Gov’t postpones child seat usage enforcement – report

Usage of child car seats in Malaysia became mandatory in January this year, however then-transport minister Anthony Loke said that drivers will not be penalised for not complying with the rules for the first six months of the year.

Today, July 1, is when full enforcement of child seat use is supposed to take effect, where drivers with children not properly secured with child seats in their vehicles are to be fined. This has been postponed to a later date that is to be advised, said transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong according to Sinar Harian.

The move to postpone enforcement of child seat usage is in light of the Covid-19 pandemic, and the government wants to allow the general public to be better prepared for the regulations. “The minstry of transport (MOT) will continue to have this rule in order to ensure the safety of children in vehicles,” the minister said.

Activities advocating the use of CRS (child restraint systems) will continue to take place, as will enforcement activities that focus on educating, advising and reminding the public of the importance of using CRS, he added.

The transport ministry will also continue to work with other agencies under its umbrella such as the Malaysian Institute for Road Safety Research (MIROS) and the road transport department (JPJ), not just on the subject of child seat usage, but also for other matters pertaining to road safety and their regulations.

“It is important that Malaysians truly understand the importance of child restraint systems and their correct usage. The minstry of transport’s stand is clear that the safety of Malaysians on the road is always prioritised and taken seriously,” the minister said.

Even if enforcement has been postponed, the importance of securing all individuals in an automobile, child or adult, cannot be overemphasised, and we certainly shouldn’t wait for regulations to compel best practice. The potential consequences of being flung out of a moving vehicle are frightening, to say the least.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mike Lee on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:31 pm

#ChildLifeMatters

• YB Albert on Jul 01, 2020 at 2:51 pm

No need wait for change,Rakyat.WE must put the seat in place ,if we value child safety .If the child is thrown out of the window due to severe impact..do u want to sue these politicians?
      We have all the tint,safety belt rules in place ..but what is the frequency of enforcement? Just pathetic enforcement.Usually they step up enforcement when there is a big hoo haa over a huge accident when a toddler is thrown out of the window.
      If you can buy a car worth say 20-120 thousand,what is detering you from a safety seat for your beloved children?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Safety First on Jul 01, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Unlike ESP, traction control, 6 airbags, AEB, lane keep assist, BLIS, rear camera, pedestrian cross detection, etc which are built into the car – childseats are more like an accessory item similar to in-car DVRs.

And yet I cannot fathom why people are open to install DVRs into their cars without being coerced by any laws (like in some countries) but yet they are reluctant to invest for childseats and even come complain that when there’s a law to enforce childseat usage only then they will comply.

The problem I see stems not from bad policies or lousy politicians but just bad parenting.

Safety First mean you taking care of yourself, not expect others to do it for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • stupidcar on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:31 pm

Don’t understand this at all. Humans need to be told/forced to do something that is actually beneficial for your ownself. What a time to be alive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Fuming mad at this stupid decision by this politician.

Saving lives especially a child should be the top most priority.

• Copy Paste on Jul 01, 2020 at 3:44 pm

Copy paste: “Even if enforcement has been postponed, the importance of securing all individuals in an automobile, child or adult, cannot be overemphasised, and we certainly shouldn’t wait for regulations to compel best practice.”

• Logical Deduction on Jul 01, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Animal kingdom don’t need politician and regulations for them to know what they must do to protect their offsprings.

Only humans are this incapabled to care for their young, needing laws to teach them that and when the laws are found wanting, they go blame others.

Only humans can think to “clean” their hands of any responsibility that our animal kingdom does by instinct.

• vivizurianti on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:05 pm

U turn again ke? Like that, sampai 2030 also nothing will happened of there is no commitment and determination for betterment of vehicular passenger safety.

Perhaps life is cheap in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Copy Paste on Jul 01, 2020 at 3:45 pm

Copy paste: “Even if enforcement has been postponed, the importance of securing all individuals in an automobile, child or adult, cannot be overemphasised, and we certainly shouldn’t wait for regulations to compel best practice.”

Commitment & determination to safeguard your child comes from you. Perhaps you’re not ready to be a parent?

• azhar on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Even in developed countries they have to enforced law regarding child seats…and here you are thinking all malaysians are well educated about child seats…live in reality laaa not in your fantasy world

• History Bender on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:33 pm

Did the law came first or their high ethics to do the right thing came earlier? In developed countries, they turn good practices and good behavioural traits into laws and majority follows without due concern because it is in their culture.

Here we need laws to correct bad behaviour but until what extend do we need laws to correct stupidity? Do we need laws govern us how to be a parent? This is common sense and yet even well educated Malaysians failed this so the best option from your PoV, is I guess for would-be parent candidates to sit a series of grueling exams in order to qualify as worthy parents of perfectly groomed and raised children.

• Crasher7 on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Just, why?!?! Child safety is a top priority, whether it’s during a pandemic or not!

• Ben Yap on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:48 pm

there is no reason to postpone the mandatory usage of childseat. it is a good law to enforce and malaysians are already given plenty of time to get one. I believe it is politically motivated to postpone.

• UTurn M on Jul 01, 2020 at 4:30 pm

Good law or not, it is your responsibility not the politicians. No point to harp on the politicians. If the law was untenable, better to postpone it and make it workable before rolling out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • mr1031 on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:49 pm

what a joke la our lawmaker..u-turn again for something so serious and important…..although I still believe that every rules are never being enforced esp. on the road..

• Bieight on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:57 pm

What a joke…

• Masuda on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Sendiri fikir la. Tak perlu enforcement. Takkan sebab polis tak saman, tak guna pun tak apa. Guna saja la. Better enforce for pemandu yg ambil alkohol, tak kira la mabuk ke tak.

• vivizurianti on Jul 01, 2020 at 2:39 pm

Simply said, investing on a child seat is for safety and peace of mind. We are talking about human life at stake if accidents really happened. There are my choices of such safety seats, they are quite affordable, and some can be owned with installment plan.

Like my colleagues used to say:

“Tak usah jadi bapak/ibu kalau setakat beli child car seat untuk keselamatan anak sendiri pun tak mampu”.

• This is why we are always behind compare to our neighboring countries.

• Avenger on Jul 01, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Yeah, stubborn Malaysians need a law to govern how they should act. Stupid isn’t it?

So if they forget to feed their kids until they die of starvation, I can expect these irresponsible parents to blame the Government for not enforcing a law to ensure parents must properly feed their kids. Facepalm!

• Good parenting on Jul 01, 2020 at 10:48 pm

Good lah. No need to fine. Common sense only, IF you are a good parents. Overall enforcement still weak, improve that first. Only Malaysian understand this.

• If majority think car seat is important for their children safety, they will do it with or without law. A car design with 5 seat belts are meant to drive 5 passengers not 6 or 7 passengers. If there is a need to move 6 passengers in a car, then get a bigger car or get a second car. When basic law/rule is not practice at family level, what kind of law we are talking for nation wide?

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 02, 2020 at 10:56 am

This statement from the same Minister who said last week that road safety was a high priority and would be taking steps to ensure that laws were toughened and enforced.

This statement from the Minister goes well beyond embarrassing. Some may even say that it is being negligent in their duty.

The law was introduced 6 months ago….yes, SIX MONTHS…so if anyone hasn’t made the necessary arrangements to comply with the LAW, then simply ban them from using the vehicle when young children are in the car.

Don’t waste your breath and our time, Minister, with future possible road rule changes until you can enforce one that is ALREADY in place!!

Disgraceful.

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:39 pm

Copy paste: “Animal kingdom don’t need politician and regulations for them to know what they must do to protect their offsprings.

Only humans are this incapabled to care for their young, needing laws to teach them that and when the laws are found wanting, they go blame others.

Only humans can think to “clean” their hands of any responsibility that our animal kingdom does by instinct.”

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:09 pm

…….and your point is?

• Aura89 on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:23 pm

Typically Mr Copy Paste only copy pastes his comments but let me put it this way, if you need politicians to teach you how to be a good parent, please don’t procreate. The world will thank you for your sacrifice.

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 11:16 pm

Copy paste: “When basic law/rule is not practice at family level, what kind of law we are talking for nation wide?”

• Importers have imported many stocks to stand by for 1 July then now postpone. U guyz really cantik la. Malaysia boleh la. JPJ going to pay for the warehouse storage charge till the postponed date for thousands of car seats ????