SYG number plate bids net JPJ RM3.4 million in 5 days – RM115k for SYG 1, SYG 8055 received most bids

Lots of love for the SYG number plate series, which was open for bidding via the JPJeBid system from June 10-15. The road transport department (JPJ) collected a handsome RM3.4 million from the five days of online bidding, which it pointed out was RM100,254 higher than the ALL series from last year.

Here are some interesting figures. A total of 7,424 people took part in the JPJeBid and of that total, 3,173 punters secured their number kesayangan. As expected, the main prize of SYG 1 was the most expensive number, costing one Ung Eng Huat RM115,000. The same man was also the winning bidder for SYG 8 at RM52,000, the third most expensive number.

Other numbers that attracted high bids were SYG 9 (RM70,096), SYG 10 (RM50,000) and SYG 2 (RM45,000). For the second lover or second most loved car? Just joking. The number that attracted the most bids was SYG 8055 at 25 bids – it eventually went for RM19,000. Lucky boss, so loved.

JPJ says that all winning bidders have 12 months to register the number on a vehicle. The rest of the Sabah SYG numbers that wasn’t auctioned off (6,826 numbers) will be open for sale to the public. Prices range from RM20,000 for “golden numbers” to RM300 for running numbers.

Interested parties can deal at JPJ offices, but are encouraged to get a mySIKAP ID to browse the available numbers and purchase online. JPJ is pushing JPJeBid as the method of transaction as it’s transparent – a bidder can see his ranking in real time and there’s no human intervention, the department says. JPJ eBid went online in April 2019.

The next number plate series that will be open for tender is VEV, available on JPJeBid (app or portal) from June 18-22.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• KUNTA KUNCHI on Jun 17, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Why are malaysians so gian buying special number plates?JPJ …if u want to take the money…please collect all u want and give it to all the rumah anakyatim or old folks homes.JPJ should not encourage fanciful numbers.Instead it should step up enforcement on those who knowingly modify vehicles without permission,or those vehicles that overload.
    PEOPLE are losing jobs by the thousands and yet there are dudes who splash millions of Rm to show off,to get the “ong numbers”.HELLO…OUR NEW MENTERI…AS u have been so caring to channel funds to UTar and taruc…kindly do something to inculcate a more caring society and channel funds to charity..instead of allowing all these fanciful numbers on the road ,which tend to distract road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • FYI these people have or are already doing charitable contributions far more than most folks, but mainly to reduce their taxes. To these people, they have nothing to learn, money is so easy to them. So if they prefer to spend on frivolous numbers, let them. Its not like Dr Wee is encouraging them to buy these numbers so why deter their freedom how they want to spend their money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Ajibsok on Jun 17, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Your excellency Mr Gary…are u sure these show off dudes have done charity before splashing millions on fanciful plates?You will be surprised, they prefer to show off rather than give a 100 Ringgit to charity.
        If all these dudes have given to charity,we wouldnt be hearing news of orphanages crying for financial help,at this covid stricken economy.
        The super rich..look at all the multi millionaires and billionaires…can u give a list of the active charity contributors?
        You seem to be easily misled insanely by those show off dudes.Thousands who lost jobs,have their Myvi or saga facing repossession..and yet we have these people splashing huge amount of cash to get syiok.What is the role of JPJ ?To sell fanciful car plates?Perhaps,our new menteri should divert all these funds to charity,or help people facing car tarik balik.Makes more sense.

• Engineer on Jun 18, 2020 at 1:05 am

Perhaps it is you who seems to be easily misled. Most do charity for other reasons as Gary pointed out clearly but many of the genuine ones don’t show off their charity contributions in the form of scholarship funds, welfare funds and such. Just because you don’t hear about them doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.

TAR College was one such that came into the news because of an ex-Minister’s vendetta gone horribly wrong. Many alumni can attest for their super affordable education and this is possible because of rich benefactors.

After that if they still have plenty of money, who are you to tell others what to do with it? Are you some socialist commissar because you sounded like one.

• Got SYG 808 and a new CX30 for wifey, heheh.

• Don't be jealous on Jun 19, 2020 at 11:24 am

They earn their more hence they earned to right to spend it whichever way they want.

Others have no right to criticise how you spend your earnings too. Stop being jealous

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 17, 2020 at 3:15 pm

I am sure that SYG8055 went to Bossku’s allies… hehehe

• Mamat bin Md Top on Jun 25, 2020 at 11:32 am

SYG 8055 Saya Yang Garang BOSS.

I secured my birth date SYG 158. 15 August. Just for fund I paid to JPJ Rm760. 00.

• Raja Kamarul on Jun 17, 2020 at 3:16 pm

Hmmm, SYG8055. Bossku bought it maybe??

• What’s with these troll dupes and their near exact comments?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 18, 2020 at 10:58 am

Strict MCO is being lifted off effecting the political heat is ramping up. Sigh… better we go back to strict MCO for the sake of Malaysian politics.

• dong gor on Jun 17, 2020 at 5:36 pm

what does SYG mean?

• SANTINO LATIFF on Jun 17, 2020 at 6:15 pm

JPJ sell fancy number, Then will have money channel to charity

• vivizurianti on Jun 17, 2020 at 6:15 pm

Common rakyat tarak duit to feed family, facing financial difficulties, or worst….losing their job / income while needing to support entire family. Some may need to find 2nd job during this hard time.

Orang kaya can splash RM100k plus, just for a plate number?

Something wrong with this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Ruslan Bahari on Jun 17, 2020 at 6:32 pm

If they spend within their means, so be it. It is still cash to government coffers. Why so jealous? And you can’t assume they have not paid their dues in earning such money, or that they splash there and forget charity.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Jun 18, 2020 at 2:59 am

What’s wrong with you?

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 17, 2020 at 7:02 pm

There are people effected by COVID-19/lockdowns and there are some splashing on number plates, probably because of SST exemption and reduction.

• ThePolygon on Jun 18, 2020 at 9:08 am

SYG 404 got poolpe buy?

• While I feel like spending money on fancy number is a bit excessive, I also know that no one is pointing a gun at anyone to buy it. If those who can afford to buy wants it, let them have it. Why are people so salty al the time.

Yes the economy is not great now and people are losing jobs and cutting down on spending, but if those who can spend money, its none of business how and what they spend their money on.

• Gareth on Jun 22, 2020 at 9:07 am

Can you register your car immediately after securing your winning bid? Or need to wait for the series to open, which could be few weeks or months away?