Malaysian govt may withdraw bike convoy permission under RMCO, other freedoms may be restricted

With the implementation of the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO), many Malaysians seem to have forgotten the Covid-19 pandemic is still raging in many parts of the world and has not been eliminated or eradicated here. This caution seems to have fallen on deaf ears as many are taking a lackadaisical approach to prevention measures against the spread of the coronavirus.

This was said by Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Deputy Minister (Security) during a press conference broadcast by Astro Awani. Saying the closing of the East Coast Highway (LPT) over the weekend where bikers were stopped and checked was an isolated incident, Sabri said this was the first occurrence and hoped it would not be repeated.

“Police will take action against RMCO offences. However, if this continues to happen and there are mass gatherings, no social distancing, it is likely we will review the permission (for motorcycle convoys),” Sabri said. Sabri then gave the example of RMCO permissions for certain business premises being withdrawn and said the same could happen to motorcycle convoys.

“Like restaurants or business premises that flout RMCO standard operating procedures (SOP), there are restaurants there were closed for not following SOP. I hope motorcycle convoy participants will adhere to SOP because if too many do not follow the rules, this will result in all convoys being banned,” said Sabri.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ahmad on Jun 30, 2020 at 11:01 am

Pls withdraw for the safety of everyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • klguy on Jun 30, 2020 at 11:59 am

should be ok lah….most of them are superheroes especially Superman….sure immune to Covid…

• david on Jun 30, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Please ban permanently for the sake of other road users

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • sardin on Jun 30, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Ini lah kumpulan bermotor yang memalukan pencinta motosikal sebenar. My love in riding a bike never dies; whether its my trusted Vulcan or my all-so-evergreen c70. But I got really – extremely embarrassed seeing fellow bikers, especially in large(r) groups who disregard the safety of others, now more so than ever due to their tendency to ‘disrespect’ social distancing when restrictions is eased off a little bit. Yesterday alone in Segamat, Johor local patin restaurant and durian stalls are their target. Konon lepas gian nak berkonvoi. Konon ‘cool’ lah sangat. Mereka tak fikir kah orang lain meluat dan menyampah SEMUA peminat motor hanya kerana segelintir mereka2 ini yang tak faham bahasa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • these bikers are nuisance on the hi-way. why do they need to convoy anyway, just take the express bus lah!!

• komarad on Jun 30, 2020 at 1:48 pm

I’m a lone rider….since 1996..

• Ben Yap on Jun 30, 2020 at 1:55 pm

i’m ok with the convoys. as long as they don’t take up the whole road as if it belongs to them.

• vivizurianti on Jun 30, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Kesian Abang abang konvoi moto. All their bikes serviced, polished, plastered with stickers, jaket and helmet ready to wear…..but cannot ride now.

Nevermind, just kepit sbit their beloved static moto at house porch for the time being.

• daniel on Jun 30, 2020 at 2:41 pm

They are nuisance for other road user, they think they are king of the road by hogging the fast lane and expect you to give way to them, they will high beam you.

• albag on Jun 30, 2020 at 3:14 pm

that is why we MALAYSIANS cannot have good things.. when give you 1 meter, you take 100 meters..

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 01, 2020 at 11:06 am

RMCO = RECOVERY Movement Control Order (in Para 1, Line 1)

• Truthsayer on Jul 14, 2020 at 12:02 pm

This gang of syok sendiri berlagak macam setan jalanraya must be banned, Period.