OPINION: 180 km/h speed cap – is it a good move?

If it’s one thing to note about mankind, it is its ability to resist change. When it comes down to it, the more controversial the adjustments, the stronger the resistance. Like a bad breakup, if you will.

A little over a year ago, Volvo revealed its plans to implement a 180 km/h electronic speed limiter on all its new vehicles, a move spurred by the automaker’s Vision 2020 commitment, otherwise known as the “zero fatality” pledge that it announced in 2016. The plan had been in the pipeline since 2007, and like most grand ambitions, many doubted its achievability.

At the time, Volvo’s senior technical safety advisor Jan Ivarsson said there was a lot of fuss about Vision 2020 in the beginning, especially with regards to the execution. “But we needed to refresh our leadership – being number one over the years, you need to do something different,” he said. After all, you’ve got to be bold for the change you want to see in this world, right?

Well, just recently, the Geely-owned Swedish brand gave the 180 km/h speed cap the green light. This means every new Volvo car now maxes out at 180 km/h, plus an added Care Key for drivers to impose additional restrictions. Other carmakers also have their versions of Care Key, such as the Ford MyKey, but the real takeaway here is the electronic speed restriction.

Some netizens have voiced their disagreements over the move, while others questioned if carmakers have the right to impose such limitations. There were also jokes that these new Volvos can and will be overtaken by Perodua Myvis on the highways.

However, lest we forget, some JDM cars like the Mitsubishi Evo and Nissan GT-R also get the 180 km/h speed cut as standard. This limit was mandated by the Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association for safety reasons, although some performance cars come with a limiter deactivator for track use.

Realistically, nobody should be driving at such high speeds on public roads, even if you think you possess the driving prowess of Lewis Hamilton (or drive something like a bulletproof Humvee). Research has shown that people have a poor understanding of the dangers associated with speeding.

Sure, going fast on a long and empty stretch of road is easy, but if something abruptly gives (like a blown tyre or an animal suddenly darting in front of your vehicle), most people would have trouble adapting. Think about it, how many live to tell the tale?

According to the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), speeding has accounted for approximately one-third of all motor vehicle fatalities for more than 20 years, and millions of motorists are slapped with speeding tickets every year.

It goes without saying that speeding is against the law in most countries. Some of the most advanced motorways in the world have speed limits, but none are even close to 180 km/h, much less Malaysian roads.

For example, certain sections of Poland’s Autostrada A2 have a top speed of 140 km/h, which is among the highest permitted limit in the world. Contrary to popular belief, only a quarter of German’s famous autobahn (it is 12,875 km-long, collectively) is open to unlimited speed.

Most of the time, the autobahn employs a dynamic speed limit system (with strict enforcement by the Autobahnpolizei), which can be raised or lowered depending on weather and traffic conditions.

Meanwhile, on the automakers’ part, many high-performance cars which are homologated for road use have their top speeds restricted to 250 km/h, or 280 km/h in some cases. As the maker of the “safest cars in the world,” Volvo said it feels obligated to continue the tradition of being a pioneer in this field, even if it means losing potential customers.

Whether you choose to poke fun, belittle or boycott the brand altogether, it is decisions like these that will go on to save thousands of lives, especially in the era of high-powered cars. Volvo itself makes plug-in hybrid cars with over 400 hp, and despite being loaded with the most advanced safety systems, few things can negate the devastating effects of inertia, even if Volvo itself provided the groundbreaking solution (which has saved over a million lives) to this.

Perhaps in the next few years, Volvo won’t be the only carmaker to introduce the lower speed limit. Being a pioneer means being at the forefront of the industry, leading and implementing change in the hopes that others will follow. People may be resistant in the beginning, but as time has shown, change is inevitable. How often do we drive at 180 km/h anyway?

For all of us at paultan.org, we feel that 180 km/h is plenty fast enough, and going that fast on Malaysian public roads is dangerous and downright irresponsible. To most drivers, having a limited top speed of 180 km/h is exactly the same as the previous electronically-limited 250 km/h V-max set on most high performance cars – in just about every case, you won’t go anywhere near it, so why make a big fuss?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely express skepticism about the 180 km/h speed cap, questioning its safety benefits and arguing that it doesn’t reflect real driving conditions, especially on highways like the Autobahn. Many believe the limit unnecessarily restricts high-performance vehicles and could hurt Volvo’s sales, as enthusiasts value the ability to reach higher speeds. Several comments highlight that accidents are often caused by driver behavior rather than speed alone, and emphasize the importance of enforcement, driver education, and safety measures over arbitrary speed limits. Others see the cap as a marketing move driven by safety concerns or regulatory costs, with some suggesting it diminishes the appeal of luxury and performance cars. Overall, the sentiment is that the speed cap is unnecessary, potentially counterproductive, and may negatively impact sales and driver satisfaction.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:05 pm

stupid move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 121
    • Safety First on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:41 pm

Until you got T-boned by a speedster Myvi. Remember, Safety First and Volvo is all about Safety! So they know something that you don’t.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 12
      • YB Tan Sri KK on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:17 pm

To summarize everything, China company Geely has messed up Volvo. China does not know how to run Volvo. They think volvo is a China company.

This is why Volvo is now messed up. With this limiter, nobody will touch Volvo.

Thanks Geely for messing the brand. Just like how you have messed up Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 98
        • Proton’s profit went up since they sold half their stake to Geely. Proton’s low sales figure lead to them selling out to Geely in the first place.
          Also Where did you get the information that Volvo’s sales has plummet because of the speed cut? Did you actually research before posting garbage on the internet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • Kedai Dandan Rambut SyafiqK on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:45 pm

If we all majoriti sapot Proton, pasti sukses

• CARMad on Jun 06, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Wow !!! Better you wake up to what GEELY has DONE for Both Volvo and Proton.

Both companies was TECHNICALLY “bangkrup” with moral so low ( Like suicide Mode). Yet after Geely BOUGHT over, these Companies are now Providing employment for thousands, much improved quality control, morals are good, consumers are returning, etc.
          5 star to GEELY for turning these companies around and saving thousands of JOBS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
          • Wasting time only on Jun 07, 2020 at 11:06 am

Why waste time here talking about the speed limit. Only how many volvo you can see on the road? I think less than 0.0005% of market share. Dont bother so much.

• Rakyat on Jun 07, 2020 at 8:50 am

A bit of effort in researching will show you volvo has finally made profit after taken over by Geely. Proton as well. Their cars looks and feels better. Kesian org cam kamu.

• YB CB KK on Jun 08, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Fact is volvo car is not stable at high speed. Shall design the car platform like German.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • YB Tan Sri KK on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Sales of Volvo will plummet now because of this bad move.

China company don’t know how to do market survey at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
        • Yeah, the same ppl that told us Volvo sales will plummet when tookover by China but it went up. The same ppl that told us Volvo sales will plummet when they into active safety features but now everyone’s using it.

Yeah, sure. Sales will “plummet” yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • How do you get t-boned on a freeway exactly?
        300 km is common all over Europe and it’s safe.

The limiter is employed because Volvo has zero idea on how to have their cars sustain higher speeds. Better to have a solid car capable of going 300 than ever actually go 300

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:07 pm

Shows your level of intelligence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Cloud on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:20 pm

Yes, a really dumb move. How embarrassing could it be when you are rushing for a meeting a Myvi, Vios and Kia are high beaming you to move away at 180km/h. Should remove the speed cap for Malaysia and Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 46
      • stupid cloud on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:38 pm

1. One should never drive at 180km/h even when rushing for meetings, never. Lives are more important than meetings.
        2. One should not be hogging the fast lane when not overtaking to begin with, so there’s no need for the Myvi’s, Vios’ and Kia’s to flash the high beams.
        3. One should never be embarrassed when being overtaken by any car, why should one be??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
      • I am guessing this is a sarcastic reply here.

• YB Tan Sri KK on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:34 pm

But north south highway nearly everybody in the fast lane drive at 180kmh. Then when abang abang PDRM tahan, they pay duit kopi and continue speeding back again

It is already a culture now of giving duit kopi and everybody is so used to driving at 180kmh on the fast lane.

Thnk you PDRM for this mindset in Malaysians

Have you tried driving on the fast lane at 110kmh? Every 3 minutes someone flashes at you and shows you the finger if you don’t move away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
        • Dredd on Jun 06, 2020 at 3:24 pm

If there’s no giver there’s no takers. I blame the giver.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 06, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Why are you in the right lane when you are just cruising at 110?

The right lane is for overtaking. After you are done on the overtaking, please merge back into the middle lane. Everyone is happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • hatu raya on Jun 08, 2020 at 8:45 am

coz everybody else cruising @ -110kmh in left lane…. as long as theres no mininum speed limit on the highway, and slow pokes dont go with the flow and lorries n trailers dont understand the third lane is for them, a lot will cruise @ 110 in the right lane.

• eatyourcereal on Jun 06, 2020 at 5:23 pm

there are 2 types of people in this world, those who think like your comment and those who think otherwise.

• Safety First on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:50 pm

Those who think like him are invariably those who get others into their accidents because to them, their accidents are never their fault. It is always someone elses fault. They never take ownership of their failures.

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:38 pm

If you are driving a Volvo and you feel embarrassed being overtaken by a Myvi, you probably aren’t fit to drive a Volvo. Maybe you are on a 9 year loan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Avantgarde on Jun 09, 2020 at 1:05 am

Kia high beaming to overtake… That’s new :-P usually its just the Myvis n Vios’

• Ollie on Jun 09, 2020 at 1:57 pm

In truth 80% of Malaysian drivers don’t have basic driving skills. Statistics on accidents and fatalities are the proof. But somehow, the Malaysian driver ego thinks they’re the best.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:10 pm

Accidents normally happen at much lower speeds on normal roads instead of a highway at high speeds. That’s because the driver is already very alert when driving at those kind of speeds where as at low speed, one would be complacent to think that nothing will go wrong n that’s when disaster strikes. Can you recall how many accidents did you witness on the road which was caused by a vehicle going over 180kmh compared to the amount of accidents you witness at a junction or caused by idiots who suddenly swerve into the next lane? So to me it’s useless to implement a speed cap. It’ll only drive some customers to other brands instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 73
    • RecklessMalaysian on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:09 pm

I think you don’t get the point. Doesn’t matter if more accidents happen at low speeds, but fatalities happen at higher speeds.

Doesn’t matter if you are more alert when driving at high speeds, accidents are accidents – that’s what they are – uncontrolled and unexpected situations. You are more likely to lose control at 180km/h than at 30km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:20 pm

Agreed. Those lane hoggers caused accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Calvin on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:42 am

Most horrendous accidents where multiple lives are killed usually happens in high speed incidents.

• Bidadari Lanka Kawi on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:54 pm

Well according to abam bomba statistic, those mangled cars abam bomba needs hydraulic cutter to retrieve cadaver, usually crashed between 90 km/h ~ 110 km/h. If car crashed above 180 km/h , abam bomba waits for police to pick up the cadaver flew out from the car sometimes came in pieces…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Dr Strange on Jun 06, 2020 at 3:28 pm

You must be mistaken cadavers for living human beings, so glad you’re not in the medical profession. See, Bomba won’t waste time to cut up cars unless the injured are still alive so this only tells us crashes up to legal highway speeds limit wouldn’t automatically kill and thus reinforce the proposal to implement a speed cap.

• Dr Strange miss-guided public on Jun 07, 2020 at 3:16 pm

OMG do you mean the dead body left inside accident car? Fire & Rescue personnel won’t help to cut the door & roof if all dead inside car? How does the police or ambulance medics take out the dead bodies inside accident car?

• Dr Strange on Jun 07, 2020 at 11:45 pm

When people are DEAD, that’s the job of Forensic Dept, not the Fire Dept. The car is no longer an accident scene but a crime scene so it goes into secured area without being tampered for Forensic to make their investigation while extracting the corpses. Next time use brain.

• Captain Obvious on Jun 08, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Forensic Dept has the proper equipment
            to cut open the car to extract the dead bodies?
            AFAIK only Fire Rescue Dept has hydraulic cutter.

• Lets See on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:47 pm

Being Capt Obvious, isnt it obvious that nobody is rushing for time to cut out dead bodies so any kinda cutting tool that isnt rush for time will do, no?

• Is the Fire & Rescue personnel who picked bits & pieces of human brain off the road. And sprayed it clean after …

• Driver on Jun 06, 2020 at 7:45 am

Alertness is only a potion of safety. Human cognition has limitation. In fact your very comment depicts biases in your judgment. U don’t need many instances of crash to kill, 1 crash is all it takes for people to die, for kids to be orphanages..

One more thing, being alert does not necessarily translate into being skillful.

• Pffttt.. on Jun 06, 2020 at 11:01 am

Pffft.. Bimbo trying to sound smart..

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:41 pm

He’s an Ah Beng car enthusiast. Don’t pray pray

• EDITOR on Jun 06, 2020 at 11:23 am

Fender benders are part and parcel of life, but at least most of them don’t involved ending it. Volvo is aiming to have ZERO accidental deaths in their cars and certainly these are commendable efforts considering they are practically GUARANTEEING your life up to 180 kmph. Can you say the same for BMW, Jaguar, Mercedes Benz, Lexus, and other luxury marques?

• It’s not on those small accidents on scratches here and there. It’s about fatality for speed cap.

• MirrorMirroOnTheWall on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:08 pm

I think your overlooking some aspect’s here. Yes they maybe more accidents on normal roads than highway but you don’t see alot of changing variable’s in highway. Whereas on normal road they are too many things happening at once. When too many input’s are given to user’s of course they might be instance where mistake’s can be made. If your talking about small fender benders yes. But highway’s still have the highest fatality rate on accident’s.

• Anonymous on Jun 07, 2020 at 5:28 am

At 150 km/h you would reach a patch of oil, or a crossing animal 10 meters away in just 0.24 seconds. Even if you can react in 0.10 seconds (practically impossible), you are only left with 0.14 seconds to brake and/or swerve.

Your alertness means nothing if you can’t even react to it. Honestly, if you require speed to be alert you are actually a very unskilled driver. A skilled driver can be alert and stay alert at any speeds for a prolonged period of time. That’s what drivers should be training for. All you get from being alert at high speeds is just total awareness that you are approaching an accident that you cannot avoid.

• Bruce on Jun 08, 2020 at 5:03 pm

Agree with you on lagging of alert should be higher chance to cause accident than speeding.
      I always speed limit of some roads are set too low, for example, some of the road on Highway should be allowed to drive 120~130km/h, it can help to reduce time of journey and fatigue.
      However, 180km/h limit should be much more than enough on open road.

• https://paultan.org/2020/06/02/geometry-c-debuts-in-china-brands-second-ev-comes-with-200-ps-and-310-nm-up-to-550-km-range/

Geely Geometry C top Speed only 150km/h

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:36 pm

Volvo wants to be seen as a responsible carmaker. Volvo’s strategy might not be liked by current drivers (who know what they will miss), but I suspect if you ask the younger generation, they might see it differently. And embrace Volvo in the future, when they can eventually drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • 180 kmh to low for Malaysian roads! on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:37 pm

I regularly drive more than 200 kmh when the road condition permits (such as MCO time). Even the comically slow Proton Preve is able to reach 220 kmh for a long 10-15 minute burst. For a Volvo that is twice (or more) horsepower and can travel 300 kmh at ease, there’s no need for ANY speed cap. Also, majority of accidents in Malaysia are low speed crash (i.e. jalan kampung, city centre, parking lot, drunk drivers too)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 94
    • RecklessMalaysian on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:12 pm

Read above bro, you are less likely to die or kill someone when you are driving slow. Is that so difficult to understand?

If you langgar lembu at 200km/h you think you’ll survive versus if you langgar at 60km/h?

Please don’t reproduce and don’t bring any innocent lives with you when you drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Calvin on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:43 am

You deserve the “Idiot of the Year” Award if you still live at the end of this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • If you want to die fast, I can’t hold you back. But don’t put other lives in jeopardy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • No one will buy Volvo or Geely after this on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:43 pm

If you want to drive MAX 180 kmh, go buy a VAN & PICK-UP like Vellfire, Estima, Hilux… Even those type of vehicles, when remove the limiter, can achieve CRAZY SPEEDS (over 280 kmh without breaking a sweat)… People buy German and other expensive brands for the de-restricted experience, not to have some sort of hold up in the sense of driving sensation and speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 65
    • RecklessMalaysian on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:13 pm

Smart, don’t buy a Volvo and go drive as fast as you can. Just make sure you drive alone and the road is empty ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • JOACHIM on Jun 06, 2020 at 8:52 am

Derestricted only works on the Autobahn, nowhere else in the world. The rest of the world arent as disciplined like German users of the Autobahn.

• Jessi Lang unfortunate accident on Jun 07, 2020 at 5:21 pm

In 2014 Jessi Lang, star of the Motor Trend show “The J-Turn,” suddenly disappeared from the Motor Trend Channel. Jessi had been involved in a near-fatal crash, the result of another driver’s error, while on assignment in Autobahn Germany. With more than a dozen serious injuries and a shattered leg that has required numerous surgeries, her road to recovery has been long and arduous.
        https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NW7-MTcH94k

• Regular PT reader on Jun 09, 2020 at 12:19 pm

First of all, Volvo is not a German car brand, it is Swedish. Second, not everyone is as disciplined as the Germans. Please go ahead and buy German car if you wanna experience the speed of driving, Volvo is not for people like you.

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Thank you guys, this is the message we need to spread.

I think Malaysians nowadays are too proud to think that speed limit and safety systems are for those without ‘skill’.

Or some even foolishly quote “speed doesn’t kill, it is the sudden stop that does” without knowing what it means.

They ought to understand that even the best drivers in the world get into accidents, let alone a common Malaysian and safety systems and the enforcement of law is required to reduce the number of fatalities on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • agreed. also to add on malaysian driving is so bad that they cant even control a slow car, what more a speeding car.

• Yes and no.

Yes, limit the speed, less likely to drive recklessly and what not..

No, sometimes u need that extra 10kph to overtake faster..

But limit Volvo to 180kph? Even a myvi can hit that..

Better recommendation is to enforce reckless driving ruling, make it easier for people to report. Recklessness kills, speed doesn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • BOYRACER on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:36 pm

Doesn’t matter in my hometown.The fastest you can go maybe 200kmh..if you have a really powerful car that is..no highways,short straights,even most long stretches are uneven.. anyone here who can maintain 200kmh for a even 5 minutes do let me know where is the location

• tctham on Jun 07, 2020 at 8:33 pm

First share where is your hometown. Then others will let you know the location. I don’t speed, so i can’t tell. Haha

• Raja Rizal Kamrul Abdullah on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:08 am

I drive every week from Penang to KL for the 13 years. I hold a car review cert from Autocar UK, and and was an advanced driving instructor. Im not a keyboard warrior. Paultan can do a discussion and qe can d a write up and I can tell all able speeding espcially on the highway.

• The notion of people not realising how fast they drive is very underated. A bike is one thing, but it’s even worse in car. Driver are essential isolated from wind drag, and even noise and doesn’t have any relatives indication of how fast they are speeding except for the speedometer. Everything look much slower than it is especially when you’re in highway. It only take a single vehicle to brake check in front of you to realise how fast the car is actually moving.

• Saladin. on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:18 am

Who drives volvo at 180kmh anyway. Again who even buy volvo.

• Errr….what is the point of the 400+ hp 600+ Nm?

• Koh Kim Chong on Jun 06, 2020 at 5:27 am

Volvo car sale will drops for sure. Accident on road is not abt speed. It is altitude of driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • azrai on Jun 06, 2020 at 7:19 am

Man are made to have maximum speed running at 40km/h, except Usain Bolt at 45km/h. God design our ‘hardware’ especially the brain to adapt and react under this speed. When we ride a motorbike or a car above this speed, our brain still functioning at the best 40km/ h. Our reaction, reflex processing cannot cope with those milisecond made for us when at higher speed. That’s why accident occurs at higher speed. And do you realise why rider is so vulnerable? Because other road user once they glance at side mirror, kejap takde not a few second then the motorbike ‘suddenly’ there. Better safe than sorry. Behind every lives, there are more lives depending on them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Saladin on Jun 07, 2020 at 5:12 pm

Man cannot drive car more than 40kmh becos man cannot run faster than that. Man cannot use tractor to carry heavy becos man cannot cannot carry more than 200kg. Man cannot use airplane to fly becos man physically cant fly. And you shouldnt type anything on the internet becos u physically cannot talk to everyone who is reading u post.

• azrai on Jun 08, 2020 at 8:12 am

I’m sharing what i watch on national geographic, tribute to the late volvo engineer who develop the 3 point seatbelt. That’s why it is on the internet because it is a fact. And most of us just read only the headline. For racing car driver, they have a tight regime to increase their refllex response. Another training is defensive driving which not all driver in malaysia took it.

• I don’t drive that fast. Max is 160-180 but not for long. A lot will disagree with this move but how many of you can actually handle the speed? My father always though me, drive fast when you know to control the car and not the car control you.

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:27 pm

160 is not fast? The problem is everyone thinks they are in control of their car, until they realize that one time they are not. By then it is too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • What safety? on Jun 06, 2020 at 8:25 am

Just when people are attracted to your brand, now you’re hurting your own sales. You want to save as many people on the road, then you need more people to buy your car.

Volvo are starting to appeal to the crowd who normally purchase BMW / Mercedes / Audi. But with this move, they’ll continue to stick with these 3 brands instead.

You’re giving reason for customer not to consider your car in the 1st place. In sales, that’s a stupid thing to do. It doesn’t matter whether most drivers don’t drive up to 180km/h, you cannot give them reason not to consider your car.

I believe Volvo will continue to survive in Malaysia, even with this move. But surviving alone is not enough, they need to grow their sales number.

It’s already hard enough to grow their sales, now it’ll be even harder. The number of people who can afford car in this price bracket is small, but now you’re pushing them away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
    • azrai on Jun 07, 2020 at 8:12 am

They have Polestar brand which can go pass 180km/h. That’s call marketing strategy. Not forgetting Geely and Proton also can exceed this speed limit.

• V40 owner on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:31 am

Volvo wants to make its cars the safest in the world. If you object to the 180kph speed limit, you are most welcome to buy other cars. Volvo doesn’t need customers like you as owners will be their ambassadors for safe driving. You will only be damaging their vision 0 death in accidents statistic.
      In car forums, you can also see the other reason why the speed is limited. Increasing usage of electric motors on Volvo cars has resulted in extra torque and power. Electric motors operating above 180kph tend to lower the battery (and electrical driving) range. Know this before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • PityU on Jun 08, 2020 at 2:32 pm

May be less than 100 units it V40 sold in Malaysia. Thats why the rest go for other volvo equivalent brand like VW and Peugeot

• What safety? on Jun 08, 2020 at 4:43 pm

I already bought another car earlier this year when I heard the news of 180km/h speed limit implementation in 2020. I was considering Volvo XC60 T5 (I don’t like hybrid), now I bought a GLC300.

I was talking from my own experience as a potential Volvo customer, but was swayed to consider another car because of this move.

Btw if Volvo want you to be safe on the road, they shouldn’t design an infotainment system that takes your eyes off the road.

Does the car forum tell you that 180km/h still isn’t a safe speed to drive? Why Volvo stop at 180km/h when they can go all the way to 110km/h? I believe Volvo drivers (aka ambassadors of safe driving) won’t mind that since they drive safely anyway.

Why bother putting the limit at 180km/h? You’re not any safer driving at 180km/h anyway.

Anyway, I’m not advocating anyone to drive fast. It’s dangerous, I don’t drive fast too. From early on, I was discussing this in term of sales point of view. It’s just a stupid move to hurt your own sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Richard Joash Tan on Jun 23, 2020 at 4:47 am

AND YOU ARE A BS! I WILL BUY A FULLY LOADED VOLVO ANYWAY!

• batman on Jun 06, 2020 at 8:40 am

Good move.

Most countries have speed limit below that. Only maybe Germany Autobahn don’t have.

Go so fast for what? Whatever lanjiao NCAP 5 stars only based on 64km/h collision only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • vivizurianti on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:43 am

Those who like to speed, please go ahead. Go feel the rush, the sensation, feel you’re “alive” etc.
    Do it with your multi million supercar, with hundreds of HP.

When losing control of your car, please smash your car and yourself to something inanimate (and preferably something hard). If you like something spectacular, smash yourself to smithereens so that the abang polis can pick body parts at nooks and cranys. Make it memorable, as they say.

Just dont get other innocent ppl involved.

• 25yrsOld on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:48 am

When the 5G era with Level 3 autonomous.
    Speed is nothing already.

Let the robot drive.

• Yap Chong Kiat on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:16 am

This type of commentary on an auto website.
    An obvious disconnect from their readers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:04 pm

I’m sorry, but we stand firm on this opinion. Especially in Malaysia with our road conditions and driving behaviour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • Gomorrah on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:45 pm

Thank you for taking this stand. We have very concerning numbers of road fatalities in this country. Going by other comments here, driver education and stricter licensing conditions and enforcement should be next on the cards.

• Ikengkai on Jun 06, 2020 at 5:39 pm

Gov should just increase speeding summon amount from RM 300 to RM 10000. No reason to allow anyone to drive above max speed limit 110 km/h. If you want faster, go pay for drive at race track.

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:31 pm

You are doing the right thing. Re-education of the Malaysian mindset will take a long time but you are taking the first steps. Thank you and hats off to the team.

• EDITOR on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:28 pm

Disconnect from which readers, the ones that kills or the ones that got killed and cannot reply you?

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:33 pm

One day when you have children, tell me if you still think the same when the bus driver who brings your children to school drives fast ok? Or when the speed limit around the school is 250km/h.

• volvo for live on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:51 am

VCM…pls dun cap the speed limit of ur current fleet of cars! Not fair to the customers. Pls ask them first before u secretly cap theirs to 180km/hr during service.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:57 am

The car I am driving can go from 0 to 100 in 7 seconds, top speed.arnd 250kmh, But this is ABSOULTELY GOOD MOVE.

• Tee For on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:58 am

Good move by responsible company like Volvo. As a Volvo owner I don’t care whether there’s a speed limiter or not. I just enjoy driving a Volvo. As the author said how frequent do we go beyond the safe speed? Human being never got enough even at 250kmh they go and upgrade until the car can reach 300kmh++. I saw a video in Youtube a Civic 1.5T goes beyond 260kmh on our Highway. Then go and “cucuk” any other cars that seems to be fast. Is this what we want? Wait until you get involved in any accident then only you know.

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Exactly. I drive a powerful car too but I buy it for the acceleration not the top speed. 110 is the max I’ll go and if I’m driving others it will be lower.

• Redcar on Jun 06, 2020 at 7:38 pm

Sounds like kakimod video to me.. ahaks

• Johan on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:59 am

We can not prevent some silly drivers and there is no need to travel above 180km/h in daily drive, unless goes to the track or Autobahn. So perhaps the best is limit the speed.

• I also think that this speed limit is not a good move. I personally don’t really drive so fast, but I don’t like the idea of being LIMITED

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ol Skool on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:05 pm

“Dynamic Speed Limit”, why didn’t our highway have this? It’s good to have a different speed changing depending on traffic condition. I normally drive 160 when the highway is almost empty.

• thepolygon on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:51 pm

Which highway gives you limit of 180 btw.

• Waterman on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:08 pm

Consumer paid for what they deserve. Indeed speed limit is in the act of good. But a 180km/h accident is not much differ from 200km/h accident. So don’t speed limit else go for much lower safety speed such as 110km/h.

Do you want to speed limit to 110km/h for the name of safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • kenot on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:58 pm

It is a good move by volvo. for me 150-160 kmh is already high speed. it is better to focus on safety tech and energy efficiency rather than top speed.

• Sepatutnya myvi yg kena set limit 110kmh.

• Thoong Chee Lim on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:39 pm

People who buy high performance cars because they can have the performance on tap , not necessarily they’ll drive at top speed all the time. Why limit them since Volvo’s customers are well over 21 year of age ? Unless Volvo is telling us we’re less likely to die in an accident by choosing the brand ! Might work…. but not for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • RecklessMalaysian on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Over 21 years of age does not mean one is able to make wise decisions. Would you accept a 21 year old to be the CEO of your company? Or your PM?

• Logical Deduction on Jun 06, 2020 at 7:00 pm

That is like saying why outlaw driving while drunk because, you know, those who drink are also over 21 years of age. So why limit them right. Ppl who are drunk aren’t necessarily reckless right. So why limit their need for booze on tap? Unless the authorities is telling us we’re less likely to die in an accident if we weren’t drunk! Might work… but not for me. *hik* I want my booze on tap unrestricted. *hik*

• choha on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:45 pm

180km/h is STILL too fast!

• salgoodguy on Jun 06, 2020 at 4:04 pm

Good move and should follow by other manufacturer..

• dream_125 on Jun 06, 2020 at 4:42 pm

“Contrary to popular belief, only a quarter of German’s famous autobahn (it is 12,875 km-long, collectively) is open to unlimited speed.”

Are Malaysians willing to pay the price for that?
    -In Germany, there’s mandatory PUSPACOM check every two years (cars found not road-worthy are de-registered immediately and are not allowed to use public roads). Tailing is forbidden and punished with hefty fines (there are cameras on highway bridges). And not to forget: While on some parts of the Autobahn there’s no limit, a strict 50km/h limit is enforced in towns (at schools, hospitals, etc. it’s 30km/h). More than 21km/h too fast will lead to mandatory suspension of the driving license for two months and a hefty fine…

• dream_125 on Jun 06, 2020 at 4:48 pm

BTW: The reason for Volvo’s move is that it’s much easier to design and build cars with a limit of 180km/h. Especially when you only have one four-cylinder petrol engine left and the rest is EV.
    It’s completely nonsense to tell people that there are less deads with an speed limit of 180km/h. If you hit a concrete divider with 180km/h, you’re dead.

• Provided you hit the concrete divider and Volvo is trying their best to ensure you don’t. See their point?

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 07, 2020 at 5:19 pm

“Speed doesn’t kill, it is the sudden stop which does”. Most Ah Beng Malaysians like to quote this.

This wall is where the sudden stop kills you and the speed just 0.01 seconds before this sudden stop is going to determine if you live or die.

• Derick on Jun 06, 2020 at 5:21 pm

Well, if one picks Volvo For Life, then one will max out at 180km/h. Many of us don’t drive at or beyond that speed anyway. Chill.

• alldisc on Jun 06, 2020 at 6:07 pm

Let’s look at figures.

At 110kmh, a car is travelling at 30.5 metres per second. Or 91.5 metres in 3 seconds.

At 180kmh, the same car will be going as fast as 50 metres per second. Or 150 metres I’m 3 seconds.

No car company dares to do crash test above 70kmh, let alone 180kmh. There is a reason for that.

I strongly support Volvo move.
    Japan has been doing that for over 40 years. No issues.

• Aniki Tan on Jun 06, 2020 at 8:21 pm

might have just limit the speed to 110km/h since there is no place in Malaysia gonna speed over that

• It still doesn’t fix the fundamental root cause of accident – driving ethics..
    Accident happen regardless of speed..
    Capping speed to 180 will not even help to improve road safety by abit.. Any statistics to prove accidents happen at above 180?
    To me, it is just Volvo marketing gimmick to prove they are doing something when they have run out of innovative ideas to improve road safety, and competition had caught up to Volvo safety level.

• kusoking on Jun 07, 2020 at 12:52 pm

I think people should think deep in “Why” Germany even in unlimited speed in highway but still wouldn’t get the problem. And why Malaysia cannot.

For me the reason not on the speed is the driving culture and people can too easy to get the driving license.

But anyway I would not pay RM2XXK above to buy any speed limited vechiles. How about an 180km/h Ferrari/GTR :)

• dream_125 on Jun 08, 2020 at 6:36 pm

Not culture, but enforcement. A driving license for cars (EU class B) is currently around EUR1,900 in Germany. Mandatory are 5hrs on national roads, 4hrs on the Autobahn and 3hrs at night. The average is 30hrs to get a driving license in Germany. Two fails are allowed, after that you have to go through a medical check to confirm that you’re “mentally fit to drive a vehicle on public roads”.

• 25years old on Jun 07, 2020 at 1:25 pm

it’s time to introduce Voting system in Paultan.org.

• mat satay on Jun 07, 2020 at 1:31 pm

I don’t understand what the fuss about limiting the top speed to 180 unless it’s a high performance car you plan to take for occasional track day.
    In reality the difference between car with top speed of 180 and 250 is less than 5 minutes from KL to Ipoh because theres only certain stretch that you can go beyond 180 if the traffic allows. And you will have to find a long straight stretch to go from 180 to 250..not like a superbike. Worse still, whatever minutes you gain will be negated at the first traffic light you encounter after the highway exit.
    If you are late for meeting.. its the acceleration times that matter
    0-60 in cities
    80 to 120 on federal roads
    100 to 160 on highway
    None of those would be affected by the speed cut. Top speed cut would allow manufacturer to concentrate more on torque rather than hp making the car accelerate faster, more drivable, less engine/transmission stress and better mileage.
    And if your ego is hurt because your ferrari is overtaken my some myvi.. you have not made it and certainly not entitled to the car yet.

• RecklessMalaysian on Jun 07, 2020 at 5:21 pm

Ferrari given by FaMa maybe but he thinks he has earned it.

• Wan M on Jun 07, 2020 at 4:31 pm

Recond vehicles from Japan all have been limited to 180 km/hr..

• potato on Jun 07, 2020 at 6:23 pm

IMO not a good move. A good move would be limiting it to 130km/h. Given around 20km/h+- above the highway speed limit to cater for change of tyre thickness & wheel size.

Limiting to 180km/h, doesn’t really help much.

The future would be enforcing built in GPS with speed limit control fully enforced according to the speed limit the vehicle is subjected to on the specific roads.

• vivizurianti on Jun 07, 2020 at 7:29 pm

Whatever the high speed your super car can attain, remember that all public roads are DESIGNED designed with limitation (speed limit is one). Also consider there are other road users present too. From kapchai, to kancil, lorry, bus, etc plying the same road,with auntie driver, ah beng driver, youngster,etc…thus PUBLIC ROAD. All given speed limit shown on signboard.

Want to go faster? Head to the Sepang track. Drive faster than Hamilton oso can.

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2020 at 12:25 am

speed limit to 180kmph shows that the car is not able to handle high speed. a good car can go over 280kmph safely.

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2020 at 12:28 am

i’ve consistently hit my civic turbo top speed of 207kmph without any problem. car still stays planted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • suarez (Member) on Jun 08, 2020 at 9:58 am

Why 180km/h ?
    These car manufacturers claim “limiting cars to 112 mph (140km/h)represents a decision made to lessen the risks of speeding accidents”.
    Would be useful if these claims could be substantiated with some robust studies.
    Otherwise why not just limit the speed to 140 or maybe even 110 for that matter.

• One lives no restart on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:24 am

Why would 21 ppl like his comments?!! you only lives once and no chance to regret when accident happened to you (worst if you are half alive not dead), I don’t care your live or dead but don’t jeopardize other ppl life and families you moron.
    Also I wonder how many cars can cruise safety at this 180kmph, go to daytona arcade or racing games and speed as high as you want, if not prove me wrong by getting into F1 or even A1 represent Msian then I salute you!

• Elon Musk on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:45 am

Remember F = m.a and KE = 1/2 m.vsquared when speeding

• Ulagam Sutram Vazhiban on Jun 08, 2020 at 12:49 pm

There is a phrase in Tamil ‘6 ill lam savvu, 100 ill lam savvu’. The same goes.. u can get killed in 80kmh and 180kmh.

So don’t blame the speed.. blame your car for not capable to handle speed more than 180kmh. Add more weight and rigidity to your chassis. Also put big brake kit. Stupid Volvo’s vision!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Logical Deduction on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:51 pm

So the high accidental death rate in India isn’t due to poor road usage from the people but due to their mode of transport? So I guess death in riding a buffalo is due to the buffalo, eh?

• Car Owner on Jun 08, 2020 at 12:58 pm

I own multiple Volvo’s, including the latest XC90 Inscription+ with Polestar performance upgrade. Yes, it’s a rocket ship and I want to share an owners perspective for a few interesting comments I saw here.

Volvo losing market share?
    People don’t buy Volvo’s to be throttle-happy, you buy it to cocoon yourself in luxury, comfort and safety. 400+ HP is great for the thrill but when carrying 3-6 passengers, you’d have to be insane to risk their lives at >180km/h.

Volvo shouldn’t introduce any speed-cap because they’re German and owners pay for a full experience?
    The longer you drive a Volvo, the more you want to engage auto-pilot at 110km/h and just enjoy the comfortable seats, Bowers & Wilkins sound system and the incredible drive experience as you waft along on the highway. Excessive speeding falls from your list of priorities VERY quickly.

Malu-malu ke when a Myvi overtakes a Volvo?
    No. You don’t drive a Volvo to compare yourself to others, you drive it to enjoy what you’ve worked hard for. The new “Geely/China-owned” Volvos will trash a Myvi, heck most cars on the road, without breaking a sweat, but it’s not an ego-measuring contest so who really cares?

180km/h restriction too low?
    I won’t attempt to question your logic behind this because I simply won’t understand. Please do a calculation of how much time you save driving at extreme speeds, how much additional wear your car incurs, petrol cost, and the risk you’re putting yourself and your family into. If you still think it’s worth losing your children or parents in a split second, then this is precisely why the safest automaker in the world is putting a speed cap, and everyone else in my opinion should too. Your split second mistake will almost definitely also take the lives of other road users and their families.

The Autobahn is the holy grail of speed?
    Go to Germany and actually drive there. You might wake up to the fact that many stretches are in fact speed-limited, a number of insurance companies don’t even cover crashes if they occur on those roads and that thrill of speeding has led to plenty of accidents.

• Lucy Tan on Jun 08, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Volvo needs to improve it platform. Floating at hi speed thats why has to control speed limit. Furthermore, the price need to drop like at least 30% in order to sell little more.

My Tiguan is more stable than XC90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Car Owner on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:25 pm

@Lucy Tan
        I agree the floaty feeling is definitely there on the normal Hybrid or Pure Hybrid modes to make the drive more comfortable. To solve this problem, I usually drive on “Individual” mode where I set the powertrain as hybrid but steering a little stiff and lower suspension like in performance/polestar mode. Pricing wise it’s probably the best value SUV on the road right now and honestly I’ve never felt even for a second that I should’ve paid less… but hey, I won’t argue against a lower price! :)

• paparadzi on Jun 09, 2020 at 12:50 am

Well said.

I’ll engage the Pilot Assist at 120 km/h, turn on the B&W and watch the Myvi overtake me if he wants to, simply because I’d rather reach my destination fresh and safe.

• vivizurianti on Jun 08, 2020 at 6:26 pm

No doubt modern cars can do high speed. But then consider this:

Say, you are driving your Ferrari at NS highway, clocking 200km/hr. Then accident happened. Ferrari owner claim insurance for the damaged ferrari.

Will the insurance company willing to cover the cost of ferrari repair, knowing the owner was speeding way above the national speed limit? A check of the ECU will tell everything.

So, go speeding all you like becoz your million dollar gazillion HP car. When accident happened, please dont “play innocent”, “buat bodoh”, or “blame myvi doing a slow 110km/hr”…..in order to claim insurance.

• Kol Quantum base TUDM on Jun 09, 2020 at 12:29 pm

How to check damaged ECU? Don’t be naive to equate car ECU like an aircraft black box!

• more reliable used car on Jun 09, 2020 at 7:58 am

prefer high performance car with speed cap at 180km/h.

these car have better RV, engine not busted.

• Ollie on Jun 09, 2020 at 1:46 pm

Dear Malaysians, you are bad at driving at any speed, whether sober or not sober, awake or asleep at the wheel. Malaysian men are the worst. Don’t live in denial, everyday driving proves it and the statistics of accidents and deaths on the roads prove it. Wake up and learn to drive better before complaining about traffic rules.

• We should follow Germany and have a dynamic speed limit. Less traffic should be 140km/ HR. On north South highways only. More traffic like cny or raya, down to 90 km/ HR to reduce chances of accidents which causes traffic jams.

• NaDoDi on Jun 10, 2020 at 9:09 am

Perhaps we can start with diligent enforcement of exsisting speed limits and it’s related laws. Believe if this could be done effectively, whereby offenders are heavily fined or/and having their licenses revoked for serious offences, we would be able to see real results. As for speed limiters, we can try out pilot projects on heavy vehicles that are suppose to be doing 80-90 km/h on the highways but are overtaking cars on the fast lane at 120 km/hr.

• y border to cap at 180 just 110 will do

• Value added on Jun 11, 2020 at 7:35 am

Well then there’s no need for such high power engine, fit your car with lower power, more efficient engine that tops out at 180kph, move that fund elsewhere to further strengthen your chassis, larger brake calipers, your R&D, safety or whatever and bring down the car price. Don’t charge the consumer for those crazy numbers like 0-100 4.9 seconds, 400 horsepower, 600 torque and say safety first.. those numbers dont matter anymore ain’t it?

• Depends on the road/highway situation.Speed limits are set due to few major concerns. The designed speed limit, and the operating speed limit. The former is about the road/highway’s X-Y curvature for max allowable speed that is controllable, and the latter about how the group of cars using the roads will react/space themselves and the sort of injuries that would happen if a collision occurred. Cars don’t kill. Speed does.

• Chris on Oct 30, 2020 at 4:47 am

I just saw on Toyotas homepage a 2.4l 180kW Toyota Camry also limited to 180

• Volvo Owner on Sep 12, 2023 at 1:42 pm

i own a Volvo XC60 T8 which hp over 400hp, 0-100 in around 5-6 sec but i never drive over 160km yet since day 1 owning it. if u are rushing, plan your journey ahead.

• agreed with volvo….where in the world can you drive above 180kph except the autobahn. maybe in the future when auto drive are falutless, than can increase the speed limit. For fun drive, its the twist & corner that totally a skill that need to master….going straights, anyone can drive straight fast.