Gov’t urged to extend car SST exemption to June 2021

The government should consider extending the new vehicle sales tax exemption period until June next year, as this will continue to aid the local economy recovering from the effects brought about by the Covid-19 pandemic.

According to Proton Edar CEO Roslan Abdullah, an extension of the tax exemption period is the most appropriate measure to drive car sales and help towards a positive total industry volume (TIV) in the coming year. “We in the automotive industry really hope the government can consider extending the tax exemption by another six months, or at least until March next year,” he said when interviewed by Berita Harian recently.

He said the tax exemption has had a very encouraging impact on sales in the first three months, allowing the industry to recover losses incurred during the movement control order (MCO) period.

“In fact, the automotive industry has minimised retrenchment and some are still paying the same salaries as before the pandemic appeared. An extension of the tax exemption can further improve operations and ensure that manpower can be maintained,” he said, adding that such a move will also support the entire automotive and industrial supply chain, not just automakers.

The 100% sales tax exemption for locally-assembled passenger cars (CKD) and 50% for fully-imported models (CBU) announced under the Penjana economic stimulus plan runs until December 31. The industry has recorded strong sales numbers in the months since the SST exemption was announced, and the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) believes that the measures are good enough for a 70k increase in vehicle sales during the second-half of the year.

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lilytan on Oct 07, 2020 at 11:24 am

Too slow to take advantage of the SST exemption. X50 if book today can only get by Feb 2021, so no more discount. Last time also missed out on 0% GST when they were late with their X70. Still so slow. Never learn. Other marques laughing all the way to the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Raja Kamarul on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:24 pm

You mean the other marques that are number 3 and lower in the national sales ranking? Get real. Proton is number 2 after Perodua, and both are selling very well.

People like you would rather a half-baked product be launched (which you will also yap about), when what Proton is doing is ensuring their product irons out most of the issues before it gets to buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Aikon on Oct 07, 2020 at 3:09 pm

That sort of remark comes from a moron who doesn’t know what they are talking about. Hopefully that fella understands your comment

• Hahaha nice joke. Back when X70 booking started in Nov, Proton managed to deliver the first 1000 re-booked cars. Mind you these are CBU units. For X50 local production have started way ahead and I would get the first 10,000 pre-booked cars would reach customers by end of this year. Speaking of other marques, other launches for Honda City & Nissan Almera, Mitsubishi Xpander are still yet to launch so X50 is in good company on not missing out on anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • First 10000 by end of the year? What a joke. They can’t even deliver to those all booked on the first day.

• M. San on Apr 13, 2021 at 2:57 pm

CW, for your information, I booked my X50 on 30th September 2020 and received it on 21st November 2020. The dealer had said that he cannot even promise me that I will receive the car before Chines New Year 2021! The car arrived at the dealer’s premises on 18th November 2020 and I had a look at it on 19th November 2020. So what you wrote on 30th November 2020 is not correct. Please note that I do not know anyone at Proton, so no cables were pulled!

On the other hand, I booked the X70 in early November 2018 with a different dealer, who promised I would be able to get the car by mid to end December 2018. My condition was that it should be before end January 2019, which the dealer was very confident on, but I only received it on 4th April 2019 after threatening legal action if I did not receive it on that day since I had already made full payment a few weeks before! (Note: I received the X70 at 6pm on 4th April 2019 – in life, you lose some and you win some!)

• casual rider on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:09 pm

other marques also struggle lah

• lilytan on Oct 07, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Well other marques arent screaming for tongkat frm the gov.

• Celup King on Oct 08, 2020 at 12:10 pm

You like Toyota begging for trillion Yen bailout, Nissan & Mitsu separately asking billion of Yen, GM asking Trump for bailout. Those kind of tongkats you refer to?

• PDW7257 on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:52 pm

I’m in the opinion that if the G are to oblige, they should only allow for cars that are either assembled and/or manufactured here in Malaysia only.

No point of supporting CBU cars from Japan or Thailand

Just my 2 cents

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Just because Proton is unable to meet the allegedly 20,000 X50 bookings before Dec 2020.

• Sorry Naik Lorry on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:40 pm

Blow water only la, people who really wants to buy car will buy it with or without SST exemption.

• I disagree. I’m planning to buy car with SST exemption, but do not have budget this year. If extend by mid of next year, that’ll be perfect timing for me to get a new car as I’m looking for a 7 seater for my family (BR-V or Aruz).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • plainbs on Oct 07, 2020 at 3:17 pm

They should extend the period because they are damn slow in approving the car prices.

• john is otak batu on Oct 07, 2020 at 3:31 pm

Should give excise tax exemption NOT SST exemption!

• Crony on Oct 07, 2020 at 4:33 pm

Excise tax exemption only benefits buyers of luxury cars not a single B40 car buyer shopping for Proton or Perodua will enjoy the reduction!

• Please email me when the new announcement is made. I would like to postpone to next year for tax exemption so I do not lose out the depreciation for year end car.

• M. San on Apr 13, 2021 at 5:39 pm

CW, for your information, I booked my X50 on 30th September 2020 and received it on 21st November 2020. The dealer had said that he cannot even promise me that I will receive the car before Chines New Year 2021! The car arrived at the dealer’s premises on 18th November 2020 and I had a look at it on 19th November 2020. So what you wrote on 30th November 2020 is not correct. Please note that I do not know anyone at Proton, so no cables were pulled!

On the other hand, I booked the X70 in early November 2018 with a different dealer, who promised I would be able to get the car by mid to end December 2018. My condition was that it should be before end January 2019, which the dealer was very confident on, but I only received it on 4th April 2019 after threatening legal action if I did not receive it on that day since I had already made full payment a few weeks before! (Note: I received the X70 at 6pm on 4th April 2019 – in life, you lose some and you win some!)