No seat restrictions, social distancing needed for car passengers; front or back seats OK – Ismail Sabri

While the conditional movement control order (CMCO) standard operating procedure (SOP) states that only two people from the same household can share a car ride, there’s no restriction on where the passenger sits. This was reiterated by senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob in his press briefing today.

“There is no rule in place that says you have to sit at the back of the car. You can sit anywhere in the car. If you want to sit in front, by all means. You come from the same location, you come from the same family, you don’t even need to wear a mask in the car together as you stay under the same roof,” he said.

It has been said before and is not a new SOP, but Ismail Sabri was repeating it due to a viral video that has been circulating. In the video, it is claimed that police took action on the car’s driver because his wife was sitting beside him. The minister said that upon clarification from Bukit Aman, it was found that the driver was actually summoned for using his mobile phone while driving.

So, once again, front or back, sit anywhere you want, but keep it to two per car. There’s also no rule that says masks must be worn in the car; that’s only for when you’re outside or when in an e-hailing car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ksatria on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:19 pm

Boleh caya ke?? Bulan lepas.. Bapa Dafi baru umum tidak perlu kuarantin Individu yang balik ke Semenanjung dari Sabah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • Oreeee on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:18 pm

How about Lorry? Does 3 worker in a Lorry allow? Now 3 worker cost 2 transport car fee on my daily cost…

• Truckers on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:24 am

What nonsense. Lorries have never been allowed to have more than 2 persons inside since before covid. That requirement has more to do with safety and not just about covid. Get it straight

• Uncle Lowyat on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Yeah say that to the corrupted police

A lot people complain on facebook where they are fined for sitting beside each other and not wearing mask in the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Did they show the saman or did they just talk out of their asses and you believed them hook, line and sinker like so many others gullible M’sians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Queen’s chamberlain on Nov 12, 2020 at 4:08 pm

Public and Community is still waiting for the Independent Police Complaints of Misconduct Commission whereas complaints reports can be made for any power abused done by law enforcement agencies.

• Avenger on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:38 pm

Tu hah! Dah kena tangkap sebab lain, nak salahkan PKPB pulak. Alahai bangang betul lagi nak viralkan. terheboh ke dunia kebodohanmu. Padan mukak kena sound dari DS Sabri. Jangan salahkan abang polis buat keje tau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
  • potato on Nov 12, 2020 at 12:36 am

Sabri say can sit anywhere of the car as long not on the roof, so sit inside the boot can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Mangkaq on Nov 12, 2020 at 8:12 am

This is another example of “sengal” reader.

“…don’t even need to wear a mask in the car together as you stay under the same roof,” he said.

Bila masa dia kata “…as long not on the roof”? B*********.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • yeahh on Nov 12, 2020 at 9:25 am

Yela mana mana jela kentang oi

• azrai on Nov 12, 2020 at 7:44 am

We all have to wait for Bapa Dafi everyday. He is like JP or arbitrator.

• Izzat on Nov 12, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Paul Tan, the news title is gross misleading and irresponsible