redpilled on Jan 11, 2020 at 1:38 pm

thats some tall accusations you have there. you mind proving it in court?

• Think forward on Jan 11, 2020 at 3:09 pm

Then the Employer should fire you to run efficiently and keep running cost, is not like every staff at the sime darby are lazy, that’s like saying all humans have the same traits.

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 19, 2020 at 2:27 pm

FYI, BMW Malaysia is the one who set the pricing not Sime Darby. Sime Darby is just a distributor is BMW like Ingress or Quill.

• badrol sham on Jan 10, 2020 at 1:25 pm

None wow factor on the 320i specs. but with pre-reg units for RM210k only, this new Mazda6 and Camry pricings… plus BMW free servis 5year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 34
    • 320i is tin kosong, whereas m6 2.2T diesel and Camry are full specs…m6 has also 5 years free service too

• When will BMW add active safety aids to the 3 series? Until then….its not on my list :(

• I have a 530i cbu with those active safety features. A s400 with auto steering drive as well. I turn them off or set to lowest sensitivity. it is useless in Malaysia. With so many motorcycle around and drive so near to out car, one zip pass like a fly the system go into panic mode and thought someone come near. It auto brake to the full and then release all in 1 sec. the sensation is exactly same as being rear ended from behind with everyone heart rate shoot to 200 per minutes and the driver got stun from that incident. then another zip pass during traffic jam and the same things go again. You will die from cardiac arrest if you have a weak heart or happen to be a senior with heart problem. at the end you just turn the god damn stupid safety system off. only those people who do not own such system dream of it like its heaven by right all are jokes. auto parking frm S400 and 530i is also a joke. It make decision to park or not according to the difficulty of going in, where human surely see it as a parking lot it might not. and when things get tough, it stop everything in the middle and request you to take over. waste of time and be a joker to the rear car watching your nonsense.

• Exterior improves, interior outdated.
    CKD is always doubtful…tik tok after a few yrs of zooming.

• AkooIm on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:40 pm

RM240k++ and no AEB… pfftt…

• With the accessibility of info over the internet nowadays, it is hard to look past the relatively poor specced. This is year 2020. Competition is fierce and consumers should benefit from fair play. Only those less intelligent will stick to the claim that BMW Malaysia is offering superior driving machine with this car. Anyone with better intellect will know that BMW Malaysia is greedy to exploit the brand power and milking Malaysian off. Wake up. If you don’t want to offer better driving safety systems that other markets have, don’t charge expensive! Even Mazda can imitate and claim to be moving up premium by use of better materials and better spec. U, BMW on the other hand, is just resting on your laurels and simply charge high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • the driver on Jan 10, 2020 at 3:15 pm

This is the reason why the Volkswagen GTi cannot sell in M’sia. At RM225k for the VW GTi and the BMW at RM243k, which would you choose?
    It’s been said many times VGM is stupid not to locally assemble their ‘most wanted’ cars here instead choosing to locally assemble the less wanted cars like the Passat and Polo

• Car Enthusiast on Jan 12, 2020 at 6:08 pm

Golf Gti drives tonnes better than an entry level 320i. Don’t believe me take them for a drive yourself, unless your a badge snob its easy to see which is the better car. Additionally I prefer a car made in Germany than a car make in Pekan thanks.

• the driver on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:51 am

Wrong, VW Golf GTi is made in South Africa like BMW is made in Pekan. Built in their respective countries perhaps but assembled elsewhere

• Car Enthusiast on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:37 pm

Golfs are made in Wolfsburg Germany, go to the showroom get the chassis number plug it in into VW website see where its from.

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 19, 2020 at 2:30 pm

Golf GTI is direct import from Wolfsburg Germany. For CKD model like Tiguan and Passat all components are direct from Wolfsburg except the harness wiring of Passat is from local Malaysia but products by an American company. For Polo and Vento all parts are from India, none of the component made in Malaysia.

• Vincent on Jan 10, 2020 at 3:18 pm

BMW is a premium brand… pricing should be at least 30% higher than those Japanese same spec cars. BMW been dropping their price using pre-own packages. I do not see this as good strategy. End of the day, the depreciation of BMW car will push away new potential car buyer! Imaging a 330e, new car 242K, 2018 end approved used car at the price of 170K.. depreciated 70K in less than 15 months. 2018 530e is below 210K during paultan auto show, 120K drop in 15 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • autodriver (Member) on Jan 19, 2020 at 3:11 pm

Hybrid vehicles in Malaysia are suffering huge depreciation regardless brand. In fact Malaysia hybrid car price is almost similar to overseas as it almost no excise duty. Without EV incentive the 330e should be at least 330k but it sold at 260k. So the owner of 330e already save up huge amount of money from the EV incentive in advance and should be able to accept the bad resale value.

• Klopp on Jan 10, 2020 at 4:49 pm

Still no tweeters for RM240k car bros.

• 7yearsfd1 on Jan 12, 2020 at 6:46 pm

that downgraded meter cluster is absolute sin. everything else still OK but not that.

it ruined the whole interior looks , i mean that angular digital meter clusters are one of the main thing for the whole G20 development!

• dumbdumb on Feb 17, 2020 at 1:31 am

all other countries like indonesia and singapore…the 320i… gets everything..but why here no got… :(..i feel u..

• This body kit is really ugly compared to the M Sport on the 330i, I think most would opt for the 330i simply because of the HP and the more aggressive looks.

One other thing I wish is that they would provide package for driver assists like AEB, blind spot, etc. Sure, don’t need to include it initially but give people who want it an option to upgrade for maybe RM10k or something.