Proton X50 specs compared to the X70, Honda HR-V, Toyota C-HR, Mazda CX-3, CX-30 and other SUVs

Proton today launched the new X50, which is undoubtedly one of the most anticipated cars of 2020. With four variants available and pricing from RM79,200 to RM103,300, there’s quite a lot of appeal to be had here given the specifications on show.

So, how does the X50 stack up against mainstream B- and C-segment SUVs that are currently available or set to go on sale in Malaysia – namely the Proton X70, Honda HR-V, Toyota C-HR, Mazda CX-3 and CX-30, Subaru XV, Kia Seltos and Hyundai Kona? Well, we’ve compiled the data and arranged them neatly in table form for your consideration.

Before proceeding, there’s a bit of housekeeping in order. We’re only listing the top-spec variant available for each model, which is what many car buyers would look at first as the range-topper is typically the one with the best possible equipment. In the case of the X50, that would be the Flagship, with the rest being as what you see in the table.

Pricing-wise, the X50 Flagship is the least expensive of the bunch for now, barring official pricing for the Kia Seltos and Hyundai Kona. Both Korean models have yet to be launched here, although the latter is set to arrive later this week.

In terms of engine output, the X50 Flagship’s 1.5 litre turbocharged and direct-injected three-cylinder makes 175 hp and 255 Nm of torque, which is less than the X70 that packs a larger-capacity 1.8 litre turbo four-cylinder with 181 hp and 300 Nm.

However, when compared to other SUVs listed, the B-segment Proton model commands quite an advantage, although the Kona’s 1.6 litre turbo engine does put up a close fight with its 175 hp and 265 Nm. The X50, X70 and Kona all sport seven-speed dual-clutch transmissions – the Proton models use a wet type unit – with all others being either a six-speed automatic or CVT. All-wheel drive is also a rarity, with nearly all listed variants being front-wheel drive only.

Looking at dimensions, the X50 measures 4,330 mm long and has a wheelbase of 2,600 mm, placing it within touching distance of the Honda HR-V (4,334 mm long, 2,610 mm wheelbase), which has been considered the benchmark B-SUV for the longest time.

The X50’s figures also make it close in size to the upcoming Seltos (4,315 mm long, 2,610 mm wheelbase), while the wheelbase matches that of the Kona, which is shorter in length at 4,165 mm. Compared to the X70, Subaru XV, Toyota C-HR, Mazda CX-30, the X50 is undoubtedly smaller, but it still manages to eclipse the Mazda CX-3 (4,275 mm long, 2,570 mm wheelbase).

As for equipment, the X50 Flagship and X70 Premium X both stand out by having a 360-degree camera as standard, along with a panoramic sunroof. The former is not offered on any of the other SUVs listed, while the latter is only for the front with the CX-30.

The X50, X70 and CX-30 are the only ones with a LCD digital instrument cluster, with others having primarily analogue dials and an accompanying multi-info display. Additionally, while automatic air-conditioning is found on all variants – single- or dual-zone – rear vents are only found on three models mentioned in this paragraph.

On entertainment functions, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support is not found on any Proton SUV or the HR-V, but there is a screen mirroring function available as an alternative. If you want AA or AC, only the C-HR, CX-30, Seltos and Kona have them direct from the factory, while CX-3 owners can purchase an retrofit kit – the XV’s head unit is basic.

Of course, one of the biggest selling points of the X50 Flagship is its safety and driver assist systems, and it certainly has plenty of them. Six airbags are standard at this level, with autonomous emergency braking, active cruise control, active lane keep assist, blind spot assist and auto high beam control all present.

The X70, CX-30 and Kona come close, but they do not perfectly mirror the X50’s active safety suite, which is rather comprehensive. Other SUVs on the list only have a few systems as standard, or none at all, by comparison.

All things considered, the X50 is an attractive value proposition for those in the market for a B-segment SUV. With a capable powertrain that can take on those higher up the food chain and with a compelling kit list, especially in regards to safety and driver assist systems, there’s plenty of appeal here. Thoughts?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton X50 specs even better then BMW X2 350k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 16
    • Sucking blood for china car on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:27 pm

RM 79k for this! no way, might as well get a Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 68
      • Dredd on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:53 am

Which Japanese SUV that gives this much spec for Rm79k hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • Jonn Dol on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:31 pm

X50 premium rival is BMW X1 and Merc GLA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Why don’t have 0-100 data comparison?

• IGP mom on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Not just on paper spec la. VW Golf spec wise was pretty impressive too until people saw many broke down along Plus highway. Comparing X50 spec vs Japanese and Continental cars are just syiok sendiri.

Even swiss roll, pasar malam can sell $2, some cake shops sell $10 or more. Can’t really compare. It’s your choice, but you dont have to bash anyone who doesn’t agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Look who is syiok sendiri and bashing anyone. Taken a look in the mirror lately? You syiok your Japanese are up to Conti levels? My foot!

Japanese cars today have plenty of issues themselves. Remember Takata? Remember fuel dilution? Remember stuck carpet? Remember fuel pump? Or did you bury your head when these issues exploded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • YB Albert on Oct 28, 2020 at 2:20 pm

With 25000 bookings,I wonder who will get the x50 first,before the SST exemption expires come 31 Dec.Are we going to the ‘old days” where the salesman tells you,”I only have Executive or Top of the range specs and you better not be choosy on colors.Take it or we give to the next buyer”.
        Same goes for the Mitsubishi Expander.They roughly know the good response,cant they start production earlier?Now , hardcore carbuyers are staring at SSt tax,next year delivery,and higher specs pricing.

• Arnie on Oct 28, 2020 at 7:16 pm

It is not so easy for Proton to vomit 20,000 X50 cars to the exact number of different variants pre-ordered within the first month alone. Even Proton perhaps couldn’t predict they would get this much interest for their new car. Atm it is sellers market so better be not choosy on the colour, just buy the spec you want at your affordability range.

• Lowsai to compare with German on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:30 pm

Surprise got people compare this with German, compare with Havel even Havel is more luxury then Geely In china

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
      • Aura89 on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:42 am

Surprising? Why not? BMW had only recently did not bother to include AEB for all their cars. This X50 at 2-3X less has all the bells & whistle including the kitchen sink and bathtub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • German and China sausage on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:23 pm

KLCC condo to compare with Semenyih condo. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Avenger on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:54 pm

Uh huh. A Semenyih condo that comes fully furnished & with swimming pool, gym, park, carpark, security & ever other amenities while that KLCC condo comes decrepit rundown, kosong, no swimming, no gym, no carpark, no guards, no nothing. Which you prefer to stay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • KL sales agent on Oct 29, 2020 at 7:12 pm

After 10 year KLCC condo can sell for RM2M appreciate 100%. While semenyih condo is still RM 300k and no buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • @KL sales agent. I truly hate people like you that buys houses just to sit on price appreciation rather having than a place to stay. You lowlifes are the types that makes house prices unaffordable to a lottt of hardworking people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • Dumb Joe on Oct 30, 2020 at 7:03 pm

Agreed with this sales agent. Be realistic.

• Agreed with Joe. Be realistic. Hate flippers like KL Sales Agent.

• Ahmad on Oct 27, 2020 at 6:54 pm

Dear Gerard, put X1 too into the image comparison. This is the proton benchmark

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 27, 2020 at 8:49 pm

Pay 80k, baik ambik 2018 Civic ketam 1,5T. at least the honda is 1 segment above, ambik corner pon tak ke laut…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 69
  • yusry on Oct 27, 2020 at 6:56 pm

with x50, proton has become a sort of yardstick for cars priced between RM0-200k

so if other foreign makers want to market in this price rage in malaysia, they really really need to have a good reason why they price it above x50 flagship, examples :

1. if they are giving bigger car dimensions
    2. better fit and finish
    3. better creature comforts
    4. better PS and torque
    5. better after service eg longer warranties, in house financing options and others
    6. etc etc

balance in the force restored, leveled the playing field, things will get more interesting from now on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • Amran on Oct 27, 2020 at 8:36 pm

abang-Abang picked other brands becoz :
      1. better air muka in front of family n frens
      2. better resale value
      3. better aftersales
      4. better feel bangga when sleeping at nite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 45
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:42 pm

1. Nobody cares except AhBengs
        2. Nobody cares except AhBengs
        3. Nobody cares except AhBengs
        4. Nobody cares except AhBengs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 17
      • Tcp driver on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:55 pm

No. 1 and 4 – what so special about other brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Comparison on Oct 27, 2020 at 7:18 pm

What do you drive ?

After a long long pause …..eerrr a Proton (mumble)

What ? a. …a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • In all honesty I’m proud of it. Of course that’s just my personal opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Step child on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:07 pm

You are wrong … It’s a Geely with a rm5 Proton Badge.

If it’s a real Proton…. at least I will be proud of it. Not this bastardisation of an automobile brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 47
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:44 pm

Really now? So what do you call Supra partnership of Toyota/BMW? A bastard’s offspring?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
        • madmoz on Oct 28, 2020 at 2:20 pm

The BMW Supra :P
          Not one to nitpick nor a fanboy with his torch and pitchfork, but sitting inside the new supra does feel oddly like sitting inside a BMW.

• Ol Skool on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:16 pm

For entry level car, maybe. X70 and X50 owners certainly proud of their own drive, cos they have chosen Proton instead of other available options in the same price brackets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Cindy on Oct 27, 2020 at 8:12 pm

This is Gold, the details tableted in such a way that is really easy for me & others to digest as im now looking to purchase one for my 20’s daughter.
    At first with the additional safety materials & gadgets all thrown-in to reach 1370kg in weight vs the capable figure of 15.6km/L achieved in Fuel consumption really good in my book,
    The standout items are the advance Lvl2 Autonomous variations, the cool Active Park Assit feature plus a teen-friendly Voice Command – Only available in the upper RM350,000-RM500,000 price range category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • CX30 wld be the best option for your daughter. Gorgeous mazda soul red. Classy interior. Fully imported from japan with premium quality n reliability. Much safer 5 stars euro ncap certified with 7 airbags n aeb. Bigger space for family and friends. And above all comes with apple carplay and android auto which your daughter wld love. But if u dont have the money, myvi wl do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • Reality Check on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:53 am

Why Myvi all of sudden? Bcos there’s no better SUV option at lower price other than X50? I see….

• Lets See on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:15 pm

If you love your family, you will prefer to get X50 flagship with ADAS Level 2, better safety than poorer CX30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • X70 Buyer on Oct 28, 2020 at 7:32 pm

For the price of top range CX-30, I could buy 1 biji X70 Standard for my bini and 1 biji X50 Standard for my daughter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Cindy daugther on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:38 pm

Give me a City. Thats all i need. Pay a bit more. No problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • why bash? on Feb 02, 2021 at 3:35 pm

haha the Honda City is soooo light, cars pass me at the highway at about 120km/h can feel the car vibrate liao.

• Thats a long reading for a videoish type of person.
    This is good for the buyer market sentiment, the consumers get the best value for their money.The spectacular offering from Proton will puts more pressure on rivals mostly the japanese to upgrade their next generation products to be equally or better than this.
    This is a long game. It will push the carbrands to futher utilise the overall optimisation, cross sharing parts between the group, lean & efficient manufacturing processes.

• st3wp1d on Oct 27, 2020 at 8:45 pm

not bad, very good power to weight ratio.. loose to cx30

• madmoz on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:06 pm

As helpful as it can be, a stat sheet doesn’t really tell all one needs to know about a car though.
    Also, car purchases aren’t always a rational thing, a modicum of emotional often creeps in.

Having said that, X50’s looking good.

• madmoz on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:03 pm

Oh my language :( Fat fingers small phone syndrome!
      typo – a modicum of emotional attachment often creeps in

• Jason Lim on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:26 pm

This x50 makes the x70 look dated

• Monana on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:36 pm

I never like Proton, but when they introduced SUVs with ACC (I dont care lah it is Geely, apa u all ingat kalau xde Proton, Geely boleh laku di Malaysia?), I hope other manufacturers can give ACC, at least as option. Mazda, bila mau bagi MRCC dlm CX-5? Bg MRCC dlm CX-30 pun kudukut, xdak Stop & Go.

• Ganni on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:25 pm

Eventhough they are kedekut with the MRCC, but u need to remember that they have been generous on giving the warranty for their cars. 5 years for free service & labour charges except for the wear & tear items. U can save alot of money for 5 years then. And i think there is a promo that u can extend the warranty to 6 yrs. So for me, mazda beat other brand hands down with their warranty offer by far. So, who is kedekut now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Celup King on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:17 am

You pay so much for free service? Don’t you see the service prices are included upfront in the selling price? GG Mazda.

• Ganni on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:40 pm

You can compare apple to apple for instance, ckd mazda cx-5 and the honda crv. Who will pay more on the car (let say for 5-6yrs of ownership)?
          No wonder you see alot of their ckd cx-5 & cx-8 flooding the msian road.
          Actually, i heard abt this warranty offer from mazda middle east when i was there. I would say good job to mazda since they are starting to offer something like that in Bolehland as well.
          And we know Mazda did mentioned that they are bringing their brand to a premium level. That’s why their price is a bit expensive compare to other japs.
          So you get what you pay then. That’s only my point of view.

• Brian on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:48 pm

Which Msian road you refer to, as I see in Kl far more CR-V than CX-5 and CX-8 is so rare I yet to see one.

• Yes bro. Credits to bermaz mazda , terbaek!!

• Neutral on Oct 27, 2020 at 10:06 pm

Haters gonna hate. Those who posted negative comments about X50 have every right to do so. I once owned three Protons: Saga, Iswara n Waja. After Waja I vowed not to buy a Proton again. After that, I was lucky enough to be able to elevate to the next level, buying Kia Forte, Jazz, Altis n Civic TCP over the following 10 years. I am now aiming yet another level i.e. BMW or Mercedes. X50 is really the best value-for-money car in the market. Will I buy one? May be some day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
  • X70 Standard is better than X50 on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:44 pm

X50 has the smallest boot space in the market according to the comparison table. Also, it’s tonneau cover belongs in Axia type of hatchback rather than in an SUV. It may have the power and features but terribly lacks space and practicality to be called an SUV.

Whoever in the market for SUV is better off with the Standard X70. It’s cheaper than Flagship X50, has bigger cabin, bigger boot, higher riding position, much more comfortable ride, better ground clearance and simply more practical. That’s a proper SUV, a wiser choice, and more value for money.

• No brand on Oct 28, 2020 at 5:13 am

I will buy other car, cannot wait 6 month

• Nox50 kacang putih on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:28 pm

May be can get faster, sure got many cancel after seeing the price

• sam123 on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:07 am

CX-3 or subaru XV are better choices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Nicar on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:02 am

Seriously not everyone like this car but Flagship model spec damn good. If I looking buy a car which more expensive than this at the end you will compare against X50. You will feel the car you wish to buy very kosong. So how to buy car now? Wait 2 more years for your dream car give you more comprehensive spec??

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:59 am

Good comparison. Next – how about comparison in terms of
    1. JD power survey SSI scores
    2. JD power survey CSI scores
    3. JD power survey reliability PP100
    4. Number of dealer networks

• https://paultan.org/2019/11/21/j-d-power-to-exit-asean-and-australia-markets/

• Nazri on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:30 pm

Pls compare X50 flagship with Volvo XC40, which I think almost similar.

• Mustang on Oct 29, 2020 at 5:48 pm

X50 Flagship is 177HP if I’m not mistaken. Not 175

• French Brand Fans ^_^ on Nov 02, 2020 at 11:54 am

Abang Paul Tan, i dare you do review comparison between Citroen C3 aircross with X50 please thanks!!!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 02, 2020 at 6:00 pm

That will only be relevant to a handful of people, so no. And oh, you wouldn’t like the outcome anyway mate

• CX30 all the way.
    Wait? Proton?
    You driving a Proton??

• YEN CHOON CHAN on Apr 17, 2021 at 9:18 pm

Selling my Limited Edition Hyundai Tucson white 4WD . Year of manufacture – 2010n mileage is 231,534km. Accident free n one lady owner.