2020 Proton X70 CKD launched in Malaysia – Volvo 7DCT, +15 Nm, 13% better economy; RM95k to RM123k

More than a year after the Proton X70 was launched, the national carmaker’s first SUV is now assembled in Malaysia, and the 2020 model year finally goes on sale today. The CKD model brings a few welcome improvements based on customer feedback, as well as a brand new gearbox.

Let’s get straight to the most important bit, pricing. The variants have all received a marginal price drop, with the Standard 2WD model retailing at RM94,800 (RM5,000 less), the Executive 2WD model at RM106,800 (RM3,000 less) and the Premium 2WD model at RM119,800 (RM4,000 less). The sole all-wheel drive version, the Executive AWD, has been dropped due to low demand, and the 2020 X70 also heralds the introduction of the range-topping Premium X, priced at RM122,800.

All prices are on-the-road without insurance and come with a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty, five times of free labour servicing, a five-year data package (1GB per month) and interest rates as low as 2.32% per annum. Buyers will also get several insurance benefits that include a waiver of betterment costs of up to 10 years, an agreed value coverage of up to 12 years, a key care cover of up to RM1,000, a flood relief allowance of up to RM1,000, coverage for all drivers and personal accident coverage of up to RM15,000.

The first 3,000 customers will receive additional early bird packages such as an extra 4GB of data a month for five years (worth RM1,740) and an accessories package (worth RM2,000) that includes a dash cam, floor mats, magnetic sunshades, door visors, a boot tray and a boot organiser.

Styling-wise, you’ll be hard pressed to spot what’s new upon first glance, as the CKD version looks pretty much identical to the fully-imported (CBU) units that came before it. The only real exterior revision is the addition of Proton’s new round three-dimensional logo, which can be found on the grille, wheel caps, steering wheel airbag boss and even the windows.

Scrutinise the exterior further, you’ll also spot different tyres for the Standard (17-inch) and Executive (18-inch) models, the Giti rollers having been swapped out for Indonesia-made GT Radial Savero SUV rubber. The 19-inch rollers are still Continental UltraContact UC6 SUV units, but made in Malaysia instead of China.

Proton has also expanded the CKD X70’s colour palette to six, with Space Grey being the latest addition, exclusive to the Premium and Premium X models. Other colours include Snow White, Armour Silver, Jet Grey, Cinnamon Brown and Ruby Red. The last option is the Proton’s own colour, also used on its indigenous models, replacing the CBU X70’s Flame Red, though they look pretty much identical to the untrained eye; it and Cinnamon Brown is offered on the Executive, Premium and Premium X variants.

Inside, the most obvious revision is the redesigned electronic gearlever that controls the new Volvo/Geely-developed seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, which we’ll get to in a second. It can be operated by simply nudging it up and down, and it has a Park button on top. Proton says that pressing the latter while on the move will not result in the car being put into Park, making it foolproof.

Ventilated front seats are also now fitted from the Executive model onwards, with air being blown through the base of the seat. There’s no physical button to engage the feature, and you’ll have go through the climate control menu in the infotainment system, or use the “Hi Proton” voice command.

For passengers in the rear, the 60:40 split-folding seats now come with a reclining function, which was implemented based on customer feedback. Proton also acknowledged the need for a powered tailgate, and has made it available on the Executive variant and up, with programmable height adjustment.

There’s also a number of ways to operate the tailgate, including via the key fob, a button next to the wing mirror controls near the driver, and even a hands-free method by swiping your leg under the rear bumper (though this foot sensor is only on the Premium models). In the event the battery is flat and you need to get to the boot, there’s a dedicated tailgate latch release inside the cabin.

Speaking of the boot, Proton has also redesigned to tonneau cover to sit on rails to make the setup sturdier and easier to use. Additionally, the walls of the boot are now carpeted instead of being bare plastic components, and there’s now an additional shopping hook on the left side.

Our man and CBU X70 owner Hafriz Shah, who attended the preview drive, did note that the pre-production CKD units’ build quality looked and felt identical to his own X70, with no discernible differences. While he did observe a few finishing issues, Proton has assured that they will be fixed for the production cars.

UPDATE: The cars on display at the launch were full production units, and all the flaws have indeed been rectified.

Aside from these styling and convenience enhancements, the most significant changes take place under the skin. The 1.8 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine is mechanically the same as before, but now comes with a new engine cover that carries the script “Proton GPower”. The powerplant still produces 181 hp at 5,500 rpm, but thanks to the new gearbox, peak torque has been bumped up to 300 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm, which is 15 Nm more than the 285 Nm offered previously.

The DCT, which sends drive to the front wheels, replaces the six-speed torque converter automatic found in CBU units. Like the rest of the powertrain, its behaviour is manipulated using the three drives modes – Normal, Eco and Sport. There’s also a manual shifting option, although there are no paddle shifters here.

Used in a variety of Geely and Lynk & Co models, as well as the Volvo XC40 T5 Twin Engine, the gearbox comes from Geely’s Chunxiao plant in Ningbo, Zhejiang. For Malaysian application, the transmission has been tuned to have a slightly more aggressive power delivery compared to the Geely Boyue in China.

The development work goes beyond just minor tweaks, as Proton spent a lot of time conducting local durability testing to ensure the DCT is up to scratch. This includes multiple stress runs up and down Genting Highlands, with a total of over 100,000 km notched up over six months.

With the increased engine torque and new transmission, the CKD X70 is a whole second faster in the zero to 100 km/h sprint when compared to the CBU version (9.5 seconds versus 10.5 seconds). Fuel consumption is also 13% less at 7.6 l/100 km (13.2 km/l), with Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) certification remaining intact.

In terms of ride and handling, the X70’s steering and suspension (hard points, geometry and springs) are all the same as before, but the dampers have been tuned slightly to give better body control and less body roll, while maintaining comfort levels. According to Hafriz, the differences are very minor, saying “you might not even notice unless you’re very familiar with the CBU X70 – but definitely improved.”

As mentioned, there are four variants on offer – Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Premium 2WD and Premium X 2WD. The equipment is largely the same as on the CBU version, aside from the aforementioned new items. The only difference is that the panoramic sunroof is now offered only on the Premium X, and Proton says that making the item essentially an optional one was again down to customer feedback, as not everyone that wanted a top-of-the-line model also wanted a sunroof. The spec-by-spec comparison is as follows:

Proton X70 Standard 2WD – RM94,800

Gets as standard:

Mechanicals

• 1.8 litre T-GDI DOHC engine
  • 1,799 cc turbocharged four-cylinder petrol
  • 181 hp at 5,500 rpm, 300 Nm from 1,750 to 4,400 rpm
  • Seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission with manual shift mode
  • Three drive modes – Normal, Eco and Sport
  • Electronic power assisted steering with Normal and Sport modes
  • Electronic parking brake
  • MacPherson struts (front), multi-link with stabiliser bar (rear)
  • Ventilated brake discs (front), solid discs (rear)

Exterior

• Halogen projector headlamps with automatic on/off function
  • LED rear combination taillights
  • LED front fog lamps
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Electronic power-folding side mirrors
  • Keyless entry

Interior

• Black leather-wrapped steering wheel with multifunction controls
  • Tilt and telescopic steering wheel adjustment
  • Seven-inch LCD instrument cluster display
  • Push-button start
  • Electronic power windows with anti-trap for driver-side window
  • Black fabric upholstery
  • Manually-adjustable front seats
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats
  • Automatic dual-zone climate control with rear vents and air purification system
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment with voice command, online music streaming, navigation, smartphone connectivity, Bluetooth and 4G Wi-Fi hotspot
  • Proton Link App to check vehicle status, remote functionality
  • Six speakers
  • Six USB ports – one for data, five for charging
  • Tonneau cover
  • 18-inch steel spare wheel with 155/85 profile tyre

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side and curtain)
  • Rear seat ISOFIX child seat anchors with top tethers
  • Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS)
  • Electronic Brake-Force Distribution (EBD)
  • Brake Assist
  • Auto brake hold
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Traction control
  • Hill Hold Assist (HHA)
  • Hill Descent Control (HDC)
  • Emergency Stop Signal (ESS)
  • Four rear parking sensors
  • Reverse camera

Proton X70 Executive 2WD – RM106,800

Adds on:

Exterior

• LED projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights (DRL)
  • Automatic rain-sensing wipers
  • 18-inch alloy wheels
  • Powered tailgate

Interior

• Auto-dimming rear view mirror
  • Front welcome and footwell lamps
  • Leatherette upholstery
  • Six-way power-adjustable driver’s seat
  • Ventilated front seats
  • Eight speakers

Safety

• Two front parking sensors
  • 360-degree camera

Proton X70 Premium 2WD – RM119,800

Adds on:

Exterior

• 19-inch alloy wheels
  • Powered tailgate with hands-free operation

Interior

• Black Nappa leather multi-function steering wheel
  • Remote open/close all windows and sunroof
  • Electronic power windows with anti-trap for all windows
  • Brown Nappa leather upholstery
  • Powered lumbar adjustment for driver’s seat, four-way powered front passenger seat (with additional shoulder switches)
  • Additional voice command functionality for the infotainment system
  • Nine-speaker Kenwood sound system (with amplifier and subwoofer)

Safety

• Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
  • Blind Spot Information System (BLIS)
  • Door Opening Warning System (DOW)
  • Intelligent High Beam Control (HBC)
  • Four front parking sensors

Proton X70 Premium X 2WD – RM122,800

Adds on:

Exterior

• Panoramic sunroof

You can read our comprehensive review here, and browse full specifications and equipment of the 2020 Proton X70 on CarBase.my.

2020 Proton X70 CKD Infohub

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Standard 2WD

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Executive 2WD
GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Premium 2WD
GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Premium X 2WD
GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 CKD colour options
GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 CKD launch slides
GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 CKD official drive photos
GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 CKD official images

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Chuck Teh on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Cost for X70 is cheaper, nicer and extremely reliable using wet dct tech. Even for toyota that uses different types of gearbox which uses cvt tech that made by toyota, are more reliable and no issues at all so far, including product quality and service quality is also good too just like hyundai, subaru, bmw & mazda. But unlike for honda, especially for CRV / HRV, uses honda cvt will not last longer. This honda cvt will be more costlier to replace too. Thus, also in malaysia, honda quality is not up to higher standard as well as honda service quality is very poor too

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysian be more wiser on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Who is going to buy poor safety Honda CKD when you can get a full spec with good safer PROTON X70 CKD

Proton X70 are time tested. Quality also superbly high. And we are lucky because we can buy the X70 which is a Proton/Volvo Engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:53 am

Is this why the Boyue cannot sell in Mat Salleh countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • tokmoh. on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:29 pm

VW sells very well in Mat Salleh countries.

But they’re a flop here, a joke even. Anyone buy them is seen as naive water fish.

No wonder you’re a loser keyboard warrior, while Geely moves forward steadily climbing Fortune 500 Companies list. They know how to do business, you only know how to show how racist you are.

• VW sales is 100 times volvo sales on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:48 pm

Volvo is a failure in Malaysia and many part of the world. Even Sweden got more VW than volvo. Geelly, not pass to export there.

• tokmoh. on Feb 14, 2020 at 2:30 am

If you are not lazy, you’d realise how wrong you are. Or perhaps you intentionally lied.

Either way, it shows you’re untrustworthy.

• Goodbye Honda on Feb 14, 2020 at 9:48 am

Yesterday and today, heard that many already cancelled their City, Jazz & HRV. Everybody is talking about quality, service condition and safety. No wonder, Honda is a failure in Malaysia.

• Kimchi wong on Feb 14, 2020 at 10:54 am

Have yet to see any s90 and s60 in the toad. Have both cars launched in Maaysia?

• Peace & Calm on Feb 13, 2020 at 12:35 pm

Thanks paultan team for clearing up most nonsense comments from proton bashers. Must appreciate that, as these proton bashers must be from honda salesmen. Honda salesmen have no knowledge about quality, aftersales services, safety features as well as these honda salesmen didn’t read these articles too. But honda salesmen always come and keep on saying that honda is better than proton by creating more comments.

Instead of bashing proton especially for toyota, mazda, hyundai and etc, they should stop complaining and work harder to get proton, toyota, mazda, hyundai and etc. Because when owning proton, toyota, mazda, hyundai and etc, don’t see any complains at all.

• Chavez on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:46 pm

Cbu 6AT much better , RV going up…

• Mohd Darus Ismail Pandak on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:08 pm

Nissan X Trail now RM120k
        Mitsubishi Outlander after diskaun is RM130k.

Both cars proper 7 seater. This is what kampung people want. We have so many children. We want more seats!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
        • Mee goreng mamak on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:14 pm

This is an unfortunate news. Everyone is expecting the price to drop a lot with this CKD version. Instead, we get the same price with expected lower Game Over quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:14 pm

You want more seats, go buy a bus lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Trust me, you are better off subscribing to a Nissan rather than buying one.

• RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:51 pm

I rather use my money to buy another car.

Subaru Forester CBU RM140k
          Sell 3 years later can get RM95k

Proton X70 CKD RM120k
          Sell 3 years later can get RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
          • Poor ppl like u better buy cars with rv. The 19 inch tyre is not something u can afford.

• CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:59 pm

I rather use my money to buy another car.

Subaru Forester CBU RM140k
          Sell 3 years later can get RM95k

Proton X70 CKD RM120k
          Sell 3 years later can get RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
        • CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:21 pm

Boyue in China is RM60k but Proton X70 in Malaysia is RM120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • CBU RM123k CKD RM122k = less 1K on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:50 pm

“panoramic sunroof, pay RM122,800 for the Premium X (RM1k cheaper)”

This is the best comment ever. CBU car is RM123k. CKD is RM122k

Malaysians can now save RM1k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Sick & Tired on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:30 pm

Then leave and go buy that car of yours. No need to poison this blog with your repeated copy pasted comment 4 times in this reply alone.

• Haiz. on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:13 am

You only want to sell ur poor sales subaru n Nissan 2017 2018 2019 stock? 45k maybe considering as spare car…

• Proton Engineers Pls Wake Up on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:20 am

When you CKD a car, it means you are nationalising a car. What did our Proton engineers and designers do? The body of the car looks exactly the same.

At least do some minor changes to the body please. Have some self respect and put some Malaysian identity to the car other than the Proton logo.

Show to the world that we too are great engineers who can make improvements to the car.

I am segan and shocked that the CKD car looks exactly the same as the old car and the Boyue

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:35 am

Malaysian buyers are thinking of adding a bit more to get a more established car now since CKD price also mahal. Alternatives are

1) Mazda CX5 – RM132k
          2) Nissan X-Trail – RM125k
          3) Mitsubishi Outlander – RM140k
          4) Volkswagen Tiguan – RM135k
          5) Subaru Forester RM135k
          6) Honda CRV 2.0 VTEC – RM128k
          7) Perodua Aruz – RM73k

All the above prices include discounts. Your loan amount compared to Proton X70 loan amount beza only 1 or 2 hundred ringgit only.

Why is China car that already CKD is more or less same price as long established brands in the market?

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:00 am

My first Proton that I bought was the Proton Saga 1.5 for RM17k in 1985

I was so grateful for the car and the cheap price Proton gave me

Now, Proton give the rakyat RM121k car. Aiseh man!

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:03 am

My first Proton that I bought was the Proton Saga 1.5 for RM17k in 1985

At that time I kerja kerajaan and my gaji was RM1500

Affording a Proton no problem.

Now my son gaji is also RM1500. But his car is RM121k

How can he afford to buy his Proton?

• Dr Nasser on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:26 pm

Proton is no more a Malaysian company. This is a foreign company trying to perah Malaysians to the max.

Gila wei, turun RM$3000 sahaja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
        • Lu tak mampu beli takpe. Ramai lagi yang mampu sedang beratur. Sila ke tepi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:00 pm

Many tak mampu, just that loan makes it easier to own one. But in reality, Malaysians go deeper in debt.

As our National Car company, they should try to reduce consumer debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Nope…. Proton doesn’t owe you a thing. If you cannot afford to buy the X70, go buy a Saga.

• Lol.. on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:59 am

They have Proton Saga for u bro…..

• Proton Engineers Pls Wake Up on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:25 am

Even Volvo Malaysia also refused to bring in DCT cars into Malaysia.

Volvo Malaysia cannot be stupid. They know better.

It is a well known fact DCT and DSG cannot handle hot weather and traffic jams.

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:06 am

If Proton is no more a Malaysian company and it is just a business concern, why should I sapot it then???

• M. Ramli on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:49 pm

I have to agreed with you that honda service is doing badly done. Because my hrv always got problem. After servicing at honda, don’t expect to be better and will not get rid from the problems too. Their honda management always like to lie to others. That’s why I distrust to honda malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Mohd Darus Ismail Pandak on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Did Proton just pull the biggest conjob on Malaysians? CBU is RM123k and CKD is RM120k

What is this?

Nak tolong rakyat Malaysia ke???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:15 pm

Nope. Proton is a business, why do they need to tolong us?

• RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:19 pm

Today many decided to cancel their bookings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
        • Honda Bye Bye on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:39 pm

today so many honda buyers have cancelled for sure yeah. Hahaha!! And buy p1, toyota, mazda and etc. so honda tutup kedai

• Lol.. on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:01 am

They didn’t force u to buy bro… Got cheaper 95k model or you should just look at Proton Saga if u want affordable car…

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:08 am

If Proton is a business, why did we give is so much of support and financial assistance before?

By right, they should return the favor.

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:12 am

All the aconomy savings DCT brings will be wiped out once the car breaksdown and you got to repair the double clutch

• Dr Nasser on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:27 pm

Turun RM$3000 sahaja?

Iphone 11 pun tak boleh beli.

Apa penjimatan ni?

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:52 am

You overcharge me RM$120k but you give me less RM$3k.

What logic is this?

CKD is supposed to be less than RM$90k.

• Samad Ithnin on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Is Proton joking with Malaysians? A RM3k reduction? Serious?

Are you kidding me Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • IPOKI on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Honda Malaysia really a scammer how poor is service quality and product defect will charges a premier price to consumer. As a owner of CRV i’m really regret buy honda car instead of X70 atlease i still got few thousand buck for happy chill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:04 pm

Now local Malaysian car nearly same price as Japanese cars. I think this is the biggest scam really

• Lol... on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:05 am

Volvo gear box bro…. Is good proton doing well bro, if not rakyat Malaysia suffer…. Now is win win solution, proton making money n rakyat Malaysia happy with the car models offer by proton. Hopefully affordable Lyn N Co or Lotus models in future…

• Walau! CKD Car is RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:46 pm

This is amazing. A CKD car is RM120k. Is there something wrong with Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Where is John? on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:11 pm

Today John is hiding his face. Tak boleh tanggung malu.

He told everyone CKD will be about RM80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
        • Lets See on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:37 pm

It is okay for the price to remain, I don’t see this any problem considering how much kit is going into the car. As I see all variants are serious value for money compared to the competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:06 pm

many find the price shocking as it is supposed to be a local car. Not foreign car company.

Is this Proton or not?

• Honda Salesmen Banyak Malu on Feb 13, 2020 at 10:06 am

Where is honda salesmen who condemns proton in every articles and honda salesmen think that honda is the best than other brands but everyone will said that honda is the worst than other brands.

Today, honda salesmen are hiding

• Mohd Darus Ismail Pandak on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:13 pm

Proton said it cared for the rakyat. It said it loved the rakyat. This is Proton gift to Malaysians.

Reduce from RM123k to RM120k.

Syukurlah. Proton really CARES for RAKYAT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • 26,000 is proving Proton did the right thing.

• Patriotic Malaysian on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:19 pm

I am a patriot and I would like to support barang buatan Malaysia.

How ah?? The X70 is expensip wei! Prootn is meant to be the rakyat’s car

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:13 am

I have been a patriotic of PRoton since it started in the 80s. No more now with this kind of price

• Open Letter to Proton Bosses on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:06 pm

Most Proton buyers from time immemorial have been cost conscious buyers. Cost is the most important element.

Proton buyers are not concerned with tech. If they were, these would be the BMW and Mercedes category.

So, you price your Proton cars with CKD Made in Malaysia materials at RM119k??? Tak masuk akal.

Are these to benefit the crony vendors and suppliers? Because CKD car means 75% of the car is CKD to qualify for CKD status.

How come it is as expensive as CBU?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
      • Mohd Darus Ismail Pandak on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:15 pm

tahniah Proton. Harga tinggi masih maintain

Ha ha ha ha ha ha

• Dr Nasser on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:29 pm

I better sapot Perodua, at least their SUV is priced at RM70k.

It is very disheartening to know CKD price is dekat SAMA SAMA as CBU

• RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:08 pm

Local CKD car should be cheaper. Otherwise, pls maintain it as CBU.

Bulk of buyers bought the X70 because it was CBU, They trust China parts.

• Mohd Darus Ismail Pandak on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:16 pm

Tahniah Proton! Harga paling tinggi untuk kereta CKD di Malaysia. Konon kereta tempatan!!!!

Ha ha ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Lets See on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:39 pm

I don’t see a problem maintaining the pricing considering how much kit goes into the car. For its price, all variants are serious value for money.

• Honda Loser on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Today, All Honda Salesman Crying. X70 has eaten their HRV, CRV & Civic. Proton gives advanced safety features with better quality and aftersales services. But Honda gives lousy quality and aftersales services with no advanced safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Ken Yap on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:12 pm

Proton X70 with 7 speeder dct is faster than Honda CRV.

• The Truth about DCT on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:17 pm

Proton is not a Volvo. Otherwise, nobody will buy a Volvo.

Remember that.

Don’t think you are getting Volvo quality. There is always B grade and C grade in the manufacturing industry.

Geely or Volvo will never give the expensive version for a cheapo car. Rm400k Volvo car gearbox is not going to be given to a Proton

Be careful. When rosak time, you will pay nothing less than RM60k to repair a DCT.

So what does this mean? It means after the 5 year warranty finishes, this car will have a RV of about RM20k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:24 pm

According to EPF’s own statistics, 78.3% of all its contributors earn RM1500 and below.

This means, 78% of the population already cannot afford this Malaysian National Car.

Only the rich 20% can afford.

What a pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • If so, then more than 6 million Malaysians can afford this higher-end national SUV. That’s a lot. Obviously, Proton is positioning the X70 as a premium model in its range. They have succeeded in changing perceptions with the X70. Even my relative who is a Jap car enthusiast has bought an X70 executive, and she can afford at least a C-class Merc with her five-figure monthly salary. The X50 should be the high volume SUV for Proton.

• Walau! CKD Car is RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:52 pm

Proton love the rakyat so much, they are now giving us RM3k less.

Wow, what huge savings. RM3k is not even 2% diskaun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sim Weng Kee on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Hi Proton, my butt is hot? To activate the ventilated seat?

• CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:36 pm

I wish Proton Directors had the bals to negotiate a lower price for Malaysians

Goes to show, Proton directors are just puppets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Walau! CKD Car is RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Fresh graduate (according to BNM 2019 figures) earn RM1883 per month.

How to buy this car at RM119K?

Bank also won’t give me a loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • workhard on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:15 pm

Fresh grad don’t dream of buying this car now. Go for a cheaper car like Saga. Work hard, save money then you can buy X70 or even XC90 in future

• Safety First on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:19 pm

I wouldn’t want fresh grads with P lesen to be driving such a big car on the road. Well done to Proton for pricing it only for adults to buy and drive them. Proton showed again they cared for road users safety.

• Fresh graduate want to spend so much for a car? Go work your ass off and earn the right to buy one. No shortcuts. I earn more than 350k a year but still drive a City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • You do realise you are replying to our resident troll rite? Even the poorest of fresh grads would think better than straight getting an X70.

• Dr Nasser on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:24 pm

Hi Proton, you only drop RM$3000 to RM$4000

It is obvious, you are no more a Malaysian company but a China company trying to maximise profits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:05 pm

What does it matter whether Proton is a Malaysian or Chinese company? Doesn’t matter at all since they are giving us value for money cars. That is that matters.

• tokmoh. on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:43 pm

Because they’re racist. Racial supremacy is more important than economics to them.

Biar orang kiter bolos rm1.5bil ‘soft loan’, asalkan bukan orang Cina pegang, even if they can run the business like a business, become profitable and contribute tax instead of feeling entitled to tax funds asal orang kiter.

• Tokmok sister on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:50 pm

No sales at volvo showroom must be. Apply job at perodua better. Better sales there. Need sale man

• Avenger on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:46 am

But why I see so many Perodua salesmen spending time bullshiting in PaulTan? No customers come in your showroom?

• Daryl on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Hyundai, toyota, p1, mazda, bmw will be last longer than honda

• CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Lasting longer is one thing but why didn’t my National Car company negotiate lower prices?

Even CRV 2.0 now can get RM125k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Truckers on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:42 pm

Please show me where can I get brand new CRV 2.0 @125k, I pay you 5k commission okay?

• Najib Razak on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:49 pm

wtf….i just bought imported x70 last month,very regret……value dropped 10-17k…so sad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • No worries. Sell the car next year and go get yourself X70 CKD.

• Honda LOW RV on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:52 pm

In 2017
    Proton Persona – RM47K
    Honda City – RM70K

In 2020
    Proton Persona – RM33K
    Honda City – RM45K

Honda always LOW RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Don't Cry for me Proton on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:59 pm

Don’t get too excited about the problematic DCT gearbox. Once warranty expires, to repair it, it might cost RM70k

Volvo owners are rich. They can afford such prices because their Volvo is RM400k

Proton X70 owners will cry cry cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Now who is greedy on Feb 12, 2020 at 3:55 pm

at least when proton customers make complaints, their management always look at their feedback. But unlike honda, when honda customer make complaint, their management didn’t turn up and always like to sell cars with high profit. Greedy Honda Malaysia

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:03 pm

But they still don’t offer black Nappa leather seats and the no.1 major complaint is no Android Auto or Apple Car Play. The Baidu maps is useless. Takes me on a longer route compared to Waze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Exactly. Car companies which do not offer Apple Carplay and Android Auto are asking for trouble. In western countries the auto journos have already started calling out carmakers overlooking this important aspect.

• Kleenex on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:01 pm

Haha!! HRV can tapau sales by X70

• Anonymous on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:50 pm

Honda sold 9,000 HR-Vs in 2019.
      Proton sold 26,000 CBU X70s in that same year.
      Now the CKD X70 is cheaper, how is Honda planning on tripling their 2019 sales this year?

• Ibrahim Saudah on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:40 pm

Proton buyers today very angry. So many already cancelled their orders because for 20 years we supported a company that is just giving us RM3k reduction in price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Yusof on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:29 pm

Well today honda buyers are so angry after looking negative comments about honda for not improving their standards. What a pity Honda was

• CKD with excise duty or import tax as a national car! 30% much expensive than the China price as a national car but no AWD! Yes!

Next year CKD price rise, now can get expensive than CBU! Yes! Malaysia boleh!!!

I love X70! Tax exempted national car with foreign car selling price calculation!! Yes! Support Buatan Malaysia!

• CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:26 pm

I bargain with the Subaru guy, I got Subaru Forester for RM140k for top model.

This is one of the best cars in the world. Sold in 200 over countries and regarded one of the most advanced cars in the world with a balanced Boxer engine.

China car, not even sold in any first world country, forbidden from being sold in entire USA, 30 over countries in Europe, Australia/New Zealand, Japan is being sold for RM120k.

RM20k beza?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • “Our man and CBU X70 owner Hafriz Shah, who attended the preview drive, did note that the pre-production CKD units’ build quality looked and felt identical to his own X70, with no discernible differences. While he did observe a few finishing issues, Proton has assured that they will be fixed for the production cars.”

Yeah surrrre, haha.

Also it is now 2020, many buyers today want their cars to have Android Auto/Apple Carplay. Does Geely not understand this?

• Bob_B78 on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Google not supported in China. Apple charge a premium for Carplay. Thats y is kosong. Hahaha

• Sarmad on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:09 pm

I hope no honda fanbois doesn’t come here and talk nonsense about dct proton issues. These means that you never experience for driving proton before. Look yourself, why everyone boycott honda malaysia when aftersales service and quality is bad. As well as mostly honda models have lacking of safety features.

• contender on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:15 pm

W T F …. CKD price not reduce. This is bad …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • “The variants have all received a marginal price drop, with the Standard 2WD model retailing at RM94,800 (RM5,000 less), the Executive 2WD model at RM106,800 (RM3,000 less) and the Premium 2WD model at RM119,800 (RM4,000 less).”
      Sah ini mamat pun tarak baca.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Mr Visionary on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:17 pm

94k is still too expensive for malaysia built proton, was hoping it to be priced similar to aruz. I am not gonna put my trust with my money in this proton car when they are mainly built by mat rempits from mara or uitm which also always take leave to go lepak goyang kaki and minum teh 8x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 49
    • ah beng cing cheng on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:53 pm

Downgrade our workers and local institutions much? Lol

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Stop your complain. 26,000 can afford it if you can’t. You want this car, go work harder and save up your money so you can afford it. Proton don’t owe you any tongkat if you can’t afford to buy, just work harder and you will be successful to do that eventually.

• Pyraxle on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:31 pm

But still better than your 150k CRV. Compare the price with Aruz? You must fun in your small office.

• I have to register to reply u on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:51 pm

well then take your Aruz and go away

• Anonymous on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:55 pm

The value of a product isn’t gauged by who makes it. If the quality is good and the demand is high you will have to pay decent money to own it.

The X70 wasn’t made to cater for the average citizen with a starting salary. If an average income earner cannot afford a RM94,000 car, there are loads of other options. If Aruz pricing is what you can afford, then why not just buy that? Why should the X70 – an obviously better SUV with higher tech and refinement – stoop to a budget segment?

And don’t give me the argument about how the top spec Boyue is only RM94,000 in China. A large contribution to that cheap pricing is the massive market they have, tight competition, cheap labour, and government subsidies for local makes. Cars in China – apart from exclusive and expensive brands like Mercedes – are the cheapest in the world. Top spec China CKD Honda Civic is only RM100k.

• tokmoh. on Feb 13, 2020 at 10:36 pm

The people here showed why they’re keyboard warrior, while the ones running Proton can turnaround Proton from hopeless to profitable.

Proton now is run like a business, not charity or shell to enrich incompetent cronies. These keyboard warriors only know tok kok, expose their foolishness. If they run a business, it’ll just fall flat like the old Proton.

• Not ready for 94k? Say to the car just sold 29k a year with 130k price tag? LoL.

• taknakhonda on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:21 pm

Enjoy honda gearbox. But will be short term, because there are too many problems of using cvt gearbox, feels jerking. And ask you to pay more costlier. Compare to proton gearbox, will be long term and less issues and reduce paying for gearbox replacement.

• Worthy on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:24 pm

More worth to pay proton x70 / toyota rush instead of getting overpricey hrv & crv

• Taugeh on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:25 pm

Kena con. Not even cheaper…boo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • “The variants have all received a marginal price drop, with the Standard 2WD model retailing at RM94,800 (RM5,000 less), the Executive 2WD model at RM106,800 (RM3,000 less) and the Premium 2WD model at RM119,800 (RM4,000 less).”
      Sah ini mamat tarak baca.

• Aikon on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:07 pm

You find it so hard to read is it? Please don’t comment till you’ve read the article. Pity Gerard…write so much and some ppl just blindly comment without reading your hard work first!

• im sorry but did i miss anything because i never heard proton made a promise that it’s gonna much cheaper. i’d be more bothered that the local content is below 50% although i know proton did say 30% – 40%.

the real con here is calling yourself national car when actually you just rebadge a foreign model and source most of your parts overseas.

• Come on Proton you could have change that Steering Wheel to be better or even following the ones found in the Geely Boyue – that Big Trapezoid looks so dated. Also why didn’t you change the petrol fuel lid from the left side back to the right side as I want the car to feel like a European Style as what Proton Looks to compared with but I have to feel like driving a Japanese car – also may as well change the signal light lever too.

Can Someone please help to confirm if the power is rated to be 181bhp or 184bhp as the article published 2 days ago was rated to be 184bhp.

• Anonymous on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:56 pm

The CKD needed to be cost effective, so they just used whatever steering wheel appropriate for it. To design a steering wheel that would solely be used for the X70 alone is expensive. Parts commonality reduces cost. It’s highly likely that we will see a new steering wheel design in a face-lift once the production numbers are encouraging.

It is 184 PS (Pferdestrke), which when converted to horsepower is 181.5.

• Kosumaledoko on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:41 pm

May I know what are those ridiculous engine cover are for? Sound deadening? Heat retention?

Unless there are some solid reason for it, those beauty engine cover is a stupid trend and should be remove. When I pop open my engine bonnet, I want to check for leaking, or look for worn belting.

Now with these new car, I pop open my engine bonnet, then, pull out some tools to open those engine cover in order to visually check the engine, such a hassle!

• every carmaker does that these days. i dont like it too. one time with my current car, i spotted the radiator hose was already broken during the engine oil check despite no high temp warning. i was lucky to have spotted that early because i was planning to drive long distance the next week.

• Ben Yap on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:02 pm

the price drop for the CKD X70 is so negligible. no need to buy and better get the honda CRV turbo. drive into a hotel also the bellboy tabik. if speeding, police stop also bagi muka and only give warning as they understand that the CRV turbo is a fast SUV. if you drive X70 into a hotel, the bellboy tak layan and ask you to park outside on your own. if police stop you, straight away saman because they feel that the car is not safer than a Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • Nabil Dev Retna Dass on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:19 am

Hahaha born bro , I advise you to come out from cave please , You’ve been sitting inside the cave and talking nonsense :)
      Please please come out and see the world and be civilize creature

• John Doe on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:50 pm

its supply and demand..CBU already sell like hot cake, you think CKD cut down more? go dream..

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:56 am

In every Proton forum, every potential buyer have expressed so much of hurt and disappointment with the overpriced CKD prices

• Commie on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:06 pm

Boring uncle design SUV. China got new version why still selling this old boring one here. Pfftt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:55 am

Why is China clearing old stock to Malaysia and their own country got latest design?

• EDDIE CHONG on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:06 pm

Highly disappointed with the ckd pricing which should be way cheaper than the cbu unit. Thought of buying but with price of 120k, many will reconsider. Price range at 80 to 100k will be more favourable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • EDITOR on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:38 pm

“Price range at 80 to 100k will be more favourable”
      Well….
      “Proton X70 Standard 2WD – RM94,800”
      So when are you putting the booking deposit and posting it up for us to see?

• Lol... on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:07 am

Then X50 pricing? 50 to 79k?? ( buyers sure happy). Then killed all Suv markets and Perodua Myvi, Aruz, DL55 become very expensive car with less features….

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:54 am

I think you just echoed tens of thousands of people who said the same thing yesterday!

• Dr Strange on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:16 pm

The echoes from tens of thousands are the multiple personas in your head. Go get help dude.

• Daddykasi on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:10 pm

I’m waiting for x50

• Comparing the price cbu vs ckd. Merely different by 5%? What’s the tax rate of cbu and ckd? Are we being cheated?

• Is there any difference in comfort level, tyre roar , refinement between the different rim sizes?
    Is the smaller rim is more comfortable?

• simon on Feb 13, 2020 at 10:18 am

i’ve been proven right.

the CBU x70 were sold at a LOSS. to make a big splash.

the CKD pricing didnt event drop much considering the localisation.

Geely is damn smart to use the 1st batch of CBU as a marketing statement to Malaysians and judging by sales number, worked.

Everyone loves proton now, the new golden boy.

the cost of setting advertisements compared to price dumping the cbu stocks…..which works better.

Now, wondering when the protectionism for proton will stop since its no longer “malaysian” brand.

• Tung Kin Foong on Aug 13, 2021 at 7:36 pm

One and a half year later I am still waiting for the early bird delivery of my floor mat.
    Getting really ridiculous and I had been writing to PROTON head office and each time they will response by saying they have contacted their dealer for further action.
    PROTON after so many years you still dissapoint me.