February 2020 week two fuel price – RON 95 down by four sen, RON 97 down seven sen, diesel down 10 sen

It’s the usual round of the weekly fuel price update, but there’s good news, and not just for users of RON 97 petrol, because the price of RON 95 and diesel has also dropped for the coming week.

The price of RON 95 petrol, which has been locked at its capped price of RM2.08 per litre for a good while, has gone down by four sen – the now Euro 4M-grade fuel will be priced at RM2.04 per litre over the coming February 8 to 14 week.

The same goes for Euro 2M diesel – it will be 10 sen cheaper at RM2.08 (previously, at a fixed RM2.18 per litre). As such, Euro 5 diesel – typically 10 sen more – follows suit and goes down 10 sen to RM2.18 per litre (previously, RM2.28 per litre).

Finally, RON 97, which goes down by seven sen to RM2.34 per litre from the RM2.41 last week. The finance ministry said that the cheaper fuel has come about as a result of a reduction in global oil prices. It added that should global crude oil prices rise, the government will continue to maintain the ceiling price of both RON 95 petrol and diesel at RM2.08 per litre and RM2.18 per litre respectively.

These prices remain effective until February 14, when the next fuel price update is announced. This is the sixth edition of the current weekly fuel pricing format for the year and the 57th edition in total for the format, which runs from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tikus where are you tikus on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:13 pm

Where is “cheaper petrol price” guy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • Kancil Hybrid on Feb 07, 2020 at 8:11 pm

he Q’ing isik Minyak kuning RON95 turun 4sen..

• Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:14 am

petrol is so cheap….lagi want cheaper kah? Go to Singapore, petrol is RM6 per liter.

Here we pay 3X less

• So cheap our Ron 95. Syukur and thank you!!!!!!

This is the best Government ever!!!!!!!!!!

JIMAT BERBALOI

• Merican on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Tak habis habis with fake news of RM1.50 petrol. So sick and tired with fake news from disgruntled people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • This is an official callout from your Government.
          Can anyone teach us how to unpromise all those promises we made? We are quite screwed with that.

Clearly denying those promises we made no longer works so we need another way and that is to unpromise all our promises.

Your dedak for your service if this succeeds will be priceless.

• Kassim B Khairul on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:17 pm

PH confirmed they had made those election pledges and now the citizen are angry at them breaking all of it.

• Shaharul on Feb 10, 2020 at 8:33 am

Tolls reduced, petrol reduced, apa lagi nak? Baik mintak FREE

We are all happy

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:03 pm

PH promised petrol @RM1.50 per liter and all tolls @RM0.00 (abolished).
            Reduce not the same as abolished. Apa lagi nak tipu kita?

• Chavez on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:01 am

He got bora bora for few days but now he is back with usual copy paste BS.

• Badrul on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:10 am

Malaysians are so happy petrol price reduced. If follow previous inefficient and lembap Government, now sure RM2.80 per liter.

• Advice to the Malaysian Government on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:28 am

Give the Petrol Station licences to all Malaysians and not a selected few. We will then see much improvement in the stations and even the pricing of petrol

• Awang Selamat on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Those who complain about our petrol prices are those that do not know how to live within their means. You just have a normal job ie like kerani but you want to have many wives and 15 children.

Of course your expenses will be very high every month. Your commitments will be so high. No wonder why you find petrol is very expensive.

Keep things simple. Keep your expenses minimum. Keep your commitments low. You will find petrol is very cheap in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 65
    • Lukman on Feb 07, 2020 at 11:29 pm

Correct. Tol reduced, Petrol cheapest in region..

• Kunta = tikus = ASB = many others on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:55 am

Yes Kunta. We bilip you. Oh yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Badrul on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:14 am

So happy with the new cheap prices. Malaysians are overjoyed today. I also can celebrate Thaipusam holiday happily

• Hisham on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:24 am

Minyak dah murah, let us be happy. Don’t always be unhappy with everything in life. Small problem also want to talak3 and give up everything.

• yawnz on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:05 pm

If you unhappy pls go somewhere else. Don’t need to vent your frusst here.

• Jaslan Hamidi on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:49 am

Hooray!!!! Minyak murah. Kerajaan memang prihatin dan baik hati!!!!!!!!!!!

• Hooray we sinkies continue to pump cheap petrol from M’sia. Kerajaan Me’sia memang prihatin dan baik hati to us sinkies!!!! Your citizen remain poor while we continue to be rich!!!! Wahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Shaharul on Feb 10, 2020 at 8:37 am

Majority in Malaysia like to action and show off new car

• Samad Abdul Rahman on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:17 pm

Thank you gomen for keeping prices low and attractive. I save a lot of money, I can buy a better car for myself now.

But I also advice those who buy new cars, make sure you are stabil and can afford it. Don’t just tembak and buy a Vellfire or a Alphard just to show off to Opah in kampung, then 2 months later cannot afford payment.

This is why we have so many tarik baliks and sambung bayar in Malaysia. Many just tembak and buy but in actual fact they cannot afford the luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 55
    • Hisham on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:27 am

Usually we have this problem just right after Raya.

• Jaslan Hamidi on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:50 am

now got less corruption, so =, the money goes back to the rakyat via cheaper petrol!!!!

• Manifesto Dicapati on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:57 am

Different smell, same capati

• Angry Voters on Feb 08, 2020 at 4:25 pm

Prices low and attractive for ministers to zoom zoom in their tax money paid Alphards & Vellfires while common rakyat suffers because it is not cheap nor attractive for us. What a pity our ministers are so separated from the common rakyat now.

• Wawasan 2020 Sudah Hilang. on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:23 pm

Our petrol can be cheaper if we are more competitive and efficient. Time to give up NAP, NEP and affirmative policy. It is time our country becomes like Singapork where everything is merit based and it is a meritocratic society.

Everyone of the rakyat is the SAME

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 59
    • Kassim B Khairul on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:18 pm

If everyone of the rakyat is the SAME, why are so many sinkies leaving singapore? Perhaps that is the reason why.

• Shaharul on Feb 10, 2020 at 8:39 am

We should abolish preferential treatment. Until then, we cannot be developed nation

• the Truth about Petrol Stations and Prices of Petrol on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:28 pm

I don’t know why always the abang abang are the ones complaining petrol is expensip.

It is their own people that run the petrol stations. It is PDAM that is making a big margin from the petrol being sold.

PDAM margin is about 30 sen per liter.

In other countries, although gomen fix the price, the petrol stations compete with each other by lowering their prices (eating into their margin) to promote healthy competitions amongst petrol stations owners.

Here, PDAM members don’t want to reduce a sen despite employing super cheap Bangladeshi labour.

If PDAM is not greedy, they can untung lesser and give rakyat savings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 40
    • Curious. If PDAM are the ones setting the fuel prices, why isn’t PDAM making the fuel price announcements? Sila beri pencerahan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:01 am

English not good. The commentator above said price of petrol is determined by Government but petrol dealers have margin to reduce their own prices if they wanted to by cutting down their own profits.

This is why we need to improve our English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:59 am

Nope. Price is fixed by the Government not the dealers. Please improve on your comprehension not just your poor English skills.

• Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:11 am

Open up the lesen to China companies form China. You will see the prices sure go down.

• And tell me which businesses and businessman would cut their own profits for charity? Just name me one will do. And petrol prices are set by the franchise holders ie Shell Malaysia, Petron San Miguel, etc, it isn’t determined by petrol dealers so how on earth they can reduce prices themselves? Do you see a McDs having different pricing from each other?

• Western Star on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:07 pm

When yr anak daddykasi going to start the ball rolling by reducing Petron pump prices? I’m waiting….

• Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:10 am

well said, I went to UK I saw petrol stations all got different prices. All lawan with each other

• Jeremy on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:49 pm

In UK, the PM son doesn’t own one of the petrol company. Here we need to protect the son.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:34 pm

Still capati as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Jaslan Hamidi on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:56 am

Gip you RM1.50 then u ask RM1.10. Everything want cheap cheap

• Calvin on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Nope. Nobody is asking for RM1.10 because that wasn’t promised. People are angry they didn’t get RM1.50 petrol, nothing more nothing less is demanded as promised. So Pakatan should just fulfill the promise. Simple as that, don’t need ministers with fake degrees to understand that.

• John = Gary = Alan = Angry Voters = Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Waiting for the usual fake news asking RM1.50 mana. Dah bosan lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 45
  • Arnie on Feb 07, 2020 at 5:38 pm

Lets give thanks to coronavirus for this gift of lower fuel prices. We hope this epidemic continues so we can enjoy lower fuel prices and I hope Pakatan can now honour their election promise of RM 1.50 per liter petrol without giving us more excuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 40
    • Is this Uitm logic? How can virus bring down petrol prices? Ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
      • Logical Deduction on Feb 08, 2020 at 4:17 pm

The Economist reported global oil prices are down due to coronavirus. I guess UEC logic cannot brain what Uitm and global experts are thinking.

• Aura89 on Feb 08, 2020 at 7:13 pm

That is the problem with fanboys. You don’t learn what is happening around the world. You only read your propaganda and nothing more. That is why Malaysia cannot progress.

• expected quality. Nothing new really

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Were you stuck in a cave and didn’t have the facilities to get the latest news?

• Halim on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:26 pm

Problem is RM1:50 fuel price is not in PH manifesto. All those videos were taken out of context. Classic BN cybertroopers!

• Calvin on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:14 pm

Hundreds of thousands people went for these ceramahs that were videoed and posted onto social media. Are you telling us, all these Pakatan followers lying to us? How could BN do any of that when the vids were taken in Pakatan ceramahs, by Pakatan followers, posted on Pakatan social media, and viraled by Pakatan people globally? If BN had so much influence to do all that they would still be in power today. So where did the lie come from? Well obviously Pakatan of course!

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:00 am

English not good. The commentator above said price of petrol is determined by Government but petrol dealers have margin to reduce their own prices if they wanted to by cutting down their own profits.

This is why we need to improve our English

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Feb 10, 2020 at 7:16 am

Thank you government.. But, please ensure no stupid statement like toll -18% (this price reduce saved government xx millions ringgit annually).

• Amran on Feb 11, 2020 at 10:32 am

Esok minyak turun, hari ni tukar kereta baru..