TAS 2020: Daihatsu Rocky Sporty Style bodykit – can Perodua GearUp do better than this for the D55L?

The recently-launched JDM Daihatsu Rocky, which along with the Toyota Raize will be sister cars to the upcoming Perodua D55L SUV, has three exterior styling packages for customers to pick at Japanese showrooms. The styles are Elegance, Powerful and Sporty – we’re focusing on the latter here.

The Sporty Style for the Rocky is essentially a Perodua GearUp type of package combining a bodykit, exterior decals and some interior trim accents. The Sporty five-piece bodykit consists of a prominent front chin spoiler, side skirts, rear lip, and a raised rear spoiler.

On the standard Rocky, the lower ring of the car is in SUV-style black plastic, but the Sporty’s add-on bits are in body colour. The package costs 200,000 yen (RM7,448). Speaking of body colour, what you’re seeing here is the new Compagno Red, which is described as a saturated colour that glows crimson with light. It’s one of three colours that can be had with a two-tone black roof effect.

The Tokyo Auto Salon showcar includes all available accessories, and we can see gloss black garnish on the front and rear fog lamp surrounds, red pinstripe accents grille and tailgate trim, a carbon-style fuel cap sticker and 16-inch six twin-spoke alloys in black. As for decals, we see fake “gills” on the fenders and twin black stripes on the hood and tailgate.

Inside, one can add on leather seats with red borders and stitching, as well as “red carbon” trim on the door handle surrounds, area surrounding the power window controls and gear lever bezel. It’s all a little over the top, but that’s the trend.

The Daihatsu Rocky is powered by a 1.0 litre three-cylinder turbo engine with 98 PS and 140 Nm. Paired to a CVT, it’s also optionally available in Japan with all-wheel drive. WLTP fuel efficiency figures are 18.6 km/l and 17.4 km/l for the AWD. Under the skin, which is very compact at just below four metres long, is the new DNGA platform.

The Perodua version of the Rocky, codenamed D55L, should surface sometime later this year. I’m putting my money on Perodua, which does the sporty look better than Daihatsu due to ample training (Malaysians aren’t very subtle in taste), doing an even better looking base face and GearUp kit than the Rocky’s Sporty style.

By the way, it has been a long time since we’re getting a P2 model that’s also on sale in Japan, so parts and tuning possibilities should be wider than usual. What do you think of this compact SUV and its Sporty kit?

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky Sporty Style

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xem6861 on Jan 12, 2020 at 9:49 am

Wondering Toyota run out of better engine spec option? A natural aspirated 1.6/1.8/2.0 4 cylinder spec to produce minimum 160Nm to 200Nm torque should be adequate to pull this large tire 5 fully loaded adults with luggage smoothly.

• Darren on Jan 13, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Perodua tipu Malaysia, telling us they are national carmaker but Myvi old gen is a rebadge Daihatsu Boon. Perodua should pay back the billions of ringgit from 25 years of tax incentives they received as a national carmaker because in real they don’t qualify as one.

• cerealOatMeals on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:35 pm

how about Proton?? rebadge from Mitsubishi, Citroen, Suzuki and Geely as well. based on ur comment, then no one are qualify.

• Datuk on Jan 12, 2020 at 11:19 am

1st launch, it will looks as good as rocky/race.
    Facelift model 3yrs later will be better.

• Fariz on Jan 12, 2020 at 12:27 pm

I hope they calls it the Kembara

• Leong on Jan 12, 2020 at 1:26 pm

Have been seeing this D55 tease for some time. When is Perodua going to officially launch it. Perodua please work faster and efficient . Launch it fast since you have decided to introduce. To be able to compete in this industry please get it out fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Bossku Biniku on Jan 12, 2020 at 5:02 pm

So right mate! It speak volumes when you’ve highly esteemed PT squad, Danny to proclaimed “I’m putting my money on Perodua” !!

• English Teacher on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:50 am

You need to buckup on your English Language skills. When Danny said putting his money on Perodua, he was meaning he is very certain Perodua GearUp kit will be more bombastic than subtler Japanese bodykits. It doesn’t mean he is buying a Perodua. This unlike another Paul Tan writer whom actually bought a Proton. He really did put money where his mouth is.

• P2suv on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:00 am

This p2 d55l suv will sell like hot cheese cake believe me.

• Gv n take on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:03 am

Only 1 way p1 can fight p2, tat is to rebadge suzuki vitara rather than unknown binyue.
      Vitara and rocky will fight a pretty good match.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Celup King on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:14 am

Perodua fans been talking about how gamechanging their company have been but all I see is gameover talking. They have been talking about gamechanger Kenari Hybrid since 2003. Yes, 17 years ago!

And until today, 17 years later we still not see when are they going to sell Kenari Hybrid. None of their cars are hybrids and yet they talk and talk and talk as if they are a gamechanger but all they are is gameover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Way u go perodua. I love this upcoming perodua suv d55l a.k.a. rocky / raize. I will be the 1st to book! When will launch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Rahman Zaidi on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:22 am

Once it comes out, nobody is going to buy China rebadged low quality car anymore.

Everybody trust in Toyota quality engines. This is why Toyota engines are sold all over the world and China cars are not sold in any FIRST WORLD country.

Have you seen China car in USA, Europe, Japan, Australia/NZ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • His Friend on Jan 13, 2020 at 12:08 pm

Previously my friend here told us we should not follow China and instead follow his Japan overlord. Now his Japan overlord has fallen and their sales are going down the drain, then we have another that told us we should follow China. In that case I propose we follow Martians. At least they have flying cars. Agreed?

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 12, 2020 at 2:21 pm

Perodua is a Game-Changing creative carmaker when it comes to designing. I believe that Perodua GearUp for their upcoming D55L SUV can be better than Rocky Sporty Style. Also, I agree to Danny Tan’s Game-Changing statement that Perodua does sportier look due to ample training. Proton should learn from Perodua too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • CurtainsShare on Jan 12, 2020 at 4:52 pm

6 Global Geely Design Centres Sharing/Combined Expertise With P1 vs Daihatsu Japan & P2 Design Ctrs. Totally Different Target Markets Positioning According to Specs : Overall Inside&Outside Designs Engine&Transmission & Advance Safety Equipments. P1 Next Products No Longer Compete Against P2 In Which Return Profits Per Unit Much Bigger.

• Lenny on Jan 12, 2020 at 6:14 pm

“game changing creative “carmaker”” perodua rebadge rly lol nothing creative or ori all japan tech atleast proton tried to build car it may not be perfect atleat it handle better, nvh better and more safety

• Celup King on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:24 am

I am still waiting for your gamechanging Kenari Hybrid.

Where is the car that was promised since 2003?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • I want rocky on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:46 am

Yap for sure perodua will design better n sportier gear up kits for this handsome suv. Cant wait to buy 1.

• Musang King on Jan 12, 2020 at 3:13 pm

Perodua Kembara 1.0 turbo , da Game changer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • ED 1.0L 98ps 140nm Cvt transmission. Weights l980 kg, and its dimensions – 3,995 mm long, 1,695 mm wide, 1,620 mm tall, and with a 2,525 mm-long wheelbase – make it only somewhat larger than the Perodua Myvi.
      Probably you could send an official Request by gathering Potential local buyers into collecting more than enough Signatures & Requests for a higher displacement turbocharged engine & automatic gearbox

• I still gonna be the 1st person to buy this perodua d55l rocky. I dont care it only 1.0 turbo 90hp. As long it can bring me from point 1 to point 2. I love this perodua d55l compact suv.

• 90HP?

• 98hp too weak. Need 1.3L Turbo 140hp

• Isaac on Jan 12, 2020 at 6:48 pm

Hopefully the price will be not more than 70k

• “They styles are Elegance, Powerful and Sporty – we’re focusing on the latter here.”
    Typo on they. And latter is the second of two choices I believe. There are three variants here.

• 1.0 turbo but why PS is so small compare to competitor?

daihatsu/toyota = 98PS
    nissan = 103PS
    suzuki = 109PS
    honda = 121PS

• kah kah kah kah!

• aires on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:18 am

Perodua the best.. No bail out!

• Amran on Jan 13, 2020 at 12:51 pm

Perodua cars don’t allow people bailout now wonder they had the highest fatalities during accidents. Kesian the people inside.

• thepolygon on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:11 am

Please use back the name Kembara.

• Justice on Jan 14, 2020 at 6:13 pm

perodua can make comedy cars