Four AWAS cameras to be installed at PLUS Menora Tunnel area – 70 km/h speed limit, end of this year

This will be a giant net. Four Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) cameras will be installed at the Menora Tunnel area on the PLUS North South Expressway. To be fixed on both directions, the aim is to reduce speed, and the accident rate in that hilly area north of Ipoh, if you’re coming from KL.

JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Shaharuddin Khalid said that the AWAS cameras are expected to be installed at the end of this year, and the speed limit is 70 km/h. So, if you cruise through the zone at 110 km/h, you will be caught. He added that the technical aspects and specifications are now in the final phase, and that both JPJ and PLUS are determining the most strategic locations for the cams.

“I hope that the installation of these cameras will introduce an element of prevention,” he told reporters in Ipoh, reported by Astro Awani. Shaharuddin described the zone as a “hot” one, where strange and major accidents often occur.

“The installation of the cameras is based on research by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and we’ve received approval from the transport minister for the speed limit,” he added, saying that to date, there are 45 AWAS cameras nationwide, of which 18 are on the North South Highway.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vivizurianti on Jul 10, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Slow down and don’t forget to smile for the camera, guys.

• azrai on Jul 10, 2020 at 12:24 pm

Good. The most effective way to reduced speed. 70km/h? Believe me, people will go till 50km/h once installed. Sayang nyawa? No, they think twice G pocketting RM300 from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Safety First on Jul 10, 2020 at 3:13 pm

Whatever their motivation to slow down, as long it works to keep them from accidents I’m all for it. Safety First.

• This is going to cause a big bottle neck in that area. 70 km/h is a bit too slow on that stretch tbh.
      Fully support the cameras, but really, speed limit should remain, or made variable with traffic conditions.

• Menora tunnel had a long time been infamous for accidents due to overspeeding which causes vehicles to go out of control. A slower speed limit & camera will ensure these idiots will slow down and not losing control, thereby saving them from a costly accident. How is this a bad thing?

• IGP mom on Jul 13, 2020 at 3:34 pm

Limit the speed going down hill. But dont do that to those climbing up … meaning from south bound to Menora tunnel, and north bound to Menora tunnel. Limiting the speed going up will cause permanent traffic jam, and every vehicle engaged in low gear with high fuel consumption.

• i hope gov put 10 awas cam there to avoid stupid driver making emergency brake to avoid saman

• allan on Jul 10, 2020 at 1:12 pm

Malaysian will speed, they dont sayang nyawa…..when kena saman, wait, PDRM sure give discount(yearly affair)…….How on earth Malaysian will learn?…..JPJ/PDRM need to be stricter. ……

• Mau duit saja... Cukai tak cukup ke? Ish ish on Jul 10, 2020 at 1:24 pm

Malu lah kerajaan asyik kutip duit dari rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 10, 2020 at 1:25 pm

Kalau salah, kena bayar la. Simple je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Safety First on Jul 10, 2020 at 3:14 pm

If you do the crime, you you pay the fine.

• azrai on Jul 10, 2020 at 3:16 pm

You obey, you don’t pay. Instead of paying RM300 for speeding summon, I rather splurge a big treat for my parent, wife, and kids at the same amount. Do your math.

• This from the spesis yang tak malu buat salah but complain bila ditangkap.

• ProtonSagaOwner on Jul 10, 2020 at 2:39 pm

I still hope that Malaysia increase speed limit on those super damn long/straight stretches of highway. Even traveling at 110km/h it’s still to slow sometimes.

• SALang on Jul 10, 2020 at 2:45 pm

70kmh seem too slow. 90kmh still acceptable.

• MeiLi on Jul 10, 2020 at 2:57 pm

Damn it. This is where i’d drive 110km/h. If going south, the bends after the tunnel is very good for 110 km/h driving before have to slow down to 90km/h after the ipoh exit (penah kena saman sblm ni). So, hopefully i’ll no longer speeding at the tunnel after this. Typical Malaysian (human?) right? After kena saman, sure tak berani dah. Malaysian, dont be like me, okay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Ex VGM staff on Jul 10, 2020 at 3:26 pm

Government needs money back after spending so much with MCO

• Speed. Camera reported ahead

• Fly High on Jul 10, 2020 at 7:20 pm

waktu malam@pagi bawak 70kmh lalu situ bahaya oooww,
    sebab majoriti semua pecut ja sampai abis meter

• TakNakP1 on Jul 10, 2020 at 7:25 pm

it has been decades speed limit at 80km/h. don’t understand y now 70km/h.

• donno on Jul 10, 2020 at 9:19 pm

70kph??

you will be rear ended by super fast express busses if you go that slow!!!

• Seri Dewi Menorah Titi Wangsa on Jul 10, 2020 at 11:52 pm

Private car now has to follow same 70kmph speed limit as commercial vehicle?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 11, 2020 at 12:10 am

i don believe this helps in anyway at all, in fact is gonna make it worse as there will be idiots who slow down excessively at the cameras

• Baguslah sgt… Tambah jem… Lagi2 musim perayaan… Letak 90kmj pun ok dah ni x agak2 highway letak 70kmj… Kaji dlu bru buat… Jangan jadi ba nga nga… Aptb…

• Kudos to JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Shaharuddin Khalid, hantam e-brake 110kmj turun 70kmj… cium bontot ckit je, no problem bro

• azrai on Jul 12, 2020 at 9:15 am

You can use alternative road a.k.a tolless jalan lama then.

• IGP mom on Jul 13, 2020 at 3:36 pm

I follow the speed limit in that stretch. When I going down hill, i have to keep braking to drive within the speed limit of 80km/h. If it is going to be revised to 70km/h, that will become worst. Even buses and lorries will tailgate me. Who know when will a big vehicle ram a small car into the cliff one day because of ‘brake failure’ from these massive vehicles.