2020 Proton X50 official video – SUV zooms around KL

We’ve seen a fair bit of the Proton X50 by now, but here’s the soon-to-be-launched SUV in a slightly different light. A stylish SUV’s natural habitat is in the city, and in this new teaser video we get to see the X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship zooming around KL. There are brief day and night shots of the car in action, as well as snippets of the media preview at Sepang.

While the previous teaser video focused on design, this episode is titled Powerful Performance, with captions mentioning the 1.5 TGDi engine and seven-speed dual-clutch transmission with manual mode. The turbo engine in question is the Flagship’s direct injection unit with 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm. 0-100 km/h is done in 7.9 seconds.

The other three variants – Standard, Executive and Premium – get a port injection version of the mill with 150 PS at 5,500 rpm and 226 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm. All X50s get a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission as used in the CKD X70.

Speaking of the media preview at Sepang, two-time Sepang 1000 km Endurance Race champion Farique Hairuman was on duty at the event, and was all praises for the X50’s handling. By the way, the Proton has been made to ride softer than the Geely Binyue, which suspension was deemed too stiff for Malaysian road conditions. There have been changes to the front anti-roll bar, spring rates, bushings, tyre selection, dampers and electronic power steering.

Available equipment include LED headlamps, automatic air-con with second-row vents, an eight- or 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit with GKUI 19, fabric or leather seats, electronic parking brake with auto brake hold, 17- or 18-inch wheels, and a powered driver’s seat.

On the safety front, the five-star ASEAN NCAP-rated car comes with four airbags, stability control and hill start assist on the Standard. It’s six airbags from the Executive onwards, but only the Flagship gets Level 2 semi-autonomous driving features including AEB with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, auto high beam and blind spot monitoring with door opening warning. There’s also a parking assist system with auto parallel and perpendicular parking.

Find out all you need to know about the X50 in our info hub. The official launch is on October 27.

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• El Chino on Oct 23, 2020 at 1:06 pm

SUV design – ticked
    Premium interior – ticked
    Turbo engine 177ps – ticked
    1.5 roadtax rm80 – ticked
    Advanced specs – ticked
    Priced below rm100k – ticked
    Prestige brand glamer – ticked
    Resale value – ticked
    Aftersales service n parts – ticked.

No other alasan not to buy x50. Ayoh beli aje la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 32
    • Misai Keli on Oct 23, 2020 at 2:11 pm

Misai Keli – Ticked.
      Tapau Continental – Ticked.
      Contiental Parts and Quality Issue – Typical dont complain laa
      AEB only for 1.5TGDI, low spec dont have – Ticked.
      Smallest SUV car boot – Ticked.
      Smalest SUV 2nd row sofa – Ticked.
      Bye Bye BMW Benz Volvo Audi- Ticked

Pros and Cons all have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 23, 2020 at 2:27 pm

No price – ticked

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Banana Big Time on Oct 23, 2020 at 7:44 pm

Low RV- ticked. Low reliability-ticked. Lower class than Vios and City- ticked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
        • Lolwhut? on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:42 pm

The car isn’t even out yet and you know this as a fact how? LOL

• Monana on Oct 23, 2020 at 2:30 pm

You must be so ignorant to say aftersales service & part – ticked. Proton is improving, but currently their aftersales & part availability are poor. Dont know the reason; could be due to the pandemic, but that is the reality. Just go to their X70 fan FB page. Quite a lot of issues regarding this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • X70 Buyer on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:39 pm

I don’t have any issues with my X70

• PEJUANG on Oct 23, 2020 at 5:43 pm

You are one lucky owner. those pipu on the FB groups arent lucky enough.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:42 pm

And how many are on FB compared to the total numbers of X70 owners?

• More than 10 of my friends who had X70 for almost a year now, none of them had any issues. Only one big big problem they had with car “cant help it” is that it drives absolutely too damn good better than those Japanese car on par with Mazda and continental cars. Pity those who had issues they are really the unlucky ones

• wira kacuk on Oct 23, 2020 at 2:49 pm

But but but my kacuk wira evo can propel to 100km/h in 4.5 seconds, and it’s a death trap with today’s safety standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:04 pm

LOL.. Resale value.. After sales service… mimpi lah..

There’s a good reason why Perodua still sells twice the number of cars monthly vs. proton despite Proton’s superior technology and superior materials. Ownership experience is more than just tech, materials and price tag.

Proton has potential for greatness. They just have to stop constantly stealing defeat from the jaws of victory. Simple question to those who frequent Proton’s CoSE.

When have they ever start working on your car upon the appointment time? In over 20 years of Proton ownership including my recent ones – NEVER.

When have they ever done a post-service satisfaction survey after major service intervals? Again, in over 2 decades including the recent Protons I own – NEVER.

When you go into the CoSE to get your car serviced and it comes out with a different problem, when have they offered to continue checking on your car and rectify it on the spot? In the past 5 years I’ve been servicing my Protons at the CoSE – NEVER. They’ll ask you to continue driving around with the problem and set another appointment date.

Guess what? Current Volkswagen after sales service quality is far better than what I got at the Proton CoSE.

So, after over 20 years of owning Protons including recent models, no thanks. Never again. My VW and Perodua are serving me well and their after sales service is head and shoulders above Proton. So, out went my Proton, good riddance.

Downvote all you like, but there are many Preve, Exora, X70, etc owners who are in the same situation as me.

Buy a Proton if you want, but have the right expectations that the ownership experience will keep letting you down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
      • Ha je mie on Oct 23, 2020 at 9:20 pm

This premium quality in the X50, deserved a premium sub-brand altogether. Tron X50 Flagship, premium proton.

• Johndoe on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:14 pm

Resale value – ticked
      Aftersales service n parts – ticked

Lol..ok..i laughed..next joke pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • deded on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:20 pm

Money in the bank – unticked

• newme on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:40 pm

After sales & parts ticked kepala hotak ko. Look at X70.
      And price is expected to be below RM100K, even below RM70K considering the protection it enjoy as national car brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Copy Paste on Oct 23, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Copy paste: “A lot of people are still interested in the new model. We are only serving our readers here.

I do agree those who are not bothered by the X50 may find it excessive. By all means do skip any articles you deem unnecessary.”

• Troll Hunter on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:00 pm

Is aftersales really that bad? If it is, Hafriz would be the first to complain about it. Here in article. Did he?

• Ghani on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:42 pm

Tak payah pikir, tak payah pening, beli X50

• Norlia on Oct 23, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Style, Power, Prestige. Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Brian on Oct 23, 2020 at 1:52 pm

Proton. Gaya, Mutu, Keunggulan

• Style and Power i agree. Prestige ?? Not in sight yet. Prestige I would only link with continental car, as Prestige is equal to Value of car brand.

• bobby tan on Oct 23, 2020 at 1:13 pm

the ad not even can see x50 clearly

• Troll Hunter on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:06 pm

So you prefer in your face ah beng City add racing against Camry type of adds? That’s rare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Brian on Oct 23, 2020 at 4:16 pm

The last Honda City teaser ad, you see more of Toyota Vios than their City. So?

• flagship again, like other variants doesn’t even exsits..

• Raj Kumar Kunhiraman on Oct 23, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Enough la .. you guys must be paid well. As a auto journalist, you need to be neutral and be fair to other automakers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:29 pm

I’ll have you know that to this day, not a single ad on the X50 has been run on paultan.org. We run what is relevant to Malaysian car buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Raj Kumar Kunhiraman on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:45 pm

I am referring to number of posts on x50, not ads.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 23, 2020 at 5:16 pm

A lot of people are still interested in the new model. We are only serving our readers here.

I do agree those who are not bothered by the X50 may find it excessive. By all means do skip any articles you deem unnecessary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • One sided PT on Oct 23, 2020 at 7:47 pm

Free one just read lah. Jangan complaint, bias tak bias we tau lah.

• I agree. Too much teasing and countless amount of X50 articles just makes it look bad. Very cool car but please stop it already until it is actually launched.

• Korean Fan on Oct 26, 2020 at 2:27 am

Yes. What I hate about Proton is too much teasing. Look at how produa launched their new MyVi. One morning wake up see news of MyVi all around. Then I terus snap one. Proton ni asyik tease, tease, tease. Dia ingat dia tu jual kereta terbang kot. China car aje ma. Already in worldwide market for years. Tu pun nak main tease, tease, tease.

• newme on Oct 23, 2020 at 6:24 pm

Excessive article is one thing. Trying to run down other brands is a win.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 23, 2020 at 9:07 pm

And when did we do that, exactly?

• Newne on Oct 24, 2020 at 9:41 am

Running down p2 with articles like 5 variants not to buy and comparing service cost whenever proton launching new model. And avoiding parts issue of x70 that is all over the internet.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:10 am

We also did an article on 5 Proton variants you shouldn’t buy. Comparing service costs, we also compared the X70 vs the CR-V, which exposed the Proton as the more costly of the two.

The X70 parts issue, we have put in a request for a formal interview on the matter. We have to be professional about it, and not report based on social media complaints alone.

We had the same approach with the Myvi fuel pump recall. Plenty of complaints online, but we got statements directly from Perodua to explain the situation.

If there’s anything else, do let me know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • English Teacher on Oct 24, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Keyword: Professional.
            Something that doesn’t exist in Newme’s vocabulary.

• Maxine on Oct 24, 2020 at 5:31 pm

newme – a decade old troller, another nonstop fake accusations against Sir.Hafriz’s & Paultan’s credibility. They are always neutral and Fair to all sides.Their articles really a World Class and It is still Free, no sub-charge to readers too. Just go Big, wiser & another level – Go setup your own website, media platforms or youtube accs to create multiple Fake Articles such as “5-10… variants you should avoid”, or “Beware of this before you buy…” or “My bad Ownerships experiences with…”. Go on, express your pov for whatever Brands there! Instead of coming here days & nights with slow poke diversions & no impact on masses. Stupid decade old troller & your handler as well – low KPI’s on trolling, repetitive, stagnant, no progress at all.

• Which other brands were you referring to? AFAIK Paul Tan were forced to rewrite their article when comes Toyota’s turn to be put to shame. So are you telling us, Paul Tan are running down Proton for a Toyota win?

• Troll Hunter on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:12 pm

Haters, Trolls, & Bashers Convention
        Main hater: Hey look guys! Paul Tan is releasing a series of Proton articles and the car is shit good. What can we talk bad about? Anything guys?
        Minion hater: We could hate the brand?
        Main hater: Doesn’t work, people don’t hate Proton nor Geely anymore. Next!
        Trolls: Hehehe. We could troll about vibrating 3cyl engine and power windows…
        Main hater: Sorry bro. PT have explained on the massive attention by Geely & Volvo to resolve all the issues with 3pots and last I heard nobody remembers when the last time Proton power windows failed. Next!
        Basher: Ooh ooh I know! If we can’t talk about the brand or car, lets just bash the writers and the website.
        Main hater: Nice thinking! Let’s go deploy our army of haters, trolls & bashers right now. Wait a sec, there are only 4 of us here. No choice, let’s deploy our army of dupes!

• Haidi on Oct 23, 2020 at 2:41 pm

7.9 sec to 100
    Waiting for someone to comment on that.

• It’s China Geely car anyway. Proton just change the badge, logo, some minor exterior parts and voila, it’s Proton car already. Good job to China and Geely. Proton as always, just a copycat here and there. What a shame for a car makers of around 37 years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • I have to agree. The car seems very good. Except nothing to do with Proton. I hope the replacement models made for Iriz/Persona and Saga will be good, as they are locally developed. It should be pretty good.

• Changing left hand drive to right hand drive is not like pulling out the steering wheel and attach it to the right dashboard.

Please appreciate the Proton engineering work that goes into it.

• Potong R&D best on Oct 24, 2020 at 1:09 pm

Proton designed only grill. Well done best grill in the world. Nxt time design fog light cover please

• Lolwhut? on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:57 am

It shows you have no idea what Proton had been doing, in fact it shows you have never left home for 37 years.

• Engineer on Oct 24, 2020 at 10:18 pm

Oh wow. Let me tell you this. If Proton did a shit job on the conversion you WILL know about it with the awkward ergonomics and phailed dinky glovebox with fuses right beside it. It is when Proton did a good job that you don’t notice anything out of place with this car. Everything WILL look natural and well placed like a proper RHD car. Capishce?

• Karam Singh on Oct 23, 2020 at 3:58 pm

All aesthetics and performance gimmicks are useless when you have a poor after sales service (take this as a challenge Proton – be top 3 in JDPower CSI survey) and even worse warranty claims processes due to lack of replacement parts supply.

Don’t forget, it’s year 2020 and you have not made any appearance in neither Philippines nor Vietnam (progress not good at all in Thailand and Indonesia). Geely brought their cars instead, claiming it’s easier because of same LHD market. Die la proton like this.

Obviously the brand is lacking badly on image presence in neighbouring countries.

I will keep smiling at how big and good Proton at being jaguh kampung.

• Copy Paste on Oct 23, 2020 at 5:23 pm

CP: JD Power survey have left this region dude.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:08 pm

Spot-on regarding the warranty claim process. Even with full service record at Proton’s service centers, they will bounce you around and give excuses to not replace the faulty item. For example – gearbox replacement took a month. There are X70 owners whose shock absorber replacement took 3-4 weeks, with lots of excuses given for warranty claim. My previous car, aircond thermostat problem, kept being diagnosed as “no problems found” by the service center and yet when I drive the car, the problem is still there. Took 3 visits and lots of table-banging for them to replace teh aircond thermostat and solved the problem for good. There are people who even had to file reports with the consumer claims tribunal to get their warranty claims honored.

So, it’s not just some rumors or unfounded stories. Just talk to all those who have bought lemons from Proton or have had awful experiences with Proton over the years.

• applegreen on Oct 24, 2020 at 12:23 pm

faulty aircond thermostat is wear & tear problem. not under warranty claims whatsoever, just like car tyres..

• DonkeyKong on Oct 25, 2020 at 6:17 pm

Wow. So smart. The thermostat problem was there from the moment I took delivery of my previous car and I reported it during the first 1000km service interval. So, what wear and tear?

• Amran on Oct 23, 2020 at 4:31 pm

Kenapa perlu selalu menukar kereta hanya nak ikut trend? Come on, aku gaji RM7000 sebulan pun pakai Saga FLX byr loan 4 tahun.. Lama dah abis bayar hutang.. duit yang ada buatlah pelaburan beli hartanah untuk diwarisi anak cucu nanti..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • My Honda Hrv 2016 is the best from my Volvo XC40 2019

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • XO Buyer on Oct 23, 2020 at 10:48 pm

Durian XO is the best! Oh wait…we’re not talking about durian here, eh?

• Sam Loo on Oct 26, 2020 at 4:23 pm

Buy Toyota better.. Good RV!

• Apasamy on Feb 14, 2021 at 6:32 pm

Lol the glovebox is super fail