February 2020 week four fuel prices – petrol, diesel up

It’s once again Friday, when fuel prices are announced, and this time around the fourth week of February sees petrol prices take another hike by two sen, while diesel holds station with prices unchanged from last week.

The Euro 4M grade petrol will be priced at RM2.08 per litre – once again at the capped ceiling rate – while RON 97 petrol goes up by the same margin to RM2.38 per litre. Euro 2M diesel remains unchanged at RM2.14 per litre, holding position four sen below its RM2.18 per litre ceiling price, which means that Euro 5 diesel follows suit with RM2.24 per litre.

As the case has been last week, the government stated that it will continue to maintain the ceiling prices for RON 95 petrol and diesel at RM2.08 and RM2.18 per litre respectively, should global market prices drive fuel prices upwards.

These prices remain effective until February 28, when the next fuel price update is announced. This is the seventh edition of the current weekly fuel pricing format for the year and the 59th edition in total for the format, which runs from Saturday until the following Friday.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kancil Hybrid on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:40 pm

Rilek bah. RON95 petrol kekal RM2.08 per liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:46 pm

Another week another hope gone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Rosman on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:50 pm

Time to #UBAH BALIK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Habib Qureshi on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:02 pm

Ubah balik has no meaning when everybody is waiting for freebies and don’t want to change.

Unless this culture of expectancy of freebies stop, only then, we can progress to first world

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:19 am

You cannot expect much from PH. They consist of exactly the same workers during BN rule.

The same people are the ones working in Putrajaya. The 1.6 million Government employees are the same under BN or PH rule.

So remember, attitudes of expectancy and goyang kaki life need to be changed for the country to be changed.

Nothing to do with who governs the country.

Until we get rid of affirmative policy, NAP and NEP, only then Malaysia can change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
        • Crony on Feb 22, 2020 at 5:04 pm

So this is the best you all can think of after your big gathering of Pakatan troopers? Son, I am disappointed.

• Kunta = tikus = ASB = many others on Feb 23, 2020 at 1:30 pm

During BN Era
          RON95 petrol @Rm1.90/L
          Honda Accord @Rm165k
          Ada BR1M Ada subsidies
          Ada lower cost of living
          Can retire at 60 and live comfortably

In PH Era
          RON95 petrol @Rm2.08 bt they promised Rm1.50/L
          Honda Accord @Rm200k but they promised lower car price
          Takde BR1M, Takde BSH, hanya ada BS
          Cekik darah high cost of living
          PH want us to be like Sinkie where middle-class cannot afford to retire so must work until die.

Like this PH can balik kampung baru tanam Papaya Hijau.

• Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:38 pm

Don’t talk about petrol prices. Talk about why our car prices are going higher? It is because all our GLC owned car companies were cheating the Government of Malaysia of revenue by using tax loophole

30 years cheat the Government of Malaysia. Now, we have to suffer with higher car prices.

I wonder why the previous Government did not check on this

• Spin Too Much on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:19 pm

60 years of BN rule, car prices were kept lower. 20 months of PH rule all car prices are going up to feed our greedy ministers. Cilaka betul PH!

• Even in PH many MPs are ex-BN (especially UMNO). So things are more or less the same indeed. Nothing has changed

• Broken Promises all the Time. on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:37 pm

The promise to reduce petrol prices sound like the promise to stay faithful when you get married. Then any small problem, just talak3 and find a new one.

We must learn to keep our promises. You are right.

• Angry Voters on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:54 pm

PH is on a roll today. One bad news after another. It just keeps coming!
      Keep angering the voter bank y’all. Your historic term will make another history being the only single term government in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Happy Voters on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:21 am

I don’t bother with petrol prices. I look at how I can save money. Problem in Malaysia, many live beyond their means. For example, you only earn so little but you want to have many wives and 15 children.

Of course you will find petrol so expensive then. Keep your commitments low, then you will find petrol is cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • Jeremy on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:38 pm

You feel obligated to buy that latest fancy smartfon, trendy adidas sneakers and that food cafe went viral. too much fesbuk dan ig..

• Aura89 on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:52 pm

You do have a point that there are people out there who don’t give a rats ass about petrol prices and just want to drive like nobody’s business. For those people I can definitely imagine earning high salaries would shield them from the suffering faced by majority who needs to work hard or work 2-3 jobs just to scrape by in disappointing New Malaysia.

• English Teacher on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:17 pm

That is the problem with PH people. They keep complaining about BN giving free education because BN want to make our citizen smarter but PH wants to keep us dumb. PH people prefers to send their children to UK, US, Aus for education but selfishly want to keep their fellow citizen here dumb. How selfish can they be? Then they go and talk about shoe colours and having festival celebrations in school but not how to improve the education system. And they dare to complain our falling education standards? Whose fault is this but their own? What a bunch of jokes.

• Logical Deduction on Feb 21, 2020 at 6:09 pm

RM2.08/l ≠ Election Pledged RM 1.50/l

• UMNO Tipu M on Feb 21, 2020 at 6:23 pm

GE13 promise. Not GE14.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • Hafiz Hisham on Feb 21, 2020 at 7:05 pm

Repromised by PH during GE14. So pls honour the promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Petrol. still the cheapest in the region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Ghani on Feb 22, 2020 at 1:06 am

Not anymore when you count Brunei in.

• Habib Qureshi on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:06 pm

According to EPF statistics, 78.3% of all its contributors earn RM1500 and below.

In Singapore, workers there earn 6X more salary than Malaysia.

How is this so when Singapore and Malaysia merdeka same time?

Why is the SGD dollar so strong?

We must see the root cause of this problem in Malaysia

• macam manifesto…. baca boleh, percaya jangan, especially the part of creating new jobs

• John: "NOOOO!" on Feb 23, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Habislah john and gang! If the recent rumours are true, Bapak will be on BNPAS side. Who to sappork now?? Bapak vs LGE + Anwar, all John tak suka woii

• So Mahathir screwed everyone? Everyone? Everyone including Umno and PAS? Ah, not quite that way.

Umno and PAS just gave Mahathir the ‘tools’ to screw everyone. Then they stood aside to watch the fun. And today Umno and PAS met up to celebrate their victory over Pakatan Harapan. Hari ini dalam sejarah when Umno and PAS helped Mahathir screw Pakatan Harapan as balasan for what they did in May 2018.

John would be happy he is proven right all these time.

• Happy Voters on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:25 am

I don’t know why people make so much of noise. Everything also given to them free. Even education also they get free. In other countries, people have to save for education. here, you get free. Nearly everything also you get for free. And yet, you demand more and more and more and more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • English Teacher on Feb 22, 2020 at 4:00 pm

Education of people is a human right, so complaining about education for free is against human rights. Why are you against human rights? Are you even human?

• English Teacher on Feb 24, 2020 at 1:02 am

That is the problem with PH people. They keep complaining about BN giving free education because BN want to make our citizen smarter but PH wants to keep us dumb. PH people prefers to send their children to UK, US, Aus for education but selfishly want to keep their fellow citizen here dumb. How selfish can they be? Then they go and talk about shoe colours and having festival celebrations in school but not how to improve the education system. And they dare to complain our falling education standards? Whose fault is this but their own? What a bunch of jokes.

• English Teacher on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:49 pm

Petrol up, diesel up.
    Cost of living goes up.
    NAP 2020 came in,
    what a disappointment.
    Car prices immediately up.
    New dawn of cheap cars is gone.
    Pakatan, do you hear your death bells toll?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Sick & Tired on Feb 21, 2020 at 6:11 pm

Tol turun, minyak murah, negara aman. syukurr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Toll not abolished as promised, petrol not RM1.50 as promised, race relations at an all time low even lower than 1969. Nak syukur apa ye?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Yeast on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:53 am

Cukurla. can bailout LTH, 1Mdb ngan Felda.

• Habib Qureshi on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:10 pm

The Government needs the money to bailout companies like TH and MAS.

According to Khazanah latest report, TH will be given RM10.3 billion to bail them out and MAS will be given RM25 billion to bail them out.

Belum kira other GLC companies lagi.

Abolish all these bailouts, you can have FREE tolls and even RM50 sen per liter petrol even!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Belum lagi kira Projek solar dan lembu wei.

• Hahah. Few weeks ago MOF announced Rm2.04/l a gift from govt. Later on fuel prices go up.

• vivizurianti on Feb 21, 2020 at 7:13 pm

Syukur x1000. Our RON95 still cheap-cheap in the region. With such saving, rakyat Malaysia can spend their money on foodstuff.

Example?

Capati.

• Harga kangkung tak naik pun...shukor ada ph on Feb 21, 2020 at 9:51 pm

Almost everytg is cheap now under PH..kudos…we vote for u forever…

• Aura89 on Feb 22, 2020 at 1:09 am

I can’t tell if this is sarcasm or plain paid shill for PH.

• Happy Voters on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:24 am

I don’t know why people make so much of noise. Everything also given to them free. Even education also they get free. In other countries, people have to save for education. here, you get free. Nearly everything also you get for free. And yet, you demand more and more and more and more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • English Teacher on Feb 22, 2020 at 4:01 pm

Education of people is a human right, so complaining about education for free is against human rights. Why are you against human rights? Are you even human?

• English Teacher on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:17 pm

• Wafi Alhaq on Feb 22, 2020 at 8:20 am

Brunei is cheapest in the region.. dumb ass