Proton X50 – 177 PS and 255 Nm for 1.5 TGDI, 0-100 km/h in 7.9 seconds; 150 PS and 226 Nm for 1.5 T

More details have emerged about the Proton X50 from the short media test drive the automaker is holding for the SUV today. One of these is the confirmation that the X50’s 0-100 km/h time will mirror that of the Geely Binyue (or Coolray), with a claimed 7.9 seconds for the century sprint.

The X50 will be powered by a 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbocharged engine, developed by Geely and Volvo, with two variations being offered on the SUV. The first is a direct-injection unit called the 1.5 TD (designated 1.5L TGDi on the X50), which will only be found on the Flagship, the range-topper in a four-variant line-up.

Notably, the acceleration time for the X50 is with a few hp less than with the application seen on the Binyue, which is 179 PS (or 177 hp) at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm.

As shown in the specification slide from the presentation deck today, the Proton output tune for the unit is listed as 177 PS (or 174 hp), with torque remaining unchanged. It was previously revealed that this lower output figure for the 1.5L TGDi is quoted when RON 92 petrol is used, so it could be that the 177 PS rating Proton is going with reflects the lower output denominator.

The other mill is a port-fuel injection version known as the 1.5T PFI (designated 1.5L T on the X50), which has 150 PS (or 147 hp) at 5,500 rpm and 226 Nm of torque available from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm. This will power the three other X50 variants, namely Standard, Executive and Premium.

Both direct- and port-injection versions will be paired with a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission as seen on the CKD X70. As previously revealed, the claimed fuel consumption figures for the X50 are 6.4 litres per 100 km (15.6 km/l) for 1.5 TGDi Flagship and 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.4 km/l) for the 1.5T PFI engine.

The automaker also took the opportunity to list out the output response from both engine variations in the form of power and torque curves as well as highlight the measures taken by Geely to counter a three-cylinder engine’s inherent character. These technical specifications have been detailed in our previous post, which delved into the downsizing route taken by the company.

We’ve already covered the X50 extensively from the first media preview, and you can check it out here. We’ve also detailed the spec-by-spec differences that have been revealed prior to today, but expect more to emerge following today’s drive preview.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• (Like) Proton X50 Rm90k.
    (Dislike) Perodua Rocky Rm60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • ikankering's fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:47 pm

Perodua imo is better than Proton. in my opinion.
      please dont bash me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 41
      • Better in what way? Just curious…

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 30, 2020 at 3:15 pm

Is faster than my Civic 1.5T ???

• ikankering's fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 8:13 pm

No.
          just like my idol ikankering from lowyat, i will buy Axia rm20k with cash.
          beli basic car je

• Li Peng on Sep 30, 2020 at 8:25 pm

Because it has the ‘no acceleration’ safety feature built-in by design.

• The best is here. Wait no more. Bro Haf has spoken with his money.

• Safety First on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:54 pm

a lot people bought X50 n balik kampung. Proved org2 kampung we made it in bandar

• PEJUANG on Sep 30, 2020 at 3:54 pm

X50 is not the best. I think there are better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Calvin on Sep 30, 2020 at 7:26 pm

You won’t get a better car at these price levels.

• Honda City RS talk of the town, more spacious, comfort n powerful too. Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Bruh... on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:07 am

People nowadays flocking over an SUV. RS IMMD…what? Yawn….just another smol sedan.

• Li Peng on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:01 am

Honda City RS has 41PS less. That’s nearly the power of one Axia less.

• Delusion on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:39 pm

Rocky 60k? In your dreams because no way is the Rocky going to be cheaper than the Aruz. Looking at the way Perodua cars are always overpriced, the Rocky will be around 80k.

• Ben Yap on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:55 pm

i’m not a fan of 3 cylinder cars. it’s not as refine as a 4 cylinder car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Haidi on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:51 pm

3 cylinder maintenance so pensipp. Nuffsaid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • EDITOR on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:37 pm

So sad to see you condemning your entire range of City sold in Thailand
      https://paultan.org/2019/11/25/2020-honda-city-officially-debuts-in-thailand/

• Celup King on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:47 pm

Oh? You mean this? https://paultan.org/2020/01/29/gallery-2020-honda-city-1-0l-turbo-rs-in-thailand/

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:01 pm

Won’t be surprised if this new 1.5T PFI will be the new engine for the coming facelift Persona, Iriz and the planned new upcoming models.

• Silthice on Sep 30, 2020 at 6:07 pm

Facelift exora as well?

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 8:07 pm

Frankly, if I was Proton, the Exora should just be left as it is & discontinue when time comes. Globally, the MPV market is shrinking fast, being replaced by SUVs. Replacement be 7 seater B segment cross over. Want something even bigger, then the 7 seater D segment SUV Hao Yue VX11.

Proton should think ahead, plan for the next 10-15 years and not be a laggard by continuing to cater to dying segments like MPV & D segment sedans.

• Pitoto on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:20 pm

0-100kph time for 1.5T PFI? Anyone knows about it? Thanks!

• Aerohead on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Keep on preview this and that. Just give us the price and we decide if it is worth it.

• vivizurianti on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:47 pm

aftermarket bigger siput is in order……

• toyotafan on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Wah, such great numbers. Come lets to a drag with my 13 yr old 2 litre Mit. Lancer GT car, 223hp, 298Nm at crank with a 1297kg kerb weight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Li Peng on Sep 30, 2020 at 8:30 pm

It will surely lose against a 36 year old Audi Sport Quattro with 1300kg and 441kW (600PS)…

• freddie on Sep 30, 2020 at 9:32 pm

Such a weak spec Lancer GT you got.

• Here's another comment on Sep 30, 2020 at 10:37 pm

Wanna try drag a 15yo 4WD Perdana with 6G72 DOHC twin-turbo V6? 276hp, 427nm torque! Those also spec on crank without counting-in other modifications, with kerb weight probably exceeding 1400kg.

Nahh kidding, not my car bcos I can’t justify the cost. But someone with some cash laying around did it rather than buying a GT-R or whatever.

• Rohit Choudry on Sep 30, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Pm price

• No need talk so much about spec, give me the price list

• Silthice on Sep 30, 2020 at 6:09 pm

How fast from 0-100km/hr for 1.5T MPi?

• Jeffreyee on Sep 30, 2020 at 6:47 pm

What is the timing for the 1.5T, 150ps 226nm engine

• Same L0rr on Sep 30, 2020 at 9:52 pm

Buy Toyota better. Good rv.. Geely engine good, but campro+cvt bad rv..

• CHEW CHIN KUEN on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:36 am

Tbh, with the specs given, hope that they can still consider to lower the price to range 68k and above. 75k is just too much for this car. Do not forget the fact that this is national brand car. So it should be economic and affordable by M40.