FIRST LOOK: 2020 Hyundai Sonata in M’sia – RM190k

You’ve read the launch report, you’ve learned about the specs, now it’s time to take a quick walk-around tour of the all-new, eighth-generation Hyundai Sonata. Just one variant of the South Korean D-segment car is offered this time, that being the 2.5 Premium. It’s fully imported and the introductory price for the first 50 units is RM189,888 (with 50% SST).

Design-wise, it’s based on Hyundai’s latest Sensuous Sportiness design language, which blends a whole lot of sharp lines, kinks and panel indentations for a more visually distinct look. It features a massive Cascading Grille, full LED headlights and tail lights, 18-inch dual-tone wheels wrapped with 235/45 profile Continental PremiumContact 6 tyres, and has an aerodynamic drag coefficient value of 0.27 Cd.

You get to choose from six exterior colours and three interior colours, including the Camel two-tone finish that is featured on the Nocturne Grey unit in this video. Other niceties include a fully digital 12.3-inch LCD instrument panel, an eight-inch Display Audio head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, shift-by-wire electronic gear selector buttons, powered panoramic sunroof, full LED interior lighting, and full leather seats with perforation.

Powering the Sonata is the automaker’s new Smartstream 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated petrol engine. The four-cylinder port-injection mill puts out 180 PS and 232 Nm of torque, all of which is sent to the front wheels through a six-speed automatic. There’s no tiptronic function, but paddle shifters come as standard.

In terms of safety, it gets six airbags as standard, but Hyundai’s Smartsense advanced driver assist systems are not available. There is, however, the blind spot view monitor, which is demonstrated in this walk-around video. So, what do you think of the new Hyundai Sonata? Let us know, below!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Hmm..190k for the first 50 eh.its even going north 200k next year.well gud luck sime darby,hopefully its not the only 50 ever sold here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Y hyundai so waste time with Sonata? D segment is dead, buang current aje laa. blaja work smart like proton, dumped the kerbau Perdana… fokus jual SUV, X70 X50 terlajak laris oii sampai xmenang tangan geng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • Proton Cina on Oct 31, 2020 at 10:12 am

Did Volvo and Honda join-venture to develop this abomination for Proton’s new Perdana

• abam mandragon on Oct 31, 2020 at 1:23 pm

better wait for Geely Preface concept..rebadged the all new Proton Predana tebo… konfem laku keras macem Pisang goreng panass and tiktok Thai Crab Dance challenge.

• Donald Truck on Oct 30, 2020 at 9:47 pm

Nice. German> Sushi> Kimchi> France> China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • John Lapuk on Oct 30, 2020 at 8:21 pm

At least 20 years ahead from Proton Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Jeremy on Oct 31, 2020 at 9:35 am

Good thing Proton didn’t spend 20x more than Hyundai to develop their D Segment cars then. Dying breed with such prices.

• D segment dashboard nampak biasa mcm ni ke? Design depan pun pelik. Ramai ke yg nk beli mcm ni? 2020 China made cars jauh nampak lebih cantik. Habis lah Hyundai M’sia mcm ni. Hyundai Santa Fe yg baru pun blm ada nampak on the road. Compare to Kia Sorento, byk kat jlnraya. Hyundai skrg design pelik2 lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Do not regret later on Oct 30, 2020 at 8:40 pm

Hyundai? It is not even up to Japanese level. Google “Hyundai Engine recall”. If you have 150K to spare, go for Honda Accord 2.0. If you have 200K to spare, buy Toyota Camry or Mazda 6. If you have 250K to spare, buy BMW 320. No regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • Buy 320i no regret, apart from the fact you just spent 50k more on a car that will lose half its value in about 4 years and then fall apart in about 6. No regret he says. Accord is bland and has CVT, camrys interior feels like an economy car, and the grille is suitable for people who has no taste whatsoever. Mazda 6 is a great car but it’s an ageing platform and the infotainment is old. Also recalls are good, when manufacturers don’t recall, you pay the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • Kunta Kinte on Oct 31, 2020 at 12:29 am

VW Arteon R-Line 320 Nm, merecik lg powahh.

• Diss-illusions on Oct 31, 2020 at 2:25 am

So, what to buy?

• Poor Ben on Nov 01, 2020 at 1:39 pm

Work harder Ben so you can earn enug money to buy any car and not worry on RV.

• No Car Ben on Nov 08, 2020 at 8:55 pm

What car ben also got something to complain. Cuz ben only uses his leg to walk. Free 1. Can exercise summore.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 31, 2020 at 12:46 am

Accord where you find 2.0L and 150k anymore?

• Imagine this Sonata is Maserati and the price will be alright.

• Jeremy on Oct 31, 2020 at 9:37 am

Potential buyers would have to be borderline delusional to reach that level of imagination and put their money down.

• With this price I rather get German Car VW Passat is still values for money, BMW or Mercedes……

• I agree the current VW Passat with discounts is best value for money D segment.

• With this price I rather get German Car Volkswagen Passat is still values for money, BMW or Mercedes……

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 30, 2020 at 11:26 pm

blind spot view monitor? x70 got it long ago and for much cheaper

• If I would take out RM190k to buy this sonata, I will rather buy passat!

• 2.5 MPi? Why not GDi? Underpowered.

• Walley on Oct 31, 2020 at 10:27 am

Limited edition only 50 units in Malaysia. That why sell expensive

• DatoAdaKena on Oct 31, 2020 at 10:40 am

At that price cannot fight with Camry lah

• klguy on Oct 31, 2020 at 10:54 am

Koreans tend to always over design their car that makes it look outdated and ugly in a very short period of time….

• vivizurianti on Oct 31, 2020 at 11:38 am

buy this car only if you are a kimchi addict or fanatic…..