March 2020 week 1 fuel price – RON 97 up, diesel down

Another Friday, and despite the developments that have unfolded in the past week, there is an update to the fuel price for the coming week (February 29 to March 6), with an increase in the price of RON 97 petrol on the cards.

Users of RON 97 will have to pay two sen more for the fuel, which will go for RM2.40 per litre in the coming week. There is no change to the price of RON 95 petrol, which continues to stay at its fixed price ceiling of RM2.08 per litre, as it was last week.

The price of Euro 2M diesel, however, has dropped by one sen to RM2.13 (RM2.14 last week), still below its RM2.18 capped price. This also means that Euro 5 diesel, which costs 10 sen more, will be priced at RM2.23 per litre.

The finance ministry said that based on Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, the government will absorb a total of RM6.12 million to subsidise fuel for the period of February 29 to March 6.

These prices remain effective until March 6, when the next fuel price update is announced. This is the eight edition of the current weekly fuel pricing format for the year and the 60th edition in total for the format, which runs from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:00 pm

I think petrol prices are not as important as stability.

Our lembap politicians cannot even settle the issue of forming a stable Government.

Our ringgit is dropping so fast. 30 years ago, our ringgit is RM1 to SGD1 Singapore dollar.

Today, our Ringgit is 3X less than Singapore dollar.
    I think we need to get Singapore to help us with our administration. Looks like we do not know how to run things well.

Does not matter whether BN or PH or whatever. It looks like locals have the inability to do things efficiently.
    30 years ringgit can jatuh 300% to the Singapore dollar when both countries Merdeka same time.

Now petrol and car prices will go even higher because both have USD denominators.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 10
    • Anti-Racist on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:54 pm

On FB, majority blame DAP for everything, when it is really UMNOPAS, PBBM and geng semburit that caused this entire chaos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
      • Geng Bang Nuar on Feb 28, 2020 at 10:24 pm

Mesian lot are easy to brainwash but they still remain stupid. They were brainwashed that change was good but now many of them complaining why change again. Ironic isn’t it?

• Crony on Feb 29, 2020 at 9:58 am

Come to papa…all my projeks & dedaks. LOL

• Mohammad Sidek bin Hj Sardon on Feb 29, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Abolish NAP, NEP and Affirmative Policy in Malaysia. You will see petrol prices going down because now all money need to be channeled to helping certain groups. So this is why petrol is high, gomen needs the money to help these group

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 28, 2020 at 11:22 pm

Still trying to blame others for your failures eh PH? Dah mampus lagi tak serik2 buat bodoh lagi. This is why your can’t fxxking last half a term! Your have been overpromising but badly underdelivered and eventually collapsed from the pressure. It is like a blackhole sucking all the privileges and spoils that comes with power but your gave nothing back. When the pressure was too great your collapsed on yourselves. Well done PH! I hope your learnt your lessons this time not to lie to the rakyat just for our votes and take us as fools. I hope the rakyat gives your all telur for your all to remember forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
        • PH dan BN Sama Sama on Feb 29, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Orang sama dalam PH adalah orang sama dalam BN dan PAS.

Semua nak hidup senang dan mewah tanpa kerja kuat

Sama dengan kakitangan 1.6 juta di Putrajaya. Semua mahu lepak

• Muhyiddin is now the PM. But that doesn’t mean your Najib will be back! Remember, Najib was the one that kicked him out of UMNO… confirm got revenge hehe

• That tells us all this shenanigans isn’t coming from UMNO nor PAS but from PH themselves. This vindicates their noninvolvement in this latest drama and all this conspiracy theories involving both parties were just sullying their good names. Seriously from this I will never vote PH again.

• Copy Paste on Feb 29, 2020 at 10:08 am

Copy paste: “Don’t blame others for your failures. Your government didn’t honour all those election pledges which caused the people to reject your government. Reflect on yourself why you failed instead of blaming BN. That is why PH can never be successful even when they had the power.”

• Way before PH Government dissolve like my daily effervescent vit Cs, all hopes on them has long dissolved beforehand. No point to give them another chance only to disappoint us again with their promises that dissolves like my effervescent tablets once they became the Government.

• Sabri Tahir on Feb 29, 2020 at 11:35 am

Well said Anti, this is the best comment ever

• Optimus on Feb 29, 2020 at 12:57 pm

BS marketing stunt.

@PH: Announce and commit to your promise of RM 1.50 per liter petrol already you pricks!

• Copy Paste on Feb 29, 2020 at 1:08 pm

Copy paste: “Bang you again sharing same story. Feel tired seeing all this from u and your many other name. Find a proper job la.”

• Angry Voters on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Totally tumbang terbalik dy, how come one can go up and the other go down? Price of fuel isn’t dependent on supply and demand from market forces so where got such thing one up one down. I hope the next government coming in will really live up to what they promised and don’t go around making fantastic promises just to win our votes. Your government won’t last long as proven the last few days, when you angered the rakyat by showing us excuses and not results.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Feb 29, 2020 at 10:09 am

Just bring BN back. Nuff said

• Halim Jeffery on Feb 29, 2020 at 11:56 am

Too much of privileges and bantuan given for 60 years. This tongkat must stop because people are falling way behind other Asian countries

• 4bini on Feb 29, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Same like the promise to be with one person but after boredom, terus talak3

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang Gagal on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:03 pm

I hope our regular troll john does not come again this week with his 50 different name dupes to give an impression everybody is angry with the former PH Government.

Well, Malaysia has no more Government because your failed coup did not work out.

Thanks to the greedy BN people, now, we got no Government. Malu lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Why So Serious on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:59 pm

Don’t blame others for your failures. Your government didn’t honour all those election pledges which caused the people to reject your government. Reflect on yourself why you failed instead of blaming BN. That is why PH can never be successful even when they had the power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 28, 2020 at 11:30 pm

Still trying to blame others for your failures eh PH? Dah mampus lagi tak serik2 buat bodoh lagi. This is why your can’t fxxking last half a term! Your have been overpromising but badly underdelivered and eventually collapsed from the pressure. It is like a blackhole sucking all the privileges and spoils that comes with power but your gave nothing back. When the pressure was too great your collapsed on yourselves. Well done PH! I hope your learnt your lessons this time not to lie to the rakyat just for our votes and take us as fools. I hope the rakyat gives your all telur for your all to remember forever..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Dr Strange on Mar 02, 2020 at 8:26 am

Weren’t you the same guy that told us coronavirus is nothing serious and there is no such huge impact on the world??? Well MotoGP had just cancelled their Qatar race due to coronavirus.

You had been telling us a seriously dangerous lie and I don’t know what other lies had you been telling us if you could lie to us on something that life-threatening serious.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang Gagal on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Greedy people komplot to Coup de etat the Government, tak jadi, sekarang sudah malu.

• Avenger on Feb 28, 2020 at 10:27 pm

Just briefly under PH rule but so disappointed for such huge Price Hike on cars. They became too greedy and that became their downfall. I hope we go back to the usual normal government that has kept prices down for 60 years.

• History Bender on Feb 29, 2020 at 10:02 am

Agreed. PH have been backdooring since 16 Sept 2008. Sekarang sudah jadi malu.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang John Lingkup on Feb 29, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Fed up with greedy people who cannot wait for next GE. All want kuasa asap to songlap back again

• Taik Muafakat on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:06 pm

Petrol is so cheap and yet people complain so much. We should be grateful for our cheap petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Aura89 on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:56 pm

You do have a point that there are people out there who don’t give a rats ass about petrol prices and just want to drive like nobody’s business. For those people I can definitely imagine earning high salaries would shield them from the suffering faced by majority who needs to work hard or work 2-3 jobs just to scrape by in disappointing New Malaysia.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:07 pm

As above. Oh shits! No longer valid since they had been kicked out. Well good riddance and stay out if they cannot fulfill their promises.

• They were not kicked out. They were backstabbed by greedy traitors. And as long as PAS is with BN, you have lost all the minority votes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Frozen on Feb 28, 2020 at 7:05 pm

In democracy, majority votes wins. Who cares about minority unless you want to be like North Korea. Want?

• Brian on Feb 28, 2020 at 11:50 pm

No, they kicked themselves out. Such kemaluan terbesar. Another first from Pakatan, the first gomen in the world to kick themselves out.

• Taik Muafakat on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:08 pm

Syukur lah kerajaan yang prihatin, Ron 95 masih rendah. Tak payah back door gomen, janji kami pinyak murah

• Optimus on Feb 29, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Petrol had been for a time under BN rule much more cheaper price wise than under PH rule. Miss-information is strong here.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:10 pm

Minyak murah di Malaysia. RM2 ringgit seliter.

Singapura adalah RM6 ringgit seliter.

Nampaknya minyak lagi murah dari Singapura.

Kerajaan baik

• Yea this the same guy that told us topping up Rm40k to buy a car is nothing to him. Meanwhile to the majority of people, it is a daily struggle under Pakatan Malaysia. Thank god they got booted from govt before too late.

• John Bin Palat on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:16 pm

Saya suka minyak Malaysia. Ada banyak power. Sweet crude memang kuat.

• vivizurianti on Feb 28, 2020 at 7:31 pm

Syukur x 1000. Petrol is still the cheapest in the region. Everyone can afford the petrol, top-up the car fuel tank……go jalan-jalan holiday with whole family. All happy, aman and sejahtera.