FIRST LOOK: 2021 H247 Mercedes-Benz GLA200 and GLA250 detailed walk-around – RM244k to RM285k

It has been an eventful 2020, but that hasn’t stopped Mercedes-Benz Malaysia from introducing a slew of new vehicle models over the course of the year. Closing out the year’s activity is the H247 Mercedes-Benz GLA, which made its local debut earlier this week.

The new GLA is a definite change from its predecessor. For one, it has grown taller, its height increasing by more than 10 cm over the previous-gen X156, effectively making it look more like a SUV than before. The vertical expansion has also translated into a cabin with more headroom and a higher driving position, and in terms of positioning, the crossover is very much placed as a curvier alternative to the boxy X247 GLB.

The GLA arrives here as a fully-imported model and in two variant forms, similar to that for the W177 A-Class. The first is the GLA 200, which is powered by a Renault-sourced M282 1.3 litre turbocharged four-pot offering 163 PS at 5,500 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,620 to 4,000 rpm. Paired with a Getrag seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, the GLA 200 will do the 0-100 km/h run in 8.7 seconds and get to a 210 km/h top speed.

The second variant is the GLA 250, which features the automaker’s M260 2.0 litre turbo four, and this has 224 PS at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm between 1,500 and 4,500 rpm in terms of output. Working together with a new eight-speed DCT, the car does the century sprint in 6.9 seconds and has a higher top speed of 240 km/h.

Until December 31, with the 50% CBU SST exemption in place, the GLA 200 Progressive Line goes for RM244,200, while the GLA 250 AMG Line is priced at RM285,337, both on-the-road without insurance. Vehicles registered after January 31, 2021 will be priced at RM252,888 and RM295,888 respectively. For a more detailed look at what the second generation GLA brings to the table, check out Hafriz’s walk-around video above.

GALLERY: H247 Mercedes-Benz GLA 200 Progressive Line

GALLERY: H247 Mercedes-Benz GLA 250 AMG Line

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• azrai on Dec 18, 2020 at 1:33 pm

With RM244k, Proton X50 Flagship gooder & cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • bodoh on Dec 18, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Totally different class, material and quality. Not comparable. If you want to compare, it should be XC40 vs GLA.

• Hyin21 on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:12 pm

They actually exactly same class.

Recently local car pundits when Proton X50 pitted against segment rival. BMW X1 1.5L TwinPower Turbocharged. All car pundits & youtubers so amazed when stepped into Proton X50, a class above BMW X1 for sure … X50 with that premium Volvo engine & fit n finish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • seancorr (Member) on Dec 18, 2020 at 5:57 pm

I’m having gearbox jerking issues with the CBU X70 and it hasn’t been rectified since I got the car new plus Proton is leaning towards me living with the problem. CBU gearbox warranty is 60k or 3 years and my first year is up. Two more years to argue with Proton. I’m starting to regret giving Proton a second chance now. Wish me luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Datuk on Dec 18, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Very nice, like a BMW 2 active tourer injected with Mercedes Benz fashion.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:56 pm

rubbish car. proton x50 so much more superior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Calvin on Dec 18, 2020 at 4:30 pm

If got money, go for GLA.
      If no money, go for X50.
      Either way, Geely wins your pocket.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 18, 2020 at 6:04 pm

I rather go for the CKD XC 40 or the CBU UX and both have way more standard kit for the same price. Proton? I decided this round to save 100k by buying the X70 since I was impressed with it’s safety kit and interior quality and boy did it give me issues with it’s gearbox. I’ve owned a few marques for almost 2 decades now and never has one brand given me transmission issues since day one.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 18, 2020 at 10:41 pm

people with money and brains will get x50

people with no money and no brains will get lousy GLA thinking they made it but get laughed by everyone for buying a rebadged renault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Both x50 and GLA are very good cars.
          But for the value, tech & specs…x50 offered.

Real foolish to pick other 100k car.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 18, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Subjectively, prefer the external design of the old GLA. This new GLA’s lines just don’t line up to these eyes. But the interior is much better in the new car.

• Aircond belakang takde?

• Nvm, you can install a rod there and put a toilet roll for convenient wiping. Merc maa..who need air con. Just need logo. Bwahahaha

• I like merc design esp the cla and c class, but gone for bmw. Why? I got friend who own last gen cla250, a200, c300 and gla 250. Look very bad ass when new. Guess what, they all swtich to Bmw 3 series this year. I mean C mon now 4 of them drive the same 320i. Asked why, they say crap quality. Crap and harsh ride, crap plastic rattling and noisy suspension. The CC service is even crap. They all agree bmw is more superior in every aspect.. just that they dont like the F30 3 series or 1 series design but the g20 is very please to look at. The merc interior is nice to see but err to touch. You dont look at interior while driving and you get used to those fancy lights. Bmw interior is modern and clean but touch feel expansive. Yes, you act touch the interior more throughout the years. Mm…no matter, I guess i ll try merc next round when new C facelift. Just got my 330i! What a joy!

• yusry on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:47 pm

pros : spacious, interior design

cons : yes