SPIED: Mitsubishi Xpander seen in KL – launch soon?

October is set to be a busy month for the automotive industry, with many high-profile car launches happening in the next few weeks. Well, it looks like the Mitsubishi Xpander – seen here undergoing a commercial shoot – is also gearing up for its Malaysian debut soon.

The two units were spotted by reader Sutesh R. in Heritage Row, Kuala Lumpur. Both had dark window tinting, but were otherwise free from camouflage. For the uninitiated, the Xpander is a seven-seater crossover that is locally-assembled at a new production facility in Pekan, Pahang.

According to Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia CEO, Tomoyuki Shinnishi, the Xpander is localised to meet the demands of Malaysian customers. “It will be priced competitively to cater for families and adventure-seekers who are looking for a more comfortable and practical seven-seater to make their journeys a more pleasant one,” he said.

Power comes from a 4A91 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 105 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. A four-speed automatic is standard, sending drive to the front wheels. The kit list also includes Apple CarPlay, a 360-degree camera, black leather interior, and 16-inch dual-tone alloys shod with Toyo Proxes CR1 tyres

Early last month, MMM put the Xpander on display at the centre court of Mid Valley Megamall, but it merely showcased the lower half of the vehicle. Now that the crossover is getting some fun in the sun, expect it to be launched very soon. If you’re keen, you can also register your interest on MMM’s official webpage, here.

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander facelift preview at Mid Valley Megamall

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• (Like) Honda BR-V.
    (Dislike) Mitsubishi Xpander

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
    • Why So Serious on Oct 06, 2020 at 1:11 am

Aiyoo! Still want to tease here & there. Just make up your mind, either launch now and get a few sales before slaughtered by X50 or launch later then totally slaughtered by X50.

• Safety specifications is just meh for 2020. Next!

• Knightrider on Oct 05, 2020 at 12:27 pm

Good luck MMC, to many competitors this compact suv.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:19 pm

The spender has finally arrived

• Amirul on Oct 05, 2020 at 3:49 pm

Talk talk just talk… last time i dream of one, but now sucks.. booked ameera

• YB Albert on Oct 05, 2020 at 4:14 pm

Mitsubishi Malaysia…other car distributors who are launching their vehicles in similar price range,have been busy collecting bookings,without the official price lists.Why are u so damn slow ? Are u too shy to collect bookings?Look at how aggressive proton now ,under DR.LI.Those bleeding pre geely years,P1 is busy collecting bailout funds.Now,Protong has been discharged from ICU and walking tall again.

• History Bender on Oct 05, 2020 at 10:18 pm

That is the curse of Mitsubishi, under them Proton were bleeding, now they are making money. Meanwhile Mitsubishi is heading for bankruptcy and their curse affected new owner Nissan needing billions of Yen bailout. Proton was lucky to ditch Mitsu at the right time.

• 2Slow on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:06 pm

MMM why took so long to release Xpander price? U want to see how’s booking results then only see how much to sell? If over price… then is a Bye Bye for Xpander… now some of buyer already switch to Aruz due to special offer RM1,300 Adv and RM1,500 X.

If Xpander over price for 2020 … then next year with SST – MMM don’t expect to sell this MPV for coming months….

Facelifted from Indonesia converted to Msia also below RM80K… MMM don’t try to fool Malaysian else you will be keeping Xpander in your warehouse for sure 2021.

• David on Oct 05, 2020 at 8:41 pm

Just launch it. Old model though

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 05, 2020 at 9:43 pm

what we want…new pajero…what we get, this glorified avanza

• sam123 on Oct 06, 2020 at 7:55 am

really curious about the sales on this vehicle

• Lucas on Oct 06, 2020 at 12:46 pm

105 h/p kurang sikit for 7 seater.

• 2 airbag on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:27 am

7 seaters but 2 airbags only?
    We will get the facelift gen but not sure it is expander cross or normal expander

• 2Slow on Oct 09, 2020 at 1:42 pm

at Indonesia is Mit Xpander Ultimate (RP275,100,000 to RM78,000).

If MM plan to release Xpander over RM90K – surely sales will drop hard during 2021.